[Server] just test

parasite
Member
 
Posts: 59
Joined: Sat May 06, 2017 17:45

Re: [Server] just test

by parasite » Sun Oct 15, 2017 20:35

Well, I do not have any idea how my small base could be totally erased from the map, with protectors, cityblocks and protected chests. It do not looks like any lava, tnt or something.
 

User avatar
sorcerykid
Member
 
Posts: 775
Joined: Fri Aug 26, 2016 15:36
Location: Illinois, USA
GitHub: sorcerykid
In-game: Nemo

Re: [Server] just test

by sorcerykid » Mon Oct 16, 2017 17:23

Unfortunately, quite a few builds were partially or even wholly destroyed as a result of the recent map shrink. The Bums' Base was leveled. The roof of Player17' house was ripped away. My tree farm was cut in half. Sections of dimpo's mineshaft were obliterated.

Thankfully, I happened to catch lag on the server yesterday. So I alerted him to these problems. However, I'm not sure what can be done to reverse the mapgen griefs at this point.

Image

Image

Image

In fairness, I'm glad that lag finally returned after four months absence. I just wasn't expecting so much destruction to ensue xD
 

User avatar
Andrey01
Member
 
Posts: 2067
Joined: Wed Oct 19, 2016 15:18
Location: Russia, Moscow
GitHub: Andrey2470T
In-game: Andrey01

Re: [Server] just test

by Andrey01 » Mon Oct 16, 2017 18:29

sorcerykid wrote:Unfortunately, quite a few builds were partially or even wholly destroyed as a result of the recent map shrink. The Bums' Base was leveled. The roof of Player17' house was ripped away. My tree farm was cut in half. Sections of dimpo's mineshaft were obliterated.

Thankfully, I happened to catch lag on the server yesterday. So I alerted him to these problems. However, I'm not sure what can be done to reverse the mapgen griefs at this point.

Image

Image

Image

In fairness, I'm glad that lag finally returned after four months absence. I just wasn't expecting so much destruction to ensue xD

I have the same problem! See what happened with my territory!
Image

Image

In the middle leaking a river now instead stone blocks and also half my the house done of aspen wood! HOW PITY!!!!!!!!!!
DL9Eh7xVBw7DXwLAMX1lStE21bSD2XUQ
 

User avatar
sorcerykid
Member
 
Posts: 775
Joined: Fri Aug 26, 2016 15:36
Location: Illinois, USA
GitHub: sorcerykid
In-game: Nemo

Re: [Server] just test

by sorcerykid » Mon Oct 16, 2017 19:12

Wow that is bad :( How far is your building from spawn?

I'm wondering what parameters lag used for the mapshrink. It seems that the entire world was affected, not just remote areas.
 

User avatar
Andrey01
Member
 
Posts: 2067
Joined: Wed Oct 19, 2016 15:18
Location: Russia, Moscow
GitHub: Andrey2470T
In-game: Andrey01

Re: [Server] just test

by Andrey01 » Mon Oct 16, 2017 20:19

sorcerykid wrote:Wow that is bad :( How far is your building from spawn?

I'm wondering what parameters lag used for the mapshrink. It seems that the entire world was affected, not just remote areas.

My house is being no far from spawn. Later i will say you along what horizont direction road (on the spawn) you can go to get to my house (West, East, North or South, i don`t know).

Really did Lag do it? What for and how could he do it?
DL9Eh7xVBw7DXwLAMX1lStE21bSD2XUQ
 

parasite
Member
 
Posts: 59
Joined: Sat May 06, 2017 17:45

Re: [Server] just test

by parasite » Tue Oct 17, 2017 17:52

Belt of water placed diagonally in this picture is something new. It looks like traces of bulldozer. Here was my base embellished with big obsidian inverted pentagram :D (you can see that single chest left), a little green-dirt area and a road (you can see that some parts of that structures left). All protectors from this area disappeared, even those located outside of that cleared-belt. In background there were other players buildings (you can see part of higher building survived):
Image

Here you can see destroyed road and higher building. That building was complete earlier , but now it looks like it was cut in half:
Image

And here was a bridge connected to a distant tunnel:
Image
Attachments
del3.jpg
(63.56 KiB) Not downloaded yet
del2.jpg
(63.33 KiB) Not downloaded yet
del1.jpg
(64.18 KiB) Not downloaded yet
 

parasite
Member
 
Posts: 59
Joined: Sat May 06, 2017 17:45

Re: [Server] just test

by parasite » Tue Oct 17, 2017 18:21

Old screenshot of a bridge mentioned above:

Image
Attachments
bridge.jpg
(63.66 KiB) Not downloaded yet
 

User avatar
maikerumine
Member
 
Posts: 1339
Joined: Mon Aug 04, 2014 14:27
GitHub: maikerumine
In-game: maikerumine

Re: [Server] just test

by maikerumine » Tue Oct 17, 2017 18:26

The mapshrink will re-activate all river / canyon paths and will cut through regardless of what was there.
 

User avatar
iisu
Member
 
Posts: 139
Joined: Tue Mar 28, 2017 20:13
Location: Internet
GitHub: iisu
IRC: iisu
In-game: iisu

Re: [Server] just test

by iisu » Tue Oct 17, 2017 18:38

All that damage looks so funky. :D
Roses are red, violets are blue. Omae wa mou shindeiru.
 

User avatar
BBmine
Member
 
Posts: 3410
Joined: Sun Jul 12, 2015 22:51
Location: USA
IRC: BBmine
In-game: Baggins

Re: [Server] just test

by BBmine » Tue Oct 17, 2017 20:18

IMO map shrinks should NEVER happen, or you might get this. smh.
 

User avatar
maikerumine
Member
 
Posts: 1339
Joined: Mon Aug 04, 2014 14:27
GitHub: maikerumine
In-game: maikerumine

Re: [Server] just test

by maikerumine » Tue Oct 17, 2017 20:48

BBmine wrote:IMO map shrinks should NEVER happen, or you might get this. smh.

But lag has used mapshrink for over 4 years. We should expect it.
 

User avatar
BBmine
Member
 
Posts: 3410
Joined: Sun Jul 12, 2015 22:51
Location: USA
IRC: BBmine
In-game: Baggins

Re: [Server] just test

by BBmine » Tue Oct 17, 2017 21:07

maikerumine wrote:
BBmine wrote:IMO map shrinks should NEVER happen, or you might get this. smh.

But lag has used mapshrink for over 4 years. We should expect it.

I know, and I remember when he did it when I was still a n00b. No, when I was watching the video you made when I was just a n00b. Before I ever joined just test.
 

User avatar
lag01
Member
 
Posts: 273
Joined: Sun Mar 16, 2014 03:41
GitHub: AndrejIT
IRC: lag01
In-game: lag

Re: [Server] just test

by lag01 » Tue Oct 17, 2017 21:35

maikerumine wrote:The mapshrink will re-activate all river / canyon paths and will cut through regardless of what was there.

When i did mapshrink, i thought that maybe i have disabled rivers/canyons. Guess not...
I restored some blocks, but algorithm is very rough now and i cannot restore more without making more mess.

For info:
that time i did mapshrink
cleaned player files - there was over 100k
cleaned auth.txt - it was over 80MB
Last edited by lag01 on Tue Oct 17, 2017 21:40, edited 1 time in total.
 

User avatar
BBmine
Member
 
Posts: 3410
Joined: Sun Jul 12, 2015 22:51
Location: USA
IRC: BBmine
In-game: Baggins

Re: [Server] just test

by BBmine » Tue Oct 17, 2017 21:37

lag01 wrote:
maikerumine wrote:The mapshrink will re-activate all river / canyon paths and will cut through regardless of what was there.

When i did mapshrink, i thought that maybe i have disabled rivers/canyons. Guess not...
I restored some blocks, but algorithm is very rough now and i cannot restore more without making more mess.

Do you have backups from before the mapgen grief? It's a good idea to keep daily backups, and delete ones a month old to save HDD space.
 

Dimpo
Member
 
Posts: 15
Joined: Tue Sep 05, 2017 20:53
Location: Poblacht na hÉireann
In-game: -

Re: [Server] just test

by Dimpo » Tue Oct 17, 2017 22:08

-
Last edited by Dimpo on Tue Oct 24, 2017 13:15, edited 2 times in total.
 

User avatar
ExeterDad
Member
 
Posts: 1701
Joined: Sun Jun 01, 2014 20:00
Location: New Hampshire U.S.A
In-game: ExeterDad

Re: [Server] just test

by ExeterDad » Tue Oct 17, 2017 22:28

trees, rivers and caves can be deactivate for a spell to prevent those "gens" from ripping through things while mapgen is generating the deleted blocks. I do it all the time when activating map data I've downloaded locally.

map_meta.txt
Code: Select all
mgv7_spflags = noridges, nocaverns, notrees, nojungles

and
Code: Select all
mg_flags = nocaves, nodungeons


Then later when the important map blocks (spawn and such) are loaded, revert the above mentioned flags and the various "gens" will not be triggered and everything will be untouched.
 

User avatar
iisu
Member
 
Posts: 139
Joined: Tue Mar 28, 2017 20:13
Location: Internet
GitHub: iisu
IRC: iisu
In-game: iisu

Re: [Server] just test

by iisu » Tue Oct 17, 2017 23:05

For real tho, fuck the generator. I can't even have my builds that I save locally on a singleplayer because this piece of crap thinks it's a great idea to… generate biomes on them.
I can't recreate the world on a singleplayer to see where the blocks originally have been to fix griefed places that I want to preserve in their natural state or rebuild their natural shapes or to simply work with the terrain because this piece of craps generates plants, caves, rivers in different position.
On another server I have a house in a hill in a valley by a sea, a beautiful and original location but it's heavily griefed because it's an anarchy server and a spawn used to be near it. I wanted to reconstruct the valley and bring it back to it's natural state but the caves are in different places than they should be and there are piles of dirt and silver sand on the hills' walls which shouldn't be there at all. My friend has a house on the beach in the valley but on my singleplayer map in its place there's a giant hole in the ground that sucks the sea in. Why do I need to know exactly how it looked when originally generated? To know where to build to make it look natural. The best way to make stuff look natural is to copy the nature.

On JT2 borders between chunks are often sharp and there are floating chunks of mountains cut on one or more sides. I'm not sure what happens here, you know better than me, but it looks like there are different generators used (JT2 is based on JT's map and they both have a custom generator, afaik). Isn't there an option to interpolate between different generators in such case? I wouldn't be surprised if there was no such option but there should be.

So, if I understand correctly, you erased information about where the canyons and rivers are so the piece of crap thought it was a good idea to generate new ones, which in this case was a good idea because otherwise you would end up with a boring world with no rivers/canyons unless one travels far enough to find unexplored chunks. But it should at least take care to prompt you and ask if you want the rivers/canyons to generate again and how you want them to generate. It should never ever touch nodes placed by other players, that is (in most cases) nodes that differ from the ones you can generate from the seed, unless you specify that you want to overwrite such nodes. A simple check to save a life.
Last edited by iisu on Tue Oct 17, 2017 23:20, edited 1 time in total.
Roses are red, violets are blue. Omae wa mou shindeiru.
 

User avatar
ExeterDad
Member
 
Posts: 1701
Joined: Sun Jun 01, 2014 20:00
Location: New Hampshire U.S.A
In-game: ExeterDad

Re: [Server] just test

by ExeterDad » Tue Oct 17, 2017 23:19

@lisa Be sure to have the seed in the map_meta.txt! Or it will generate map that makes no sense at all and will not blend with your local copy.
Also servers, or worlds like JT2 have had the mapgens swapped so much that blending is totally unpredictable when trying to import and run.
 

User avatar
iisu
Member
 
Posts: 139
Joined: Tue Mar 28, 2017 20:13
Location: Internet
GitHub: iisu
IRC: iisu
In-game: iisu

Re: [Server] just test

by iisu » Tue Oct 17, 2017 23:28

ExeterDad wrote:@lisa Be sure to have the seed in the map_meta.txt! Or it will generate map that makes no sense at all and will not blend with your local copy.

I know it and I use the correct seed and the correct mapgen (v6, iirc). And everything is fine except for the biomes, the plants and the caves.

ExeterDad wrote:Also servers, or worlds like JT2 have had the mapgens swapped so much that blending is totally unpredictable when trying to import and run.
Just interpolate. Even if it doesn't always give the best results, it's always better than leaving sharp edges.
Roses are red, violets are blue. Omae wa mou shindeiru.
 

User avatar
sorcerykid
Member
 
Posts: 775
Joined: Fri Aug 26, 2016 15:36
Location: Illinois, USA
GitHub: sorcerykid
In-game: Nemo

Re: [Server] just test

by sorcerykid » Wed Oct 18, 2017 04:15

No there is no interpolation between map blocks. That would be an issue to take up with the core devs not the server ops.

Moreover, mgv7 (which is used on JT2) produces different terrain depending on the engine version, even with the same map_meta.txt. You can test this by creating a map in Minetest 0.4.10 and then another map in Minetest 0.4.14 using an identical map seed. This is partly to blame for the mismatched mapblock boundaries on JT2.
 

User avatar
iisu
Member
 
Posts: 139
Joined: Tue Mar 28, 2017 20:13
Location: Internet
GitHub: iisu
IRC: iisu
In-game: iisu

Re: [Server] just test

by iisu » Wed Oct 18, 2017 06:18

sorcerykid wrote:No there is no interpolation between map blocks. That would be an issue to take up with the core devs not the server ops.

Yes, I'm complaining about core functionalities and you don't have much to do with this issue. I just needed to spill my guts.

sorcerykid wrote:Moreover, mgv7 (which is used on JT2) produces different terrain depending on the engine version, even with the same map_meta.txt.
Well, this is horribly bad and it reminds me one more thing: when they add new blocks to be generated like they did with tin and silver sand and aspens they only generate in newer chunks. Not only does it make the distribution of the blocks look messy (I can't find something for thousands of blocks and then there are tons of it) but also makes people go further away from the spawn and generate more world and accelerate the growth of the map. And the best part is they do this with no good reason (tin, silver sand, corals).

Sorry for the offtopic.
Roses are red, violets are blue. Omae wa mou shindeiru.
 

Dimpo
Member
 
Posts: 15
Joined: Tue Sep 05, 2017 20:53
Location: Poblacht na hÉireann
In-game: -

Re: [Server] just test

by Dimpo » Wed Oct 18, 2017 15:05

-
Last edited by Dimpo on Tue Oct 24, 2017 13:15, edited 2 times in total.
 

User avatar
BBmine
Member
 
Posts: 3410
Joined: Sun Jul 12, 2015 22:51
Location: USA
IRC: BBmine
In-game: Baggins

Re: [Server] just test

by BBmine » Wed Oct 18, 2017 15:58

Dimpo wrote:Does anyone know how to recreate this glowing ladder effect?

Image

Image

Looks like a glitch to me.
 

Dimpo
Member
 
Posts: 15
Joined: Tue Sep 05, 2017 20:53
Location: Poblacht na hÉireann
In-game: -

Re: [Server] just test

by Dimpo » Wed Oct 18, 2017 16:58

-
Last edited by Dimpo on Tue Oct 24, 2017 13:14, edited 2 times in total.
 

User avatar
AspireMint
Member
 
Posts: 283
Joined: Mon Jul 09, 2012 12:59
GitHub: AspireMint
IRC: AspireMint
In-game: AspireMint

Re: [Server] just test

by AspireMint » Wed Oct 18, 2017 17:27

Its daylight, not glowing ladder.
Dig 2x1 hole and put ladder, tadaaa (see last image).
 

PreviousNext

Return to Servers



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests