Port Forwarding

ZionMoulder

In-game: ZionMoulde+ZMoulder+ZMoulder98

Port Forwarding

by ZionMoulder » Fri Feb 20, 2015 04:28

Obviously I'm new to this, so for those more experienced Minetest-players: You might want to break out the aspirin.

My sister recently downloaded minetest onto her computer, and I decided it would be cool if I could configure a server for me and her to play together on. The actual starting a server on my computer wasn't hard. (running a command prompt with the --server command) I'm having a problem with port forwarding. I'll be honest: I'm not the most computer savy guy on the block. (Although I know my way around a computer) So, when I read: "forward your chosen port for both TCP and UDP (30000 if you left it default) to the internal IP" it's not foolish to say that I'm very confused.

Could someone people help me? My router is a motorola AT&T UVerse. Thanks!

rubenwardy

GitHub: rubenwardy
IRC: rubenwardy
In-game: rubenwardy

Re: Port Forwarding

by rubenwardy » Fri Feb 20, 2015 08:51

Are you both using the same router? You don't need to forward if so. You just need to find your LAN address. I'm not sure how to do that on windows (if that's what you're using)

Zoig

In-game: Zoig

by Zoig » Fri Feb 20, 2015 09:02

It might be, that the router does not forward the requests automatically as a security feature and one still needs port forwarding to be set up.

You have to read the instructions for your router and search there for port forwarding, or setting up NAT rules. Setting up port forwarding is usually quite easy, but is done slightly different on different hardware. You will have to access the configuration of the router by typing it's IP in the browser, as if accessing a webpage.

Example: