[Server] Capture the Flag Server (Guns!)

User avatar
Gekkeupie
Member
Posts: 34
Joined: Mon Aug 20, 2018 11:24
IRC: Majochup
In-game: majochup-upie2
Location: Netherlands

Re: [Server] Capture the Flag Server (Guns!) - Multiple maps

by Gekkeupie » Post

Lone_Wolf wrote:
Gekkeupie wrote:you could try (If possible) make a lobby where players can choose what gamemode they play..?
Like Close CTF (Shotgun only), or maybe normal CTF?

That would make the server much better than it already is.
That would also make the server much laggier than it already is (It would probably double the lag)

The Ice Age map has a better starter kit because it used to be very unpopular and it was (and still is) very hard to mine steel
Ok, i understand it would probaly lag alot.
But if in one or other way rubenwardy (if he has the time) make a way for it to not lag.
But in my case the only lag i have is map not loading (relog and fixed).
And local lag.
-Majochup

User avatar
Lone_Wolf
Member
Posts: 2326
Joined: Sun Apr 09, 2017 05:50
GitHub: LoneWolfHT
IRC: Lone_Wolf or LoneWolfHT
In-game: Lone_Wolf
Location: Not there, THERE!

Re: [Server] Capture the Flag Server (Guns!) - Multiple maps

by Lone_Wolf » Post

Gekkeupie wrote:
Lone_Wolf wrote:
Gekkeupie wrote:you could try (If possible) make a lobby where players can choose what gamemode they play..?
Like Close CTF (Shotgun only), or maybe normal CTF?

That would make the server much better than it already is.
That would also make the server much laggier than it already is (It would probably double the lag)

The Ice Age map has a better starter kit because it used to be very unpopular and it was (and still is) very hard to mine steel
Ok, i understand it would probaly lag alot.
But if in one or other way rubenwardy (if he has the time) make a way for it to not lag.
But in my case the only lag i have is map not loading (relog and fixed).
And local lag.
-Majochup
The map not loading problem is part of the server lag.
And there is no way to fix the lag. Unless you want him to lower the max players limit

DELTA_FORCE
Member
Posts: 132
Joined: Tue Oct 30, 2018 01:26
IRC: DELTA_FORCE
In-game: DELTA_FORCE
Location: Somewhere in the Atlantic

Re: [Server] Capture the Flag Server (Guns!) - Multiple maps

by DELTA_FORCE » Post

The map not loading problem is part of the server lag.
And there is no way to fix the lag. Unless you want him to lower the max players limit
I guess he could get a better PC to host, a better internet connection, or both (I don't think it would make a difference though). I only occasionally get the lag when the map won't load for 10 minutes, or when I can roam free when I die from extreme lag (I will post a screenshot).
Image
Attachments
screenshot_20181219_191423.png
(783.08 KiB) Not downloaded yet
MT5.3.0 for the win!

IhrFussel
Member
Posts: 68
Joined: Tue Nov 22, 2016 12:54
GitHub: IhrFussel
IRC: IhrFussel
In-game: IhrFussel

Re: [Server] Capture the Flag Server (Guns!) - Multiple maps

by IhrFussel » Post

Lone_Wolf wrote: The map not loading problem is part of the server lag.
And there is no way to fix the lag. Unless you want him to lower the max players limit
That is wrong.

The map doesn't load because certain clients seem to have broken code and somehow manage to cause the map sending to stall for everyone connected.

Actual server lag would ALSO stop the chat, but the chat works just fine when this happens.

And max_lag in /status doesn't increase either ... it is not internal server lag, it also happened on my server quite a few times already and I made videos of it.

DELTA_FORCE
Member
Posts: 132
Joined: Tue Oct 30, 2018 01:26
IRC: DELTA_FORCE
In-game: DELTA_FORCE
Location: Somewhere in the Atlantic

Re: [Server] Capture the Flag Server (Guns!) - Multiple maps

by DELTA_FORCE » Post

I just realized I left the coords to some mese for Plains of the Past on my Windows machine, which has just been switched to Linux. Crap
MT5.3.0 for the win!

User avatar
Lone_Wolf
Member
Posts: 2326
Joined: Sun Apr 09, 2017 05:50
GitHub: LoneWolfHT
IRC: Lone_Wolf or LoneWolfHT
In-game: Lone_Wolf
Location: Not there, THERE!

Re: [Server] Capture the Flag Server (Guns!) - Multiple maps

by Lone_Wolf » Post

IhrFussel wrote:
Lone_Wolf wrote: The map not loading problem is part of the server lag.
And there is no way to fix the lag. Unless you want him to lower the max players limit
That is wrong.

The map doesn't load because certain clients seem to have broken code and somehow manage to cause the map sending to stall for everyone connected.

Actual server lag would ALSO stop the chat, but the chat works just fine when this happens.

And max_lag in /status doesn't increase either ... it is not internal server lag, it also happened on my server quite a few times already and I made videos of it.
Sorry, I didn't put enough into that. I had meant to say that it wasn't the client that was having trouble loading the mapblocks. It was the server having trouble sending them to the client

User avatar
ANAND
Member
Posts: 333
Joined: Sun Jan 28, 2018 12:54
GitHub: ClobberXD
IRC: ANAND ClobberXD
In-game: ANAND ClobberXD
Location: India
Contact:

Re: [Server] Capture the Flag Server (Guns!) - Multiple maps

by ANAND » Post

IhrFussel wrote:That is wrong.

The map doesn't load because certain clients seem to have broken code and somehow manage to cause the map sending to stall for everyone connected.

Actual server lag would ALSO stop the chat, but the chat works just fine when this happens.

And max_lag in /status doesn't increase either ... it is not internal server lag, it also happened on my server quite a few times already and I made videos of it.
I'm beginning to suspect this myself, as the mapblock-sending is very inconsistent. It's literally not sending anything at one time irrespective of server lag, and at other times it's sending mapblocks as it normally should, even if the general server is noticeably laggy.

Chem871
Member
Posts: 947
Joined: Sat Aug 19, 2017 21:49
GitHub: Chemguy99
In-game: Chem Nyx
Location: My Basement's Attic

Re: [Server] Capture the Flag Server (Guns!) - Multiple maps

by Chem871 » Post

Well, just log who's on the server when these issues occur, and you might find whose client(s) are causing it, if client(s) ARE causing the problem.

Btw, the lag was bad enough at one point for this:

Image
Attachments
screenshot_20181225_192313.png
(435.1 KiB) Not downloaded yet
What is SCP-055 again? I forgot.

User avatar
Gekkeupie
Member
Posts: 34
Joined: Mon Aug 20, 2018 11:24
IRC: Majochup
In-game: majochup-upie2
Location: Netherlands

Re: [Server] Capture the Flag Server (Guns!) - Multiple maps

by Gekkeupie » Post

Chem871 wrote:Well, just log who's on the server when these issues occur, and you might find whose client(s) are causing it, if client(s) ARE causing the problem.

Btw, the lag was bad enough at one point for this:

Image
Mind explaining how client(s) could cause the map not loading glitch?
And i a client(s) would start the lag is there any way to fix it?

User avatar
Gekkeupie
Member
Posts: 34
Joined: Mon Aug 20, 2018 11:24
IRC: Majochup
In-game: majochup-upie2
Location: Netherlands

Re: [Server] Capture the Flag Server (Guns!) - Multiple maps

by Gekkeupie » Post

Hey guys.

I think i found a glitch/bug or just lag.

It works like this: if i have a bad internet connection (what i just had) and Range is on, and just joined.
Then there is some kind of x-ray glitch i had it 2 times in 1 min.
The first time was complete x-ray i could not see anything but other players. (forgot to screenshot )
And second time i screenshooted..
And im not hacking :l
You can see the glitch a bit right from my crosshair.
Attachments
screenshot_20181226_173739.png
(434.57 KiB) Not downloaded yet

User avatar
Lone_Wolf
Member
Posts: 2326
Joined: Sun Apr 09, 2017 05:50
GitHub: LoneWolfHT
IRC: Lone_Wolf or LoneWolfHT
In-game: Lone_Wolf
Location: Not there, THERE!

Re: [Server] Capture the Flag Server (Guns!) - Multiple maps

by Lone_Wolf » Post

Gekkeupie wrote:Hey guys.

I think i found a glitch/bug or just lag.

It works like this: if i have a bad internet connection (what i just had) and Range is on, and just joined.
Then there is some kind of x-ray glitch i had it 2 times in 1 min.
The first time was complete x-ray i could not see anything but other players. (forgot to screenshot )
And second time i screenshooted..
And im not hacking :l
You can see the glitch a bit right from my crosshair.
Try turning off infinite viewing range and lowering you viewing range to 20 (minus key -). There are a few more glitches that let you xray too.
It's a very well-known glitch. The developers will probably get around to fixing it eventually

User avatar
Gekkeupie
Member
Posts: 34
Joined: Mon Aug 20, 2018 11:24
IRC: Majochup
In-game: majochup-upie2
Location: Netherlands

Re: [Server] Capture the Flag Server (Guns!) - Multiple maps

by Gekkeupie » Post

Lone_Wolf wrote:
Gekkeupie wrote:Hey guys.

I think i found a glitch/bug or just lag.

It works like this: if i have a bad internet connection (what i just had) and Range is on, and just joined.
Then there is some kind of x-ray glitch i had it 2 times in 1 min.
The first time was complete x-ray i could not see anything but other players. (forgot to screenshot )
And second time i screenshooted..
And im not hacking :l
You can see the glitch a bit right from my crosshair.
Try turning off infinite viewing range and lowering you viewing range to 20 (minus key -). There are a few more glitches that let you xray too.
It's a very well-known glitch. The developers will probably get around to fixing it eventually
k lol

Chem871
Member
Posts: 947
Joined: Sat Aug 19, 2017 21:49
GitHub: Chemguy99
In-game: Chem Nyx
Location: My Basement's Attic

Re: [Server] Capture the Flag Server (Guns!) - Multiple maps

by Chem871 » Post

Just a friendly match with my fellow CTFers... But can you spot the error?

Image

Image
Attachments
screenshot_20181227_194818.png
(180.78 KiB) Not downloaded yet
screenshot_20181227_194627.png
(346.02 KiB) Not downloaded yet
What is SCP-055 again? I forgot.

User avatar
Esskeetit
Member
Posts: 26
Joined: Sat Nov 24, 2018 16:04
IRC: Esskeetit
In-game: Esskeetit Rio
Location: Earth

Re: [Server] Capture the Flag Server (Guns!) - Multiple maps

by Esskeetit » Post

Hey guys! It's been a while since I was on here, but I'm back again with another screenshot. Player "ooo" has been deemed "TheNightKing", a player who was banned for hacking recently in CTF. Today in "Plains of the Past" he made a "monument" for himself while wars were going on. I just find it rather amusing. Someone like him would building something for himself? Ha! Couldn't help but chuckle.

Image
Attachments
screenshot_20181227_121157.png
Big,bold letters "OOO" right in front of his base.
(532.48 KiB) Not downloaded yet
Esskeeetitttttt

User avatar
Esskeetit
Member
Posts: 26
Joined: Sat Nov 24, 2018 16:04
IRC: Esskeetit
In-game: Esskeetit Rio
Location: Earth

Re: [Server] Capture the Flag Server (Guns!) - Multiple maps

by Esskeetit » Post

Chem871 wrote:Just a friendly match with my fellow CTFers... But can you spot the error?

Image

Image
Hmmmm...the blocky texture pack is the error?
Esskeeetitttttt

User avatar
Esskeetit
Member
Posts: 26
Joined: Sat Nov 24, 2018 16:04
IRC: Esskeetit
In-game: Esskeetit Rio
Location: Earth

Re: [Server] Capture the Flag Server (Guns!) - Multiple maps

by Esskeetit » Post

DELTA_FORCE wrote:Seriously though, kids. Through Windows in the trash and get a Linux distro. I am literally not kidding.
Most people will prefer Windows due to the fact that most games are available there. I've suffered plenty and I know what I mean. And Mac's just too expensive. That Microsoft guy is filthy rich and he constantly makes new updates and patches to Windows to keep it safe. If you need someone to spread the word thought I'll be willing to help :P
Esskeeetitttttt

User avatar
LMD
Member
Posts: 881
Joined: Sat Apr 08, 2017 08:16
GitHub: appgurueu
IRC: appguru[eu]
In-game: LMD
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: [Server] Capture the Flag Server (Guns!) - Multiple maps

by LMD » Post

Oh, the old "Win vs Lin" discussion.
Let me participate !
Windows :
- v8 is not user friendly
- forced updates & patches, often breaking stuff
=> the user is the tester
- extremely expensive
+ very popular
+ many software(including Games) only available for Win
- "insecure"
- inefficient
=> Bad decision for servers
- also bad for software development
Linux :
+ FREE
+ costs $0
+ secure
+ efficient
=> Good decision for servers
+ 1st choice for software development

Anything I missed out ?
My stuff: Projects - Mods - Website

User avatar
Lone_Wolf
Member
Posts: 2326
Joined: Sun Apr 09, 2017 05:50
GitHub: LoneWolfHT
IRC: Lone_Wolf or LoneWolfHT
In-game: Lone_Wolf
Location: Not there, THERE!

Re: [Server] Capture the Flag Server (Guns!) - Multiple maps

by Lone_Wolf » Post

LMD wrote:Anything I missed out ?
Minetest is a nightmare to compile on Windows
Maybe we should move to the off topic section

User avatar
Esskeetit
Member
Posts: 26
Joined: Sat Nov 24, 2018 16:04
IRC: Esskeetit
In-game: Esskeetit Rio
Location: Earth

Re: [Server] Capture the Flag Server (Guns!) - Multiple maps

by Esskeetit » Post

Heya guys! I checked my rankings list this morning when I joined, and I couldn't BELIEVE who was next on the list to pass out! Moderator IceAgeComing! I couldn't help but think what happened to her? The last thing I remember when she used to play CTF was that she told a player that she didn't swear. Some player reported her in a caverns match for swearing. But that was over 4 months ago and I haven't seen her since. I heard that she was going to Xanadu but that's it. Anything I'm missing here?
Attachments
screenshot_20181228_113255.png
(549.05 KiB) Not downloaded yet
Esskeeetitttttt

DELTA_FORCE
Member
Posts: 132
Joined: Tue Oct 30, 2018 01:26
IRC: DELTA_FORCE
In-game: DELTA_FORCE
Location: Somewhere in the Atlantic

Re: [Server] Capture the Flag Server (Guns!) - Multiple maps

by DELTA_FORCE » Post

My Linux vs. Windows post.
Windows:
Runs code on your machines, although you agreed to it when you didn't read the terms of use.
Sends "Security" updates that broke my laptop. (BSOD)
Costs hundreds of dollars for weak security, bad interface, and spyware like Skype.
The only upside to Windows I think are the portable programs. Oh, wait. OTHER people made Windows "good", not MS. Nevermind.
Linux:
Free
Open Source
Any program that you might actually use is on Linux
Very few malware made for Linux
Linux isn't made for people who don't know crap about computers. This way, we have less idiots running Linux.
I heard Linux is working on a new file system. Who knows about that...
If you can name ONE upside of Windows to Linux, besides the games and stuff, PLEASE tell me. I beg of you to name one thing.
MT5.3.0 for the win!

User avatar
Lone_Wolf
Member
Posts: 2326
Joined: Sun Apr 09, 2017 05:50
GitHub: LoneWolfHT
IRC: Lone_Wolf or LoneWolfHT
In-game: Lone_Wolf
Location: Not there, THERE!

Re: [Server] Capture the Flag Server (Guns!) - Multiple maps

by Lone_Wolf » Post

DELTA_FORCE wrote:My Linux vs. Windows post.
Windows:
Runs code on your machines, although you agreed to it when you didn't read the terms of use.
Sends "Security" updates that broke my laptop. (BSOD)
Costs hundreds of dollars for weak security, bad interface, and spyware like Skype.
The only upside to Windows I think are the portable programs. Oh, wait. OTHER people made Windows "good", not MS. Nevermind.
Linux:
Free
Open Source
Any program that you might actually use is on Linux
Very few malware made for Linux
Linux isn't made for people who don't know crap about computers. This way, we have less idiots running Linux.
I heard Linux is working on a new file system. Who knows about that...
If you can name ONE upside of Windows to Linux, besides the games and stuff, PLEASE tell me. I beg of you to name one thing.
viewtopic.php?f=56&t=21673

User avatar
Stix
Member
Posts: 1385
Joined: Fri Aug 04, 2017 14:19
IRC: nil
In-game: Stix [+alts]
Location: USA

Re: [Server] Capture the Flag Server (Guns!) - Multiple maps

by Stix » Post

My hacks have been exposed!: Image Image Image
Hey, what can i say? I'm the bad guy.

User avatar
ANAND
Member
Posts: 333
Joined: Sun Jan 28, 2018 12:54
GitHub: ClobberXD
IRC: ANAND ClobberXD
In-game: ANAND ClobberXD
Location: India
Contact:

Re: [Server] Capture the Flag Server (Guns!) - Multiple maps

by ANAND » Post

My humble attempt at fixing the messed up team allocation: https://github.com/MT-CTF/capturetheflag/pull/319

Gaara
Member
Posts: 15
Joined: Fri Mar 09, 2018 10:45
GitHub: Gaara95
IRC: Gaara
In-game: Gaara

Re: [Server] Capture the Flag Server (Guns!) - Multiple maps

by Gaara » Post

Wow stix, you learnt how to stand on ladders, and place blocks in yourself...
Ninja cat of justice and valor!

DELTA_FORCE
Member
Posts: 132
Joined: Tue Oct 30, 2018 01:26
IRC: DELTA_FORCE
In-game: DELTA_FORCE
Location: Somewhere in the Atlantic

Re: [Server] Capture the Flag Server (Guns!) - Multiple maps

by DELTA_FORCE » Post

@Garra
If you couldn't tell, it was satire. You should read more books.

@Stix
You are still breaking the rules by using exploitations (Camera clips), so I do wonder why you posted that. :P
MT5.3.0 for the win!

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests