Minetest railcarts and other features

Post Reply
User avatar
dellodp
Member
Posts: 14
Joined: Wed Apr 04, 2012 10:14

Minetest railcarts and other features

by dellodp » Post

Hi everyone I am new to this Minetest was recommended by a friend who cant run minecraft so I decided to give it a try.

First of all I think the game has some very good features but I am puzzled how minetest allows for rail track and powered railtrack but you cant build or use minecarts??

Will this be sorted out soon or will I have to revert back to using minecraft where this is already possible aswell as pre built villages in survival mode etc??

Please dont think I am slagging the game off as I think it has alot of good features, I'm just saying I can't see me playing it for long if small things like this are not going to be addressed.

User avatar
Calinou
Moderator
Posts: 3164
Joined: Mon Aug 01, 2011 14:26
GitHub: Calinou
IRC: Calinou
In-game: Calinou
Location: Troyes, France
Contact:

by Calinou » Post

Railcarts would be extremely hard to code; 3D models would probably also be needed.

Jordach
Member
Posts: 4523
Joined: Mon Oct 03, 2011 17:58
GitHub: Jordach
IRC: Jordach
In-game: Jordach
Location: Blender Scene

by Jordach » Post

Actually not, all you need is a BLOCK ENTITY, MUCH LIKE SAND, second, a chest like drawtype, so you can have wheels on both sides, and finally, some code.
viewtopic.php?f=10&t=19056 Solar Plains Dev Server

User avatar
sfan5
Moderator
Posts: 3929
Joined: Wed Aug 24, 2011 09:44
GitHub: sfan5
IRC: sfan5
Location: Germany

by sfan5 » Post

Wrong Section
Mods: Mesecons | WorldEdit | Nuke & Minetest builds for Windows (32-bit & 64-bit)

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests