Settings in minetest.conf

Post Reply
User avatar
BirgitLachner
Member
Posts: 393
Joined: Thu May 05, 2016 10:18
In-game: Bibs

Settings in minetest.conf

by BirgitLachner » Post

Hi everybody ...
I try to found out all about the minetest.conf. I found the page in the wiki, the example-file at github and a forum-thread where people show their minetest.conf-files (viewtopic.php?f=17&t=10394).
But there are still some problems ...

1.) In the example-files there are a lot of settings concerning settings for key-bindings and video-settings (like leaved water). Are these setting important or can I delete it from the minetest.conf for an internet-server? I think that those settings are more user-related ... for older PC use less details and a more simple display type.

2.) I found differences between the examples at the forum (viewtopic.php?f=17&t=10394) and the informations at the wiki and in the example-file.

One example:
# Give 1 axe_wood, 10 torches, 2 saplings, 5 apples. Edit mods/misc/give_initial_stuff.lua to change.
give_initial_stuff = true
I did not found any information about that. Is this a special mod "misc" oder selfmade code?

3.) Can I have different settings in minetest.conf for different worlds? Do I need to start the server with this additional "option"?
A custom path to a configuration file can be specified in command line using the option --config /path/to/minetest.conf.
Thanks for you help,
Birgit

User avatar
rubenwardy
Moderator
Posts: 6978
Joined: Tue Jun 12, 2012 18:11
GitHub: rubenwardy
IRC: rubenwardy
In-game: rubenwardy
Location: Bristol, United Kingdom
Contact:

Re: Settings in minetest.conf

by rubenwardy » Post

# Give 1 axe_wood, 10 torches, 2 saplings, 5 apples. Edit mods/misc/give_initial_stuff.lua to change.
give_initial_stuff = true
That's a minetest game setting not minetest engine setting. It is documented in games/minetest_game/minetest.conf.example

You set it the same way, it's just documented somewhere else
Renewed Tab (my browser add-on) | Donate | Mods | Minetest Modding Book

Hello profile reader

User avatar
BirgitLachner
Member
Posts: 393
Joined: Thu May 05, 2016 10:18
In-game: Bibs

Re: Settings in minetest.conf

by BirgitLachner » Post

Okay, thanks for this information. I found the "give_initial_stuff".

And as far as I understand it correctly those settings should be added to the minetest.conf file at the folder of the "minetest"?

hajo
Member
Posts: 606
Joined: Thu Oct 13, 2016 10:45
Location: DE
Contact:

Re: Settings in minetest.conf

by hajo » Post

rubenwardy wrote:
# Give 1 axe_wood, 10 torches, 2 saplings, 5 apples. ..
give_initial_stuff = true
It is documented in games/minetest_game/minetest.conf.example
As far as I can see, "give_initial_stuff = true" is set in minetest.conf, but that is only an on/off-switch.
The actual stuff to give is specified in ..\games\minetest_game\mods\give_initial_stuff\init.lua

Changing it there would mean all MTG-games would use that setting.
Is there a way to specify the stuff on a per-server-basis,
or is there a mod for this already ?

User avatar
rubenwardy
Moderator
Posts: 6978
Joined: Tue Jun 12, 2012 18:11
GitHub: rubenwardy
IRC: rubenwardy
In-game: rubenwardy
Location: Bristol, United Kingdom
Contact:

Re: Settings in minetest.conf

by rubenwardy » Post

hajo wrote:
rubenwardy wrote:
# Give 1 axe_wood, 10 torches, 2 saplings, 5 apples. ..
give_initial_stuff = true
It is documented in games/minetest_game/minetest.conf.example
As far as I can see, "give_initial_stuff = true" is set in minetest.conf, but that is only an on/off-switch.
The actual stuff to give is specified in ..\games\minetest_game\mods\give_initial_stuff\init.lua

Changing it there would mean all MTG-games would use that setting.
Is there a way to specify the stuff on a per-server-basis,
or is there a mod for this already ?
There's a setting, see the example config in mtg
Renewed Tab (my browser add-on) | Donate | Mods | Minetest Modding Book

Hello profile reader

User avatar
ExeterDad
Member
Posts: 1717
Joined: Sun Jun 01, 2014 20:00
In-game: ExeterDad
Location: New Hampshire U.S.A

Re: Settings in minetest.conf

by ExeterDad » Post

Two minetest.conf settings are what you need to adjust.

Code: Select all

give_initial_stuff = true
initial_stuff = default:gold_ingot 3,default:pick_wood,default:torch 5,default:apple 5,carts:cart
The second line is comma separated per item. The above will give 3 ingots, 1 wood pick, 5 torches, 5 apples and one cart.

hajo
Member
Posts: 606
Joined: Thu Oct 13, 2016 10:45
Location: DE
Contact:

Re: Settings in minetest.conf

by hajo » Post

rubenwardy wrote:# Give 1 axe_wood, 10 torches, 2 saplings, 5 apples. .. give_initial_stuff = true
It is documented in games/minetest_game/minetest.conf.example
hajo wrote:The actual stuff to give is specified in ..\games\minetest_game\mods\give_initial_stuff\init.lua
Changing it there would mean all MTG-games would use that setting.
Is there a way to specify the stuff on a per-server-basis .. ?
rubenwardy wrote:There's a setting, see the example config in mtg
I found it, but changing the settings in that file would again affect all mtg-games.

Putting something like

Code: Select all

give_initial_stuff = true
initial_stuff = default:tree 4,default:sapling 4,default:apple 4
into the main minetest.conf gets ignored, ie. the stuff from the mtg-config is given.

User avatar
rubenwardy
Moderator
Posts: 6978
Joined: Tue Jun 12, 2012 18:11
GitHub: rubenwardy
IRC: rubenwardy
In-game: rubenwardy
Location: Bristol, United Kingdom
Contact:

Re: Settings in minetest.conf

by rubenwardy » Post

You're doing something wrong, as the main config overrides the game config. I guess check that the setting file is actually used, and any players are new or use /killme
Renewed Tab (my browser add-on) | Donate | Mods | Minetest Modding Book

Hello profile reader

twoelk
Member
Posts: 1482
Joined: Fri Apr 19, 2013 16:19
GitHub: twoelk
IRC: twoelk
In-game: twoelk
Location: northern Germany

Re: Settings in minetest.conf

by twoelk » Post

rubenwardy wrote:You're doing something wrong, as the main config overrides the game config. I guess check that the setting file is actually used, and any players are new or use /killme
the game can not override the main config file in minetest/ ?

User avatar
Linuxdirk
Member
Posts: 3219
Joined: Wed Sep 17, 2014 11:21
In-game: Linuxdirk
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: Settings in minetest.conf

by Linuxdirk » Post

twoelk wrote:the game can not override the main config file in minetest/ ?
Why should a game be able to override fps_max for example?

User avatar
rubenwardy
Moderator
Posts: 6978
Joined: Tue Jun 12, 2012 18:11
GitHub: rubenwardy
IRC: rubenwardy
In-game: rubenwardy
Location: Bristol, United Kingdom
Contact:

Re: Settings in minetest.conf

by rubenwardy » Post

Mods can override the main settings, and so a mod in a game can, but the game's config cannot. This is intentional
Renewed Tab (my browser add-on) | Donate | Mods | Minetest Modding Book

Hello profile reader

User avatar
Linuxdirk
Member
Posts: 3219
Joined: Wed Sep 17, 2014 11:21
In-game: Linuxdirk
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: Settings in minetest.conf

by Linuxdirk » Post

So mods can override performance settings? Wow, THAT's an issue.

User avatar
rubenwardy
Moderator
Posts: 6978
Joined: Tue Jun 12, 2012 18:11
GitHub: rubenwardy
IRC: rubenwardy
In-game: rubenwardy
Location: Bristol, United Kingdom
Contact:

Re: Settings in minetest.conf

by rubenwardy » Post

*sighs*
Renewed Tab (my browser add-on) | Donate | Mods | Minetest Modding Book

Hello profile reader

User avatar
Linuxdirk
Member
Posts: 3219
Joined: Wed Sep 17, 2014 11:21
In-game: Linuxdirk
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: Settings in minetest.conf

by Linuxdirk » Post

Can mods change performance setting or can mods not change performance settings. If they can then it is an issue.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 31 guests