[git-20120408] experimental server [offline]

mauvebic
Member
Posts: 1550
Joined: Fri Jan 27, 2012 11:32

[git-20120408] experimental server [offline]

by mauvebic » Post

69.90.180.65:30000

Image

mods:
flowers
moreblocks
star trek
growing trees: alien, bouleau (growth disable from time to time)
Last edited by mauvebic on Thu Apr 12, 2012 21:23, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
RabbiBob
Member
Posts: 335
Joined: Sat Jan 28, 2012 22:40
Location: /teleport 54,47,28
Contact:

by RabbiBob » Post

What model do you have?

Jordach
Member
Posts: 4523
Joined: Mon Oct 03, 2011 17:58
GitHub: Jordach
IRC: Jordach
In-game: Jordach
Location: Blender Scene

by Jordach » Post

i might know a way in.
viewtopic.php?f=10&t=19056 Solar Plains Dev Server

mauvebic
Member
Posts: 1550
Joined: Fri Jan 27, 2012 11:32

by mauvebic » Post

its a "G Wireless Router version 3000" F5D7234-4

User avatar
RabbiBob
Member
Posts: 335
Joined: Sat Jan 28, 2012 22:40
Location: /teleport 54,47,28
Contact:

by RabbiBob » Post

http://www.belkin.com/support/article/? ... 397&scid=0

Page 63 - Firewall->Virtual Servers
  • Log into your router
  • Open the virtual servers section under Firewall
  • Click enable
  • Put a name (Minetest) in Description
  • Put the inbound port as the one your server is running (30000 by default)
  • Type: UDP
  • Add the internal IP of the computer running the server
  • Put the private port as the one your server is running (30000 by default)
    • Apparently you can have a different port on your external connection than your server port, but let's not confuse things.
  • Apply Changes
You will need to make sure that any firewall on the computer hosting the world also allows port 30000 to pass through, else it will fail. After you've done all of the above, start the server and have someone connect to your internet address.

If that doesn't work, the Remobo/Hamachi VPN users will post instructions on how to do it that way. Good luck.

I can't believe they have Active Worlds as the drop down example in the manual above. That hit major popularity back in 1997 as a community based virtual reality building game (this was Second Life before there was Second Life) and here we are 15 years later still playing with blocks.... ;-)

User avatar
Calinou
Moderator
Posts: 3162
Joined: Mon Aug 01, 2011 14:26
GitHub: Calinou
IRC: Calinou
In-game: Calinou
Location: Troyes, France
Contact:

by Calinou » Post

Edited your post - Minetest uses UDP, not TCP. This is very important, you need to set the correct one.

User avatar
RabbiBob
Member
Posts: 335
Joined: Sat Jan 28, 2012 22:40
Location: /teleport 54,47,28
Contact:

by RabbiBob » Post

Calinou wrote:Edited your post - Minetest uses UDP, not TCP. This is very important, you need to set the correct one.
Thank you Calinou. I wasn't entirely sure about that and unable to test on the current machine.

mauvebic
Member
Posts: 1550
Joined: Fri Jan 27, 2012 11:32

by mauvebic » Post

Thanks! sorry for the delay, was modding and distracted, ill give that a shot now and share an IP via PM see if someone can join me

Jordach
Member
Posts: 4523
Joined: Mon Oct 03, 2011 17:58
GitHub: Jordach
IRC: Jordach
In-game: Jordach
Location: Blender Scene

by Jordach » Post

I c an try to join, version please?
viewtopic.php?f=10&t=19056 Solar Plains Dev Server

mauvebic
Member
Posts: 1550
Joined: Fri Jan 27, 2012 11:32

by mauvebic » Post

RabbiBob wrote:
I can't believe they have Active Worlds as the drop down example in the manual above. That hit major popularity back in 1997 as a community based virtual reality building game (this was Second Life before there was Second Life) and here we are 15 years later still playing with blocks.... ;-)
I *found* minetest looking for a linux port of activeworlds lol

Jordach
Member
Posts: 4523
Joined: Mon Oct 03, 2011 17:58
GitHub: Jordach
IRC: Jordach
In-game: Jordach
Location: Blender Scene

by Jordach » Post

Really just email me here jordach.snelling@gmail.com
viewtopic.php?f=10&t=19056 Solar Plains Dev Server

mauvebic
Member
Posts: 1550
Joined: Fri Jan 27, 2012 11:32

by mauvebic » Post

107.6.56.215:30000

Jordach
Member
Posts: 4523
Joined: Mon Oct 03, 2011 17:58
GitHub: Jordach
IRC: Jordach
In-game: Jordach
Location: Blender Scene

by Jordach » Post

Minetest keeps on going, Connecting to Server..
viewtopic.php?f=10&t=19056 Solar Plains Dev Server

Jordach
Member
Posts: 4523
Joined: Mon Oct 03, 2011 17:58
GitHub: Jordach
IRC: Jordach
In-game: Jordach
Location: Blender Scene

by Jordach » Post

Mt wont connect. IP is real.

Image
viewtopic.php?f=10&t=19056 Solar Plains Dev Server

mauvebic
Member
Posts: 1550
Joined: Fri Jan 27, 2012 11:32

by mauvebic » Post

Thats damn peculiar. Must be something about arch linux. Port forwarding seems to work though :S

User avatar
RabbiBob
Member
Posts: 335
Joined: Sat Jan 28, 2012 22:40
Location: /teleport 54,47,28
Contact:

by RabbiBob » Post

Go here (where the end of the IP is your open port) and it will tell you if your port is open.

https://www.grc.com/x/portprobe=30000

User avatar
RabbiBob
Member
Posts: 335
Joined: Sat Jan 28, 2012 22:40
Location: /teleport 54,47,28
Contact:

by RabbiBob » Post

mauvebic wrote:Thats damn peculiar. Must be something about arch linux. Port forwarding seems to work though :S
Do you have a firewall running on the distro itself?

mauvebic
Member
Posts: 1550
Joined: Fri Jan 27, 2012 11:32

by mauvebic » Post

it gave me:
Stealth Unknown Protocol for this port
Unknown Application for this port

i didn't install any firewalls on arch
Last edited by mauvebic on Sun Apr 08, 2012 14:31, edited 1 time in total.

mauvebic
Member
Posts: 1550
Joined: Fri Jan 27, 2012 11:32

by mauvebic » Post

Do iptables have something to do w/ it? im on protocol 9 btw
Last edited by mauvebic on Sun Apr 08, 2012 14:39, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
RabbiBob
Member
Posts: 335
Joined: Sat Jan 28, 2012 22:40
Location: /teleport 54,47,28
Contact:

by RabbiBob » Post

Stealth = port isn't open all the way through.

Iptables is a firewall and is probably what needs to be set up to allow the port through to the server:

https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/Iptables

Seems like you are close, just the last hurdle.

mauvebic
Member
Posts: 1550
Joined: Fri Jan 27, 2012 11:32

by mauvebic » Post

i went into /etc/sysctl.conf and put:

Code: Select all

net.ipv4.ip_forward=1
net.ipv6.conf.default.forwarding=1
net.ipv6.conf.all.forwarding=1
and i added iptables to daemons. But i still get "Stealth" :-S

I have to do a quick run to the grocery store, ill check back in 40 minutes and give it another shot :-)

mauvebic
Member
Posts: 1550
Joined: Fri Jan 27, 2012 11:32

by mauvebic » Post

i disable the modem's firewall and now i get "Closed" for that port. ive set the modem to portforward to the w/less network


heres what the settings look like:
Image
Last edited by mauvebic on Sun Apr 08, 2012 16:25, edited 1 time in total.

mauvebic
Member
Posts: 1550
Joined: Fri Jan 27, 2012 11:32

by mauvebic » Post

When i setup DMZ on the router it gives me 'Public IP 192.168.1.5 -> private IP 192.168.2.2'
I have a feeling my computers default route should be 192.168.1.5

User avatar
RabbiBob
Member
Posts: 335
Joined: Sat Jan 28, 2012 22:40
Location: /teleport 54,47,28
Contact:

by RabbiBob » Post

Private IP address s/b the server's internal address. I believe that is 192.168.1.5 in your example.
Last edited by RabbiBob on Sun Apr 08, 2012 16:36, edited 1 time in total.

Jordach
Member
Posts: 4523
Joined: Mon Oct 03, 2011 17:58
GitHub: Jordach
IRC: Jordach
In-game: Jordach
Location: Blender Scene

by Jordach » Post

Go here to get your "public" IP: whatismyip.com

Then, using the IP in big letters. Post it here so we can test, also, give Minetest version numbers, so we can connect to you, without client guessing.
viewtopic.php?f=10&t=19056 Solar Plains Dev Server

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 4 guests