[Server] HOMETOWN

User avatar
Aoi
New member
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Jun 22, 2018 16:31
Location: USA
In-game: Aoi

Re: [Server] HOMETOWN

by Aoi » Sun Jul 15, 2018 03:19

shacharr wrote:Your base - does it contain bob8881's tower by chance? If so, I believe I managed to stumble upon it. I have found it amazing! Brought back amazing memories from my actual travel to Japan :).

You wouldn't happen to be a youtuber, would you?
From Japanese 葵 (aoi) meaning "hollyhock, althea" or an adjectival form of 碧 (ao) meaning "green or blue." | Slytherin | Christian | Writer/Editor |
 

User avatar
Kibbie
Member
 
Posts: 437
Joined: Thu Nov 03, 2016 20:48
IRC: Kibbie
In-game: Kibbie IOKA

Re: [Server] HOMETOWN

by Kibbie » Sun Jul 15, 2018 04:14

GreenDimond wrote:
Lupercus wrote:I was banned from this server without reason.

Had you not left the Discord, you would have received an answer to your question.
And would have seen my question.
Image
And it should have displayed a reason. Odd if it didn't.
Anyway, as you are related to bender, you have been banned as a side-effect of being on the same IP.
Image


Wait, is this the dude who wrote the admins eat rotten bananas or something? My boys and their friend were on the server earlier when that happened - so I did catch wind of something like that.

Just FYI - ExeterDad and I don't eat rotten bananas, but we really don't mind if you think we do - whatever gets you through my night, my friend. Although I do sometimes turn overripe bananas into banana bread, so technically Lupercus or bender would be correct. ;)
 

User avatar
Lupercus
Member
 
Posts: 18
Joined: Tue Jan 03, 2017 02:08
GitHub: lupercus13
IRC: Lupercus-Server
In-game: Lupercus

Re: [Server] HOMETOWN

by Lupercus » Sun Jul 15, 2018 04:24

It was my son bender, sorry for the problems he caused on hometown
 

shacharr
Member
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Thu Jun 21, 2018 06:36
In-game: shacharr

Re: [Server] HOMETOWN

by shacharr » Sun Jul 15, 2018 04:40

Aoi wrote:
shacharr wrote:Your base - does it contain bob8881's tower by chance? If so, I believe I managed to stumble upon it. I have found it amazing! Brought back amazing memories from my actual travel to Japan :).

You wouldn't happen to be a youtuber, would you?

Never attempted to capture videos of my journey through hometown. Why?
 

User avatar
GreenDimond
Member
 
Posts: 1244
Joined: Wed Oct 28, 2015 01:26
Location: *teleports behind you*
GitHub: GreenXenith
IRC: GreenDimond
In-game: GreenDimond

Re: [Server] HOMETOWN

by GreenDimond » Sun Jul 15, 2018 05:06

Lupercus wrote:It was my son bender, sorry for the problems he caused on hometown

I would have let it slide had it been a one-time thing. However, it had been reported on repeated occasion.
I trust that he has learned to be a little more courteous, so I shortened the ban time to 2 days.

Also, here is the Discord Server invite link again, as it isn't easy to find now that the HOMETOWN Forum is down.
https://discord.gg/v7tYMMk
(98 members.. almost there! :D)
Y▹uTube | Mods | Patreon | Minetest Discord | GreenDimond#3232
 

User avatar
doyousketch2
Member
 
Posts: 105
Joined: Tue Feb 05, 2013 16:06
Location: Ohio
GitHub: doyousketch2
In-game: Sketch2

Re: [Server] HOMETOWN

by doyousketch2 » Sun Jul 15, 2018 10:45

GreenDimond wrote:...shortened the ban time to 2 days.

Cool.
 

micheal65536
Member
 
Posts: 95
Joined: Mon May 22, 2017 20:27

Re: [Server] HOMETOWN

by micheal65536 » Sun Jul 15, 2018 11:27

ExeterDad wrote:I'll likely go another way and set up LBM's so the old blocks are discovered and recorded when the areas are loaded.

Maybe you could simply read the locations of the protection blocks directly out of Minetest's database? This could either be done on-demand or at the same time that the map images are generated (which I assume is done during the restart to reduce load?).
 

User avatar
rubenwardy
Moderator
 
Posts: 5691
Joined: Tue Jun 12, 2012 18:11
Location: United Kingdom
GitHub: rubenwardy
IRC: rubenwardy
In-game: rubenwardy

Re: [Server] HOMETOWN

by rubenwardy » Sun Jul 15, 2018 11:52

micheal65536 wrote:Node.js (and similar frameworks such as Ruby on Rails) is difficult to deploy alongside an existing stack. For example, I use Apache with multiple vhosts. To run a Node.js application alongside Apache on its own vhost would require running the Node.js application on another port and setting up Apache as a proxy


Conversely, this is how you should be deploying all of your applications already. It allows better clustering and caching.

Also, in nginx it's as simple as this:

Code: Select all
server {
    server_name: content.minetest.net;
    listen: 443 http2;
    proxy_pass "http://localhost:2345";
}


Apache sucks, btw ;)
 

talamh
Member
 
Posts: 78
Joined: Sun Nov 12, 2017 18:24

Dome sweet dome!

by talamh » Sun Jul 15, 2018 16:06

I'm going to have to stop trying to build massive domes on minetest servers! Every server I've attempted to build one on has either been taken offline or suffered map problems!

Before:
Image

After:
Image


I'll play it safe next time and build a cube :)
 

User avatar
Lone_Wolf
Member
 
Posts: 2113
Joined: Sun Apr 09, 2017 05:50
Location: Hopefully very far from yours, snoop :P
GitHub: LoneWolfHT
IRC: Lone_Wolf
In-game: Lone_Wolf

Re: Dome sweet dome!

by Lone_Wolf » Sun Jul 15, 2018 16:23

talamh wrote:I'm going to have to stop trying to build massive domes on minetest servers! Every server I've attempted to build one on has either been taken offline or suffered map problems!

Before:
Image

After:
Image


I'll play it safe next time and build a cube :)

heh. If you show me your domes I could save them to my client in case the map crashes again.
BTW: You might want to get Minetest 0.4.17.1. It has a lot more features. (On Linux you should be able to do sudo apt-get install minetest to get it)
 

User avatar
ExeterDad
Member
 
Posts: 1717
Joined: Sun Jun 01, 2014 20:00
Location: New Hampshire U.S.A
In-game: ExeterDad

Re: [Server] HOMETOWN

by ExeterDad » Sun Jul 15, 2018 16:54

rubenwardy wrote:Conversely, this is how you should be deploying all of your applications already. It allows better clustering and caching.

Also, in nginx it's as simple as this:

Code: Select all
server {
    server_name: content.minetest.net;
    listen: 443 http2;
    proxy_pass "http://localhost:2345";
}


Apache sucks, btw ;)


Agree'd with all above.
Besides Nginx has been proxying to php all along any how. If I turn away from PhpBB, I'll likely be able to dump php as well. I only have a couple scripts that I made that depend on it.
I have a test install of NodeBB up that I'm exploring. I think I like it. I'm guessing in a few years it will be awesome. However the database is Mongo. Whatever the heck that is. The commands sure are strange. I thought I would of hooked the forum up to a Nginx proxy last night and made it live, but it seems the upgrade to Debian 9 broke my DKIMS. In this state, all registration emails would either be bounced or end up in spam boxes.
Baby steps :/
 

talamh
Member
 
Posts: 78
Joined: Sun Nov 12, 2017 18:24

Re: Dome sweet dome!

by talamh » Sun Jul 15, 2018 17:09

Lone_Wolf wrote:heh. If you show me your domes I could save them to my client in case the map crashes again.
BTW: You might want to get Minetest 0.4.17.1. It has a lot more features. (On Linux you should be able to do sudo apt-get install minetest to get it)


I'm sure i have a local copy of that part of the map somewhere, I'm really not bothered about the dome being replaced though. The dome was only a test build, I was planning on building a giant Earth and Moon with both size and distance to scale and I just wanted a bit of practice building with round shapes.

I have 0.4.17.1 compiled on this machine, I prefer 0.4.15 personally. Don't know why i used 0.4.13 for the screenshots to be honest.
 

User avatar
Aoi
New member
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Jun 22, 2018 16:31
Location: USA
In-game: Aoi

Re: [Server] HOMETOWN

by Aoi » Mon Jul 16, 2018 12:29

shacharr wrote:
Aoi wrote:
shacharr wrote:Your base - does it contain bob8881's tower by chance? If so, I believe I managed to stumble upon it. I have found it amazing! Brought back amazing memories from my actual travel to Japan :).

You wouldn't happen to be a youtuber, would you?

Never attempted to capture videos of my journey through hometown. Why?

Oh, your username just sounded very similar to a youtuber so I was just curious
From Japanese 葵 (aoi) meaning "hollyhock, althea" or an adjectival form of 碧 (ao) meaning "green or blue." | Slytherin | Christian | Writer/Editor |
 

wwww
New member
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Jul 11, 2018 17:46
In-game: wwww

Re: [Server] HOMETOWN

by wwww » Mon Jul 16, 2018 14:53

Hey, is the server offline right now?
 

User avatar
Aoi
New member
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Jun 22, 2018 16:31
Location: USA
In-game: Aoi

Re: [Server] HOMETOWN

by Aoi » Mon Jul 16, 2018 14:59

wwww wrote:Hey, is the server offline right now?

Yes
From Japanese 葵 (aoi) meaning "hollyhock, althea" or an adjectival form of 碧 (ao) meaning "green or blue." | Slytherin | Christian | Writer/Editor |
 

Nelly
Member
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Wed Jul 11, 2018 16:55
In-game: Tron

Re: [Server] HOMETOWN

by Nelly » Mon Jul 16, 2018 18:39

Hi EDad Tron here.I logged in to my account Tron and whent to My old Account riders house,so i already re protected it to tron but it was now saying iwned by Rider,and when i logged in to Rider i opened one of my locked chest and suprisingly i found ten stacks of gold abd 18 stack of mese and diamond.
 

Nelly
Member
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Wed Jul 11, 2018 16:55
In-game: Tron

Re: [Server] HOMETOWN

by Nelly » Mon Jul 16, 2018 19:14

Oh EDad i got a huge piece of all typrs of biome but mostly grass and im working on building a city ,I need IOKA to protect it and i will send you the location. Whoever whants to help build say me,
 

Nelly
Member
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Wed Jul 11, 2018 16:55
In-game: Tron

Re: [Server] HOMETOWN

by Nelly » Mon Jul 16, 2018 19:20

Im a great fan of your youtube videos to i always punch thumbs up, i loved even when i didnt know you and IOKA are HOMETOWN,S parents"lol"But all credit thanks alot
 

User avatar
maikerumine
Member
 
Posts: 1348
Joined: Mon Aug 04, 2014 14:27
GitHub: maikerumine
In-game: maikerumine

Re: [Server] HOMETOWN

by maikerumine » Tue Jul 17, 2018 04:28

My account got stolen on hometown, find the ip and send it to me please.
 

Nelly
Member
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Wed Jul 11, 2018 16:55
In-game: Tron

Re: [Server] HOMETOWN

by Nelly » Tue Jul 17, 2018 04:52

ExterDad who stol it how do i find ip
 

User avatar
ChimneySwift
Member
 
Posts: 319
Joined: Fri Sep 22, 2017 06:46
Location: 127.0.0.1
GitHub: ChimneySwift
IRC: ChimneySwift
In-game: ChimneySwift

Re: [Server] HOMETOWN

by ChimneySwift » Tue Jul 17, 2018 08:49

Nelly wrote:ExterDad who stol it how do i find ip


https://englishlive.ef.com/blog/languag ... n-english/
A spoon is basically a tiny bowl with a stick on it
 

6722
Member
 
Posts: 35
Joined: Sun Jun 17, 2018 00:14
GitHub: 67221245191
IRC: 6722
In-game: 67221245191
 

Nelly
Member
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Wed Jul 11, 2018 16:55
In-game: Tron

Re: [Server] HOMETOWN

by Nelly » Tue Jul 17, 2018 11:05

Thanks ChimneySwift, your good
 

micheal65536
Member
 
Posts: 95
Joined: Mon May 22, 2017 20:27

Re: [Server] HOMETOWN

by micheal65536 » Wed Jul 18, 2018 16:54

The server appears to be "down" at the moment. When I was playing earlier it suddenly stopped responding and I eventually timed out. I have been unable to connect since, even though I have tried multiple times and it is over an hour later.

The problem is not with my internet connection (I'm not stupid). I do not get a connection timeout error but rather the "init packet not recognized by server" error that is typical for a server that is up but not responding. I suspect that the server may have entered an infinite loop in some mod code somewhere.
 

User avatar
ExeterDad
Member
 
Posts: 1717
Joined: Sun Jun 01, 2014 20:00
Location: New Hampshire U.S.A
In-game: ExeterDad

Re: [Server] HOMETOWN

by ExeterDad » Wed Jul 18, 2018 17:06

micheal65536 wrote:The server appears to be "down" at the moment. When I was playing earlier it suddenly stopped responding and I eventually timed out. I have been unable to connect since, even though I have tried multiple times and it is over an hour later.

The problem is not with my internet connection (I'm not stupid). I do not get a connection timeout error but rather the "init packet not recognized by server" error that is typical for a server that is up but not responding. I suspect that the server may have entered an infinite loop in some mod code somewhere.

Yeah I just discovered and restarted. In fact it was "stalled" with no output in the debug.txt
Really odd. The service was running, and unable to restart. I had to manually kill the process to allow it to restart automatically.
I've no clue as to why. This is twice now.
There's no new mod code with the exception of the mods that come within the upgraded Minetest_Game, and of course the Minetest upgrade... and the Debian 9 upgrade. Or maybe the database upgrade. But other than that.... it's the same :P
 

PreviousNext

Return to Servers



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests