Redcrab's server

User avatar
Neuro
Member
 
Posts: 227
Joined: Sat Aug 11, 2012 09:37
Location: United States

by Neuro » Mon Mar 18, 2013 10:26

hola guys im here but not ingame, my son came into this world 03-10-13 at 4:51 pm EST i wont be on for awhile but i will visit sometimes, when i get a better job ill try to be online more, also during the summer. his name is Chase Riley S.(not revealing last name Rev knows what it is though cuz its on my Skype) well happy building guys when i have time ill post a pic of Chase
"Get busy Living or Get busy Dying" ~Alexander Supertramp
 

User avatar
Topywo
Member
 
Posts: 1721
Joined: Fri May 18, 2012 20:27

by Topywo » Mon Mar 18, 2013 13:28

Neuro wrote:hola guys im here but not ingame, my son came into this world 03-10-13 at 4:51 pm EST i wont be on for awhile but i will visit sometimes, when i get a better job ill try to be online more, also during the summer. his name is Chase Riley S.(not revealing last name Rev knows what it is though cuz its on my Skype) well happy building guys when i have time ill post a pic of Chase


Congratulations with the birth of your son!
 

User avatar
KoalaBear
Member
 
Posts: 36
Joined: Sun Feb 17, 2013 03:53

by KoalaBear » Mon Mar 18, 2013 14:42

cactuz_pl wrote:
KoalaBear wrote:woahwoahwoahwoooooooah! Hold on! Are you saying IM the griefer!?!? I was the one who got griefed!!


Let me explain:
You griefed road, so I rolled back ALL your actions, I should ban you for that but I think losing all buildings is enough punishment.

Image

So now I have nothing?
Yolo :)
 

User avatar
webdesigner97
Member
 
Posts: 1325
Joined: Mon Jul 30, 2012 19:16
Location: Bergisch Gladbach, Germany
GitHub: webD97
IRC: webdesigner97
In-game: webdesigner97

by webdesigner97 » Mon Mar 18, 2013 14:50

What happened to New Riverwood? Blocked doors in front of some houses and:
Image
 

Sokomine
Member
 
Posts: 3974
Joined: Sun Sep 09, 2012 17:31
GitHub: Sokomine

by Sokomine » Mon Mar 18, 2013 14:58

ch98 wrote:If anyone hits land # 568 while gigging a tunnel, tell Reverand or Me (ch98) for the land. If it does not go to surface inside the land, it will be allowed. (I want only 1 entrance to that place. sorry)


thank you! That was a helpful post. I hope others will follow (if not in posting than at least in behaviour, that is - fascilitate building of roads). Not going to the surface is a perfectly reasonable request. So thank you! And build something nice :-))
Last edited by Sokomine on Mon Mar 18, 2013 14:59, edited 1 time in total.
A list of my mods can be found here.
 

User avatar
cactuz_pl
Member
 
Posts: 876
Joined: Tue Jun 05, 2012 16:34
Location: Poland

by cactuz_pl » Mon Mar 18, 2013 15:10

KoalaBear wrote:So now I have nothing?


Yes.

Unless you want me to comply with the rules.
http://forum.minetest.net/viewtopic.php?pid=61529#p61529
Nope
 

User avatar
KoalaBear
Member
 
Posts: 36
Joined: Sun Feb 17, 2013 03:53

by KoalaBear » Mon Mar 18, 2013 15:13

Wasnt that road BAGPIPE's? I wouldent of destroyed it otherwise
Yolo :)
 

jacksfilms
Member
 
Posts: 16
Joined: Sat Mar 16, 2013 01:36
Location: Los Angeles, California

by jacksfilms » Mon Mar 18, 2013 15:28

I would like to protect this area if possible: 19, 37, 1371, x -22, 37, 1381. Thanks.
 

ch98
Member
 
Posts: 463
Joined: Wed Jan 02, 2013 06:14

by ch98 » Mon Mar 18, 2013 17:06

VanessaE wrote:The mapgen bug that is occurring now has nothing to do with the amount of memory or hard disk space on the server. It is a problem with the way the map data is stored - as SQLite files. At 4GB and above, SQLite doesn't function reliably, leading to corrupted maps.

There is work being done to bring LevelDB to minetest as an alternate database backend, which may solve the map size problem. This can be expected fairly soon. Existing SQLite maps will have to be repaired (if corrupted) and converted over to LevelDB format to benefit from that backend.

A similar-looking bug can also occur if the server runs out of hard disk space, which is what happened a while back when the spawn got so badly ravaged, but that is a completely different issue. There has been some work being done to address that bug, but as far as I know no fix has been implemented yet.

mapgen bug was caused by hard disk space is what redcrab says. Server map is more then 9 GB but running fine.

redcrab wrote:
ch98 wrote:(...)
I have hard that more than 4 GB maap will cause big bugs (mapgen bug). Is the server on modifyed minetest?


Currently on this server the mapgen bug were caused due to lack of free space on the disk storage but not due to map size
The current map may be still corrupted from these pasts "lack of free space" events.
I have stopped playing minetest, and may not come back to it again. I would like to thank everyone that made the amazing time I had playing it. This account is not in use anymore, and the email has been linked to a unused account. If any administrator reading this has time, feel free to delete my account. Thank you very much for the great experience.
 

User avatar
VanessaE
Moderator
 
Posts: 4480
Joined: Sun Apr 01, 2012 12:38
Location: Waynesville, NC
GitHub: VanessaE
IRC: VanessaE
In-game: VanessaE

by VanessaE » Mon Mar 18, 2013 17:36

ch98: are you sure that statement is still true? I mean, the bug map crash we had a while back was indeed due to lack of disk space, but the current issues?
You might like some of my stuff: Plantlife ~ More Trees ~ Home Decor ~ Pipeworks ~ HDX Textures (64-512px)
 

ch98
Member
 
Posts: 463
Joined: Wed Jan 02, 2013 06:14

by ch98 » Mon Mar 18, 2013 18:12

VanessaE wrote:ch98: are you sure that statement is still true? I mean, the bug map crash we had a while back was indeed due to lack of disk space, but the current issues?

it was posted at: 18 Mar 2013, 11:10 on http://minetestbb.suret.net/phpbb/viewtopic.php?f=8&t=11&sid=aed9746e14e41b3cbfcd5733c52721db
I have stopped playing minetest, and may not come back to it again. I would like to thank everyone that made the amazing time I had playing it. This account is not in use anymore, and the email has been linked to a unused account. If any administrator reading this has time, feel free to delete my account. Thank you very much for the great experience.
 

User avatar
VanessaE
Moderator
 
Posts: 4480
Joined: Sun Apr 01, 2012 12:38
Location: Waynesville, NC
GitHub: VanessaE
IRC: VanessaE
In-game: VanessaE

by VanessaE » Mon Mar 18, 2013 18:38

Well fair enough then. Guess I better make sure I never run out of space on mine! :-)
You might like some of my stuff: Plantlife ~ More Trees ~ Home Decor ~ Pipeworks ~ HDX Textures (64-512px)
 

SinbadShalazar
Member
 
Posts: 14
Joined: Tue Feb 12, 2013 07:25
 

BAGPIPE
Member
 
Posts: 70
Joined: Tue Jan 22, 2013 20:37
Location: Washington

by BAGPIPE » Tue Mar 19, 2013 02:33

Thank you for the protection, Soko
My username tells almost everything about me.
 

User avatar
0gb.us
Member
 
Posts: 841
Joined: Sun Sep 16, 2012 01:55
Location: 0gb.us:30000
 

ch98
Member
 
Posts: 463
Joined: Wed Jan 02, 2013 06:14

by ch98 » Tue Mar 19, 2013 03:50

0gb.us wrote:So does that mean the 4 GiB threat is not a threat?

no. it is not.
I have stopped playing minetest, and may not come back to it again. I would like to thank everyone that made the amazing time I had playing it. This account is not in use anymore, and the email has been linked to a unused account. If any administrator reading this has time, feel free to delete my account. Thank you very much for the great experience.
 

User avatar
KoalaBear
Member
 
Posts: 36
Joined: Sun Feb 17, 2013 03:53

by KoalaBear » Tue Mar 19, 2013 03:50

I was wondering,
would it be possible to create a minetest 'guild'? This idea intrigues me and I would love to be part of a group of people devoted to the game! PM me if you are interested in this, or post a reply.

BTW- i only post this here because many people on this server i enjoy building and talking with.
Yolo :)
 

User avatar
redcrab
Member
 
Posts: 831
Joined: Tue Dec 13, 2011 13:45
Location: France

by redcrab » Tue Mar 19, 2013 09:09

ch98 wrote:
0gb.us wrote:So does that mean the 4 GiB threat is not a threat?

no. it is not.


In fact sqlite may handle ~140 Terabyte database (no index , small record ...)
The threat come from 2 aspects ..
. OS and File System limit .. Windows vs Linux and FAT vs NTFS vs EXT etc...
. the way you kill the process that handle the database (if a wild kill occurs during writing .. that may corrupt the database)
0.4 for serious builder click here
Dedicated Minetest redcrab server forum at http://minetestbb.suret.net

It's nice to be important but it is more important to be nice.
 

User avatar
Adarqet
Member
 
Posts: 173
Joined: Thu Oct 04, 2012 14:05
Location: Traveling with BorisGrishenko

by Adarqet » Tue Mar 19, 2013 10:00

How do you remove a home?
 

User avatar
0gb.us
Member
 
Posts: 841
Joined: Sun Sep 16, 2012 01:55
Location: 0gb.us:30000

by 0gb.us » Tue Mar 19, 2013 10:31

redcrab wrote:
ch98 wrote:
0gb.us wrote:So does that mean the 4 GiB threat is not a threat?

no. it is not.


In fact sqlite may handle ~140 Terabyte database (no index , small record ...)
The threat come from 2 aspects ..
. OS and File System limit .. Windows vs Linux and FAT vs NTFS vs EXT etc...
. the way you kill the process that handle the database (if a wild kill occurs during writing .. that may corrupt the database)


Awesome. I'm using Linux/EXT, and I use "killall -2" to shut down the server, so I guess I've been freaking out over nothing. Thanks for the information!
 

User avatar
redcrab
Member
 
Posts: 831
Joined: Tue Dec 13, 2011 13:45
Location: France

by redcrab » Tue Mar 19, 2013 14:10

Adarqet wrote:How do you remove a home?


What do you mean by removing a home ?
0.4 for serious builder click here
Dedicated Minetest redcrab server forum at http://minetestbb.suret.net

It's nice to be important but it is more important to be nice.
 

User avatar
Traxie21
Member
 
Posts: 753
Joined: Mon Dec 31, 2012 10:48
Location: McKinney, Texas U.S.A.
 

User avatar
Adarqet
Member
 
Posts: 173
Joined: Thu Oct 04, 2012 14:05
Location: Traveling with BorisGrishenko

by Adarqet » Tue Mar 19, 2013 14:37

redcrab wrote:
Adarqet wrote:How do you remove a home?


What do you mean by removing a home ?
I mean the set home thing. I want to remove the homewarp place.
 

User avatar
Traxie21
Member
 
Posts: 753
Joined: Mon Dec 31, 2012 10:48
Location: McKinney, Texas U.S.A.

by Traxie21 » Tue Mar 19, 2013 15:01

Well, you can change it with /sethome again, but I doubt you can remove it.
 

User avatar
AspireMint
Member
 
Posts: 355
Joined: Mon Jul 09, 2012 12:59
Location: Stuck at spawn
GitHub: AspireMint
IRC: AspireMint
In-game: AspireMint

by AspireMint » Tue Mar 19, 2013 17:55

Hello :)

Image
Image
Image

:D
"I came here to drink milk and kick ass, and I've just finished my milk!" ― Maurice Moss
 

PreviousNext

Return to Servers



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: MSN [Bot] and 4 guests