[Server] Inside The Box [Puzzles]

User avatar
DS-minetest
Member
Posts: 1141
Joined: Thu Jun 19, 2014 19:49
GitHub: Desour
IRC: DS-minetest
In-game: DS
Location: I'm scared that if this is too exact, I will be unable to use my keyboard.

Re: [Server] Inside The Box [Puzzles]

by DS-minetest » Post

Lone_Wolf wrote:Players shouldn't need to use a notepad, screenshot tool, or calculator throughout the entire box
I disagree. Puzzles that are so hard that you need to take notes are fun.

The real problem is boxes where you just have to search for randomly hidden stuff.
Note that I've recently renamed myself on github and co. to "Desour". (I'm bad at naming things.)
Feel free to call me DS.

User avatar
Lone_Wolf
Member
Posts: 2378
Joined: Sun Apr 09, 2017 05:50
GitHub: LoneWolfHT
IRC: Lone_Wolf or LoneWolfHT
In-game: Lone_Wolf
Location: Not there, THERE!

Re: [Server] Inside The Box [Puzzles]

by Lone_Wolf » Post

DS-minetest wrote:
Lone_Wolf wrote:Players shouldn't need to use a notepad, screenshot tool, or calculator throughout the entire box
I disagree. Puzzles that are so hard that you need to take notes are fun.

The real problem is boxes where you just have to search for randomly hidden stuff.
I can see some boxes like that being fun, but not ones that are purely dedicated to that

sofar
Developer
Posts: 2132
Joined: Fri Jan 16, 2015 07:31
GitHub: sofar
IRC: sofar
In-game: sofar

Re: [Server] Inside The Box [Puzzles]

by sofar » Post

PapaRubby wrote:I don't know why, but 5 of my pictures on imgur disappeared, here are the new codes :
"768" : "bCeM9MU",
"772" : "JNyJdtB",
"777" : "QQFpAxM",
"827" : "FebTfim",
"831" : "cQsowng"
Probably because imgur.com requires you to "complete" the upload post and at least once retrieve the uploaded image. Fixed.

sofar
Developer
Posts: 2132
Joined: Fri Jan 16, 2015 07:31
GitHub: sofar
IRC: sofar
In-game: sofar

Re: [Server] Inside The Box [Puzzles]

by sofar » Post

DS-minetest wrote:
Lone_Wolf wrote:Players shouldn't need to use a notepad, screenshot tool, or calculator throughout the entire box
I disagree. Puzzles that are so hard that you need to take notes are fun.

The real problem is boxes where you just have to search for randomly hidden stuff.
There's an audience for both types of puzzles, which is why I'm allowing a wide range of "find the button" type of boxes as well as a wide range of "all the clues are there, you just need to figure them out" as well.

The mix is what makes this experiment so interesting. We're looking at hundreds of hours of game play already right now, with something for everyone. Lots of players don't play more than 20% of the available boxes - they get something out of it too, so we want to keep the quality up but leave it in the middle to specifically promote types of boxes.

sofar
Developer
Posts: 2132
Joined: Fri Jan 16, 2015 07:31
GitHub: sofar
IRC: sofar
In-game: sofar

Re: [Server] Inside The Box [Puzzles]

by sofar » Post

sofar wrote:
PapaRubby wrote:I don't know why, but 5 of my pictures on imgur disappeared, here are the new codes :
"768" : "bCeM9MU",
"772" : "JNyJdtB",
"777" : "QQFpAxM",
"827" : "FebTfim",
"831" : "cQsowng"
Probably because imgur.com requires you to "complete" the upload post and at least once retrieve the uploaded image. Fixed.
I'm going to add another requirement to the screenshot rules, because you posted one that is from an "impossible" player viewpoint, and I would like to avoid that, entirely. It's both a major spoiler, and it doesn't look good in many cases (in this case, I don't feel it looks good, at all).

- screenshots must be made from a view point that the player can reach. IOW, you can't fly to a far corner up in the air to make a capture. If you don't know what this means, go into the box in *play* mode instead of *edit* mode and take the screenshot while test-playing the box.

User avatar
TumeniNodes
Member
Posts: 2861
Joined: Fri Feb 26, 2016 19:49
GitHub: TumeniNodes
IRC: tumeninodes
In-game: TumeniNodes
Location: in the dark recesses of the mind
Contact:

Re: [Server] Inside The Box [Puzzles]

by TumeniNodes » Post

A challenge for all you boxcrafters...
Would love to see a box made along the idea of this https://harrypotter.fandom.com/wiki/Triwizard_Maze
Ich mag keine grünen Eier und Schinken, ich mag sie nicht Sam I Am

User avatar
PapaRubby
Member
Posts: 20
Joined: Tue Dec 17, 2019 14:27
In-game: PapaRubby
Location: Indian Ocean

Re: [Server] Inside The Box [Puzzles]

by PapaRubby » Post

sofar wrote: - screenshots must be made from a view point that the player can reach. IOW, you can't fly to a far corner up in the air to make a capture. If you don't know what this means, go into the box in *play* mode instead of *edit* mode and take the screenshot while test-playing the box.
"861":"30R8r8f"

User avatar
PapaRubby
Member
Posts: 20
Joined: Tue Dec 17, 2019 14:27
In-game: PapaRubby
Location: Indian Ocean

Re: [Server] Inside The Box [Puzzles]

by PapaRubby » Post

Hey there !
If you need some walkthrough boxes, you can check my new channel on You Tube :
PapaRubby
And if you need one that is not on the list, just ask for it !

Kurtzmusch
Member
Posts: 41
Joined: Sat Oct 21, 2017 18:12
In-game: Kurtzmusch

Re: [Server] Inside The Box [Puzzles]

by Kurtzmusch » Post

PapaRubby wrote:Hey there !
If you need some walkthrough boxes, you can check my new channel on You Tube :
PapaRubby
And if you need one that is not on the list, just ask for it !
hey, nice to see people solving my boxes! Did you really finish Stairways and Confusion with those jumps or just for the speedrun? most of them were not suposed to be possible!
Like Puzzles? Escape The Dungeon

User avatar
PapaRubby
Member
Posts: 20
Joined: Tue Dec 17, 2019 14:27
In-game: PapaRubby
Location: Indian Ocean

Re: [Server] Inside The Box [Puzzles]

by PapaRubby » Post

Kurtzmusch wrote:hey, nice to see people solving my boxes! Did you really finish Stairways and Confusion with those jumps or just for the speedrun? most of them were not suposed to be possible!
For the speedrun, i've only put the right answer and went out and it took me 1'40". I thought the good way to finish it was those hard jumps on stairs, did i miss something ?

Kurtzmusch
Member
Posts: 41
Joined: Sat Oct 21, 2017 18:12
In-game: Kurtzmusch

Re: [Server] Inside The Box [Puzzles]

by Kurtzmusch » Post

most jumps are a lot easyer if you use the trampoline
Like Puzzles? Escape The Dungeon

User avatar
PapaRubby
Member
Posts: 20
Joined: Tue Dec 17, 2019 14:27
In-game: PapaRubby
Location: Indian Ocean

Re: [Server] Inside The Box [Puzzles]

by PapaRubby » Post

I'd like to understand some little things about the ranking system. I looked at the ranking code and didn't find answers :
- If a player often leaves a box before or after completing it, does it changes the box/builder/player rank ?
- How is it possible for a player to upgrade in the ranking without playing ? i mean, i was in 2nd position when i stopped to play, after some time, the 3rd one took the 2nd place an a few time later (days ?), without playing, i get back to the 2nd position. Does this mean a player can loose points when playing ?

sofar
Developer
Posts: 2132
Joined: Fri Jan 16, 2015 07:31
GitHub: sofar
IRC: sofar
In-game: sofar

Re: [Server] Inside The Box [Puzzles]

by sofar » Post

- If a player often leaves a box before or after completing it, does it changes the box/builder/player rank ?
It does not. Indirectly, it affects total number of players completing the box (since, it will be lower) and therefore boxes that are not getting completed will rank lower than boxes that are getting completed. This is needed to discourage people from making boxes that are too difficult.
- How is it possible for a player to upgrade in the ranking without playing ? i mean, i was in 2nd position when i stopped to play, after some time, the 3rd one took the 2nd place an a few time later (days ?), without playing, i get back to the 2nd position. Does this mean a player can loose points when playing ?
Your rank is relative. Actions of others can affect your rank. If others play "badly", they will lose ranks compared to players that did not play.

Pudding
Member
Posts: 11
Joined: Sun Dec 23, 2018 18:11

Re: [Server] Inside The Box [Puzzles]

by Pudding » Post

Could the "reveal tool" be added to a players inventory when they play a box they've built and something like a "signal tool" that outputs a mech signal when hit against a node. This would make play testing mech boxes a lot nicer and easier to identify the problem with mechs if a problem does occur while play testing.

The "reveal tool" will allow you to check the information of the mechs.
The "signal tool" will allow you to break non-mech nodes to get to the mechs. It will also be able to recreate scenarios which a randomiser could create.

sofar
Developer
Posts: 2132
Joined: Fri Jan 16, 2015 07:31
GitHub: sofar
IRC: sofar
In-game: sofar

Re: [Server] Inside The Box [Puzzles]

by sofar » Post

Pudding wrote:
Sun Jun 28, 2020 08:57
Could the "reveal tool" be added to a players inventory when they play a box they've built and something like a "signal tool" that outputs a mech signal when hit against a node. This would make play testing mech boxes a lot nicer and easier to identify the problem with mechs if a problem does occur while play testing.

The "reveal tool" will allow you to check the information of the mechs.
The "signal tool" will allow you to break non-mech nodes to get to the mechs. It will also be able to recreate scenarios which a randomiser could create.
I agree that it's useful. However, it does give a problem. We've recently changed the submit system to require that the box is playtested first. We can't have people playtest boxes with a "cheat" tool since it would allow them to bypass this important QA step. Having the tool to send a trigger is certainly useful, and I think we should definitely add it for the creative inventory. But I'm not so sure how I would make sure that playtesting doesn't inadvertently turn into bypassing the testing requirement.

Pudding
Member
Posts: 11
Joined: Sun Dec 23, 2018 18:11

Re: [Server] Inside The Box [Puzzles]

by Pudding » Post

I retracted my box in the review queue, made some edits and re-submitted my box. I did playtest it but I never completed my box after I made the edits.

sofar
Developer
Posts: 2132
Joined: Fri Jan 16, 2015 07:31
GitHub: sofar
IRC: sofar
In-game: sofar

Re: [Server] Inside The Box [Puzzles]

by sofar » Post

Pudding wrote:
Fri Jul 10, 2020 02:47
I retracted my box in the review queue, made some edits and re-submitted my box. I did playtest it but I never completed my box after I made the edits.
Interesting, the playtest bit should get reset after edits... I'll have to check the code XD

sofar
Developer
Posts: 2132
Joined: Fri Jan 16, 2015 07:31
GitHub: sofar
IRC: sofar
In-game: sofar

Re: [Server] Inside The Box [Puzzles]

by sofar » Post

Code: Select all

		if bmeta.meta.tested then
			-- reset tested flag if significant edits were made
			if t - box.start_edit_time > 150 then
				bmeta.meta.tested = 0
			end
		end
Seems like I had the common sense to allow builders who have previously tested their box, and who only made quick edits (low additional edit time used) to omit having to retest their boxes.

Pudding
Member
Posts: 11
Joined: Sun Dec 23, 2018 18:11

Re: [Server] Inside The Box [Puzzles]

by Pudding » Post

If you want to see how to build stuff with mechs or get ideas for a box, you can check my new channel on YouTube:
Pudding
If you have any requests, just ask.

Also have started to upload fastest box solves.
Last edited by Pudding on Tue Oct 06, 2020 10:40, edited 1 time in total.

Jackknife
Member
Posts: 25
Joined: Fri Sep 25, 2020 20:07

Re: [Server] Inside The Box [Puzzles]

by Jackknife » Post

I tried it out and kept getting errors.

2020-09-29 18:00:16: ERROR[Main]:...t-5.3.0-win64\bin\..\games\insidethebox\mods\db\init.lua:59: add the "db" mode to secure.trusted_mods in minetest.conf
2020-09-29 18:00:16: ERROR[Main]: stack traceback:
2020-09-29 18:00:16: ERROR[Main]: [C]: in function 'assert'
2020-09-29 18:00:16: ERROR[Main]: ...t-5.3.0-win64\bin\..\games\insidethebox\mods\db\init.lua:59: in main chunk
2020-09-29 18:00:16: ERROR[Main]: Check debug.txt for details.
2020-09-29 18:00:16: ACTION[Main]: Server: Shutting down
2020-09-29 18:04:44: ERROR[Main]: mod "boxes" has unsatisfied dependencies: "music"
2020-09-29 18:04:44: ERROR[Main]: mod "creative" has unsatisfied dependencies: "boxes"
2020-09-29 18:04:44: ERROR[Main]: mod "doors" has unsatisfied dependencies: "mech"
2020-09-29 18:04:44: ERROR[Main]: mod "inspector" has unsatisfied dependencies: "boxes"
2020-09-29 18:04:44: ERROR[Main]: mod "irc_whereis" has unsatisfied dependencies: "boxes"
2020-09-29 18:04:44: ERROR[Main]: mod "mech" has unsatisfied dependencies: "boxes"
2020-09-29 18:04:44: ERROR[Main]: mod "menu" has unsatisfied dependencies: "boxes" "music"
2020-09-29 18:04:44: ERROR[Main]: mod "music" has unsatisfied dependencies: "localmusic"
2020-09-29 18:04:44: ERROR[Main]: mod "nodes" has unsatisfied dependencies: "mech"
2020-09-29 18:04:44: ERROR[Main]: mod "player" has unsatisfied dependencies: "menu"
2020-09-29 18:04:44: ERROR[Main]: mod "signs" has unsatisfied dependencies: "boxes"
2020-09-29 18:04:44: ERROR[Main]: mod "terminal" has unsatisfied dependencies: "mech"
2020-09-29 18:04:44: ERROR[Main]: mod "tools" has unsatisfied dependencies: "nodes"
2020-09-29 18:04:44: ERROR[Main]: mod "torches" has unsatisfied dependencies: "nodes"
2020-09-29 18:04:44: ERROR[Main]: mod "xpanes" has unsatisfied dependencies: "nodes"
2020-09-29 18:04:44: ERROR[Main]: ...t-5.3.0-win64\bin\..\games\insidethebox\mods\db\init.lua:59: add the "db" mode to secure.trusted_mods in minetest.conf
2020-09-29 18:04:44: ERROR[Main]: stack traceback:
2020-09-29 18:04:44: ERROR[Main]: [C]: in function 'assert'
2020-09-29 18:04:44: ERROR[Main]: ...t-5.3.0-win64\bin\..\games\insidethebox\mods\db\init.lua:59: in main chunk
2020-09-29 18:04:44: ERROR[Main]: Check debug.txt for details.
2020-09-29 18:04:44: ACTION[Main]: Server: Shutting down

I have no idea what to do to fix all this

User avatar
Gael de Sailly
Member
Posts: 756
Joined: Sun Jan 26, 2014 17:01
GitHub: Gael-de-Sailly
IRC: Gael-de-Sailly
In-game: Gael-de-Sailly Ginkgoo
Location: France

Re: [Server] Inside The Box [Puzzles]

by Gael de Sailly » Post

Hi,

I think mod security is blocking the mod named db (first error line). Other line are just domino effect because db is blocked.
You need to add it in trusted mods. Open minetest.conf and add this line:

Code: Select all

secure.trusted_mods = db
It's not a trivial install, make sure you follow all steps given by the author on the README :) I think this is point 4 that you did not do properly.

PS: this thread is for the ITB server, for the code there is another thread.
Just realize how bored we would be if the world was perfect.

Jackknife
Member
Posts: 25
Joined: Fri Sep 25, 2020 20:07

Re: [Server] Inside The Box [Puzzles]

by Jackknife » Post

sorry

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests