Server on an active directory domain network

Post Reply
ellzathegod98
New member
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Feb 11, 2021 15:42

Server on an active directory domain network

by ellzathegod98 » Post

Hi all!

I work in a school as a network technician and I am wanting to to set up a server that only people with a domain login can access (although I obviously don't know how to do this!).

I know it is possible due to the sysadmin at my old school doing it and it not requiring users to log in to minetest, only their domain user accounts.

If anyone is aware of how to do this, or would be able to point me in the right direction, I would be very appreciative!

Many thanks!

User avatar
FrostRanger
Member
Posts: 75
Joined: Thu Oct 11, 2018 05:40
GitHub: WulftheNordicRanger
IRC: FrostRanger FrostRanger[m]
In-game: FrostRanger FrostStar
Location: In the untamed wilderness of wherever I happen to be dimension hopping this time...
Contact:

Re: Server on an active directory domain network

by FrostRanger » Post

Hi elizathegod98 What do you mean by domain login? do you mean you want the server to only allow people on a specific network to connect?
Sole ranger and ruler of the frozen realms of Cabin Fever and seeker of the ever elusive Dungeon Master...

ellzathegod98
New member
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Feb 11, 2021 15:42

Re: Server on an active directory domain network

by ellzathegod98 » Post

Yeah, only for people with local network logins to be able to access it. The one that I remember didn't require any specific minetest login for users, it just logged them straight in and their screen name above their head in game was their network username

User avatar
GayJesus
Member
Posts: 151
Joined: Wed Jul 17, 2019 22:29

Re: Server on an active directory domain network

by GayJesus » Post

ellzathegod98 wrote:
Sat Feb 20, 2021 16:29
Yeah, only for people with local network logins to be able to access it. The one that I remember didn't require any specific minetest login for users, it just logged them straight in and their screen name above their head in game was their network username
That sysadmin editied minetest to run via a script activated by the logged in users or modified the server. None of which i can help with. But keeping Minetest contained for only LAN users is fairly simple. minetest.config,"server_announce = false", firewall the program and have users connect to the server via LAN address ie "192.168.1.1" "30000".

ellzathegod98
New member
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Feb 11, 2021 15:42

Re: Server on an active directory domain network

by ellzathegod98 » Post

Thanks man, I appreciate it!

User avatar
Miniontoby
Member
Posts: 483
Joined: Fri Mar 01, 2019 19:25
GitHub: Miniontoby
IRC: Miniontoby
In-game: Miniontoby
Location: The Netherlands

Re: Server on an active directory domain network

by Miniontoby » Post

There is also a mod called whitelist where you can set usernames who are only allowed to join.

Edit: https://content.minetest.net/packages/Zughy/whitelist/
Last edited by Miniontoby on Mon Feb 22, 2021 13:36, edited 1 time in total.
Working on adv_csm ---- Check my mod "Doorbell" -- Stay safe

ellzathegod98
New member
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Feb 11, 2021 15:42

Re: Server on an active directory domain network

by ellzathegod98 » Post

Thank you Miniontoby, I will take a look!

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests