Illustrated Server Creation Guide

User avatar
Menche
Member
Posts: 1001
Joined: Sat Jul 02, 2011 00:43
IRC: Menchers
In-game: Menche
Location: An island in a lava lake.

Illustrated Server Creation Guide

by Menche » Post

This is my attempt at a straightforward server guide using the GUI. I may make a guide for the CLI way later.
  1. Start the server.
    1. Go to the "advanced" tab in Minetest.
    2. Use the buttons at the bottom to create and select a world if you haven't already.
    3. Select a username, port (default of 30000 recommended), and (optionally) a password. Leave the Address field blank, so your client starts it's own server rather than try to connect to one. The window should look something like this:
      Image
    4. Start the game. This is your server, so leave this window open.
  2. Test the server on your own computer.
    1. Open a second minetest window.
    2. Select a username different from the one you used in step 1.
    3. Connect to the address 127.0.0.1. This address tells minetest to connect to a server on your own computer.
      Image
    4. You should have 2 minetest windows open, and should be able to see yourself:
      Image
    5. Now you can close the second window; it was just a test client.
  3. Make the server available over the Internet.
    You have two choices here:
    • VPN: easy, but requires everyone to have additional software.
      1. Install Remobo and make an account.
      2. Tell anyone you want on your server to do the same.
      3. Add them as a "buddy" on Remobo, or have them add you.
      4. When both you and another player are logged in to Remobo, they should be able to connect to you in minetest. The Remobo client should tell the address.
    • Port-forwarding: more involved and requires changing settings on your router but doesn't require additional software.
      1. Get your local IP. From Wikihow:
        Windows: Open the command prompt (Windows+R then type in cmd) and enter ipconfig. Look at "IPv4 Address".
        OS X: Open the command prompt and enter netstat -nr.
        Linux: Open the command prompt and enter ifconfig. Look at "inet adr" near "wlan0" or "eth0".
      2. Open your router configuration. These next steps vary, depending on your router brand.
        Here is a good Wikihow article, follow it up to step 3: Set up Port Forwarding on a Router.
        Add a service, with Minetest as the name, 30000 as both the start and end port, UDP as the protocol, and your local IP you found earlier as the IP.
      3. It should look something like this. At least the last part of your IP will likely be different however.
        Image
Last edited by Menche on Sun Aug 26, 2012 05:32, edited 1 time in total.
An innocent kitten dies every time you top-post.

User avatar
rubenwardy
Moderator
Posts: 6969
Joined: Tue Jun 12, 2012 18:11
GitHub: rubenwardy
IRC: rubenwardy
In-game: rubenwardy
Location: Bristol, United Kingdom
Contact:

by rubenwardy » Post

That is how you host a multiplayer game, not a server.

To make a server in windows, instead of step 1D, make a shortcut to the Minetest program.
Do Right-click > Properties on the shortcut. Put quotes around the shortcut's path and add:

Code: Select all

 --server --worldname TheWorld'sName
Replace "TheWorld'sName" with the world you want to use.
(Make sure it is not a single player map, if it is navigate to it and delete players/singleplayer and auth.txt)
The path should now look like this:

Code: Select all

"C://programfiles/minetest/bin/minetest.exe" --server --worldname TheWorld'sName
When you open the shortcut, just Minetest's Console (The black window with text in) will open, and you have a server.
Last edited by rubenwardy on Sun Aug 26, 2012 08:29, edited 1 time in total.
Renewed Tab (my browser add-on) | Donate | Mods | Minetest Modding Book

Hello profile reader

JangoFett154
Member
Posts: 27
Joined: Sat Aug 18, 2012 18:23

by JangoFett154 » Post

Um i got as far as the last few steps, the server ip address it keeps saying its invalid and wont let me save changes, im using a belkin but its not letting me enter the ip for it, i went to belkin site and it said enter "•Enter the IP address in the Private IP address field of the computer you want to grant access to the network." but i want other people to use it,

i dont know if this means anything but when i test my server it makes my main account fly and go through stuff, is that suppose to happen?

User avatar
Menche
Member
Posts: 1001
Joined: Sat Jul 02, 2011 00:43
IRC: Menchers
In-game: Menche
Location: An island in a lava lake.

by Menche » Post

JangoFett154 wrote:Um i got as far as the last few steps, the server ip address it keeps saying its invalid and wont let me save changes, im using a belkin but its not letting me enter the ip for it, i went to belkin site and it said enter "•Enter the IP address in the Private IP address field of the computer you want to grant access to the network." but i want other people to use it,

i dont know if this means anything but when i test my server it makes my main account fly and go through stuff, is that suppose to happen?
I don't know if this is the same model as yours, but here is a howto I quickly found for a belkin router. If its a different model from yours, try googling your model number and port forwarding.
As for the flying, you must have enabled free_move. Press "k" to enable/disable that.
rubenwardy wrote:That is how you host a multiplayer game, not a server.
Uh, a multiplayer game needs a server, and this is one way of starting one... I prefer the command-line method too but this is easier to explain.
Last edited by Menche on Sun Aug 26, 2012 20:21, edited 1 time in total.
An innocent kitten dies every time you top-post.

Kacey
Member
Posts: 133
Joined: Sat May 05, 2012 16:20

by Kacey » Post

i finally understand how to port forward with my router. but idk if my server works right now :/
on a scale of 1 to 10 i am OVER 9000!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Xewdrad
New member
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Feb 26, 2013 18:02

by Xewdrad » Post

ok if i did port forwarding right how long should it usually take to connect?

sfan5
Moderator
Posts: 4093
Joined: Wed Aug 24, 2011 09:44
GitHub: sfan5
IRC: sfan5
Location: Germany

by sfan5 » Post

Xewdrad wrote:ok if i did port forwarding right how long should it usually take to connect?
It takes quite a while for the media to load
Mods: Mesecons | WorldEdit | Nuke & Minetest builds for Windows (32-bit & 64-bit)

rarkenin
Member
Posts: 668
Joined: Tue Nov 20, 2012 20:48

by rarkenin » Post

It depends on your bandwidth.
Admin pro tempore on 0gb.us:30000. Ask me if you have a problem, or just want help.
This is a signature virus. Add me to your signature so that I can multiply.
Now working on my own clone, Mosstest.
I guess I'm back for some time.

User avatar
RabbiBob
Member
Posts: 335
Joined: Sat Jan 28, 2012 22:40
Location: /teleport 54,47,28
Contact:

by RabbiBob » Post

So that it doesn't get lost: A guide to server creation

User avatar
Tedypig
Member
Posts: 286
Joined: Tue Mar 05, 2013 12:33
IRC: Piggybear87
In-game: Piggybear
Location: Largo, FL, USA

by Tedypig » Post

Question... How do I get it to show the name instead of the ip on the multiplayer list?
01010100 01100101 01100100 01111001 01110000 01101001 01100111

User avatar
Calinou
Moderator
Posts: 3169
Joined: Mon Aug 01, 2011 14:26
GitHub: Calinou
IRC: Calinou
In-game: Calinou
Location: Troyes, France
Contact:

by Calinou » Post


User avatar
LionLAD
Member
Posts: 308
Joined: Wed Jul 11, 2012 21:50
Location: behind you
Contact:

by LionLAD » Post

Thanks Menche this help me get my server up :)
In game names:LAD,captainLAD,LionLAD
This is a signature virus. Add me to your signature so that I can multiply.

User avatar
Tedypig
Member
Posts: 286
Joined: Tue Mar 05, 2013 12:33
IRC: Piggybear87
In-game: Piggybear
Location: Largo, FL, USA

by Tedypig » Post

Did not work. Still has my IP.
01010100 01100101 01100100 01111001 01110000 01101001 01100111

User avatar
LionLAD
Member
Posts: 308
Joined: Wed Jul 11, 2012 21:50
Location: behind you
Contact:

by LionLAD » Post

Tedypig wrote:
Did not work. Still has my IP.
Tedypig you need to copy this into your minetest.conf and get rid of the # in front of server_name
In game names:LAD,captainLAD,LionLAD
This is a signature virus. Add me to your signature so that I can multiply.

User avatar
BrunoMine
Member
Posts: 1082
Joined: Thu Apr 25, 2013 17:29
GitHub: BrunoMine
Location: SP-Brasil
Contact:

by BrunoMine » Post

sorry to ask but ...
If I do this procedure to create UMServer with direct CONNECTION.
The name of my server will appear on the "Show Publicos" when someone access the minetest?
My small square universe under construction ... Minemacro
Comunidade Minetest Brasil
www.minetestbrasil.com

sfan5
Moderator
Posts: 4093
Joined: Wed Aug 24, 2011 09:44
GitHub: sfan5
IRC: sfan5
Location: Germany

by sfan5 » Post

brunob.santos wrote:sorry to ask but ...
If I do this procedure to create UMServer with direct CONNECTION.
The name of my server will appear on the "Show Publicos" when someone access the minetest?
Only if you forwarded the port and enabled the "Public" option
Mods: Mesecons | WorldEdit | Nuke & Minetest builds for Windows (32-bit & 64-bit)

User avatar
MaxCZ
Member
Posts: 21
Joined: Thu Jun 13, 2013 11:19

by MaxCZ » Post

yes super
wazuclan.com by MaxCZ

User avatar
King of Doom
Member
Posts: 65
Joined: Sat Jun 22, 2013 02:20
Location: North America, Earth

by King of Doom » Post

I have a question, if i use Remobo, do i still need to supply the address?
"You Cannot PASS! I am a servant of the secret fire, he who wields the flame of Anor! The Dark Fire will not avail you, Flame of Udun! Go back to the shadow! You SHALL NOT PASS!!!"

"Stand beside the gray stone where the thrush knocks, as the sun sets the last light of Durin's Day will shine upon the key-hole"

User avatar
Menche
Member
Posts: 1001
Joined: Sat Jul 02, 2011 00:43
IRC: Menchers
In-game: Menche
Location: An island in a lava lake.

by Menche » Post

King of Doom wrote:I have a question, if i use Remobo, do i still need to supply the address?
No. The other players will not be connecting to your public address; they will connect to your Remobo address which will be displayed in their Remobo buddy list.
Last edited by Menche on Sun Jul 07, 2013 20:35, edited 1 time in total.
An innocent kitten dies every time you top-post.

User avatar
King of Doom
Member
Posts: 65
Joined: Sat Jun 22, 2013 02:20
Location: North America, Earth

by King of Doom » Post

Another problem: When i try to access my public address from another computer, it never loads just like how i used my ip.
"You Cannot PASS! I am a servant of the secret fire, he who wields the flame of Anor! The Dark Fire will not avail you, Flame of Udun! Go back to the shadow! You SHALL NOT PASS!!!"

"Stand beside the gray stone where the thrush knocks, as the sun sets the last light of Durin's Day will shine upon the key-hole"

User avatar
BrunoMine
Member
Posts: 1082
Joined: Thu Apr 25, 2013 17:29
GitHub: BrunoMine
Location: SP-Brasil
Contact:

by BrunoMine » Post

I can not open doors to create a server. It will be impossible then.
My small square universe under construction ... Minemacro
Comunidade Minetest Brasil
www.minetestbrasil.com

User avatar
BrunoMine
Member
Posts: 1082
Joined: Thu Apr 25, 2013 17:29
GitHub: BrunoMine
Location: SP-Brasil
Contact:

by BrunoMine » Post

sfan5 wrote:
brunob.santos wrote:sorry to ask but ...
If I do this procedure to create UMServer with direct CONNECTION.
The name of my server will appear on the "Show Publicos" when someone access the minetest?
Only if you forwarded the port and enabled the "Public" option
I did not understand. Ja created but now what?
My small square universe under construction ... Minemacro
Comunidade Minetest Brasil
www.minetestbrasil.com

User avatar
Element
Member
Posts: 269
Joined: Tue Jun 11, 2013 00:27
IRC: Elementwing4962
In-game: Elementwing4962
Location: New York
Contact:

by Element » Post

this helps but how do i make a MULTIPLAYER SERVER!!!!! and do i need remobo
Last edited by Element on Fri Jul 19, 2013 16:12, edited 1 time in total.
Join Me And My Team - thornfyregaming-mc.noip.me:25565

My Server Is 1.7.9

big8666
New member
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Aug 09, 2013 18:59

by big8666 » Post

JangoFett154 wrote:Um i got as far as the last few steps, the server ip address it keeps saying its invalid and wont let me save changes, im using a belkin but its not letting me enter the ip for it, i went to belkin site and it said enter "•Enter the IP address in the Private IP address field of the computer you want to grant access to the network." but i want other people to use it,

i dont know if this means anything but when i test my server it makes my main account fly and go through stuff, is that suppose to happen?
The Flying part is ment to happe all you have to push is j or k and you should stop flying

programa00leo30
New member
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Aug 23, 2013 19:30

by programa00leo30 » Post

Hey, maybe I'm trying to place online public acseso server.
Testing the instruction to create a REAL server on the internet.
Linux-based operating system:

Code: Select all

sudo wine ./bin/minetest.exe --server --wordlname minetestwordl
The problem is that this instruction has an error and I can not find. the case is that the server does not start.
here I leave the answer given by the server:

Code: Select all

fixme:ntdll:NtLockFile I/O completion on lock not implemented yet
Do you could help?

PS: do not write in English. my language is Spanish and this is google translate.

Locked

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 11 guests