Illustrated Server Creation Guide

User avatar
kaeza
Moderator
 
Posts: 2156
Joined: Thu Oct 18, 2012 05:00
Location: Montevideo, Uruguay
GitHub: kaeza
IRC: kaeza diemartin blaaaaargh
In-game: kaeza

by kaeza » Fri Aug 23, 2013 21:30

Why are you running Minetest under Wine instead of using a native Linux executable?

What Linux distro are you using?

-------------------------------------

¿Por qué ejecutas Minetest bajo Wine en vez de usar un ejecutable nativo de Linux?

¿Cual distro de Linux usas?
Last edited by kaeza on Fri Aug 23, 2013 21:32, edited 1 time in total.
Your signature is not the place for a blog post. Please keep it as concise as possible. Thank you!

Check out my stuff! | Donations greatly appreciated! PayPal | BTC: 1DFZAa5VtNG7Levux4oP6BuUzr1e83pJK2
 

Eminie
Member
 
Posts: 23
Joined: Sun Feb 17, 2013 23:17
Location: Canada

by Eminie » Thu Sep 05, 2013 12:07

I got lost at get the local ip from wikihow. I went on the site. But I couldn't find the thing.. ip address whatever. Is there a link or something you can give me. I'd appreciate it. Answer back in pms..
If you see my picture you can call me ugly, stupid, whatever. I don't care. Bye my friends. I quit. I will miss you guys.
Who needs minetest? I got minecraft now.. :/
Update Jan. 25, 2014: I miss you minetest, my friends and everyone so much. I am trying to return, so you might see me around.
 

User avatar
CraigyDavi
Member
 
Posts: 575
Joined: Sat Aug 10, 2013 13:08
Location: Hampshire, UK
GitHub: davisonio
IRC: davisonio or CraigyDavi
In-game: davisonio or CraigyDavi

by CraigyDavi » Sat Sep 07, 2013 07:37

I can set up the first window but when I use the second window to connect it comes up with this error:

08:34:43: ERROR[ServerThread]: Server: peer_id=3: failed to emerge player
 

User avatar
CraigyDavi
Member
 
Posts: 575
Joined: Sat Aug 10, 2013 13:08
Location: Hampshire, UK
GitHub: davisonio
IRC: davisonio or CraigyDavi
In-game: davisonio or CraigyDavi

by CraigyDavi » Wed Sep 11, 2013 16:53

CraigyDavi wrote:I can set up the first window but when I use the second window to connect it comes up with this error:

08:34:43: ERROR[ServerThread]: Server: peer_id=3: failed to emerge player


Does anyone know the problem?
 

User avatar
Menche
Member
 
Posts: 994
Joined: Sat Jul 02, 2011 00:43
Location: An island in a lava lake.

by Menche » Wed Sep 11, 2013 22:57

CraigyDavi wrote:
CraigyDavi wrote:I can set up the first window but when I use the second window to connect it comes up with this error:

08:34:43: ERROR[ServerThread]: Server: peer_id=3: failed to emerge player


Does anyone know the problem?

Did you use a different username the second time? Usually that error is caused when someone tries to connect with a username that is already online.
An innocent kitten dies every time you top-post.
I am on the Voxelands Forums more often than here.
Try Voxelands (forked from Minetest 0.3) by darkrose
 

User avatar
ak399g
Member
 
Posts: 160
Joined: Tue Jul 30, 2013 02:36
In-game: SAFR

by ak399g » Wed Sep 11, 2013 23:35

Code: Select all
$ minetestserver --worldname [worldname]

defaults to port 30000. Can I change that without a GUI?

EDIT: I'm stupid, I can just open up the minetest.conf file and specify the default port, can't I?
Last edited by ak399g on Thu Sep 12, 2013 00:07, edited 1 time in total.
aka SAFR
 

User avatar
Menche
Member
 
Posts: 994
Joined: Sat Jul 02, 2011 00:43
Location: An island in a lava lake.

by Menche » Thu Sep 12, 2013 02:14

ak399g wrote:
Code: Select all
$ minetestserver --worldname [worldname]

defaults to port 30000. Can I change that without a GUI?

EDIT: I'm stupid, I can just open up the minetest.conf file and specify the default port, can't I?

You can either set the 'port' value in minetest.conf, or use the --port option to minetestserver.
An innocent kitten dies every time you top-post.
I am on the Voxelands Forums more often than here.
Try Voxelands (forked from Minetest 0.3) by darkrose
 

Rhys
Member
 
Posts: 379
Joined: Wed May 22, 2013 15:22

by Rhys » Mon Sep 30, 2013 06:45

This actually helps taking screenys of a player. So, like I could be Rhys, and can be taking screenys of Rhys2's skin. Pretty good info Menche. :)
 

Rick2
Member
 
Posts: 134
Joined: Sun Dec 01, 2013 21:42

by Rick2 » Thu Dec 12, 2013 12:55

Uhm I want to start a private server that only my friend and I can connect to, he isnt at same house as me so thats hard to do. How would i do that? like this?
 

User avatar
Nightshade
Member
 
Posts: 25
Joined: Thu Oct 24, 2013 15:25

by Nightshade » Thu Dec 12, 2013 14:52

Rick2 wrote:Uhm I want to start a private server that only my friend and I can connect to, he isnt at same house as me so thats hard to do. How would i do that? like this?

Use the port forwarding method. It's really not as hard as you may think. I've done the same thing, and it works perfectly.
 

Rick2
Member
 
Posts: 134
Joined: Sun Dec 01, 2013 21:42

by Rick2 » Fri Dec 13, 2013 00:28

Nightshade wrote:
Rick2 wrote:Uhm I want to start a private server that only my friend and I can connect to, he isnt at same house as me so thats hard to do. How would i do that? like this?

Use the port forwarding method. It's really not as hard as you may think. I've done the same thing, and it works perfectly.

What is the port forwding method? I'm sorry I'm kind of a noob to all this
 

User avatar
Nightshade
Member
 
Posts: 25
Joined: Thu Oct 24, 2013 15:25

by Nightshade » Fri Dec 13, 2013 08:01

Rick2 wrote:What is the port forwding method? I'm sorry I'm kind of a noob to all this

Are you on Windows or Linux?
 

Rick2
Member
 
Posts: 134
Joined: Sun Dec 01, 2013 21:42

by Rick2 » Fri Dec 13, 2013 12:20

Nightshade wrote:
Rick2 wrote:What is the port forwding method? I'm sorry I'm kind of a noob to all this

Are you on Windows or Linux?

I'm on windows XP
 

User avatar
Nightshade
Member
 
Posts: 25
Joined: Thu Oct 24, 2013 15:25

by Nightshade » Fri Dec 13, 2013 15:10

Ok, so you need to find your router. Look in your control panel under network and internet or whatever it is, and you'll need to look at your network map. Then you'll click on your router, and it will pull up router settings. Depending on your router, you'll either go to the port forwarding or gaming tab, then input the information like in this picture from the original post:
Menche wrote:Image

You will need to find your personal IP to input by running CMD and typing in ipconfig. It's the IP v4 address.
Last edited by Nightshade on Fri Dec 13, 2013 15:11, edited 1 time in total.
 

Rick2
Member
 
Posts: 134
Joined: Sun Dec 01, 2013 21:42

by Rick2 » Fri Dec 13, 2013 22:14

Nightshade wrote:Ok, so you need to find your router. Look in your control panel under network and internet or whatever it is, and you'll need to look at your network map. Then you'll click on your router, and it will pull up router settings. Depending on your router, you'll either go to the port forwarding or gaming tab, then input the information like in this picture from the original post:

You will need to find your personal IP to input by running CMD and typing in ipconfig. It's the IP v4 address.

Ok thanks :)
 

User avatar
LuxAtheris
Member
 
Posts: 169
Joined: Fri Oct 25, 2013 00:54
Location: Aether

by LuxAtheris » Sun Dec 22, 2013 05:15

Can someone teach me how to make a server?
Believe you can and you’re halfway there.
 

User avatar
wtfsamcrap
Member
 
Posts: 25
Joined: Mon Dec 09, 2013 21:23
Location: Look behind you :)

by wtfsamcrap » Thu Jan 02, 2014 18:58

Thank you i made a server w/ this but even in 0.4.8 with hamachi so iot is helpfull to anyone
Mods
 

BRICK
Member
 
Posts: 19
Joined: Tue Jan 21, 2014 01:36

by BRICK » Tue Jan 21, 2014 21:12

If I create a server following these steps, will my server show up in Minetest's public server list? Or will it only be accessible if people type my ip address into "Address/Port" under the "Client" tab (running minetest 4.8/4.9)?
 

Rick2
Member
 
Posts: 134
Joined: Sun Dec 01, 2013 21:42

by Rick2 » Sat Feb 08, 2014 18:59

Look I understand this, but I can't see to find a post anywhere with the minetest config file needed
 

User avatar
hoodedice
Member
 
Posts: 1372
Joined: Sat Jul 06, 2013 06:33
Location: world

by hoodedice » Sat Feb 08, 2014 19:16

Rick2 wrote:Look I understand this, but I can't see to find a post anywhere with the minetest config file needed


Open Minetest.exe . Close it. Go to the minetest folder.
7:42 PM - Bauglio: I think if you go to staples you could steal firmware from a fax machine that would run better than win10 does on any platform
7:42 PM - Bauglio: so fudge the stable build
7:43 PM - Bauglio: get the staple build
 

Rick2
Member
 
Posts: 134
Joined: Sun Dec 01, 2013 21:42

by Rick2 » Sat Feb 08, 2014 19:19

I dont understand
 

User avatar
hoodedice
Member
 
Posts: 1372
Joined: Sat Jul 06, 2013 06:33
Location: world

by hoodedice » Sat Feb 08, 2014 19:21

Rick2 wrote:I dont understand


OPEN MINETEST. EXE

CLOSE IT.

GO TO THE MINETEST ROOT FOLDER, OR TO THE FOLDER WHERE THERE IS A GAMES FOLDER, A MODS FOLDER, AND A BUNCH OF OTHER FOLDERS

THERE WILL BE A MINETEST.CONF
Last edited by hoodedice on Sat Feb 08, 2014 19:21, edited 1 time in total.
7:42 PM - Bauglio: I think if you go to staples you could steal firmware from a fax machine that would run better than win10 does on any platform
7:42 PM - Bauglio: so fudge the stable build
7:43 PM - Bauglio: get the staple build
 

Rick2
Member
 
Posts: 134
Joined: Sun Dec 01, 2013 21:42

by Rick2 » Sat Feb 08, 2014 19:26

sorry i asked. chill
 

User avatar
hoodedice
Member
 
Posts: 1372
Joined: Sat Jul 06, 2013 06:33
Location: world

by hoodedice » Sat Feb 08, 2014 19:27

Rick2 wrote:sorry i asked. chill


No, my cat was sitting on the Shift button. My bad.
7:42 PM - Bauglio: I think if you go to staples you could steal firmware from a fax machine that would run better than win10 does on any platform
7:42 PM - Bauglio: so fudge the stable build
7:43 PM - Bauglio: get the staple build
 

Rick2
Member
 
Posts: 134
Joined: Sun Dec 01, 2013 21:42

by Rick2 » Sat Feb 08, 2014 19:28

I'll just never make a server whatever. It doensn't work
 

PreviousNext

Return to Servers



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests