[0.4.8] 0gb.us's basic server

User avatar
0gb.us
Member
 
Posts: 841
Joined: Sun Sep 16, 2012 01:55
Location: 0gb.us:30000

by 0gb.us » Wed Jan 30, 2013 05:11

jojoa1997 wrote:what about getting the players name and password in the file. then there wont be any messups in case sensitivity. also if someone knows my password then they could log in and use the warps anyways


The problem is case sensitivity in file names. Also, if a user changes their password, they would then lose their warp points.

In other news, skin changing is now disabled for users who have a custom skin. It's less hacky that way.
 

User avatar
Adarqet
Member
 
Posts: 173
Joined: Thu Oct 04, 2012 14:05
Location: Traveling with BorisGrishenko

by Adarqet » Wed Jan 30, 2013 10:48

i sent you new private skins 0gb okay?
 

rarkenin
Member
 
Posts: 668
Joined: Tue Nov 20, 2012 20:48

by rarkenin » Wed Jan 30, 2013 11:40

jojoa1997 wrote:what about getting the players name and password in the file. then there wont be any messups in case sensitivity. also if someone knows my password then they could log in and use the warps anyways


No, since the file with their LIST of warps is named by their name, and that way, it is case-insensitive, so Rarkenin and rARKENIN would wither steal warp points or mess everything up.

To 0gb_us: Have you thought about implementing a cryptographic hash?
Admin pro tempore on 0gb.us:30000. Ask me if you have a problem, or just want help.
This is a signature virus. Add me to your signature so that I can multiply.
Now working on my own clone, Mosstest.
I guess I'm back for some time.
 

User avatar
0gb.us
Member
 
Posts: 841
Joined: Sun Sep 16, 2012 01:55
Location: 0gb.us:30000

by 0gb.us » Thu Jan 31, 2013 05:59

Adarqet wrote:i sent you new private skins 0gb okay?


Installed.

rarkenin wrote:
jojoa1997 wrote:what about getting the players name and password in the file. then there wont be any messups in case sensitivity. also if someone knows my password then they could log in and use the warps anyways


No, since the file with their LIST of warps is named by their name, and that way, it is case-insensitive, so Rarkenin and rARKENIN would wither steal warp points or mess everything up.

To 0gb_us: Have you thought about implementing a cryptographic hash?


No, but no need. I've created a new plugin, filesystems_0gb_us, which should do the trick. While not perfect, it provides a sort of pseudo-case sensitivity. If it finds an INIT.LUA (only init.lua should exist), it switches to Windows workaround mode, and translates every character in the file name into a two-character representation, allowing "a" to become "-a", and "A" to become "+A". Because Linux actually functions in a reasonable manner, this translation is not performed on Linux operating systems by default, but can be activated by adding an INIT.LUA to the plugin's directory.

This still won't be released for some time. There is still much to do to clean these things up.

Besides, isn't there a slim chance of hash collisions? Also, hashing can be slow (I think). teleport_0gb_us depends on points_0gb_us, which sometimes rapidly changes the file, and would need to rehash the name each time (I'm not keeping the hash in memory).
 

User avatar
Adarqet
Member
 
Posts: 173
Joined: Thu Oct 04, 2012 14:05
Location: Traveling with BorisGrishenko

by Adarqet » Thu Jan 31, 2013 11:02

Now The Green Hornet and Kato shall protect his server!!!
 

rarkenin
Member
 
Posts: 668
Joined: Tue Nov 20, 2012 20:48

by rarkenin » Thu Jan 31, 2013 15:19

0gb.us wrote:No, but no need. I've created a new plugin, filesystems_0gb_us, which should do the trick. While not perfect, it provides a sort of pseudo-case sensitivity. If it finds an INIT.LUA (only init.lua should exist), it switches to Windows workaround mode, and translates every character in the file name into a two-character representation, allowing "a" to become "-a", and "A" to become "+A". Because Linux actually functions in a reasonable manner, this translation is not performed on Linux operating systems by default, but can be activated by adding an INIT.LUA to the plugin's directory.


If the hash does collide, you would be insanely famous in the crypto community. It's also quite small, anywhere from 16 to 64 bytes. If you DO keep it in memory, you don't need to rehash each time the file is updated.

You should also make filesystems_0gb_us an API for other mods. I'm assuming usernames don't allow + and - in Minetest.
Last edited by rarkenin on Thu Jan 31, 2013 15:20, edited 1 time in total.
Admin pro tempore on 0gb.us:30000. Ask me if you have a problem, or just want help.
This is a signature virus. Add me to your signature so that I can multiply.
Now working on my own clone, Mosstest.
I guess I'm back for some time.
 

User avatar
0gb.us
Member
 
Posts: 841
Joined: Sun Sep 16, 2012 01:55
Location: 0gb.us:30000

by 0gb.us » Thu Jan 31, 2013 19:01

rarkenin wrote:
0gb.us wrote:No, but no need. I've created a new plugin, filesystems_0gb_us, which should do the trick. While not perfect, it provides a sort of pseudo-case sensitivity. If it finds an INIT.LUA (only init.lua should exist), it switches to Windows workaround mode, and translates every character in the file name into a two-character representation, allowing "a" to become "-a", and "A" to become "+A". Because Linux actually functions in a reasonable manner, this translation is not performed on Linux operating systems by default, but can be activated by adding an INIT.LUA to the plugin's directory.


If the hash does collide, you would be insanely famous in the crypto community. It's also quite small, anywhere from 16 to 64 bytes. If you DO keep it in memory, you don't need to rehash each time the file is updated.

You should also make filesystems_0gb_us an API for other mods. I'm assuming user names don't allow + and - in Minetest.

I understand IF I keep them in memory I can reuse the hashes. My whole point is that I'm not doing it. The reason I'm using separate files for each user is to keep memory usage to a minimum. I can load a user's file when they log in, and unload it when they log out.

The maximum mangled user name with my system would be 38 bytes. More than 16 bytes, but less than 64. And that's just the maximum. The minimum would be two byes, and my six character name would be twelve byes..

filesystems_0gb_us is ALREADY an API for other plugins. It's entire purpose is to define a single function to make file names work on the Windows operating system without needing to reinvent the feature each time I need it, as I need it for three plugins already. Just out of curiosity, what did you think it was doing to make other plugins "compatible", if not defining an API?

0gb.us wrote:... it switches to Windows workaround mode, and translates every character in the file name into a two-character representation ,..

The minus character is allowed in user names, but it doesn't matter. I said EVERY character is converted to a two character representation, it's not just alphabetic characters. + becomes ++, and - becomes --. All non-alphabetic characters are doubled. This seems like a needless extension of file names, but I disagree. This makes it very easy for a script to go through and translate them back for use on file systems that actually work correctly. All the script has to do is keep every other character, throwing out the others. Furthermore, this is just a workaround to make sure suborn Windows users don't take my non-compatible plugin and screw up their game worlds. If people want user friendly file names, they should quit using an operating system that is so un- user friendly in every way. This isn't meant to be a compatibility fix. Mangled names, especially irreversibly mangled by hashing, is too hacky a method to be considered "compatible". The only goal here is to not be responsible for data loss/data manipulation. Windows users STILL should not install these, and they DO raise errors when run on Windows. For the time being, I don't know how to fix that.

Besides, does Lua have any hashing functions? I couldn't find any.
 

User avatar
Bearbar123
Member
 
Posts: 115
Joined: Sat Jan 19, 2013 02:44
Location: Washington

by Bearbar123 » Sat Feb 02, 2013 04:11

Jo, the castle is done but the interior and two and half castle towers, i'll start on the towers tomorrow, you can do the library anytime, and also tomorrow i'll start on 0gb's noble house, then Chows then yours the Ada's
Hello I am a random panda
 

User avatar
george_souza
New member
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Jan 31, 2013 03:41
Location: Bahia, Brazil

by george_souza » Sat Feb 02, 2013 04:21

I can privs? my name is MrLordi
MineTest Brazil
 

User avatar
Adarqet
Member
 
Posts: 173
Joined: Thu Oct 04, 2012 14:05
Location: Traveling with BorisGrishenko

by Adarqet » Sat Feb 02, 2013 13:00

There seems to be a problem on the server i cant join the server!!!!!!
 

rarkenin
Member
 
Posts: 668
Joined: Tue Nov 20, 2012 20:48

by rarkenin » Sat Feb 02, 2013 13:33

george_souza wrote:I can privs? my name is MrLordi


You already have all the privs that are available. You can dig, and place blocks, and chat.
Admin pro tempore on 0gb.us:30000. Ask me if you have a problem, or just want help.
This is a signature virus. Add me to your signature so that I can multiply.
Now working on my own clone, Mosstest.
I guess I'm back for some time.
 

rarkenin
Member
 
Posts: 668
Joined: Tue Nov 20, 2012 20:48

by rarkenin » Sat Feb 02, 2013 13:37

Adarqet wrote:There seems to be a problem on the server i cant join the server!!!!!!


I can't connect to the server myself, nor can I connect to http://0gb.us. This is probably an internet connection issue.
Admin pro tempore on 0gb.us:30000. Ask me if you have a problem, or just want help.
This is a signature virus. Add me to your signature so that I can multiply.
Now working on my own clone, Mosstest.
I guess I'm back for some time.
 

User avatar
jojoa1997
Member
 
Posts: 2890
Joined: Thu Dec 13, 2012 05:11
Location: Earth

by jojoa1997 » Sat Feb 02, 2013 13:53

rarkenin wrote:
Adarqet wrote:There seems to be a problem on the server i cant join the server!!!!!!


I can't connect to the server myself, nor can I connect to http://0gb.us. This is probably an internet connection issue.
it seems that his server is down. it is not on thew multiplayer list and that shows only the up ones
Last edited by jojoa1997 on Sat Feb 02, 2013 13:53, edited 1 time in total.
Coding;
1X coding
3X debugging
12X tweaking to be just right
 

rarkenin
Member
 
Posts: 668
Joined: Tue Nov 20, 2012 20:48

by rarkenin » Sat Feb 02, 2013 14:09

jojoa1997 wrote:
rarkenin wrote:
Adarqet wrote:There seems to be a problem on the server i cant join the server!!!!!!


I can't connect to the server myself, nor can I connect to http://0gb.us. This is probably an internet connection issue.
it seems that his server is down. it is not on thew multiplayer list and that shows only the up ones


The multiplayer list shows a set of servers registered on the official servers page. That has nothing to do with his server's uptime. With that said, he IS down again, in the same fashion as the previous outage.
Admin pro tempore on 0gb.us:30000. Ask me if you have a problem, or just want help.
This is a signature virus. Add me to your signature so that I can multiply.
Now working on my own clone, Mosstest.
I guess I'm back for some time.
 

User avatar
jojoa1997
Member
 
Posts: 2890
Joined: Thu Dec 13, 2012 05:11
Location: Earth

by jojoa1997 » Sat Feb 02, 2013 14:15

rarkenin wrote:
jojoa1997 wrote:
rarkenin wrote:
I can't connect to the server myself, nor can I connect to http://0gb.us. This is probably an internet connection issue.
it seems that his server is down. it is not on thew multiplayer list and that shows only the up ones


The multiplayer list shows a set of servers registered on the official servers page. That has nothing to do with his server's uptime. With that said, he IS down again, in the same fashion as the previous outage.
but the thing is that 0gb's server is on the list so i use that to tell wether his server or my server is down.
Coding;
1X coding
3X debugging
12X tweaking to be just right
 

rarkenin
Member
 
Posts: 668
Joined: Tue Nov 20, 2012 20:48

by rarkenin » Sat Feb 02, 2013 15:39

jojoa1997 wrote:
rarkenin wrote:
jojoa1997 wrote:it seems that his server is down. it is not on thew multiplayer list and that shows only the up ones


The multiplayer list shows a set of servers registered on the official servers page. That has nothing to do with his server's uptime. With that said, he IS down again, in the same fashion as the previous outage.
but the thing is that 0gb's server is on the list so i use that to tell wether his server or my server is down.


Oh, it is?
Admin pro tempore on 0gb.us:30000. Ask me if you have a problem, or just want help.
This is a signature virus. Add me to your signature so that I can multiply.
Now working on my own clone, Mosstest.
I guess I'm back for some time.
 

Zakh80
New member
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Feb 01, 2013 20:36

by Zakh80 » Sat Feb 02, 2013 16:35

world wont load for me? -shrug
 

rarkenin
Member
 
Posts: 668
Joined: Tue Nov 20, 2012 20:48

by rarkenin » Sat Feb 02, 2013 18:26

Zakh80 wrote:world wont load for me? -shrug


As above posts state, server is unfortunately down for the time being as well as everything at 0gb.us.
Admin pro tempore on 0gb.us:30000. Ask me if you have a problem, or just want help.
This is a signature virus. Add me to your signature so that I can multiply.
Now working on my own clone, Mosstest.
I guess I'm back for some time.
 

User avatar
0gb.us
Member
 
Posts: 841
Joined: Sun Sep 16, 2012 01:55
Location: 0gb.us:30000

by 0gb.us » Sat Feb 02, 2013 18:36

Sorry about the outage. The connection went out while I was doing research for homework last night, so I was aware of it, but there was nothing I could do. This morning it seems to be back up though.
 

User avatar
Bearbar123
Member
 
Posts: 115
Joined: Sat Jan 19, 2013 02:44
Location: Washington

by Bearbar123 » Sat Feb 02, 2013 23:48

here are the two names: Stromrage and Elfvendale, send me a pm with your vote nobles
Hello I am a random panda
 

User avatar
0gb.us
Member
 
Posts: 841
Joined: Sun Sep 16, 2012 01:55
Location: 0gb.us:30000

by 0gb.us » Sun Feb 03, 2013 03:00

Bearbar123 wrote:here are the two names: Stromrage and Elfvendale, send me a pm with your vote nobles


Stormrage sounds like raging storm. A name fit for a violent area or an area of violent storms. Elfvendale sounds like an elven city, and there's nothing inherently violent about elves. I'd go with Elfvendale, being a peaceful builder of underground roads, myself.
Last edited by 0gb.us on Sun Feb 03, 2013 03:01, edited 1 time in total.
 

User avatar
jojoa1997
Member
 
Posts: 2890
Joined: Thu Dec 13, 2012 05:11
Location: Earth

by jojoa1997 » Sun Feb 03, 2013 04:27

Bearbar123 wrote:here are the two names: Stromrage and Elfvendale, send me a pm with your vote nobles
i choose stormrage because the theme of the town is medival. also one district is the fisherman area
Coding;
1X coding
3X debugging
12X tweaking to be just right
 

User avatar
Bearbar123
Member
 
Posts: 115
Joined: Sat Jan 19, 2013 02:44
Location: Washington

by Bearbar123 » Sun Feb 03, 2013 20:37

the name has been chosen, The Empire of Elvendale has started
Hello I am a random panda
 

User avatar
Bearbar123
Member
 
Posts: 115
Joined: Sat Jan 19, 2013 02:44
Location: Washington

by Bearbar123 » Mon Feb 04, 2013 04:21

Here are the jobs:
Marshal(Leads the armies): Taken by Jo
Spymaster(Head of the spies): Taken by 0gb
Chancellor(Takes care of the city): open
Court Chaplin(Runs the church and takes care of taxes): open
Last edited by Bearbar123 on Mon Feb 04, 2013 04:32, edited 1 time in total.
Hello I am a random panda
 

User avatar
jojoa1997
Member
 
Posts: 2890
Joined: Thu Dec 13, 2012 05:11
Location: Earth

by jojoa1997 » Mon Feb 04, 2013 04:24

Bearbar123 wrote:Here are the jobs:
Marshal(Leads the armies): open
Spymaster(Head of the spies): open
Chancellor(Takes care of the city): open
Court Chaplin(Runs the church and takes care of taxes): open
please explain spy master more I would like to know what it is.
Coding;
1X coding
3X debugging
12X tweaking to be just right
 

PreviousNext

Return to Servers



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: BuckarooBanzay and 5 guests