[0.4.8] 0gb.us's basic server

User avatar
jojoa1997
Member
 
Posts: 2890
Joined: Thu Dec 13, 2012 05:11
Location: Earth

by jojoa1997 » Fri Mar 01, 2013 20:20

you should make one big one with at least 100 houses in each of the 10 social class areas.
Coding;
1X coding
3X debugging
12X tweaking to be just right
 

User avatar
Bearbar123
Member
 
Posts: 115
Joined: Sat Jan 19, 2013 02:44
Location: Washington

by Bearbar123 » Sun Mar 03, 2013 00:58

Adarqet wrote:
Bearbar123 wrote:No, It's the next city i'm building, a trade city in between Haven and Elvendale
So you tryin to make a record by making so many cities, towns, kingdoms,etc...?


No, i just see a place i want to build and start up and then i realize later maybe i build to much.
Hello I am a random panda
 

User avatar
0gb.us
Member
 
Posts: 841
Joined: Sun Sep 16, 2012 01:55
Location: 0gb.us:30000

by 0gb.us » Tue Mar 05, 2013 23:01

Issue after issue presented itself, at one point, even turning all the world into unknown nodes. But we have it sorted out now, and the server is up to Minetest 0.4.5.
 

User avatar
jojoa1997
Member
 
Posts: 2890
Joined: Thu Dec 13, 2012 05:11
Location: Earth

by jojoa1997 » Tue Mar 05, 2013 23:08

0gb.us wrote:Issue after issue presented itself, at one point, even turning all the world into unknown nodes. But we have it sorted out now, and the server is up to Minetest 0.4.5.
do you know what happened?
Coding;
1X coding
3X debugging
12X tweaking to be just right
 

User avatar
0gb.us
Member
 
Posts: 841
Joined: Sun Sep 16, 2012 01:55
Location: 0gb.us:30000

by 0gb.us » Wed Mar 06, 2013 00:14

Yes, many things happened.

Long story short, if there was an Ubuntu package, the update would have gone smoothly.
 

User avatar
Bearbar123
Member
 
Posts: 115
Joined: Sat Jan 19, 2013 02:44
Location: Washington

by Bearbar123 » Wed Mar 06, 2013 03:25

Guys, i have an update, you can now buy house slots at Elvendale, it is not open for building until the 8th but is open to buying, 1 steel bar for a house
Hello I am a random panda
 

User avatar
jojoa1997
Member
 
Posts: 2890
Joined: Thu Dec 13, 2012 05:11
Location: Earth

by jojoa1997 » Wed Mar 06, 2013 13:09

I think that there never was a problem on windows for 0gb.us_game because same symbol names (not caps) end up like this in the file names.
Code: Select all
alpha
AlPHa0
ALphA1
alPHA2
and so on. 0gb have you actually gone on an windows computer and tested this or are you saying that windows works the same way as Linux even though they are different systems and compiled games.
Last edited by jojoa1997 on Wed Mar 06, 2013 13:14, edited 1 time in total.
Coding;
1X coding
3X debugging
12X tweaking to be just right
 

User avatar
0gb.us
Member
 
Posts: 841
Joined: Sun Sep 16, 2012 01:55
Location: 0gb.us:30000

by 0gb.us » Wed Mar 06, 2013 18:59

jojoa1997 wrote:I think that there never was a problem on windows for 0gb.us_game because same symbol names (not caps) end up like this in the file names.
Code: Select all
alpha
AlPHa0
ALphA1
alPHA2
and so on. 0gb have you actually gone on an windows computer and tested this or are you saying that windows works the same way as Linux even though they are different systems and compiled games.


No, there is no need to test this on Windows, if you have a basic understanding of what a case-insensitive file system means. And no, I would NEVER say Windows was ANYTHING like another system. There are many operating systems out there, and many are alike, but Micosoft doesn't follow standards, instead defining a new level of sucky. They call this level "Windows".

Also, are you looking at user files generated by Minetest, or the point files generated by my plugins? I'm aware that Minetest user files append a digit to file names to compensate for Windows's insufferable case insensitivity. It's able to keep track of the original user name because the file has a line in it like this:
Code: Select all
name = jojoa1997
Using that, it can determine what user that file belongs to.

A system such as that doesn't work for 0gb.us_game. Minetest reads all the user files into memory and keeps them there. So it knows at all times what file is what. the plugins in 0gb.us_game on the other hand, only read the files into memory when the user that needs them logs in. When the user logs out, the file is forgotten. I can't simply append digits and make it work.

So yes, it's incompatible.

EDIT: I invite you to try my game in a test world, and remove the limiters. Do your experiment again, but start setting warp points. Then log in as another character with a file name clash, and you can warp to the first character's warp points. You'll see the exact problem I predicted is very much a reality.
Last edited by 0gb.us on Wed Mar 06, 2013 19:16, edited 1 time in total.
 

User avatar
jojoa1997
Member
 
Posts: 2890
Joined: Thu Dec 13, 2012 05:11
Location: Earth

by jojoa1997 » Wed Mar 06, 2013 19:21

i found an error
Code: Select all
14:21:00: ERROR[main]: ServerError: LuaError: error: ...0gb.us_game\mods\added\landclaim_0gb_us/commands.lua:50: attempt to index global 'price' (a nil value)
14:21:00: ERROR[main]: stack traceback:
Last edited by jojoa1997 on Wed Mar 06, 2013 19:35, edited 1 time in total.
Coding;
1X coding
3X debugging
12X tweaking to be just right
 

User avatar
0gb.us
Member
 
Posts: 841
Joined: Sun Sep 16, 2012 01:55
Location: 0gb.us:30000

by 0gb.us » Wed Mar 06, 2013 19:33

Yeah, I found that too. It's been fixed for a couple days. Re-download, and it should be fine.
Fixed crashing due to tables not being visible from landclaim_0gb_us/… …

…commands.lua

4626d88237 Browse code
0gb-us authored 2 days ago
 

User avatar
jojoa1997
Member
 
Posts: 2890
Joined: Thu Dec 13, 2012 05:11
Location: Earth

by jojoa1997 » Wed Mar 06, 2013 19:40

0gb i think i have a solution for your game. Have the files check to see if the system is windows (you have implemented) and if it is windows then have the names be set like normal minetest does.
Coding;
1X coding
3X debugging
12X tweaking to be just right
 

User avatar
0gb.us
Member
 
Posts: 841
Joined: Sun Sep 16, 2012 01:55
Location: 0gb.us:30000

by 0gb.us » Wed Mar 06, 2013 19:47

jojoa1997 wrote:0gb i think i have a solution for your game. Have the files check to see if the system is windows (you have implemented) and if it is windows then have the names be set like normal minetest does.


I don't think you understood the issue. Appending the digit requires all the files be always loaded in memory. But the files are not all in memory. While there are ways to make this work in Windows, until a NON-HACKY solution is available, I won't implement it.

Why does Minetest even load all the user files at once? Just to consume more memory?
 

rarkenin
Member
 
Posts: 668
Joined: Tue Nov 20, 2012 20:48

by rarkenin » Wed Mar 06, 2013 20:18

0gb.us wrote:
jojoa1997 wrote:0gb i think i have a solution for your game. Have the files check to see if the system is windows (you have implemented) and if it is windows then have the names be set like normal minetest does.


I don't think you understood the issue. Appending the digit requires all the files be always loaded in memory. But the files are not all in memory. While there are ways to make this work in Windows, until a NON-HACKY solution is available, I won't implement it.

Why does Minetest even load all the user files at once? Just to consume more memory?


I think that Minetest needs to have some database access from mods, such as allowing mods to make their own tables and stuff in the per-game database.
Admin pro tempore on 0gb.us:30000. Ask me if you have a problem, or just want help.
This is a signature virus. Add me to your signature so that I can multiply.
Now working on my own clone, Mosstest.
I guess I'm back for some time.
 

User avatar
Bearbar123
Member
 
Posts: 115
Joined: Sat Jan 19, 2013 02:44
Location: Washington

by Bearbar123 » Thu Mar 07, 2013 05:20

0gb, i see no map still no pressure to put it up but please soon
Hello I am a random panda
 

User avatar
0gb.us
Member
 
Posts: 841
Joined: Sun Sep 16, 2012 01:55
Location: 0gb.us:30000

by 0gb.us » Thu Mar 07, 2013 06:44

Bearbar123 wrote:0gb, i see no map still no pressure to put it up but please soon


Sorry. I built the map a week ago, but never uploaded it because I feel like death warmed over right now. The topic photo has now been updated.
 

User avatar
Bearbar123
Member
 
Posts: 115
Joined: Sat Jan 19, 2013 02:44
Location: Washington

by Bearbar123 » Thu Mar 07, 2013 13:00

0gb.us wrote:
Bearbar123 wrote:0gb, i see no map still no pressure to put it up but please soon


Sorry. I built the map a week ago, but never uploaded it because I feel like death warmed over right now. The topic photo has now been updated.


Thanks
Hello I am a random panda
 

User avatar
jojoa1997
Member
 
Posts: 2890
Joined: Thu Dec 13, 2012 05:11
Location: Earth

by jojoa1997 » Thu Mar 07, 2013 14:07

For anyone who wants to join I will be having a glass wrights guild. The purpose is for glass making but the real stuff is behind the scenes. What I mean is the guild is based off of this series. http://www.mindyklasky.com/bibliography.html don't apply yet because I have not gotten and converted my house. it will be in elvendale. I will have all the stuff underground. Also bear bar when I am on please add me for ownership for where my house will be
Coding;
1X coding
3X debugging
12X tweaking to be just right
 

rarkenin
Member
 
Posts: 668
Joined: Tue Nov 20, 2012 20:48

by rarkenin » Thu Mar 07, 2013 21:40

My planned bots will be deployed on this server. In addition, they will also act to collect evidence in case of rule violations.

Also, I would like to make the rules clear. (0gb.us, please correct me if I am wrong)

While there are currently no rules regarding vandalism of property (such as lava dumping), or chat spam, there is a rule regarding attempting to crash, hang, or otherwise impair the server.

Any users and/or IP addresses deemed to be attempting to crash, lag, impair, disable, or otherwise affect the server will be punished with a ban. First, there will be a cooldown period of anywhere from 30 seconds to 15 minutes, unless this is a repeat offense or there is obvious danger to the server's operation. In that case, a ban will be instated indefinitely.

Any unban requests shall be posted on this thread, and will be serviced as such.
Admin pro tempore on 0gb.us:30000. Ask me if you have a problem, or just want help.
This is a signature virus. Add me to your signature so that I can multiply.
Now working on my own clone, Mosstest.
I guess I'm back for some time.
 

User avatar
0gb.us
Member
 
Posts: 841
Joined: Sun Sep 16, 2012 01:55
Location: 0gb.us:30000

by 0gb.us » Thu Mar 07, 2013 22:26

rarkenin wrote:My planned bots will be deployed on this server. In addition, they will also act to collect evidence in case of rule violations.

Also, I would like to make the rules clear. (0gb.us, please correct me if I am wrong)

While there are currently no rules regarding vandalism of property (such as lava dumping), or chat spam, there is a rule regarding attempting to crash, hang, or otherwise impair the server.

Any users and/or IP addresses deemed to be attempting to crash, lag, impair, disable, or otherwise affect the server will be punished with a ban. First, there will be a cooldown period of anywhere from 30 seconds to 15 minutes, unless this is a repeat offense or there is obvious danger to the server's operation. In that case, a ban will be instated indefinitely.

Any unban requests shall be posted on this thread, and will be serviced as such.


That sounds about right. Mind if I quote you in the first post?

Also, there seems to be a fatal flaw in the barter shop chests we use. I turned them all off for now, until I can get them to quit deleting items (it only happens in certain circumstances, but still ....).
 

rarkenin
Member
 
Posts: 668
Joined: Tue Nov 20, 2012 20:48

by rarkenin » Thu Mar 07, 2013 22:29

0gb.us wrote:That sounds about right. Mind if I quote you in the first post?


Go ahead and quote me, but the server is down.

Edit: Now it's up.

Edit 2: And down again.

Edit 3: Never mind.

I also found a bug in the build command that unfortunately crashed the server, can you come on so I can explain the bug?
Last edited by rarkenin on Thu Mar 07, 2013 22:43, edited 1 time in total.
Admin pro tempore on 0gb.us:30000. Ask me if you have a problem, or just want help.
This is a signature virus. Add me to your signature so that I can multiply.
Now working on my own clone, Mosstest.
I guess I'm back for some time.
 

User avatar
0gb.us
Member
 
Posts: 841
Joined: Sun Sep 16, 2012 01:55
Location: 0gb.us:30000
 

User avatar
Bearbar123
Member
 
Posts: 115
Joined: Sat Jan 19, 2013 02:44
Location: Washington

by Bearbar123 » Fri Mar 08, 2013 00:28

Hey Elvendale is done, and buying houses can start, ranging from 1 iron to 5 iron depending on where and the size of what you buy
Hello I am a random panda
 

User avatar
Adarqet
Member
 
Posts: 173
Joined: Thu Oct 04, 2012 14:05
Location: Traveling with BorisGrishenko

by Adarqet » Sat Mar 09, 2013 06:18

Bearbar123 wrote:Hey Elvendale is done, and buying houses can start, ranging from 1 iron to 5 iron depending on where and the size of what you buy
Is Boris and my house done?
 

User avatar
Adarqet
Member
 
Posts: 173
Joined: Thu Oct 04, 2012 14:05
Location: Traveling with BorisGrishenko

by Adarqet » Sat Mar 09, 2013 06:22

I'M BAAAAAAACKKKK.

And don't ask me where have been.
 

User avatar
jojoa1997
Member
 
Posts: 2890
Joined: Thu Dec 13, 2012 05:11
Location: Earth

by jojoa1997 » Sat Mar 09, 2013 21:13

upadate stuff from minetest_game. renewable stone has been added
Coding;
1X coding
3X debugging
12X tweaking to be just right
 

PreviousNext

Return to Servers



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests