[Server] Craig's Server

Xander_Crews
New member
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Aug 04, 2014 19:50
In-game: XanderCrews

Re: [0.4.10-dev] Craig's Server

by Xander_Crews » Post

How long does backing up the server take?

Xander_Crews
New member
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Aug 04, 2014 19:50
In-game: XanderCrews

Re: [0.4.10-dev] Craig's Server

by Xander_Crews » Post

I started building last night, everything worked. Then the server was shutdown for backup, it came back on this morning.

I signed in, connected, everything seemed normal. Then all of a sudden I couldn't change the position of things in my inventory. I signed out, and tried to sign back in... now the screen is stuck on "connecting to server" and will not go past that point.

*Edit to add* Other servers loading normally.

Xander_Crews
New member
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Aug 04, 2014 19:50
In-game: XanderCrews

Re: [0.4.10-dev] Craig's Server

by Xander_Crews » Post

Update.

I got signed into the server again yesterday, built for a few hours without a problem, then as it got later at night, the connection started lagging pretty bad.

I was playing this morning and it was working fine again, but then, about an hour in, the map stopped loading and I decided to sign out and sign back in, but the server disappeared from the server list... is anyone else having the same problems or is the connection issue on my end?

User avatar
CraigyDavi
Member
Posts: 582
Joined: Sat Aug 10, 2013 13:08
GitHub: davisonio
IRC: davisonio
In-game: CraigyDavi
Location: Hampshire, UK
Contact:

Re: [0.4.10-dev] Craig's Server

by CraigyDavi » Post

Xander_Crews wrote:How long does backing up the server take?
About half an hour.
Xander_Crews wrote:Update.

I got signed into the server again yesterday, built for a few hours without a problem, then as it got later at night, the connection started lagging pretty bad.

I was playing this morning and it was working fine again, but then, about an hour in, the map stopped loading and I decided to sign out and sign back in, but the server disappeared from the server list... is anyone else having the same problems or is the connection issue on my end?
These are known problems, unfortunately there's not much I can do about it. The server just lags out or has problems often and I have to manually restart the server.

Esteban
Member
Posts: 873
Joined: Sun Sep 08, 2013 13:26
GitHub: Esteban-
IRC: Esteban
In-game: Esteban
Location: Somewhere in the Caribbean...

Re: [0.4.10-dev] Craig's Server

by Esteban » Post

Some stuff in Homedecor mod, such as the fish tank and towels, are uncraftable. I think it has to do with Moreblocks. I placed a gravel node on the saw table in order to make the fish tank and this happened:
Image

User avatar
CraigyDavi
Member
Posts: 582
Joined: Sat Aug 10, 2013 13:08
GitHub: davisonio
IRC: davisonio
In-game: CraigyDavi
Location: Hampshire, UK
Contact:

Re: [0.4.10-dev] Craig's Server

by CraigyDavi » Post

Esteban wrote:Some stuff in Homedecor mod, such as the fish tank and towels, are uncraftable. I think it has to do with Moreblocks. I placed a gravel node on the saw table in order to make the fish tank and this happened:
Image
Hmm yes, I have updated the homedecor mod but now that it's structured as a modpack it requires some of the mods from the same modpack. I'll try work out some fixes.

User avatar
jp
Member
Posts: 788
Joined: Wed Dec 18, 2013 09:03
GitHub: kilbith
Location: France

Re: [0.4.10-dev] Craig's Server

by jp » Post

CraigyDavi wrote:Hmm yes, I have updated the homedecor mod but now that it's structured as a modpack it requires some of the mods from the same modpack. I'll try work out some fixes.
For the fish tank, his recipe doesn't requires a thin layer of gravel from the MoreBlocks saw, but the 'gravel spread' from the 'building_blocks' mod (part of Homedecor). Same provenance for the terrycloth towel.

For the unknown nodes in the screenie above, it's because your MoreBlocks is buggy/broken. Update it again.

Considering the amount of items, I advice you to install Unified Inventory to help players to craft/find.

Xander_Crews
New member
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Aug 04, 2014 19:50
In-game: XanderCrews

Re: [0.4.10-dev] Craig's Server

by Xander_Crews » Post

CraigyDavi wrote:
Xander_Crews wrote:How long does backing up the server take?
About half an hour.
Xander_Crews wrote:Update.

I got signed into the server again yesterday, built for a few hours without a problem, then as it got later at night, the connection started lagging pretty bad.

I was playing this morning and it was working fine again, but then, about an hour in, the map stopped loading and I decided to sign out and sign back in, but the server disappeared from the server list... is anyone else having the same problems or is the connection issue on my end?
These are known problems, unfortunately there's not much I can do about it. The server just lags out or has problems often and I have to manually restart the server.

Thanks for the response. I just wanted to verify that it wasn't my connection. I was able to finish the skyscraper with around 10 floors I was working on. It still needs furnished/decorated, but I have made a giant tower with apartments, roof top patio, pools, etc...

Image

User avatar
CraigyDavi
Member
Posts: 582
Joined: Sat Aug 10, 2013 13:08
GitHub: davisonio
IRC: davisonio
In-game: CraigyDavi
Location: Hampshire, UK
Contact:

Re: [0.4.10-dev] Craig's Server

by CraigyDavi » Post

jp wrote:
CraigyDavi wrote:Hmm yes, I have updated the homedecor mod but now that it's structured as a modpack it requires some of the mods from the same modpack. I'll try work out some fixes.
For the fish tank, his recipe doesn't requires a thin layer of gravel from the MoreBlocks saw, but the 'gravel spread' from the 'building_blocks' mod (part of Homedecor). Same provenance for the terrycloth towel.

For the unknown nodes in the screenie above, it's because your MoreBlocks is buggy/broken. Update it again.

Considering the amount of items, I advice you to install Unified Inventory to help players to craft/find.
Moreblocks is using the latest version. Yeah, the problem is that I don't want to install the building_blocks mod but still want to be able to use some of the homedecor recipes, I guess I'll just have to change them manually. Unified inventory was removed as mobile users were unable to craft using it but maybe that is fixed now...

User avatar
CraigyDavi
Member
Posts: 582
Joined: Sat Aug 10, 2013 13:08
GitHub: davisonio
IRC: davisonio
In-game: CraigyDavi
Location: Hampshire, UK
Contact:

Re: [0.4.10-dev] Craig's Server

by CraigyDavi » Post

Xander_Crews wrote:
CraigyDavi wrote:
Xander_Crews wrote:How long does backing up the server take?
About half an hour.
Xander_Crews wrote:Update.

I got signed into the server again yesterday, built for a few hours without a problem, then as it got later at night, the connection started lagging pretty bad.

I was playing this morning and it was working fine again, but then, about an hour in, the map stopped loading and I decided to sign out and sign back in, but the server disappeared from the server list... is anyone else having the same problems or is the connection issue on my end?
These are known problems, unfortunately there's not much I can do about it. The server just lags out or has problems often and I have to manually restart the server.

Thanks for the response. I just wanted to verify that it wasn't my connection. I was able to finish the skyscraper with around 10 floors I was working on. It still needs furnished/decorated, but I have made a giant tower with apartments, roof top patio, pools, etc...

Image
Nice work!

cyberhawk
Member
Posts: 18
Joined: Tue Jun 03, 2014 15:56
In-game: cyberhawk

Re: [0.4.10-dev] Craig's Server

by cyberhawk » Post

I keep getting an error, which sends me falling through the world with the y-coord decreasing and x-coord being "inf" or "-inf".

Error message (from yesterday):
09:42:46:ERROR[main]: WARNING: updateListener: Invalid value

It has made the game unplayable, this happened 4 times during half an hour. I always have to teleport to /spawn or /home to get out of this.

User avatar
CraigyDavi
Member
Posts: 582
Joined: Sat Aug 10, 2013 13:08
GitHub: davisonio
IRC: davisonio
In-game: CraigyDavi
Location: Hampshire, UK
Contact:

Re: [0.4.10-dev] Craig's Server

by CraigyDavi » Post

cyberhawk wrote:I keep getting an error, which sends me falling through the world with the y-coord decreasing and x-coord being "inf" or "-inf".

Error message (from yesterday):
09:42:46:ERROR[main]: WARNING: updateListener: Invalid value

It has made the game unplayable, this happened 4 times during half an hour. I always have to teleport to /spawn or /home to get out of this.
It's a known bug with minetest, more information here: viewtopic.php?f=6&t=5301

User avatar
CraigyDavi
Member
Posts: 582
Joined: Sat Aug 10, 2013 13:08
GitHub: davisonio
IRC: davisonio
In-game: CraigyDavi
Location: Hampshire, UK
Contact:

Re: [0.4.10-dev] Craig's Server

by CraigyDavi » Post

A few updates have been made fairly recently:
  • The minetest.conf file used by the server is now available to browse though, Check it out here!
  • Enderchest has been removed (it was pointless and hardly anyone used it). If you still had one, lucky you! You will notice it is now a diamond block.
  • The bug which allowed users to replacing things in other drop-boxes has now been fixed alongside some builtin_item improvements, thanks HybridDog.
  • All crafts from the homedecor *should* be fixed now
  • The bug which caused you to be immortal has been fixed

Esteban
Member
Posts: 873
Joined: Sun Sep 08, 2013 13:26
GitHub: Esteban-
IRC: Esteban
In-game: Esteban
Location: Somewhere in the Caribbean...

Re: [0.4.10-dev] Craig's Server

by Esteban » Post

CraigyDavi wrote:A few updates have been made fairly recently:
  • The minetest.conf file used by the server is now available to browse though, Check it out here!
  • Enderchest has been removed (it was pointless and hardly anyone used it). If you still had one, lucky you! You will notice it is now a diamond block.
  • The bug which allowed users to replacing things in other drop-boxes has now been fixed alongside some builtin_item improvements, thanks HybridDog.
  • All crafts from the homedecor *should* be fixed now
  • The bug which caused you to be immortal has been fixed
Thanks! I will login later and make that fish tank! x)

Also, I heard you wanted to change the money mod used on the sever. For that reason, I will make a list of shops that are maintained (that always are been stocked and make regular sales) to warn these players to save the products for the new mod. I noticed there's some shops that are not maintained at all (like my furniture store) , so the effect of changing the money mod would be minimal. An example of this is the market at spawn, like 2 or 3 shops out of the 10 actually work.

User avatar
CraigyDavi
Member
Posts: 582
Joined: Sat Aug 10, 2013 13:08
GitHub: davisonio
IRC: davisonio
In-game: CraigyDavi
Location: Hampshire, UK
Contact:

Re: [0.4.10-dev] Craig's Server

by CraigyDavi » Post

Esteban wrote:Also, I heard you wanted to change the money mod used on the sever. For that reason, I will make a list of shops that are maintained (that always are been stocked and make regular sales) to warn these players to save the products for the new mod. I noticed there's some shops that are not maintained at all (like my furniture store) , so the effect of changing the money mod would be minimal. An example of this is the market at spawn, like 2 or 3 shops out of the 10 actually work.
Indeed I do, the mod is quite old and there are a few bugs with it that crash the server... Also adding all the information in including the nodename is very confusing for people.
That would be a amazing, I think I'll give at least 2 weeks warning and I can also add a chat message which displays when someone opens a shop to tell them that we are switching to a new mod.

I think I will either use the BitChange mod or the mint mod.

Esteban
Member
Posts: 873
Joined: Sun Sep 08, 2013 13:26
GitHub: Esteban-
IRC: Esteban
In-game: Esteban
Location: Somewhere in the Caribbean...

Re: [0.4.10-dev] Craig's Server

by Esteban » Post

CraigyDavi wrote: ...I can also add a chat message which displays when someone opens a shop to tell them that we are switching to a new mod...
Agree. Make an advertisement telling the peeps that they should remove products from the shops.
CraigyDavi wrote: ...I think I will either use the BitChange mod or the mint mod.
I vote for the Bitchange! ;)

User avatar
gabo.xandre
Member
Posts: 70
Joined: Sat Mar 15, 2014 12:54
GitHub: GaboXandre
IRC: GaboXandre
In-game: Gabo
Location: Argentina
Contact:

Re: [0.4.10-dev] Craig's Server

by gabo.xandre » Post

And what will happen to the money we currently have?

User avatar
Sokomine
Member
Posts: 4017
Joined: Sun Sep 09, 2012 17:31
GitHub: Sokomine

Re: [0.4.10-dev] Craig's Server

by Sokomine » Post

My traders mod might also be helpful on the server. Each trader can trade multiple items. If a money mod is installed, trading for virtual money is also possible.
A list of my mods can be found here.

User avatar
CraigyDavi
Member
Posts: 582
Joined: Sat Aug 10, 2013 13:08
GitHub: davisonio
IRC: davisonio
In-game: CraigyDavi
Location: Hampshire, UK
Contact:

Re: [0.4.10-dev] Craig's Server

by CraigyDavi » Post

gabo.xandre wrote:And what will happen to the money we currently have?
I think I'll try make some sort of "bank" block and place it at spawn. You can covert all your current money to the new money there.
Sokomine wrote:My traders mod might also be helpful on the server. Each trader can trade multiple items. If a money mod is installed, trading for virtual money is also possible.
Sounds cool, I might try and work something out so an economy can work with both mods.

User avatar
gabo.xandre
Member
Posts: 70
Joined: Sat Mar 15, 2014 12:54
GitHub: GaboXandre
IRC: GaboXandre
In-game: Gabo
Location: Argentina
Contact:

Re: [0.4.10-dev] Craig's Server

by gabo.xandre » Post

After a few days work, here's the latest addition to the Castle of the Sun.

The new gateway:
Image
* still need to finish the towers

And the new throne hall:
Image

User avatar
Landrover110
Member
Posts: 19
Joined: Mon Jan 13, 2014 09:38
In-game: Landrover
Location: South luangwa , Zambia

Re: [0.4.10-dev] Craig's Server

by Landrover110 » Post

Hey guys its landrover i have been in the bush for many months so haven't been able to play i was doing antipoaching and stuff so i am going to becoming back online to continue building Landrovers cheap shop (LCS) haven't been on the server for months so it must of changed alot see you all soon

best regards

Landrover

User avatar
Landrover110
Member
Posts: 19
Joined: Mon Jan 13, 2014 09:38
In-game: Landrover
Location: South luangwa , Zambia

Re: [0.4.10-dev] Craig's Server

by Landrover110 » Post

Hey craig came back to the server havent been back since Febuary and wow its changed alot , glad i found my shop in 1 piece its 5 stories now anyone can check it out on the travel net as Landrovers shop , craig the new money is nice but it doesnt seem worth that much and how do you buy land with the new money i need to buy some land but cant with bitcoins or is there a way

best regards
Landrover

Esteban
Member
Posts: 873
Joined: Sun Sep 08, 2013 13:26
GitHub: Esteban-
IRC: Esteban
In-game: Esteban
Location: Somewhere in the Caribbean...

Re: [0.4.10-dev] Craig's Server

by Esteban » Post

Landrover110 wrote:Hey craig came back to the server havent been back since Febuary and wow its changed alot , glad i found my shop in 1 piece its 5 stories now anyone can check it out on the travel net as Landrovers shop , craig the new money is nice but it doesnt seem worth that much and how do you buy land with the new money i need to buy some land but cant with bitcoins or is there a way

best regards
Landrover
You can get land for free. I know that when protecting it says a price, but it never takes anything.

User avatar
Landrover110
Member
Posts: 19
Joined: Mon Jan 13, 2014 09:38
In-game: Landrover
Location: South luangwa , Zambia

Re: [0.4.10-dev] Craig's Server

by Landrover110 » Post

Esteban wrote:
Landrover110 wrote:Hey craig came back to the server havent been back since Febuary and wow its changed alot , glad i found my shop in 1 piece its 5 stories now anyone can check it out on the travel net as Landrovers shop , craig the new money is nice but it doesnt seem worth that much and how do you buy land with the new money i need to buy some land but cant with bitcoins or is there a way

best regards
Landrover
You can get land for free. I know that when protecting it says a price, but it never takes anything.
oh thanks esteban its changed since i last came , thanks :)

User avatar
RHR
Member
Posts: 215
Joined: Mon Jan 27, 2014 20:07
GitHub: RHRhino

Re: [0.4.10-dev] Craig's Server

by RHR » Post

@Craig: Could you please update the overview map? :)

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest