[Server] Xanadu

amadin
Member
Posts: 548
Joined: Tue Jun 16, 2015 16:23

Re: Xanadu Server

by amadin » Post

"Your account has been limited" - is this forever?

User avatar
TenPlus1
Member
Posts: 2964
Joined: Mon Jul 29, 2013 13:38
GitHub: tenplus1

Re: Xanadu Server

by TenPlus1 » Post

If you break rules then your account gets limited, so yes that account is out of action... but... I have currently limited a few players in glitched areas so the server doesn't crash, but I now have a fix for that so will unlimit them shortly.

User avatar
afflatus
Member
Posts: 344
Joined: Tue Apr 01, 2014 19:47
GitHub: 0-afflatus
IRC: afflatus
In-game: afflatus
Location: Avalonia
Contact:

Re: Xanadu Server

by afflatus » Post

amadin wrote:
TenPlus1 wrote:We tried that amadin, went back as far as possible with 0.4.13 dev builds so we still had some of the newer features, but the stall glitch still happened.
I know about "went back as far as possible with 0.4.13 dev" that is why i wrote my think about a bug in some client 0.4.14 (windows, android, mac os or freeminer builds) but not in the server. Maybe some client 0.4.14 create the stall glitch for server.
UPDATED later: Is any way to disable connections from client 0.4.14 for some time?
I have wondered about that too - users of some Windows builds reported they had no problems if they switched to Linux, but I have also seen the stall glitch triggered by multicraft users. No pattern has really emerged so far, mostly due to lack of information. So far it seems as if the bug is OS / build agnostic, but I have not had any reports of Linux users using proper Minetest clients triggering the problem. Possibly another good reason not to use clone clients.
Grailtest is dreaming ...

mystik
Member
Posts: 64
Joined: Tue Oct 28, 2014 22:16
GitHub: jasonjayr
In-game: mystik

Re: Xanadu Server

by mystik » Post

afflatus -- what Processor are you running for your server and how many cores does it have?

I'm taking a wild blind shot in the dark and suspecting some kind of cross-thread memory corruption?

User avatar
Milan*
Member
Posts: 252
Joined: Thu May 28, 2015 06:45
GitHub: tchncs
IRC: Passant
In-game: Milan Passant
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: Xanadu Server

by Milan* » Post

@TenPlus1, this 'your account has been limited' thing sounds interesting.
Does that appear as a server message when a player lost interact? Is this a public mod?

Also it would be interesting to read your personal reason to forbid youtube recording. :)
Sorry if i annoy you ._.
Last edited by Milan* on Sun Jun 05, 2016 11:34, edited 1 time in total.
Illuna Minetestservers | Mastodon | [ matrix ] | I may host you a Minetestserver, just contact me.

User avatar
afflatus
Member
Posts: 344
Joined: Tue Apr 01, 2014 19:47
GitHub: 0-afflatus
IRC: afflatus
In-game: afflatus
Location: Avalonia
Contact:

Re: Xanadu Server

by afflatus » Post

mystik wrote:afflatus -- what Processor are you running for your server and how many cores does it have?
The old server was an Intel Celeron CPU B800 2 core w/ 3GB RAM
and the new one is an AMD FX-6300 6 core also reporting 3GB RAM, but it is supposed to have 16GB (I will have to check that via the BIOS at some point)
Same problem with both. Memory issues are possible, IIUC Lua has memory limitations too.
Grailtest is dreaming ...

amadin
Member
Posts: 548
Joined: Tue Jun 16, 2015 16:23

Re: Xanadu Server

by amadin » Post

TenPlus1, do you changing passwords for aol and nox2? If yes - why?

User avatar
TenPlus1
Member
Posts: 2964
Joined: Mon Jul 29, 2013 13:38
GitHub: tenplus1

Re: Xanadu Server

by TenPlus1 » Post

I needed a test area that glitched out for debugging so changed aol's password so I could sign into glitched area, when he comes back on server I'll hand over account with new password. I did not however use nox2's.

User avatar
Glorfindel
Member
Posts: 137
Joined: Tue Jul 07, 2015 20:05
GitHub: the1glorfindel
IRC: Glorfindel DoomWeaver
In-game: Glorfindel

Re: Xanadu Server

by Glorfindel » Post

afflatus wrote:
mystik wrote:afflatus -- what Processor are you running for your server and how many cores does it have?
The old server was an Intel Celeron CPU B800 2 core w/ 3GB RAM
and the new one is an AMD FX-6300 6 core also reporting 3GB RAM, but it is supposed to have 16GB (I will have to check that via the BIOS at some point)
Same problem with both. Memory issues are possible, IIUC Lua has memory limitations too.
use a 64-bit operating system to be able to use more than 3GB of RAM

mystik
Member
Posts: 64
Joined: Tue Oct 28, 2014 22:16
GitHub: jasonjayr
In-game: mystik

Re: Xanadu Server

by mystik » Post

Glorfindel wrote:
afflatus wrote:
mystik wrote:afflatus -- what Processor are you running for your server and how many cores does it have?
The old server was an Intel Celeron CPU B800 2 core w/ 3GB RAM
and the new one is an AMD FX-6300 6 core also reporting 3GB RAM, but it is supposed to have 16GB (I will have to check that via the BIOS at some point)
Same problem with both. Memory issues are possible, IIUC Lua has memory limitations too.
use a 64-bit operating system to be able to use more than 3GB of RAM
A 32bit Linux with PAE can address all 16gb, but each process can map no more than 4gb.

IIRC, 32 bit Windows *COULD* it, but there's a licensing restriction on accessing more memory or too many processors. See here for details: https://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/librar ... s.85).aspx

auouymous
Member
Posts: 186
Joined: Sun Dec 07, 2014 09:39
GitHub: auouymous
IRC: air
In-game: auouymous

Re: Xanadu Server

by auouymous » Post

mystik wrote:A 32bit Linux with PAE can address all 16gb, but each process can map no more than 4gb.
The linux kernel uses 1gb so each process can only access 3gb. Windows uses a 2+2 split, but can be set to 3+1 like linux.

User avatar
Glorfindel
Member
Posts: 137
Joined: Tue Jul 07, 2015 20:05
GitHub: the1glorfindel
IRC: Glorfindel DoomWeaver
In-game: Glorfindel

Re: Xanadu Server

by Glorfindel » Post

mystik wrote:
Glorfindel wrote: use a 64-bit operating system to be able to use more than 3GB of RAM
A 32bit Linux with PAE can address all 16gb, but each process can map no more than 4gb.

IIRC, 32 bit Windows *COULD* it, but there's a licensing restriction on accessing more memory or too many processors. See here for details: https://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/librar ... s.85).aspx
Is PAE not on by default? I have a laptop running Linux that doesn't see more than 3GB of RAM

User avatar
afflatus
Member
Posts: 344
Joined: Tue Apr 01, 2014 19:47
GitHub: 0-afflatus
IRC: afflatus
In-game: afflatus
Location: Avalonia
Contact:

Re: Xanadu Server

by afflatus » Post

I'm running debian. Thanks for your advice, I will probably reinstall the OS so I can use the whole memory.
This is a bit OT for this thread, please post any further comments on this subject to viewtopic.php?f=10&t=13127 Thanks!
Grailtest is dreaming ...

Killerz
Member
Posts: 95
Joined: Sat Apr 16, 2016 15:08
In-game: Killerz
Location: On the face of the earth xD

Re: Xanadu Server

by Killerz » Post

screenshot_20160609_123432.png
(304.34 KiB) Not downloaded yet
This bat looks cute, Tip to mobs:never disturbe me while im working
EDM For the win!

Vassy - Secrets = LIFE

Killerz
Member
Posts: 95
Joined: Sat Apr 16, 2016 15:08
In-game: Killerz
Location: On the face of the earth xD

Re: Xanadu Server

by Killerz » Post

Dilliron swore
Attachments
screenshot_20160610_131211.png
(111.48 KiB) Not downloaded yet
EDM For the win!

Vassy - Secrets = LIFE

User avatar
TenPlus1
Member
Posts: 2964
Joined: Mon Jul 29, 2013 13:38
GitHub: tenplus1

Re: Xanadu Server

by TenPlus1 » Post

The swear filter picks up on many things thankfully and kicks player, but if he is being abusive towards another player and swears then he will be limited.

KCoombes
Member
Posts: 412
Joined: Thu Jun 11, 2015 23:19
In-game: Knatt
Location: SW Florida, USA

Re: Xanadu Server

by KCoombes » Post

TenPlus1, perhaps "(kicked)" needs to be added to the swear filter, so other players can learn from ones' mistakes?

User avatar
TenPlus1
Member
Posts: 2964
Joined: Mon Jul 29, 2013 13:38
GitHub: tenplus1

Re: Xanadu Server

by TenPlus1 » Post

How do you mean KC?

KCoombes
Member
Posts: 412
Joined: Thu Jun 11, 2015 23:19
In-game: Knatt
Location: SW Florida, USA

Re: Xanadu Server

by KCoombes » Post

In the screenshot from Killerz, you can see where dilliron swore, immediately followed by "dilliron has left the game". Perhaps a better line would be "dilliron has left the game. (kicked)" - this would alert other players that such infractions are handled even if there is no moderator obviously present.

amadin
Member
Posts: 548
Joined: Tue Jun 16, 2015 16:23

Re: Xanadu Server

by amadin » Post

.
Last edited by amadin on Wed Dec 18, 2019 19:56, edited 1 time in total.

KCoombes
Member
Posts: 412
Joined: Thu Jun 11, 2015 23:19
In-game: Knatt
Location: SW Florida, USA

Re: Xanadu Server

by KCoombes » Post

easy enough to use "(kicked for swearing)" instead of "(kicked)" - just a longer text string, after all :)

User avatar
~Xhole
Member
Posts: 28
Joined: Sun Apr 03, 2016 04:24
IRC: x
In-game: Xhole
Location: Paradise

Re: Xanadu Server

by ~Xhole » Post

Okay I need something to be cleared for me.Earlier today I was killed in Lucky blocks arena.Ive heard for many mods that you cant not kill people in public areas but other say the exact opposite you can kill in public areas Im not saying names.Nicolas and five_5 were killing people for there prizes.So can players kill in public areas or not.I was not the only one killed many others were attacked and some were killed.I know you can kill if someone enters your home and other areas.
~X~

User avatar
TenPlus1
Member
Posts: 2964
Joined: Mon Jul 29, 2013 13:38
GitHub: tenplus1

Re: Xanadu Server

by TenPlus1 » Post

PVP Protection is enabled which means that players cannot be harmed inside of a protected area, unless the owner of such area is the one attacking them. The Lucky Block Arena isn't protected, but the area around the door is and can be considered a safe zone.

Killerz
Member
Posts: 95
Joined: Sat Apr 16, 2016 15:08
In-game: Killerz
Location: On the face of the earth xD

Re: Xanadu Server

by Killerz » Post

Abeer swore and tried to avoid the filter
Attachments
screenshot_20160611_134248.png
(351.9 KiB) Not downloaded yet
EDM For the win!

Vassy - Secrets = LIFE

Killerz
Member
Posts: 95
Joined: Sat Apr 16, 2016 15:08
In-game: Killerz
Location: On the face of the earth xD

Re: Xanadu Server

by Killerz » Post

nicolas swore in french...
Attachments
screenshot_20160611_145817.png
(293.09 KiB) Not downloaded yet
EDM For the win!

Vassy - Secrets = LIFE

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot], davidthecreator and 4 guests