[Server] Xanadu

User avatar
TenPlus1
Member
 
Posts: 2645
Joined: Mon Jul 29, 2013 13:38
GitHub: tenplus1

Re: Xanadu Server

by TenPlus1 » Sun Oct 26, 2014 20:37

For anyone interested check out the John Smith texture pack with Ethereal add-on textures for Xanadu server: https://forum.minetest.net/viewtopic.php?f=4&t=5383&start=25#p152389
 

pepprim
Member
 
Posts: 27
Joined: Sun Nov 02, 2014 11:47
In-game: pepprim

Re: Xanadu Server

by pepprim » Thu Nov 06, 2014 22:14

Hi!

First of all, apologies for my poor English. I need some help. Maybe from administratos of the server.

Strangest thing happened to me. A couple of parts of the protected area where I built my house have darkened suddenly for no apparent reason and the seeds planted in those darkened parts do not grow.

At first I thought it could be the shadow of some newly high tree I planted so cut off all trees nearby, but problem persists. There is no new construction that hides the sun or I can see on the horizon. :S
 

Kilarin
Member
 
Posts: 778
Joined: Mon Mar 10, 2014 00:36

Re: Xanadu Server

by Kilarin » Thu Nov 06, 2014 23:27

You need to provide coordinates for your location pepprim. It could be a bug, but it's also possible that there is some construction way above you.
 

pepprim
Member
 
Posts: 27
Joined: Sun Nov 02, 2014 11:47
In-game: pepprim

Re: Xanadu Server

by pepprim » Fri Nov 07, 2014 00:17

Kilarin wrote:You need to provide coordinates for your location pepprim. It could be a bug, but it's also possible that there is some construction way above you.


Oh! Of course, these are the coords of the darkened parts:

1) 22, 4.5, -379
2) 30, 3.5, -375
3) 54, 3.5, -373

Not far from the iron portal.
 

Kilarin
Member
 
Posts: 778
Joined: Mon Mar 10, 2014 00:36

Re: Xanadu Server

by Kilarin » Fri Nov 07, 2014 00:48

I'm not an admin, but I looked at your shadow, and its very strange. I'm told that shadow glitches happen frequently, and that you can get rid of them by planting trees and then removing them. Give it a try.

UPDATE: Titanius (the server owner) came and planted a tree and fixed the problem like magic. Say thanks to Xanthin next time you see her as well since she learned that planting a tree and then removing it will fix shadow glitches!
 

pepprim
Member
 
Posts: 27
Joined: Sun Nov 02, 2014 11:47
In-game: pepprim

Re: Xanadu Server

by pepprim » Fri Nov 07, 2014 16:08

Thanks a lot Kilarin and Titanius!!

Just one more doubt: Should I plant the sapling and remove it before it grows? Or should I let it grow and then cut it down? I see that near of one of the darkened parts there are two new trees, in an unprotected area, and I assume that is Titanius who has left there.
 

User avatar
Hybrid Dog
Member
 
Posts: 2722
Joined: Thu Nov 01, 2012 12:46

Re: Xanadu Server

by Hybrid Dog » Fri Nov 07, 2014 18:41

It could be caused by a voxelmanip bug. I sometimes get the problem that the hole which was shot by my rocket launcher is dark, I used the right size and update_map(). Maybe it's caused by changes before a nearby chunk is loaded.

‮‪‮
‮‪‮
‮‪‮
‮‪‮
‮‪‮
‮‪‮
‮‪‮
‮‪‮
‮‪
 

User avatar
srifqi
Member
 
Posts: 556
Joined: Sat Jun 28, 2014 04:31
Location: Indonesia
GitHub: srifqi
IRC: srifqi
In-game: srifqi

Re: Xanadu Server

by srifqi » Mon Nov 10, 2014 09:56

How about calc_lightning()?
I'm from Indonesia! Saya dari Indonesia!
Terjemahkan Minetest!
Mods by me. Modifikasi oleh saya.

Pronounce my nick as in: es-rifqi (IPA: /es rifˈki/)
 

User avatar
Hybrid Dog
Member
 
Posts: 2722
Joined: Thu Nov 01, 2012 12:46

Re: Xanadu Server

by Hybrid Dog » Mon Nov 10, 2014 17:35

srifqi wrote:How about calc_lightning()?

To be used only by a VoxelManip object from minetest.get_mapgen_object

I use update_map when the hole is shown.

‮‪‮
‮‪‮
‮‪‮
‮‪‮
‮‪‮
‮‪‮
‮‪‮
‮‪‮
‮‪
 

Sokomine
Member
 
Posts: 3952
Joined: Sun Sep 09, 2012 17:31
GitHub: Sokomine

Re: Xanadu Server

by Sokomine » Tue Nov 11, 2014 04:35

pepprim wrote:Just one more doubt: Should I plant the sapling and remove it before it grows? Or should I let it grow and then cut it down? I see that near of one of the darkened parts there are two new trees, in an unprotected area, and I assume that is Titanius who has left there.

You need to wait until it has grown into a tree. While/after doing so, it may - with a bit of luck - have removed the dark area. You can cut the tree down afterwards if you want to.
A list of my mods can be found here.
 

User avatar
TenPlus1
Member
 
Posts: 2645
Joined: Mon Jul 29, 2013 13:38
GitHub: tenplus1

Re: Xanadu Server

by TenPlus1 » Tue Nov 11, 2014 07:42

If by chance you find a weird shadow glitch while one of the admin is online let us know, we have a special admin tool that removes them with 1 click...
 

pepprim
Member
 
Posts: 27
Joined: Sun Nov 02, 2014 11:47
In-game: pepprim

Re: Xanadu Server

by pepprim » Tue Nov 11, 2014 16:24

Sokomine wrote:You need to wait until it has grown into a tree. While/after doing so, it may - with a bit of luck - have removed the dark area. You can cut the tree down afterwards if you want to.


Yes, I could check this. Titanius solved it at the first time, but yesterday happened again and I solved as Sokomine explains you have to. Thank you Sokomine. By the way: It seems that you have to plant next to the darkened area, but where the sapling still receive some light.

TenPlus1 wrote:If by chance you find a weird shadow glitch while one of the admin is online let us know, we have a special admin tool that removes them with 1 click...


Thank you Tenplus. If it happens again and I can't solve in the above manner, I will try to locate an administrator in game. I have a small garden and a forest around the house (for production, not just decorative) and these shadow glitches, in the same way that disappears by planting trees, it seems to appear also because of trees.
 

pepprim
Member
 
Posts: 27
Joined: Sun Nov 02, 2014 11:47
In-game: pepprim

Re: Xanadu Server

by pepprim » Thu Nov 13, 2014 23:58

Hello again!

Here I'm back with new questions... ;-)

Maybe, crafting teleport pads is enabled only for admins?

A few days ago I found the thread for the teleport mod by TenPlus1: https://forum.minetest.net/viewtopic.php?f=11&t=9234

And today I got the latest ingredients for the pad's recipe (the glass, the four potions and the mese block) but it didn't work. :-(

I was hopeful with the idea that the pad would become a little help in the arduous task of seeking a distant crystal biome, still with a few crystals spikes to collect.
 

Kilarin
Member
 
Posts: 778
Joined: Mon Mar 10, 2014 00:36

Re: Xanadu Server

by Kilarin » Fri Nov 14, 2014 00:31

pepprim wrote:Maybe, crafting teleport pads is enabled only for admins?

To the best of my knowledge, Teleport pads can be created by admins, but not crafted by players in Xanadu. I believe TenPlus1 said it was a lag issue.
 

MykieDoesStuff
Member
 
Posts: 134
Joined: Sat Aug 16, 2014 02:44

Re: Xanadu Server

by MykieDoesStuff » Fri Nov 14, 2014 01:48

I found a shadow glitch and I just placed a torch and it did a fix, you can remove the torch afterward and no more glitch :)
For fast response... send me a PM
 

User avatar
TenPlus1
Member
 
Posts: 2645
Joined: Mon Jul 29, 2013 13:38
GitHub: tenplus1

Re: Xanadu Server

by TenPlus1 » Fri Nov 14, 2014 10:04

pepprim: teleport pads are being used for stargates only in Xanadu as the recipe has been removed for normal players, if you still wish to explore for distant crystal biomes then you can craft a teleport potion which has a 10 second use (glass bottle + diamond block)...
 

User avatar
Skrote
Member
 
Posts: 32
Joined: Mon Sep 29, 2014 23:09
Location: Champaign, Illinois USA
In-game: Skrote
 

Big3Force
Member
 
Posts: 50
Joined: Tue Aug 26, 2014 04:50
Location: Massachusetts USA
In-game: Big3Force

Re: Xanadu Server

by Big3Force » Mon Nov 17, 2014 13:56

ScreenHunter_246 Nov. 17 08.52.jpg
Visit Capital City by Big3Force
(293.06 KiB) Not downloaded yet
 

User avatar
coconut
Member
 
Posts: 18
Joined: Mon Oct 06, 2014 08:06
Location: Somewhere in Minetest
In-game: Chili

Re: Xanadu Server

by coconut » Wed Nov 19, 2014 12:45

Ten, which texture did you use for xanadu server?
is the best server i have played ever
 

User avatar
TenPlus1
Member
 
Posts: 2645
Joined: Mon Jul 29, 2013 13:38
GitHub: tenplus1

Re: Xanadu Server

by TenPlus1 » Thu Nov 20, 2014 09:24

Xanadu uses 0.4.10 dev which has a few default texture changes for the next version, everything else is included in the Ethereal mod that it runs...
 

Big3Force
Member
 
Posts: 50
Joined: Tue Aug 26, 2014 04:50
Location: Massachusetts USA
In-game: Big3Force

Re: Xanadu Server

by Big3Force » Thu Nov 20, 2014 13:25

New Capital City Buildings
Attachments
ScreenHunter_262 Nov. 19 10.30.jpg
(495.34 KiB) Not downloaded yet
 

Big3Force
Member
 
Posts: 50
Joined: Tue Aug 26, 2014 04:50
Location: Massachusetts USA
In-game: Big3Force

Re: Xanadu Server

by Big3Force » Fri Nov 21, 2014 20:09

Capital City
Attachments
ScreenHunter_268 Nov. 20 08.21.jpg
(285.39 KiB) Not downloaded yet
 

Big3Force
Member
 
Posts: 50
Joined: Tue Aug 26, 2014 04:50
Location: Massachusetts USA
In-game: Big3Force

Re: Xanadu Server

by Big3Force » Fri Nov 21, 2014 20:10

The Ice Tower....
Capital City
Attachments
ScreenHunter_273 Nov. 21 09.39.jpg
(341.61 KiB) Not downloaded yet
 

Big3Force
Member
 
Posts: 50
Joined: Tue Aug 26, 2014 04:50
Location: Massachusetts USA
In-game: Big3Force

Re: Xanadu Server

by Big3Force » Fri Nov 21, 2014 20:15

Capital City
with Coords....
Attachments
ScreenHunter_275 Nov. 21 12.13.jpg
(243.42 KiB) Not downloaded yet
 

User avatar
TenPlus1
Member
 
Posts: 2645
Joined: Mon Jul 29, 2013 13:38
GitHub: tenplus1

Re: Xanadu Server

by TenPlus1 » Fri Nov 21, 2014 20:41

Now THAT is a huge city... nicely done...
 

PreviousNext

Return to Servers



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests