Page 1 of 2

[Mod] mymillwork [mymillwork]

Posted: Mon Oct 20, 2014 16:31
by Don
The mymillwork mod adds crown mould, beams, columns and baseboards.

Depends - default

Download - mymillwork


Code
MyMillwork - Github


Licence
- DWYWPL

Tested on Minetest 0.4.12
Image
Image
Image
Image

Re: Crown Mold

Posted: Mon Oct 20, 2014 16:56
by jp
Looks great !

Would you like eventually if your mod added in the Home Decor modpack ?

Re: Crown Mold

Posted: Mon Oct 20, 2014 17:04
by Don
jp wrote:Looks great !

Would you like eventually if your mod added in the Home Decor modpack ?
If it was added to homedecor I would be pleased. I think it would fit in nicely with it.

Re: Crown Mold

Posted: Mon Oct 20, 2014 18:03
by LazyJ
+1 for this mod. Classy!

Re: Crown Mold

Posted: Sun Oct 26, 2014 21:04
by Dragonop
+1

Re: Crown Mold

Posted: Sun Oct 26, 2014 21:31
by ExeterDad
Sweet! Why didn't I think of that???

Re: [Mod]Millwork[millwork] - was crownmould

Posted: Mon Oct 27, 2014 14:19
by Don
Just updated the mod and renamed it millwork. Adds baseboard and columns. Also adds textures.
First post was updated.

Re: [Mod]Millwork[millwork] - was crownmould

Posted: Tue Oct 28, 2014 19:22
by kidmondo
why is it so classy :3 It is great! :D

Re: [Mod]Millwork[millwork] - was crownmould

Posted: Thu Oct 30, 2014 05:31
by Sokomine
Looks very nice. I hope to see it on servers.

Re: [Mod]Millwork[millwork] - was crownmould

Posted: Thu Oct 30, 2014 14:05
by Don
Sokomine wrote:Looks very nice. I hope to see it on servers.
Thanks
I have an earlier version of this on the minetestville server if anyone wants to try it.
Until I figure out formspec and get a machine made to make the nodes I would be careful with adding it toa server. It will fill up the inventory pretty quick unless you only use a couple textures. It adds 28 nodes per texture.

I am planning on making a machine similar to the table saw in moreblocks to make the nodes. this will keep the inventory at a reasonable size.

Re: [Mod]Millwork[millwork] - was crownmould

Posted: Sat Mar 14, 2015 02:39
by Don
I added onplace rotate to the nodes. This will make it easier to use for more things.
Please note that I had to flip some nodes so if you already use this mod you may have to replace nodes.
I also fixed the selection boxes.

Re: [Mod]Millwork[mymillwork]

Posted: Mon Mar 16, 2015 18:23
by Don
Changed name of mod to mymillwork.
Added a machine to make the millwork.

Re: [Mod]Millwork[mymillwork]

Posted: Tue Mar 17, 2015 03:00
by philipbenr
Wow. Looking good, Don. I like the machine formspec addition.

Re: [Mod]Millwork[mymillwork]

Posted: Tue Mar 17, 2015 03:28
by Don
philipbenr wrote:Wow. Looking good, Don. I like the machine formspec addition.
Thanks.
I also added on place rotate so it is easy to use anywhere. I like using crown mould around planters.

Re: [Mod]Millwork[mymillwork]

Posted: Wed Mar 18, 2015 19:45
by Don
Thought I would share a screenshot. Thought it looked cool.
I made crownmould out of coalblock.
Image

Re: [Mod]Millwork[mymillwork]

Posted: Mon May 11, 2015 14:35
by LazerRay
I ran into a very nasty crash bug when I had this mod active, every 2 or 3 minutes I would get a "Bad Allocation" error and then Minetest crashed to desk top.

With out the mod activated things work fine, even with a heavily modded game and a 32 pixel texture pack running.


(I run a Windows 7 based gaming based laptop, maxed out with 4GB of physical RAM and I run Minetest through Game Booster to shut down un-needed programs)
+ Spoiler

Re: [Mod]Millwork[mymillwork]

Posted: Mon May 11, 2015 16:13
by Don
I tried to test this but I am getting crashes with compassgps. I downloaded the latest, created a new world and only added compassgps. The game keeps crashing. I will report this on their thread.

Re: [Mod]Millwork[mymillwork]

Posted: Mon May 11, 2015 18:06
by Don
@ LazerRay - I had static_spawnpoint set in the config. That is why compassgps was not working. Now that I got it working I will do some testing. I have a busy day so it might be tomorrow before I get to it. I did a review of my code and can not find anything that is obvious. I only have one global declared and no undeclared. Max and I have been using this on our server from day one without any issues or errors. There must be another mod conflicting.

I tested with compassgps and had no issues.

Edit - fixed LazerRays name.

Re: [Mod]Millwork[mymillwork]

Posted: Tue May 12, 2015 17:49
by Don
@ LazerRay - I have tried but can not replicate the problem. Try adding mymillwork back in and taking the other mods out one by one to see which one might be conflicting.
If you do try that please report your findings here. I want to help but without being able to replicate the issue then there isn't much I can do.
Sorry.

PS Sorry for writing your name wrong in the previous post.

Re: [Mod]Millwork[mymillwork]

Posted: Wed May 20, 2015 03:34
by jordan4ibanez
That looks sick!

Re: [Mod] Millwork [mymillwork]

Posted: Mon Jul 20, 2015 17:12
by Gl├╝nggi
i like this mod, cause the other workbenches are all a part of greather mod's and its difficult to separate them from mothermod for own project's.
This one is unbound and perfect if you want to make youre own Machinemod. Thank you for sharing .. cause im to dump for coding formspecs .. so i can try to modifie this one :D .. and thank you also for the wtfpl license.

Re: [Mod] Millwork [mymillwork]

Posted: Mon Jul 20, 2015 17:37
by Don
Thanks for the kind words. I am glad people like this mod.

Re: [Mod] mymillwork [mymillwork]

Posted: Fri Sep 30, 2016 23:09
by pithy
You should add an API, so other mods can make use of this mod.
It would go well with my princess mod.

Re: [Mod] mymillwork [mymillwork]

Posted: Fri Sep 30, 2016 23:13
by Don
pithy wrote:You should add an API, so other mods can make use of this mod.
It would go well with my princess mod.
Great idea! I am not able to do it right now but will try to do it in the future.
If anyone is able to do it then please submit a pr.

Re: [Mod] mymillwork [mymillwork]

Posted: Sat Jan 21, 2017 20:55
by Damned
Have you thought about using, or making a different model than the milling machine at the top of the page?

When you think of columns and decorative stone work, you think more of the classical world. Roman, Egyptian, Greek. Perhaps a better model would be a stone masons bench. Or maybe both with a timer as carving by hand is slower than machine. A stone masons bench would also fit better as most objects tend to based around medieval times.