[Mod] worldedge [worldedge]

User avatar
ExeterDad
Member
 
Posts: 1717
Joined: Sun Jun 01, 2014 20:00
Location: New Hampshire U.S.A
In-game: ExeterDad

Re: [Mod]worldedge

by ExeterDad » Wed Dec 17, 2014 12:39

ArguablySane wrote:
Hybrid Dog wrote:<snip>


I have a better solution. Gradually blend your perlin noise values with the values on the opposite side of the world for chunks near the edge. Choose a distance which is large compared to the features in your terrain gen, then gradually blend from one side to the other over that distance. Blocks exactly on the edge should be a 50-50 mix of the terrain from each side.

Basically make a tile of the pelin noise "image?"
Last edited by ExeterDad on Wed Dec 17, 2014 13:40, edited 1 time in total.
 

User avatar
Don
Member
 
Posts: 1643
Joined: Sat May 17, 2014 18:40
GitHub: DonBatman
IRC: Batman
In-game: Batman

Re: [Mod]worldedge

by Don » Wed Dec 17, 2014 12:48

Can someone post a link to info on mapgen? The dev doesn't seem to have much and I wouldn't mind understanding a little bit of what you are talking about.
Many of my mods are now a part of Minetest-mods. A place where you know they are maintained!

A list of my mods can be found here
 

User avatar
Hybrid Dog
Member
 
Posts: 2718
Joined: Thu Nov 01, 2012 12:46

Re: [Mod]worldedge

by Hybrid Dog » Wed Dec 17, 2014 13:43

ArguablySane wrote:
Hybrid Dog wrote:<snip>


I have a better solution. Gradually blend your perlin noise values with the values on the opposite side of the world for chunks near the edge. Choose a distance which is large compared to the features in your terrain gen, then gradually blend from one side to the other over that distance. Blocks exactly on the edge should be a 50-50 mix of the terrain from each side.

For mgv6 this would need a change in the core mapgen, l think.

‮‪‮
‮‪‮
‮‪‮
‮‪‮
‮‪‮
‮‪‮
‮‪‮
‮‪‮
‮‪
 

User avatar
ArguablySane
Member
 
Posts: 116
Joined: Sun Oct 12, 2014 21:29

Re: [Mod]worldedge

by ArguablySane » Wed Dec 17, 2014 13:55

ExeterDad wrote:
ArguablySane wrote:
Hybrid Dog wrote:<snip>


I have a better solution. Gradually blend your perlin noise values with the values on the opposite side of the world for chunks near the edge. Choose a distance which is large compared to the features in your terrain gen, then gradually blend from one side to the other over that distance. Blocks exactly on the edge should be a 50-50 mix of the terrain from each side.

Basically make a tile of the pelin noise "image?"


Essentially yes. The goal is to make the terrain periodic in x and z with period equal to the size of your walkable area. The walkable area of the map should tessellate without discontinuities.

I've made a quick diagram that might explain what I mean a bit better:
Image


Don wrote:Can someone post a link to info on mapgen? The dev doesn't seem to have much and I wouldn't mind understanding a little bit of what you are talking about.

I might try and write up my own mapgen tutorial over the holidays, but for now I suggest looking at the example code on this wiki page: http://dev.minetest.net/minetest.get_perlin_map
It shows how to do basic terrain generation. Anything more complex is usually just a matter of adding more perlin noise functions and combining them in interesting ways.

Hybrid Dog wrote:For mgv6 this would need a change in the core mapgen, l think.

No, you can do it entirely in Lua. You do have to use the get_perlin_map function twice to get the perlin noise corresponding to opposite sides of the map, but the rest is just an averaging function weighted by your coordinates.
The above post and any ideas expressed therein are released to the public domain under a Creative Commons CC0 license.
 

User avatar
Don
Member
 
Posts: 1643
Joined: Sat May 17, 2014 18:40
GitHub: DonBatman
IRC: Batman
In-game: Batman

Re: [Mod]worldedge

by Don » Wed Dec 17, 2014 14:13

Thanks. That helps. If you do a tutorial might I suggest that you talk to rubenwardy. He is writing a book.
https://forum.minetest.net/viewtopic.php?f=14&t=10729
Many of my mods are now a part of Minetest-mods. A place where you know they are maintained!

A list of my mods can be found here
 

User avatar
paramat
Developer
 
Posts: 3396
Joined: Sun Oct 28, 2012 00:05
Location: UK
GitHub: paramat
IRC: paramat

Re: [Mod]worldedge

by paramat » Thu Dec 18, 2014 00:12

Yes blending noises is what i had in mind for a lua version.
 

User avatar
Krock
Developer
 
Posts: 4297
Joined: Thu Oct 03, 2013 07:48
Location: Switzerland
GitHub: SmallJoker

Re: [Mod]worldedge

by Krock » Thu Dec 18, 2014 18:48

I solved the terrain height using the VoxelManip.

https://github.com/DonBatman/worldedge/pull/2
It also will teleport the player with a 99% chance because they can not move while they're attached to something.
>> Mod Search Engine << - Mods by Krock - DuckDuckGo mod search bang: !mtmod <keyword here>
 

twoelk
Member
 
Posts: 1315
Joined: Fri Apr 19, 2013 16:19
Location: northern Germany
GitHub: twoelk
IRC: twoelk
In-game: twoelk

Re: [Mod]worldedge

by twoelk » Thu Dec 18, 2014 18:59

Krock wrote:... because they can not move while they're attached to something...

cross border minecart rails?
Last edited by twoelk on Thu Dec 18, 2014 19:09, edited 1 time in total.
 

User avatar
Hybrid Dog
Member
 
Posts: 2718
Joined: Thu Nov 01, 2012 12:46

by Hybrid Dog » Thu Dec 18, 2014 19:03

or UFO, monorail or mesecar
Last edited by Hybrid Dog on Tue May 24, 2016 20:14, edited 1 time in total.

‮‪‮
‮‪‮
‮‪‮
‮‪‮
‮‪‮
‮‪‮
‮‪‮
‮‪‮
‮‪
 

twoelk
Member
 
Posts: 1315
Joined: Fri Apr 19, 2013 16:19
Location: northern Germany
GitHub: twoelk
IRC: twoelk
In-game: twoelk

Re: [Mod]worldedge

by twoelk » Thu Dec 18, 2014 19:13

Hybrid Dog wrote:
twoelk wrote:
Krock wrote:... because they can not move while they're attached to something...

cross border minecart rails?

or UFO, monorail or mesecar

bah not as mind boggling as a self repeating minecart system - infinity here we come!
 

User avatar
Krock
Developer
 
Posts: 4297
Joined: Thu Oct 03, 2013 07:48
Location: Switzerland
GitHub: SmallJoker

Re: [Mod]worldedge

by Krock » Thu Dec 18, 2014 19:17

twoelk wrote:
Krock wrote:... because they can not move while they're attached to something...

cross border minecart rails?

No sorry, that doesn't work yet. The cart gets detached from the player when the other entity gets attached.
>> Mod Search Engine << - Mods by Krock - DuckDuckGo mod search bang: !mtmod <keyword here>
 

User avatar
Don
Member
 
Posts: 1643
Joined: Sat May 17, 2014 18:40
GitHub: DonBatman
IRC: Batman
In-game: Batman

Re: [Mod]worldedge

by Don » Thu Dec 18, 2014 20:32

Krock wrote:I solved the terrain height using the VoxelManip.

https://github.com/DonBatman/worldedge/pull/2
It also will teleport the player with a 99% chance because they can not move while they're attached to something.

I merged it but I haven't tested it. Thanks again.
Many of my mods are now a part of Minetest-mods. A place where you know they are maintained!

A list of my mods can be found here
 

User avatar
Don
Member
 
Posts: 1643
Joined: Sat May 17, 2014 18:40
GitHub: DonBatman
IRC: Batman
In-game: Batman

Re: [Mod]worldedge

by Don » Thu Dec 18, 2014 23:02

Nice work Krock. I just tested it and besides the slight delay it works great. I am going to update the first post now.
Many of my mods are now a part of Minetest-mods. A place where you know they are maintained!

A list of my mods can be found here
 

User avatar
Don
Member
 
Posts: 1643
Joined: Sat May 17, 2014 18:40
GitHub: DonBatman
IRC: Batman
In-game: Batman

Re: [Mod]worldedge

by Don » Thu Dec 18, 2014 23:11

Is there a way to know if you are at ground level or underground? When you are mining and cross the 30000 mark you are teleported to the surface. That is fine when you are exploring the land but when mining it would be nice to keep going.
Many of my mods are now a part of Minetest-mods. A place where you know they are maintained!

A list of my mods can be found here
 

User avatar
Krock
Developer
 
Posts: 4297
Joined: Thu Oct 03, 2013 07:48
Location: Switzerland
GitHub: SmallJoker

Re: [Mod]worldedge

by Krock » Fri Dec 19, 2014 18:56

Don wrote:Is there a way to know if you are at ground level or underground? When you are mining and cross the 30000 mark you are teleported to the surface. That is fine when you are exploring the land but when mining it would be nice to keep going.

The chance for having a cave (or any other hole) in on the other word edge, is low.
It could be a soulation to dig a corridor, so the player could return to its previous place.
>> Mod Search Engine << - Mods by Krock - DuckDuckGo mod search bang: !mtmod <keyword here>
 

User avatar
Don
Member
 
Posts: 1643
Joined: Sat May 17, 2014 18:40
GitHub: DonBatman
IRC: Batman
In-game: Batman

Re: [Mod]worldedge

by Don » Fri Dec 19, 2014 19:06

I understand the chances are low. I was just curious. If the code could do it so if you are above 0 then it works like you made it but below 0 you stay at same height.
Many of my mods are now a part of Minetest-mods. A place where you know they are maintained!

A list of my mods can be found here
 

wilkgr76
Member
 
Posts: 831
Joined: Wed Feb 18, 2015 02:44
GitHub: wilkgr76

Re: [Mod]worldedge

by wilkgr76 » Sat May 21, 2016 01:24

Don wrote:
AMMOnym wrote:Wow

Yes. Amaz is Amazing

Amaz-ing ☺
N/A
 

KCoombes
Member
 
Posts: 412
Joined: Thu Jun 11, 2015 23:19
Location: SW Florida, USA
In-game: Knatt

Re: [Mod]worldedge

by KCoombes » Sat May 21, 2016 11:53

Don wrote:Is there a way to know if you are at ground level or underground? When you are mining and cross the 30000 mark you are teleported to the surface. That is fine when you are exploring the land but when mining it would be nice to keep going.


f5 will show your coordinates
 

Previous

Return to Mod Releases



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests