[Mod] HUD bars [2.1.0] [hudbars]

User avatar
BrunoMine
Member
 
Posts: 1048
Joined: Thu Apr 25, 2013 17:29
Location: SP-Brasil
GitHub: BrunoMine

Re: [Mod] HUD bars [1.4.1] [hudbars]

by BrunoMine » Thu Oct 20, 2016 00:07

I sent some changes about 2 months ago.

The following changes since commit afad4e847d65fa300412d42be42dc1749e76619a:

Add translate into portuguese (2016-08-14 14:22:46 -0300)

are available in the git repository at:

git://repo.or.cz/minetest_hudbars/brunomine.git

for you to fetch changes up to afad4e847d65fa300412d42be42dc1749e76619a:

Add translate into portuguese (2016-08-14 14:22:46 -0300)


I would like to know the cause of not having pulled yet.
I hope this tool will be useful. Or you really do not want help?
 

User avatar
Wuzzy
Member
 
Posts: 3625
Joined: Mon Sep 24, 2012 15:01
GitHub: Wuzzy2
IRC: Wuzzy
In-game: Wuzzy

Version 1.5.0 released!

by Wuzzy » Thu Oct 20, 2016 14:36

HUD Bars 1.5.0 released, now with translation into Portuguese by BrunoMine.

Sorry, BrunoMine, but I either was not aware of your commits or I have forgotten or overlooked them. Maybe I was not notified. Note that the mere act of uploading a repository somewhere does not give me an automatic notification or whatever.
Anyway, your commits are now part of HUD Bars, thanks!
My creations. I gladly accept bitcoins: 17fsUywHxeMHKG41UFfu34F1rAxZcrVoqH
 

User avatar
BrunoMine
Member
 
Posts: 1048
Joined: Thu Apr 25, 2013 17:29
Location: SP-Brasil
GitHub: BrunoMine

Re: [Mod] HUD bars [1.5.0] [hudbars]

by BrunoMine » Thu Oct 20, 2016 14:48

I sent an email to the owner of the repository (almikes@aol.com) on repo.or.cz

I wonder if this email is correct, or if you received so that this does not happen again.

I like to contribute to this project. (Because I use it on my server).
I'll help any way you can.
 

User avatar
Wuzzy
Member
 
Posts: 3625
Joined: Mon Sep 24, 2012 15:01
GitHub: Wuzzy2
IRC: Wuzzy
In-game: Wuzzy

Re: [Mod] HUD bars [1.5.0] [hudbars]

by Wuzzy » Thu Oct 20, 2016 16:05

This e-mail address is correct. If I fail to respond, you can also contact me per forum PM or XMPP. I personally prefer XMPP.
My e-mail reading discipline is probably too low at the moment. This is my fault, and I should really get my shit together. :D I haven't found your e-mail, however. Probably I lost it (not sure).
My creations. I gladly accept bitcoins: 17fsUywHxeMHKG41UFfu34F1rAxZcrVoqH
 

User avatar
Wuzzy
Member
 
Posts: 3625
Joined: Mon Sep 24, 2012 15:01
GitHub: Wuzzy2
IRC: Wuzzy
In-game: Wuzzy

Bugfix release 1.5.1

by Wuzzy » Sat Nov 12, 2016 20:13

Version 1.5.1 released. Changes:

  • Fix critical bug: Mod does not work with both intllib and mod security enabled
  • Update screenshot to standardized 3:2 aspect ratio
My creations. I gladly accept bitcoins: 17fsUywHxeMHKG41UFfu34F1rAxZcrVoqH
 

User avatar
SaKeL
Member
 
Posts: 653
Joined: Tue Apr 14, 2015 18:39
GitHub: JurajVajda
IRC: SaKeL
In-game: SaKeL

Re: [Mod] HUD bars [1.5.1] [hudbars]

by SaKeL » Mon Nov 21, 2016 22:14

just got this error right after the last player logged out and server was empty
Code: Select all
2016-11-21 22:48:43: ERROR[Main]: ServerError: Runtime error from mod 'hudbars' in callback environment_Step(): /root/.minetest/mods/hudbars/hudbars/init.lua:564: attempt to index a nil value
2016-11-21 22:48:43: ERROR[Main]: stack traceback:
2016-11-21 22:48:43: ERROR[Main]:    /root/.minetest/mods/hudbars/hudbars/init.lua:564: in function 'hide_hudbar'
2016-11-21 22:48:43: ERROR[Main]:    /root/.minetest/mods/hudbars/hudbars/init.lua:722: in function 'update_hud'
2016-11-21 22:48:43: ERROR[Main]:    /root/.minetest/mods/hudbars/hudbars/init.lua:769: in function </root/.minetest/mods/hudbars/hudbars/init.lua:755>
2016-11-21 22:48:43: ERROR[Main]:    /usr/share/minetest/builtin/game/register.lua:412: in function </usr/share/minetest/builtin/game/register.lua:392>
 

User avatar
Wuzzy
Member
 
Posts: 3625
Joined: Mon Sep 24, 2012 15:01
GitHub: Wuzzy2
IRC: Wuzzy
In-game: Wuzzy

Re: [Mod] HUD bars [1.5.1] [hudbars]

by Wuzzy » Mon Nov 21, 2016 22:49

SaKeL, weren't you using the latest HUD bars version? Because your error messages indicate that this error did not happen in version 1.5.1. The error messages refer to line 564, but the current file is shorter.

Please use the latest version and tell me if the error still happens.
Also, where did you obtain the mod?
My creations. I gladly accept bitcoins: 17fsUywHxeMHKG41UFfu34F1rAxZcrVoqH
 

User avatar
SaKeL
Member
 
Posts: 653
Joined: Tue Apr 14, 2015 18:39
GitHub: JurajVajda
IRC: SaKeL
In-game: SaKeL

Re: [Mod] HUD bars [1.5.1] [hudbars]

by SaKeL » Mon Nov 21, 2016 23:06

i have merged your latest changes to my repo right after that, even though it said "up to date" ..im using tenplus1 modification
 

User avatar
Wuzzy
Member
 
Posts: 3625
Joined: Mon Sep 24, 2012 15:01
GitHub: Wuzzy2
IRC: Wuzzy
In-game: Wuzzy

Re: [Mod] HUD bars [1.5.1] [hudbars]

by Wuzzy » Tue Nov 22, 2016 01:07

Well, sorry. I do not support unofficial forks and modifications of this mod. I only support the mod which you can download from this thread.
Please only post bugs here if you found them in the official version.
My creations. I gladly accept bitcoins: 17fsUywHxeMHKG41UFfu34F1rAxZcrVoqH
 

User avatar
SaKeL
Member
 
Posts: 653
Joined: Tue Apr 14, 2015 18:39
GitHub: JurajVajda
IRC: SaKeL
In-game: SaKeL

Re: [Mod] HUD bars [1.5.1] [hudbars]

by SaKeL » Tue Nov 22, 2016 06:55

Yes that is clear, but my question was more about if you have experienced this issue with yr mod also in order for me to determin the right forum page. Thanks though.
 

User avatar
Wuzzy
Member
 
Posts: 3625
Joined: Mon Sep 24, 2012 15:01
GitHub: Wuzzy2
IRC: Wuzzy
In-game: Wuzzy

1.6.0 and 1.6.1

by Wuzzy » Tue Nov 22, 2016 13:43

Sorry, I can't reproduce the bug. Thus, it will be really helpful if you could try to reproduce the bug with the official version.
Also, please give me a list of mods you used on the server as well; especially the mods which depend on hudbars.

You could also help me and test if adding the following code right below “function hb.hide_hudbar(player, identifier)”:
Code: Select all
if player==nil then return end


And tell me if this fixed the bug.

EDIT: OK, I have investigated your issue again. Hopefully the new version 1.6.0 fixes the bug. Changelog:

  • hb.init_hudbar, hb.change_hudbar, hb.hide_hudbar and hb.unhide_hudbar now return true or false based on success
  • I (hopefully) fixed the bug SaKeL described by making sure the mod is a bit more careful with player variables

EDIT 2:
Version 1.6.1 released (oh, man!). I forgot to remove some stupid testing code. :D
My creations. I gladly accept bitcoins: 17fsUywHxeMHKG41UFfu34F1rAxZcrVoqH
 

User avatar
maikerumine
Member
 
Posts: 1350
Joined: Mon Aug 04, 2014 14:27
GitHub: maikerumine
In-game: maikerumine

Re: [Mod] HUD bars [1.6.1] [hudbars]

by maikerumine » Tue Nov 22, 2016 14:30

I think i got this to fix itself by adding that enable.security_mods = false <-- or something like that.
It fixed ALL my problems with mods that had someth9ing to do with writing to the player folder.
 

User avatar
SaKeL
Member
 
Posts: 653
Joined: Tue Apr 14, 2015 18:39
GitHub: JurajVajda
IRC: SaKeL
In-game: SaKeL

Re: [Mod] HUD bars [1.6.1] [hudbars]

by SaKeL » Tue Nov 22, 2016 18:29

@Wuzzy, as i mentioned it's super weird and never had that before, just giving you a heads up, i think one check for nil values where the error occurred will do it ;) i will let you know if that happens again.
 

User avatar
Wuzzy
Member
 
Posts: 3625
Joined: Mon Sep 24, 2012 15:01
GitHub: Wuzzy2
IRC: Wuzzy
In-game: Wuzzy

Re: [Mod] HUD bars [1.6.1] [hudbars]

by Wuzzy » Sat Dec 03, 2016 00:18

maikerumine wrote:I think i got this to fix itself by adding that enable.security_mods = false <-- or something like that.
It fixed ALL my problems with mods that had someth9ing to do with writing to the player folder.

No, it didn't. This is NOT a bugfix, it's just a very, very ugly workaround. Mod security is a good thing which was introduced to avoid mods going rogue and, let's say, randomly deleting files in your home directory (or worse).
The problem is that mod security is currently broken (it's still disabled in 0.4.14 by default, however), but as far I know fixing mod security is a blocker for 0.4.15, which means the devs work hard to make sure mod security actually works for 0.4.15. Also, please report to the mod authors of all the mods which currently fail because of mod security. I don't want to see mod security to effectively die before it even started (more and more players seem to disable it) just because the modders did not bother to fix their mods.

Also: What has this to do with my mod? This mod works with mod security enabled and does not need to be trusted.

@SaKeL: Do you still experience the bug with the latest version?

@all: I will probably very soon release a new version of this mod.
My creations. I gladly accept bitcoins: 17fsUywHxeMHKG41UFfu34F1rAxZcrVoqH
 

User avatar
SaKeL
Member
 
Posts: 653
Joined: Tue Apr 14, 2015 18:39
GitHub: JurajVajda
IRC: SaKeL
In-game: SaKeL

Re: [Mod] HUD bars [1.6.1] [hudbars]

by SaKeL » Sat Dec 03, 2016 01:21

@Wuzzy: no i didn't experienced it from that time at all... seems to be working at the moment, thanks.
 

User avatar
Wuzzy
Member
 
Posts: 3625
Joined: Mon Sep 24, 2012 15:01
GitHub: Wuzzy2
IRC: Wuzzy
In-game: Wuzzy

Version 1.7.0 (nicknamed “Better Better HUD”)

by Wuzzy » Sat Dec 03, 2016 19:16

Version 1.7.0 released!

Image

Changelog:
  • Larger statbars: The display modes “classic statbars” and “modern statbars” now feature larger statbar icons (see screenshot) which much more closely resemble Minetest's default statbar and Better HUD's statbars
  • Fix embarrissing bug: The displayed health and breath were not updated in the entire game! Sorry for the trouble. :-(
  • The position configuration for statbars is now stored in separate settings (because they work a bit different than the default progress bars)
  • Make health changes appear a little bit earlier to clients

Information about future releases:
My next goal with this mod would be to make sure the health and breath bars are completely client-sided again. Which means they get instantly updated when needed. Currently, these bars have to wait for the server which might lead to delays on slow servers.
My second goal would be to redesign the “progress bars” to become more flexible. Especially I want to make them larger and/or be able to be scaled. Currently, the progress bars are all just fixed-size.
Finally, I want to make this mod work out with larger font sizes but this is currently impossible with the current mod API. :-(
My creations. I gladly accept bitcoins: 17fsUywHxeMHKG41UFfu34F1rAxZcrVoqH
 

User avatar
Fixer
Member
 
Posts: 891
Joined: Sun Jul 31, 2011 11:23
Location: Ukraine
IRC: Fixer
In-game: Fixer
 

Thomas-S
Member
 
Posts: 109
Joined: Sun Sep 06, 2015 12:23
Location: Bavaria, Germany
GitHub: Thomas--S
IRC: Thomas-S
In-game: Thomas-S

Re: [Mod] HUD bars [1.7.0] [hudbars]

by Thomas-S » Sat Jan 14, 2017 08:14

I got this error three times on my server last night. I don't know the reason.

Code: Select all
2017-01-14 00:59:05: ERROR[Main]: ServerError: Lua: Runtime error from mod '' in callback on_player_hpchange(): /root/.minetest/mods/minetest_hudbars/init.lua:323: attempt to index a nil value
2017-01-14 00:59:05: ERROR[Main]: stack traceback:
2017-01-14 00:59:05: ERROR[Main]:    /root/.minetest/mods/minetest_hudbars/init.lua:323: in function 'change_hudbar'
2017-01-14 00:59:05: ERROR[Main]:    /root/.minetest/mods/minetest_hudbars/init.lua:497: in function 'func'
2017-01-14 00:59:05: ERROR[Main]:    /usr/local/share/minetest/builtin/game/register.lua:514: in function </usr/local/share/minetest/builtin/game/register.lua:499>
 

User avatar
Wuzzy
Member
 
Posts: 3625
Joined: Mon Sep 24, 2012 15:01
GitHub: Wuzzy2
IRC: Wuzzy
In-game: Wuzzy

Re: [Mod] HUD bars [1.7.0] [hudbars]

by Wuzzy » Sun Jan 15, 2017 06:10

Please list all the mods you used and the Minetest and HUD Bars versions.

But “Lua: Runtime error from mod '' (…)” looks VERY weird to me. A mod with an empty name. Whaaat? o_O
My creations. I gladly accept bitcoins: 17fsUywHxeMHKG41UFfu34F1rAxZcrVoqH
 

Thomas-S
Member
 
Posts: 109
Joined: Sun Sep 06, 2015 12:23
Location: Bavaria, Germany
GitHub: Thomas--S
IRC: Thomas-S
In-game: Thomas-S

Re: [Mod] HUD bars [1.7.0] [hudbars]

by Thomas-S » Sun Jan 15, 2017 08:47

+ Installed Mods (134 Mods)


Minetest and HUD Bars versions: Latest git (to the time when the error occurred.
 

User avatar
sorcerykid
Member
 
Posts: 1061
Joined: Fri Aug 26, 2016 15:36
Location: Illinois, USA
GitHub: sorcerykid
In-game: Nemo

Re: [Mod] HUD bars [1.7.0] [hudbars]

by sorcerykid » Thu Jan 26, 2017 07:31

I've had a lot of requests to add this mod to JT2, so I'm giving it a go. Thanks! :)
 

User avatar
Wuzzy
Member
 
Posts: 3625
Joined: Mon Sep 24, 2012 15:01
GitHub: Wuzzy2
IRC: Wuzzy
In-game: Wuzzy

Re: [Mod] HUD bars [1.7.0] [hudbars]

by Wuzzy » Fri Jan 27, 2017 19:11

Hooray! It was about time. I consider the [hud] mod by BlockMen a legacy mod because it has many critical bugs and isn't maintained anymore.


Sorry, Thomas-S, I still can't reproduce your bug. Has anybody else experienced the same bug as Thomas-S? It's not even clear which mod causes the crash. Is your hbhunger mod also up-to-date? Are there other mods which depend on HUD Bars (if you don't know, just give me the captions of the progress bars which appear on the screen)?
Also, can you remember what you did when the server crashed?
Your error is also strange. The line numbers are not matching anywhere where I would expect them. Are you SURE you are the latest version?


PS: “Latest Git” is never officially supported by me. I might still take bug reports, of course, but you can always expect bugs. If I don't release something, I usually have a good reason not to.
But currently, “latest git” is the same as 1.7.0, so this does not matter at the moment. But please keep this in mind.
My creations. I gladly accept bitcoins: 17fsUywHxeMHKG41UFfu34F1rAxZcrVoqH
 

Thomas-S
Member
 
Posts: 109
Joined: Sun Sep 06, 2015 12:23
Location: Bavaria, Germany
GitHub: Thomas--S
IRC: Thomas-S
In-game: Thomas-S

Re: [Mod] HUD bars [1.7.0] [hudbars]

by Thomas-S » Fri Jan 27, 2017 21:01

The mod is up to date, I update all my mods nearly everyday. The crash never happened again, so I think this is a very rare thing. IMHO, this isn't worth further investigation. Thanks for your efforts!
 

tinoesroho
Member
 
Posts: 570
Joined: Fri Feb 17, 2012 21:55
Location: Canada

Re: [Mod] HUD bars [1.7.0] [hudbars]

by tinoesroho » Sat Jan 28, 2017 23:20

No crash, but food is not filling satiation for me. Food 2.3.latest hudbars. 0.4.15
We are what we create.

I tinker and occasionally make (lousy) mods. Currently building an MMO subgame and updating mods. Pirate Party of Canada member. Sporadic author. 21 years old.

My github:
https://github.com/tinoesroho/
 

User avatar
Wuzzy
Member
 
Posts: 3625
Joined: Mon Sep 24, 2012 15:01
GitHub: Wuzzy2
IRC: Wuzzy
In-game: Wuzzy

Re: [Mod] HUD bars [1.7.0] [hudbars]

by Wuzzy » Sun Jan 29, 2017 10:07

The food alone mod does not actually add the HUD bar for satiation. For this to work, you also need the mod [hbhunger].
viewtopic.php?t=11336

This mod adds a hunger gameplay mechanic and the satiation bar.

As you noticed, the food mod also works without any hunger mods. In this case, the food will just heal you directly. This is probably an intentional fallback behaviour.
My creations. I gladly accept bitcoins: 17fsUywHxeMHKG41UFfu34F1rAxZcrVoqH
 

PreviousNext

Return to Mod Releases



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 12 guests