[Mod] HUD Bars [2.3.5] [hudbars]

Post Reply
User avatar
ExeterDad
Member
Posts: 1717
Joined: Sun Jun 01, 2014 20:00
In-game: ExeterDad
Location: New Hampshire U.S.A

Re: [Mod] HUD bars [1.8.0] [hudbars]

by ExeterDad » Post

Wuzzy wrote:Okay, fixed in development version.
This will break compability with Minetest 0.4.12, 0.4.13, 0.4.14 and 0.4.15. >_>
What a pointless Lua API change.
True a direct replacement of depreciated functions will break older Minetest servers or the "server" that runs a singleplayer game. But it won't break the "client." Couldn't mods check for versions < 0.4.16 and then make available the old or new setting_* or settings:* according to what was detected? It's true we can't detect that on a client, but a server shouldn't have any trouble detecting itself. Heck. Just include both style settings and require a entry in minetest.conf with the old setting_* as default to avoid breakage.
new_settings_object = false
A proper pull request to minetest for a "universally named" setting in the conf might benefit all the mod makers.
I just hate to see perfectly good mods having to leave slightly older servers behind, or be forced to use the old settings and bury the new servers in gigs of warning messages. Our server literally would have a log a gig+ a day.

User avatar
BrunoMine
Member
Posts: 1082
Joined: Thu Apr 25, 2013 17:29
GitHub: BrunoMine
Location: SP-Brasil
Contact:

Re: [Mod] HUD bars [1.8.0] [hudbars]

by BrunoMine » Post

Or maybe you can check the server version.

Code: Select all

minetest.get_version().string

User avatar
Wuzzy
Member
Posts: 4778
Joined: Mon Sep 24, 2012 15:01
GitHub: Wuzzy2
IRC: Wuzzy
In-game: Wuzzy
Contact:

Re: [Mod] HUD bars [1.8.0] [hudbars]

by Wuzzy » Post

No, using minetest.get_version() to compare versions is strongly discouraged.

User avatar
BrunoMine
Member
Posts: 1082
Joined: Thu Apr 25, 2013 17:29
GitHub: BrunoMine
Location: SP-Brasil
Contact:

Re: [Mod] HUD bars [1.8.0] [hudbars]

by BrunoMine » Post

why? Seems useful in some cases.

User avatar
Palige
Member
Posts: 105
Joined: Sun Nov 23, 2014 14:39
GitHub: paly2
IRC: Upsilon
In-game: Upsilon
Contact:

Re: [Mod] HUD bars [1.8.0] [hudbars]

by Palige » Post

Hey,
It seems that progress bars are misaligned since commit cfebd51:
Image
Sorry for my english : I am french...

Some of my minetest stuff:
MoreMesecons
Throwing Redo
PvP-Plus
A few other things

I'm hosting the Eurythmia server

User avatar
Wuzzy
Member
Posts: 4778
Joined: Mon Sep 24, 2012 15:01
GitHub: Wuzzy2
IRC: Wuzzy
In-game: Wuzzy
Contact:

Re: [Mod] HUD bars [1.8.0] [hudbars]

by Wuzzy » Post

Are you absolutely sure that this worked before the offending commit, but it broke after this commit?

I can not reproduce your issue at all. I even tried a different font.

Please tell me the following
- MT version
- HUD Bars mod version
- Font settings
- Screen resolution
- Your OS

User avatar
Palige
Member
Posts: 105
Joined: Sun Nov 23, 2014 14:39
GitHub: paly2
IRC: Upsilon
In-game: Upsilon
Contact:

Re: [Mod] HUD bars [1.8.0] [hudbars]

by Palige » Post

Wuzzy wrote:Are you absolutely sure that this worked before the offending commit, but it broke after this commit
Yes, I tested both

MT version: latest dev version (master branch at commit 936d67d)
HUD Bars mod version: latest (master branch at commit e09eb8a)
Font settings: font_path = /usr/share/fonts/TTF/DejaVuSansMono.ttf
Screen resolution: 1920x1080
--> Note: the font and the screen resolution are not the cause of the problem, since this issue is also seen by all players on my server
OS: ArchLinux, kernel version 4.11.3
--> Note: I also have this problem on my server running Debian Jessie
Sorry for my english : I am french...

Some of my minetest stuff:
MoreMesecons
Throwing Redo
PvP-Plus
A few other things

I'm hosting the Eurythmia server

User avatar
Wuzzy
Member
Posts: 4778
Joined: Mon Sep 24, 2012 15:01
GitHub: Wuzzy2
IRC: Wuzzy
In-game: Wuzzy
Contact:

Re: [Mod] HUD bars [1.8.0] [hudbars]

by Wuzzy » Post

Bleeding edge versions are not officially supported by me.

I like to know the list of mods you use on your server.
Can you also reproduce this bug in MT 0.4.16, Minetest Game 0.4.16 and HUD Bars 1.8.0 with no other mod activated?

EDIT: Okay, after a chat with someone I have a strong suspicion this bug is not caused by the HUD Bars mod at all. I have learned this bug started occouring after updating the software for the graphics card.

Just to be sure, now I especially want to know your rendering software (+ version) as well.

I mean, is it nvidia-driver, MESA, nouveau?

User avatar
Palige
Member
Posts: 105
Joined: Sun Nov 23, 2014 14:39
GitHub: paly2
IRC: Upsilon
In-game: Upsilon
Contact:

Re: [Mod] HUD bars [1.8.0] [hudbars]

by Palige » Post

Wuzzy wrote:Is it nvidia-driver, MESA, nouveau?
The graphic card driver is the proprietary Nvidia one (not nouveau) version 381.22, the OpenGL implementation is Mesa version 17.1.3. Also, the CUDA library version 8.0.61 is installed, but I do not think it has any influence.

I tested HUD bars 1.8.0 on MT 0.4.16 with MT Game 0.4.16, and the bug is still present.
Sorry for my english : I am french...

Some of my minetest stuff:
MoreMesecons
Throwing Redo
PvP-Plus
A few other things

I'm hosting the Eurythmia server

User avatar
Wuzzy
Member
Posts: 4778
Joined: Mon Sep 24, 2012 15:01
GitHub: Wuzzy2
IRC: Wuzzy
In-game: Wuzzy
Contact:

Re: [Mod] HUD bars [1.8.0] [hudbars]

by Wuzzy » Post

Does this happen with any other graphic card “driver”?

User avatar
Palige
Member
Posts: 105
Joined: Sun Nov 23, 2014 14:39
GitHub: paly2
IRC: Upsilon
In-game: Upsilon
Contact:

Re: [Mod] HUD bars [1.8.0] [hudbars]

by Palige » Post

Wuzzy wrote:Does this happen with any other graphic card “driver”?
No, I tested in a Debian VM with nouveau, it didn't happen...
Sorry for my english : I am french...

Some of my minetest stuff:
MoreMesecons
Throwing Redo
PvP-Plus
A few other things

I'm hosting the Eurythmia server

User avatar
Wuzzy
Member
Posts: 4778
Joined: Mon Sep 24, 2012 15:01
GitHub: Wuzzy2
IRC: Wuzzy
In-game: Wuzzy
Contact:

Re: [Mod] HUD bars [1.8.0] [hudbars]

by Wuzzy » Post

Well, in this case, it looks like I can safely file this bug under “Not My Department”, then. :P

User avatar
Palige
Member
Posts: 105
Joined: Sun Nov 23, 2014 14:39
GitHub: paly2
IRC: Upsilon
In-game: Upsilon
Contact:

Re: [Mod] HUD bars [1.8.0] [hudbars]

by Palige » Post

Wuzzy wrote:Well, in this case, it looks like I can safely file this bug under “Not My Department”, then. :P
Okay, thank you for having tried to fix it :-) Do you think it is more likely to be an engine bug (so I can open an issue on the MT GitHub repository) or a graphics software bug?
Sorry for my english : I am french...

Some of my minetest stuff:
MoreMesecons
Throwing Redo
PvP-Plus
A few other things

I'm hosting the Eurythmia server

User avatar
Wuzzy
Member
Posts: 4778
Joined: Mon Sep 24, 2012 15:01
GitHub: Wuzzy2
IRC: Wuzzy
In-game: Wuzzy
Contact:

Re: [Mod] HUD bars [1.8.0] [hudbars]

by Wuzzy » Post

I don't know. When in doubt, report the bug to both. Don't forget to post the same information I have already asked you for, this may help.

User avatar
Wuzzy
Member
Posts: 4778
Joined: Mon Sep 24, 2012 15:01
GitHub: Wuzzy2
IRC: Wuzzy
In-game: Wuzzy
Contact:

Verion 1.9.0

by Wuzzy » Post

Version 1.9.0 released! This is mostly just for developers.

Changelog:
  • Requires Minetest 0.4.16 to work
  • New API function: hb.get_hudbar_identifiers
  • Update deprecated settings function
  • Move default settings into default_settings.lua (this makes it easier to update this mod in subgames if you changed the default settings

I will continue to offer version 1.8.0 for a while, which still works with Minetest 0.4.12 and later:
http://playmaniax.free.fr/games/minetes ... s1.8.0.zip

User avatar
AntumDeluge
Member
Posts: 213
Joined: Sun Aug 07, 2016 05:42
GitHub: AntumDeluge
IRC: AntumDeluge
Contact:

Re: [Mod] HUD bars [1.8.0] [hudbars]

by AntumDeluge » Post

Palige wrote:Hey,
It seems that progress bars are misaligned since commit cfebd51:
Image
I have this issue, but only on Android devices.


Image
Image
Attachments
tmp_6741-Screenshot_20170708-123643-011321022083.jpeg
tmp_6741-Screenshot_20170708-123643-011321022083.jpeg (28.45 KiB) Viewed 1338 times
tmp_6741-Screenshot_20170708-1236431108036616.png
tmp_6741-Screenshot_20170708-1236431108036616.png (151.33 KiB) Viewed 1338 times

User avatar
Wuzzy
Member
Posts: 4778
Joined: Mon Sep 24, 2012 15:01
GitHub: Wuzzy2
IRC: Wuzzy
In-game: Wuzzy
Contact:

Re: [Mod] HUD bars [1.9.0] [hudbars]

by Wuzzy » Post

WTF? I really don't know why this is happening. Maybe a Minetest bug, or a bug specific to Android? But this is just a guess.

Also, why does it say “fart” on the right arrow? xD

To be clear: None of this is happening to me, and I also do not use the Android version.

KCoombes
Member
Posts: 427
Joined: Thu Jun 11, 2015 23:19
In-game: Knatt
Location: SW Florida, USA

Re: [Mod] HUD bars [1.9.0] [hudbars]

by KCoombes » Post

Wuzzy wrote:WTF? I really don't know why this is happening. Maybe a Minetest bug, or a bug specific to Android? But this is just a guess.

Also, why does it say “fart” on the right arrow? xD

To be clear: None of this is happening to me, and I also do not use the Android version.
I noticed the same misalignment right after I updated to 0.4.16 and I use my laptop exclusively.

User avatar
AntumDeluge
Member
Posts: 213
Joined: Sun Aug 07, 2016 05:42
GitHub: AntumDeluge
IRC: AntumDeluge
Contact:

Re: [Mod] HUD bars [1.9.0] [hudbars]

by AntumDeluge » Post

Wuzzy wrote:Also, why does it say “fart” on the right arrow? xD
Lol! Ya, that's one of my son's characters on my local server. I thought about blurring it out after I had realized it was in the screenshot, but I was lazy that day.

User avatar
texmex
Member
Posts: 1753
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2016 21:08
GitHub: tacotexmex
In-game: tacotexmex

Re: [Mod] HUD bars [1.9.0] [hudbars]

by texmex » Post

New sprint mod supporting hudbars: hbsprint.

User avatar
AntumDeluge
Member
Posts: 213
Joined: Sun Aug 07, 2016 05:42
GitHub: AntumDeluge
IRC: AntumDeluge
Contact:

Re: [Mod] HUD bars [1.8.0] [hudbars]

by AntumDeluge » Post

AntumDeluge wrote:
Palige wrote:Hey,
It seems that progress bars are misaligned since commit cfebd51:
Image
I have this issue, but only on Android devices.


Image
Image
I just noticed that the visual artifacts are different in my screenshots than in Palige's. Not sure if it's really relevant, but in Palige's, the border box is drawn under the colored bar, where in mine, it's drawn over. Perhaps it just has to do with the different graphics driver or platform.

The alignment of the colored bars appears to be accurate, just not the border box.

anrc
New member
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Jul 20, 2017 11:19

Re: [Mod] HUD bars [1.9.0] [hudbars]

by anrc » Post

This seems to be a problem with the DPI-setting. I've added two screenshots that show the issue with 72 dpi (default) and 96 dpi (best result).
Screenshot with 72 DPI
Screenshot with 72 DPI
72dpi.jpg (16.6 KiB) Viewed 1338 times
Screenshot with 96 DPI
Screenshot with 96 DPI
96dpi.jpg (22.83 KiB) Viewed 1338 times
I guess this issue is problamtic on android especially, because probably Minetest uses the dpi settings of the system.

KCoombes
Member
Posts: 427
Joined: Thu Jun 11, 2015 23:19
In-game: Knatt
Location: SW Florida, USA

Re: [Mod] HUD bars [1.9.0] [hudbars]

by KCoombes » Post

This is not just on Android - I get it also on my windows pc.

User avatar
Wuzzy
Member
Posts: 4778
Joined: Mon Sep 24, 2012 15:01
GitHub: Wuzzy2
IRC: Wuzzy
In-game: Wuzzy
Contact:

Re: [Mod] HUD bars [1.9.0] [hudbars]

by Wuzzy » Post

I guess there's nothing I can do about it, then. Because I don't see how any of this could be the mod's fault. Maybe you should create a Minetest issue.

Can you please test if you have problem with any other HUD-related mods? Especially mods with custom statbars.

User avatar
Krock
Developer
Posts: 4648
Joined: Thu Oct 03, 2013 07:48
GitHub: SmallJoker
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

Re: [Mod] HUD bars [1.9.0] [hudbars]

by Krock » Post

Code: Select all

hud_scaling = 0.8
Result:
Image

The HUD bars are aligned correctly for factor 1.0. Are you sure it's not possible to align the bars like the empty frame above? That's unhandy if modders have to deal with the scale factors.
Look, I programmed a bug for you. >> Mod Search Engine << - Mods by Krock - DuckDuckGo mod search bang: !mtmod <keyword here>

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 12 guests