[Mod] HUD bars [2.1.0] [hudbars]

User avatar
Wuzzy
Member
 
Posts: 3642
Joined: Mon Sep 24, 2012 15:01
GitHub: Wuzzy2
IRC: Wuzzy
In-game: Wuzzy

Re: [Mod] HUD bars [2.1.0] [hudbars]

by Wuzzy » Sun Oct 06, 2019 00:28

Sadly, I have absolutely no clue how to fix this. DPI is a client setting to which this mod has no access to.

Let's just say this mod only supports default DPI for now.
My creations. I gladly accept bitcoins: 17fsUywHxeMHKG41UFfu34F1rAxZcrVoqH
 

User avatar
FreeGamers
Member
 
Posts: 334
Joined: Sat May 25, 2019 00:15
Location: United States
GitHub: is proprietary I use NotABug

Re: [Mod] HUD bars [2.1.0] [hudbars]

by FreeGamers » Mon Oct 07, 2019 03:33

Yeah, its partly due to Minetest itself. I bought a XPS 7590 with a i9 and a OLED 4K screen recently and tried doing Minetest on it, but it was a nightmare to get everything setup with HiDPI. The screen was beautiful and OLED is a very promising display tech. But apart from that I didn't feel the 4K was worth it on a 15.6 screen. 200% scaling essentally made it a 1080p anyways. Although, apart from Minetest, GNOME scaling handled everything flawless. XFCE scaling still needs work, but I hear its been improved in XFCE 4.14.

I actually have decided to return to my Dell Latitude 7490 with a 1080P screen becasue it just works better overall with its support for free software and no NVIDIA driver combat is needed.

It was an educational waste of my time. I think I'll be sticking with a standard FHD screen for the foreseeable future still. I hate dealing with broken things and fighting my computer to get basic stuff working. I've become more conservative with adopting new hardware because of this.

For Minetest, there were settings in the advanced menus to adjust that made it more useable but there are so many and it not all of them worked very easily.

That said, I have seen hudbars progress bars look really weird on Andoird 1080P screens where the text was normal but the bars scaled really small. Once again this is due to the font size and the scaling of the UI by the MT engine I believe. I ended up switching to the modern statbar version instead to make my bars as cross platform as possible.
 

Stronk
Member
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Sat Jul 20, 2019 08:13

Re: [Mod] HUD bars [2.1.0] [hudbars]

by Stronk » Mon Oct 14, 2019 13:32

I'm trying to edit the .conf file to make the bars a little bit higher than they are. I would also like to make them longer, horizontally, if possible. Can someone tell me which option is that in the file?

For the first question, reading through the explanation... I'm guessing it's this.
For life,
hudbars_pos_left_y (Left HUD bar screen y position) float 1.0 0.0 1.0
For breath
hudbars_pos_right_y (Right HUD bar screen y position) float 1.0 0.0 1.0

For the second question, I have no idea.

Edit: I really wish people would respond, no matter how inane or simple the question is. Since it would allow people to search up the results and not ask the question again by populating the forums and search results. It's just a simple sentence too.

I believe the answer lies in the settings of minetest. Go to the settings>all setiings>mods>hudbars and everything is there if you want to customize them easily.
Last edited by Stronk on Mon Oct 14, 2019 17:45, edited 2 times in total.
 

User avatar
texmex
Member
 
Posts: 1616
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2016 21:08
GitHub: tacotexmex
In-game: texmex

Re: [Mod] HUD bars [2.1.0] [hudbars]

by texmex » Mon Oct 14, 2019 14:08

FreeGamers wrote:I actually have decided to return to my Dell Latitude 7490 with a 1080P screen becasue it just works better overall with its support for free software and no NVIDIA driver combat is needed.

It was an educational waste of my time. I think I'll be sticking with a standard FHD screen for the foreseeable future still. I hate dealing with broken things and fighting my computer to get basic stuff working. I've become more conservative with adopting new hardware because of this.


Sad but true regarding support for new hardware.
 

User avatar
Wuzzy
Member
 
Posts: 3642
Joined: Mon Sep 24, 2012 15:01
GitHub: Wuzzy2
IRC: Wuzzy
In-game: Wuzzy

Re: [Mod] HUD bars [2.1.0] [hudbars]

by Wuzzy » Mon Oct 14, 2019 15:39

For the first question, reading through the explaination... I'm guessing it's this.

Correct.

For the second question, I have no idea.

It's impossible in the current version.
My creations. I gladly accept bitcoins: 17fsUywHxeMHKG41UFfu34F1rAxZcrVoqH
 

User avatar
FreeGamers
Member
 
Posts: 334
Joined: Sat May 25, 2019 00:15
Location: United States
GitHub: is proprietary I use NotABug

Re: [Mod] HUD bars [2.1.0] [hudbars]

by FreeGamers » Tue Oct 15, 2019 05:24

texmex wrote:Sad but true regarding support for new hardware.


I actually have given it a few more chances, as I haven't resold it yet. I found the scaling seems to work quite well if no external monitors are attached. I use the hudbars mod and the hudbars scaled fine using modern statbar mode.

MInetest seems to automatically adjust for high DPI if the 4K display is the only display. Otherwise, I was able to adjust the DPI a bit by using a few manual adjustments: Menu font size from 16 to 32, Monospace font size from 16 to 32, and GUI Menu scaling by 2.0 or so. Those were the 3 items I found to help.

However, once I detached from my docking station with a FHD external monitor, rebooted the laptop, I found Minetest was scaling upwards on its own and I had to undo the changes I had made manually because everything was huge.

Still not sold on using the XPS15 though. Its a nice system, but the NVIDIA aspect of is just a pain in the butt that I'm not sure I want to deal with and 4K just slaughters battery life. The Latitude 7490 cpu is more power optimized and just as nice aside from the OLED screen. I'm realizing how much CPU benchmarks are useless and more of a marketing tool. Most workflows simply benefit from burst/turb-boost performance and even low end CPU's with good turbo frequencies are adequate for most tasks. I find the 15-25W Quad Core CPU just as useful as the 45W Octa core CPU for my workflow.
 

User avatar
Linuxdirk
Member
 
Posts: 2218
Joined: Wed Sep 17, 2014 11:21
Location: Germany
In-game: Linuxdirk

Re: [Mod] HUD bars [2.1.0] [hudbars]

by Linuxdirk » Tue Oct 15, 2019 07:18

FreeGamers wrote:I was able to adjust the DPI a bit by using a few manual adjustments: Menu font size from 16 to 32, Monospace font size from 16 to 32, and GUI Menu scaling by 2.0 or so. Those were the 3 items I found to help.

Conclusion: Minetest is horrible at scaling and the scaling mechanism is utterly broken. I guess it's not Minetest's fault but an Irrlicht issue. Since Irrlicht is dead since a few years they never added any code that deals with high DPI displays.

FreeGamers wrote:Still not sold on using the XPS15 though. Its a nice system, but the NVIDIA aspect of is just a pain in the butt that I'm not sure I want to deal with and 4K just slaughters battery life.

I own an XPS 7390 ("XPS 13") and it is great for mobility. Rumors say the 7390 has 4 hours better battery time than the 7590 because of the full HD display instead of a 4K display.
 

User avatar
FreeGamers
Member
 
Posts: 334
Joined: Sat May 25, 2019 00:15
Location: United States
GitHub: is proprietary I use NotABug

Re: [Mod] HUD bars [2.1.0] [hudbars]

by FreeGamers » Tue Oct 15, 2019 12:33

Linuxdirk wrote:Conclusion: Minetest is horrible at scaling and the scaling mechanism is utterly broken. I guess it's not Minetest's fault but an Irrlicht issue. Since Irrlicht is dead since a few years they never added any code that deals with high DPI displays.

I own an XPS 7390 ("XPS 13") and it is great for mobility. Rumors say the 7390 has 4 hours better battery time than the 7590 because of the full HD display instead of a 4K display.

I believe it, I get almost double the battery life on my Latitude than I do on the XPS15... The CPU's that are used in the XPS13 series are Intel's ultra low power chips, which are tuned to be more energy efficient but can not sustain higher clock rates as long, but this can vary highly depending on BIOS firmware from mfg's and cooling solutions used. The bursty performance is not an issue unless you're doing rendering work or long sustained workloads which most people just don't do.The XPS13 probably has flawless Linux support. In fact, I know Dell even sells it with Ubuntu.

I liked the revisions Dell made to the XPS13 2-in-1. Intel added a nice iGPU with x2 the performance of the UHD-series and the 2-in-1 has a nice 16:10 screen. But I have no use for a 2-in-1 or touchscreen though and the 13" form factor hurts my neck and eyes without proper scaling or a docking station. FHD on the 13" is HiDPI, do you use scaling for it? I have a 14" Latitude and my eyes can sometimes strain on that at FHD. The XPS15 is probably overkill for what I do with my computer.

I just fired up Minetest a few minutes ago and the scaling was working fine, but it just doesn't seem to detect the hidpi in other situations which I haven't noticed yet. That's too bad about Irrlicht. I don't really understand the dependency Minetest has on it, hopefully it doesn't affect the long-term success of the MT and its community though.
 

User avatar
Linuxdirk
Member
 
Posts: 2218
Joined: Wed Sep 17, 2014 11:21
Location: Germany
In-game: Linuxdirk

Re: [Mod] HUD bars [2.1.0] [hudbars]

by Linuxdirk » Tue Oct 15, 2019 13:19

I would't count 170 DPI as HiDPI display ... But when testing it I did not use any scaling options from Minetest configuration and just ran with default settings. It was okay. I use the device as mobile computing platform and not for gaming anyways.
 

Previous

Return to Mod Releases



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 9 guests

cron