[Mod] Elevators / Lifts [2.1.2] [elevator]

User avatar
orwell
Member
 
Posts: 778
Joined: Wed Jun 24, 2015 18:45
Location: Raxacoricofallapatorius
GitHub: orwell96
IRC: orwell96_mt
In-game: orwell

[Mod] Elevators / Lifts [2.1.2] [elevator]

by orwell » Fri Jul 31, 2015 08:57

New version 2.1 released
Now with doors that are actual doors and with smoother cabin movement.
Mod is mainly stable, please test and report bugs.

Adds elevators transporting persons up and down. Includes doors (which open and close automatically) to call the lift and to drive there.
Currently one elevator can only be used by one player at the same time.
See the readme file on how to construct elevators. Please remember that you have to place the door blocks inside the shaft and one layer below the actual entry layer, as described in readme.txt.
The elevator is thought of as a technical one, like used in real-world mines, rather than being a nice-looking thing with different shaft types and a floor priority system etc. (as fancy_elevator). Maybe I will add a nicer texture.

Things that changed in 2.0:
- The mod does not depend on forceload-lib anymore.
- Elevators teleport instead of forceloading the areas around them (of course only without players inside, else it would be cheating...).
- When constructing, you place the motor before placing entries!
- Old elevators will probably not work anymore, re-construct the motor and the entries.
- If minetest crashes when opening a world including an elevator from the old (1.0) version, load version 1.0, remove all elevators, all entries and all motors and then load the new version again.

Edit: I should explain crafting recipes...I am using craft_guide...
Edit 2: It is called Steel here...
S=Steel Ingot
C=Copper ingot
G=Gold ingot
Rails:
S
S S
S
Motor:
S S S
C G C
S S S
Door:
S S S
S C S
S C S
Mod dependencies: default(minetest-game)
License: WTFPL
License for graphics/models: WTFPL

Known bugs:
- position "flickering" when moving upwards (I don't know what causes this, since it is not there in downward movement)
- incompatibility with walking_light (you have to unequip the lamp in order to drive upwards)

If there are more bugs found, please report here.

Download:
elevator_2_1_2.zip
v. 2.1.2
(176.53 KiB) Downloaded 672 times

v. 2.1.2
- fixed a problem with doors being placed wrong when having multiple elevators
*** If you experience a lua error, try the fix at the end of this page ***
v. 2.1.1:
- fixed problem with elevators built in east/west-direction
v. 2.1:
- rewritten movement code, now a bit smoother and more realistic cabin movement (speeds up on start and slows down when approaching target)
- the maximum movement speed has been increased to 8 nodes/s instead of 5 nodes/s
- now includes doors that automatically open and close. (nothing changed regarding door placement, the doors "fold out" automatically!)
- small bugfixes


Old versions:
2.0
elevator_2_0.zip
v. 2.0
(175.28 KiB) Downloaded 76 times

-see above

1.0 (not recommended!)
elevator.zip
v. 1.0
(172.05 KiB) Downloaded 96 times
Last edited by orwell on Thu Dec 17, 2015 12:09, edited 13 times in total.
Lua is great!
List of my mods
I like singing. I like dancing. I like ... niyummm...
 

Sokomine
Member
 
Posts: 3828
Joined: Sun Sep 09, 2012 17:31
GitHub: Sokomine

Re: [Mod] Elevators / Lifts [elevator]

by Sokomine » Sat Aug 01, 2015 03:36

Sounds nice. Encountering such an elevator on a server (or going to the trouble of constructing one) might be fun. Yet for actual travel, I do prefer the teleport method.
A list of my mods can be found here.
 

User avatar
orwell
Member
 
Posts: 778
Joined: Wed Jun 24, 2015 18:45
Location: Raxacoricofallapatorius
GitHub: orwell96
IRC: orwell96_mt
In-game: orwell

Re: [Mod] Elevators / Lifts [elevator]

by orwell » Mon Aug 03, 2015 15:26

Edit: this post is from 1.0 times and therefore outdated!

It is not that difficult to build elevators.
Actually it IS fun to encounter elevators on a server, because all messages are printed to everyone (chat_send_all). It is a WIP Mod!
Last edited by orwell on Sat Jan 16, 2016 16:09, edited 1 time in total.
Lua is great!
List of my mods
I like singing. I like dancing. I like ... niyummm...
 

User avatar
orwell
Member
 
Posts: 778
Joined: Wed Jun 24, 2015 18:45
Location: Raxacoricofallapatorius
GitHub: orwell96
IRC: orwell96_mt
In-game: orwell

Re: [Mod] Elevators / Lifts [elevator]

by orwell » Mon Nov 16, 2015 21:06

There's hope: I will continue developing soon(TM).
I will possibly completely overthrow the forceloading stuff and just save elevator positions in an external table...
Lua is great!
List of my mods
I like singing. I like dancing. I like ... niyummm...
 

tbillion
Member
 
Posts: 189
Joined: Wed Apr 03, 2013 16:07
Location: 38381, US, TN, Toone

Re: [Mod] Elevators / Lifts [elevator]

by tbillion » Wed Nov 25, 2015 18:52

just what i needed... mineshaft type 2 here i come
 

User avatar
orwell
Member
 
Posts: 778
Joined: Wed Jun 24, 2015 18:45
Location: Raxacoricofallapatorius
GitHub: orwell96
IRC: orwell96_mt
In-game: orwell

Re: [Mod] Elevators / Lifts [2.0] [elevator]

by orwell » Thu Nov 26, 2015 10:25

Version 2.0 is out.
I recommend upgrading!

Some things have changed, see first post.
there is no height limit :)
__
| ____GND
| |
| |
|^|
|#|
|v|
| |
|____-31000
Lua is great!
List of my mods
I like singing. I like dancing. I like ... niyummm...
 

DoyleChris
Member
 
Posts: 248
Joined: Sat Jul 25, 2015 19:54
In-game: DoyleChris

Re: [Mod] Elevators / Lifts [2.0] [elevator]

by DoyleChris » Thu Nov 26, 2015 15:55

Trying to figure out how to setup the elevator. I dug the shaft a 3x3, and added the motor at the bottom added rails to both sides then added the doors. but not sure where the cab is to ride in. any ideas.
 

DoyleChris
Member
 
Posts: 248
Joined: Sat Jul 25, 2015 19:54
In-game: DoyleChris
 

User avatar
orwell
Member
 
Posts: 778
Joined: Wed Jun 24, 2015 18:45
Location: Raxacoricofallapatorius
GitHub: orwell96
IRC: orwell96_mt
In-game: orwell

Re: [Mod] Elevators / Lifts [2.0] [elevator]

by orwell » Sat Nov 28, 2015 22:09

It spawns when you click an entry.
RTFM
Lua is great!
List of my mods
I like singing. I like dancing. I like ... niyummm...
 

User avatar
orwell
Member
 
Posts: 778
Joined: Wed Jun 24, 2015 18:45
Location: Raxacoricofallapatorius
GitHub: orwell96
IRC: orwell96_mt
In-game: orwell

Re: [Mod] Elevators / Lifts [2.1] [elevator]

by orwell » Tue Dec 01, 2015 14:35

Version 2.1 is out.
New features:
- smoother and more realistic cabin movement (speeds up on start and slows down when approaching target)
- the maximum movement speed has been increased to 8 nodes/s instead of 5 nodes/s
- now includes doors that automatically open and close. (nothing changed regarding door placement, the doors "fold out" automatically!)
Lua is great!
List of my mods
I like singing. I like dancing. I like ... niyummm...
 

User avatar
orwell
Member
 
Posts: 778
Joined: Wed Jun 24, 2015 18:45
Location: Raxacoricofallapatorius
GitHub: orwell96
IRC: orwell96_mt
In-game: orwell

Re: [Mod] Elevators / Lifts [2.1] [elevator]

by orwell » Sun Dec 06, 2015 13:47

(Bug Fix) v. 2.1.1
It wasn't possible to construct elevators in east/west direction, only north/south. This has been fixed now.
Lua is great!
List of my mods
I like singing. I like dancing. I like ... niyummm...
 

DoyleChris
Member
 
Posts: 248
Joined: Sat Jul 25, 2015 19:54
In-game: DoyleChris

Re: [Mod] Elevators / Lifts [2.1.1] [elevator]

by DoyleChris » Sun Dec 06, 2015 19:45

Well i downloaded the new update today and setup a elevator. I have 2 doors One is Sort (top) and the other is Mine (Bottom) both are about 150 units apart. I can go from sort to mine but cant go from mine to sort.
 

User avatar
orwell
Member
 
Posts: 778
Joined: Wed Jun 24, 2015 18:45
Location: Raxacoricofallapatorius
GitHub: orwell96
IRC: orwell96_mt
In-game: orwell

Re: [Mod] Elevators / Lifts [2.1.1] [elevator]

by orwell » Mon Dec 07, 2015 18:31

The station "sort" does not appear in the list when clicking the elevator?
Try to reconstruct the "sort" door (dig it and place it again). If this does not help, dig the motor and start over new.
Edit: First, download 2.1.2, there have been problems with door placement
Lua is great!
List of my mods
I like singing. I like dancing. I like ... niyummm...
 

Azazel
Member
 
Posts: 20
Joined: Sun Dec 13, 2015 18:44
In-game: Omallem

Re: [Mod] Elevators / Lifts [2.1.2] [elevator]

by Azazel » Sun Dec 13, 2015 21:40

Not speak or write English so I apologize because I'm using the google translator.

I really like this mod, is certainly making really great job. But the height of this is very small highlights a lot when the doors open and the doors take up much space down having to leave a space puts a floor on the ground floor. I change the testura the elevator to make it more pleasant body.

http://orig07.deviantart.net/ef0b/f/201 ... 9k1564.png

I would like to help in 3d modeling but none of that, what if I can not help it in the textures, I'm not a graphic designer but I can make it look better.
 

User avatar
orwell
Member
 
Posts: 778
Joined: Wed Jun 24, 2015 18:45
Location: Raxacoricofallapatorius
GitHub: orwell96
IRC: orwell96_mt
In-game: orwell

Re: [Mod] Elevators / Lifts [2.1.2] [elevator]

by orwell » Wed Dec 16, 2015 15:48

Azazel wrote:Not speak or write English so I apologize because I'm using the google translator.

Are you Italian? Google's translation is confusing me, but "testura" seems to be an Italian word. I know someone who speaks Italian.
Could you please post the first paragraph again in your language, I can't figure out what Google wants to say here.

Azazel wrote:I change the testura the elevator to make it more pleasant body.

http://orig07.deviantart.net/ef0b/f/201 ... 9k1564.png

I have been waiting long for a friend of mine to create a new texture (I am not a graphic designer too...)(he promised to provide it "soon"), but yours looks nice. Can I include it into the next release?

Azazel wrote:I would like to help in 3d modeling but none of that, what if I can not help it in the textures, I'm not a graphic designer but I can make it look better.

There is a .blend file in the mod folder under "models", if you want to improve the model that would be nice!
Lua is great!
List of my mods
I like singing. I like dancing. I like ... niyummm...
 

tbillion
Member
 
Posts: 189
Joined: Wed Apr 03, 2013 16:07
Location: 38381, US, TN, Toone

Re: [Mod] Elevators / Lifts [2.1.2] [elevator]

by tbillion » Thu Dec 17, 2015 03:59

2015-12-16 21:55:10: ACTION[Server]: fatman places node elevator:elev_entry at (1,8,0)
2015-12-16 21:55:10: ACTION[Server]: facedir: 3
2015-12-16 21:55:16: ERROR[Main]: ServerError: Lua: Runtime error from mod 'elevator' in callback on_playerReceiveFields(): ...on/Downloads/minetest-master/bin/../builtin/init.lua:15: invalid value (nil) at index 1 in table for 'concat'
2015-12-16 21:55:16: ERROR[Main]: stack traceback:
2015-12-16 21:55:16: ERROR[Main]: [C]: in function 'concat'
2015-12-16 21:55:16: ERROR[Main]: ...on/Downloads/minetest-master/bin/../builtin/init.lua:15: in function 'print'
2015-12-16 21:55:16: ERROR[Main]: ...nloads/minetest-master/bin/../mods/elevator/init.lua:498: in function 'elevator_set_name'
2015-12-16 21:55:16: ERROR[Main]: ...nloads/minetest-master/bin/../mods/elevator/init.lua:380: in function '?'
2015-12-16 21:55:16: ERROR[Main]: ...ads/minetest-master/bin/../builtin/game/register.lua:360: in function <...ads/minetest-master/bin/../builtin/game/register.lua:340>
2015-12-16 21:55:16: ACTION[Server]: fatman leaves game. List of players:

erroe from version i just downloaded. also if it comes to making mesh models for the parts like the rails and stuff id be happy to do it or help. im kind of hooked on blender at the moment. if youve seen my progress with the TBM models im pretty good i think.
 

User avatar
orwell
Member
 
Posts: 778
Joined: Wed Jun 24, 2015 18:45
Location: Raxacoricofallapatorius
GitHub: orwell96
IRC: orwell96_mt
In-game: orwell

Re: [Mod] Elevators / Lifts [2.1.2] [elevator]

by orwell » Thu Dec 17, 2015 12:07

@tbillion:
Interesting...table.concat has a problem with NILs.
since this print instruction is a debug message, you can comment it out.
Change Lines 489 and 498:
Code: Select all
print(xdir," SIDECOORD ?",dump(nodedircrd))

to
Code: Select all
--print(xdir," SIDECOORD ?",dump(nodedircrd))

This should fix it.
Lua is great!
List of my mods
I like singing. I like dancing. I like ... niyummm...
 

Azazel
Member
 
Posts: 20
Joined: Sun Dec 13, 2015 18:44
In-game: Omallem

Re: [Mod] Elevators / Lifts [2.1.2] [elevator]

by Azazel » Thu Dec 17, 2015 17:55

orwell wrote:
Azazel wrote:Not speak or write English so I apologize because I'm using the google translator.

Are you Italian? Google's translation is confusing me, but "testura" seems to be an Italian word. I know someone who speaks Italian.
Could you please post the first paragraph again in your language, I can't figure out what Google wants to say here.

Azazel wrote:I change the testura the elevator to make it more pleasant body.

http://orig07.deviantart.net/ef0b/f/201 ... 9k1564.png

I have been waiting long for a friend of mine to create a new texture (I am not a graphic designer too...)(he promised to provide it "soon"), but yours looks nice. Can I include it into the next release?

Azazel wrote:I would like to help in 3d modeling but none of that, what if I can not help it in the textures, I'm not a graphic designer but I can make it look better.

There is a .blend file in the mod folder under "models", if you want to improve the model that would be nice!


En realidad soy mexicano, escribí "testura" por error. Lo que quise escribir fue textura (texture).

Estoy de acuerdo en que incluya la textura en la próxima versión del mod. En verdad eso me alegraría.
 

tbillion
Member
 
Posts: 189
Joined: Wed Apr 03, 2013 16:07
Location: 38381, US, TN, Toone

Re: [Mod] Elevators / Lifts [2.1.2] [elevator]

by tbillion » Wed Dec 23, 2015 08:54

just saying, but i built this as described, when i place a door the elevator shows up but when i click the elevator no matter how many doors the call only shows the door im at and when i build it again all the doors show up but the only door it will teleport me to is the one i am currently at.
 

User avatar
kidmondo
Member
 
Posts: 130
Joined: Sun May 11, 2014 07:56
Location: New Zealand
IRC: kidmondo
In-game: kidmondo
 

tbillion
Member
 
Posts: 189
Joined: Wed Apr 03, 2013 16:07
Location: 38381, US, TN, Toone

Re: [Mod] Elevators / Lifts [2.1.2] [elevator]

by tbillion » Wed Dec 23, 2015 11:38

yeah a bit. but come to think of it all the lift/eleavator mods are complicated
 

User avatar
orwell
Member
 
Posts: 778
Joined: Wed Jun 24, 2015 18:45
Location: Raxacoricofallapatorius
GitHub: orwell96
IRC: orwell96_mt
In-game: orwell

Re: [Mod] Elevators / Lifts [2.1.2] [elevator]

by orwell » Sat Dec 26, 2015 20:28

Well, for me it works without problems.

In versions beyond the latest, I set up the save interval of the elevator data file a bit too large. maybe if you have quit the game before this file has been saved, it could cause bugs. Download the latest version, the file is saved on server shutdown too now.

When reconstructing the motor, the whole elevator is reinstantiated, but you have to re-place all doors, else they won't appear in the list.

I think I need to improve something regarding user-friendliness in the next year.

@tbillion: please, please learn speaking english. (or better german)
Lua is great!
List of my mods
I like singing. I like dancing. I like ... niyummm...
 

tbillion
Member
 
Posts: 189
Joined: Wed Apr 03, 2013 16:07
Location: 38381, US, TN, Toone

Re: [Mod] Elevators / Lifts [2.1.2] [elevator]

by tbillion » Sun Dec 27, 2015 00:58

@orwell funny joke man, english is my native language but if you d like i can crank out google translate for german for yah :)
 

Dragonop
Member
 
Posts: 1178
Joined: Tue Oct 23, 2012 12:59
Location: Argentina
GitHub: Dragonop
IRC: Dragonop
In-game: Dragonop

Re: [Mod] Elevators / Lifts [2.1.2] [elevator]

by Dragonop » Sun Dec 27, 2015 02:44

I understood tbillion's post perfectly (I think):
The problem is that, when you click the buttons to move the elevator to the selected door, the elevator won't move, and will drop you in the same floor/door.
 

tbillion
Member
 
Posts: 189
Joined: Wed Apr 03, 2013 16:07
Location: 38381, US, TN, Toone

Re: [Mod] Elevators / Lifts [2.1.2] [elevator]

by tbillion » Sun Dec 27, 2015 05:09

@dragonop : yup thats the short of it. :)
and it doesnt matter how you assemble / reassemble the elevator. what i think would be helpful is a screencast on like youtube.. has anyone done a mod review of this mod?
 

Next

Return to Mod Releases



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests