[Mod] Advanced Trains [advtrains] [r. 1.3]

User avatar
orwell
Member
 
Posts: 351
Joined: Wed Jun 24, 2015 18:45
Location: Raxacoricofallapatorius
GitHub: orwell96
In-game: orwell

[Mod] Advanced Trains [advtrains] [r. 1.3]

by orwell » Sun May 22, 2016 20:58

Image
This mod adds good-looking, realistic trains to minetest. It introduces rails that make turns of only 30 degrees instead of 90.

Until now are supported:
- tracks and switches, based on angles of 30(!) degrees
- wagons that drive on these rails and collide with nodes in the environment(they need 3x3x3 space)
-> a steam engine (with smoke(using latest dev)!)
-> a regular green wagon
-> a box wagon
-> a subway train
-> engine and wagon for a passenger train (the 'japanese train')
- coupling /discoupling of wagons/trains
- trains can travel through unloaded map chunks (but I don't recommend you to do so unless you have them automated with ATC, watch the movie 'unstoppable', it is really hard to stop a fast moving train, even with fly/fast)
- head-up display for train speed and nice controls when sitting in locomotive
- signals and bumpers
- switches and signals controllable by mesecons
- wagons have an owner, only this owner can destroy or discouple wagons.
- Automatic train control (ATC) (currently only static commands, but these are powerful enough)
- API to add custom wagons
- doors on subway train that can be opened
Planned features:
- locomotives need coal to drive (and water...)
- more types of trains and rails(electric, diesel, maglevs...)
- better textures
- physics for train collisions (conservation of momentum)
(see also the ToDo-list on page 6)

Manual:
https://github.com/orwell96/advtrains/b ... manual.pdf
- Use the 'track' item to place tracks. In most cases it will adjust rails in the direction you need them.
- use the trackworker tool (doctor who sonic screwdriver) to rotate tracks(right-click) and to change normal rails into switches(left-click)
- to overcome heights you need the ramped rails, place them and you will understand.
- right-click switches to change direction
- place locomotives or wagons by picking the item and placing it on a track.
- right-click a wagon or locomotive to sit onto it.
- drive two trains together and they will connect by right-clicking that green icon that appears.
- punch the red couple icon between wagons to discouple them
For the syntax of ATC commands see atc_commands.txt

Have fun!


Also see the website! (contains screenshots)
http://advtrains.bleipb.de
+ Screenshots

Dependencies: default

Download latest: https://github.com/orwell96/advtrains/r ... trains.zip
(this contains only the files needed to run the mod)
The latest version may contain bugs and should not be used on servers until it has been tested.
Unpack the archive directly into the "mods" directory.
This has changed!

If latest does not work, or if you are looking for a known working version, try this (older) version:
https://github.com/orwell96/advtrains/b ... trains.zip

Github: https://github.com/orwell96/advtrains/
License of code: LGPL 2.1
License of media: CC-BY-SA 3.0

^^ logo by mbb
Last edited by orwell on Wed Jan 18, 2017 18:07, edited 66 times in total.
Allergy advice: The above post may contain nuts!
Lua is great!
List of my mods
Read the f***ing manual!
 

User avatar
TumeniNodes
Member
 
Posts: 830
Joined: Fri Feb 26, 2016 19:49
Location: USA (United Sates of Annoying People)
GitHub: TumeniNodes

Re: [Mod] Advanced Trains [WIP]

by TumeniNodes » Sun May 22, 2016 21:16

Sounds really cool! Do you have any screenshots?
What is German Sausage called in Germany? Herr Sausage... o_0 Budum Boom.
 

User avatar
webdesigner97
Member
 
Posts: 1301
Joined: Mon Jul 30, 2012 19:16
Location: Bergisch Gladbach, Germany
GitHub: webD97
IRC: webdesigner97
In-game: webdesigner97

Re: [Mod] Advanced Trains [WIP]

by webdesigner97 » Sun May 22, 2016 21:22

Sounds interesting! Minetest really needs a good mod for trains :)
I hope that one day we'll reach something like this:

Youtube | Official Build A World Channel: Trains & Tracks - Part 3 - 'Rails Demo'
 

User avatar
benrob0329
Member
 
Posts: 1150
Joined: Thu Aug 06, 2015 22:39
GitHub: Benrob0329
In-game: Benrob0329

Re: [Mod] Advanced Trains [WIP]

by benrob0329 » Mon May 23, 2016 00:39

Is it based off of the railnet mod? If not, I'd recommended you take a look at it, its pretty cool.
 

User avatar
lightonflux
Member
 
Posts: 384
Joined: Mon Nov 11, 2013 07:22
Location: Germany
In-game: lof

Re: [Mod] Advanced Trains [WIP]

by lightonflux » Mon May 23, 2016 05:07

First impressions:

* Rail blocks need different names, other wise it is hard to test as you have to use every block before you have an idea what it even does
* crashes when connecting wagons (nil value)
* check if wagon is placed on track_vert and deny placement to prevent bugs (wagon stuck in track_vert or other wagon)
* node highlight of track_vert (1 & 2) broken, and player can walk into the block
* don't let the player place wagons in the ground (place on != track block)
* traintester tool on wagon crashes the session (nil value)

Good enough as a first 0.1 release. Better release often, then almost never like some other mods.
 

User avatar
orwell
Member
 
Posts: 351
Joined: Wed Jun 24, 2015 18:45
Location: Raxacoricofallapatorius
GitHub: orwell96
In-game: orwell

Re: [Mod] Advanced Trains [WIP]

by orwell » Mon May 23, 2016 13:48

lightonflux wrote:First impressions:

* Rail blocks need different names, other wise it is hard to test as you have to use every block before you have an idea what it even does

in the end, ther will be only the track placer available and it won't be called trackplacer but just 'track'. you wil do anything other using the trackworker
lightonflux wrote: * crashes when connecting wagons (nil value)

it shouldn't. can you please provide debug.txt entries?
lightonflux wrote: * check if wagon is placed on track_vert and deny placement to prevent bugs (wagon stuck in track_vert or other wagon)

you're right, I will fix this. but i will allow placement and just fix positioning, because i plan to add cog railways
lightonflux wrote: * node highlight of track_vert (1 & 2) broken, and player can walk into the block

ok, this could be improved. you can walk through because these nodes are not set as walkable, because then you could place torches and rails on it, which you shouldn't do.
lightonflux wrote: * don't let the player place wagons in the ground (place on != track block)

will be done.
lightonflux wrote: * traintester tool on wagon crashes the session (nil value)

ah, I think I know what I did wrong...

Just keep in mind that this mod is far away from being finished.
Allergy advice: The above post may contain nuts!
Lua is great!
List of my mods
Read the f***ing manual!
 

User avatar
orwell
Member
 
Posts: 351
Joined: Wed Jun 24, 2015 18:45
Location: Raxacoricofallapatorius
GitHub: orwell96
In-game: orwell

Re: [Mod] Advanced Trains [WIP]

by orwell » Mon May 23, 2016 13:51

benrob0329 wrote:Is it based off of the railnet mod? If not, I'd recommended you take a look at it, its pretty cool.

Nope. It's almost completely my work, except the rail texture (but I will improve this one too, so that it looks good even for 45deg rails)
But I will implement that train-not-being-unloaded stuff one day, maybe I can draw inspiration out of it (of course while giving credit to stu). Thanks for the suggestion.

EDIT: well, the texture does not look 'good' for 45deg rails, it looks 'acceptable for a wip mod'
Last edited by orwell on Mon May 30, 2016 19:47, edited 1 time in total.
Allergy advice: The above post may contain nuts!
Lua is great!
List of my mods
Read the f***ing manual!
 

User avatar
orwell
Member
 
Posts: 351
Joined: Wed Jun 24, 2015 18:45
Location: Raxacoricofallapatorius
GitHub: orwell96
In-game: orwell

Re: [Mod] Advanced Trains [WIP]

by orwell » Mon May 23, 2016 13:54

TumeniNodes wrote:Sounds really cool! Do you have any screenshots?

No, but I will create some when I have better models and textures (that will be in about two weeks, when I have more time)
Allergy advice: The above post may contain nuts!
Lua is great!
List of my mods
Read the f***ing manual!
 

User avatar
orwell
Member
 
Posts: 351
Joined: Wed Jun 24, 2015 18:45
Location: Raxacoricofallapatorius
GitHub: orwell96
In-game: orwell

Re: [Mod] Advanced Trains [WIP]

by orwell » Mon May 23, 2016 13:55

webdesigner97 wrote:Sounds interesting! Minetest really needs a good mod for trains :)
I hope that one day we'll reach something like this:

Youtube | Official Build A World Channel: Trains & Tracks - Part 3 - 'Rails Demo'


Indeed, something like this is what I'm dreaming of.
Allergy advice: The above post may contain nuts!
Lua is great!
List of my mods
Read the f***ing manual!
 

User avatar
AnxiousInfusion
Member
 
Posts: 146
Joined: Sun Aug 02, 2015 05:43
GitHub: AnxiousInfusion[GitLab]
IRC: AnxiousInfusion
In-game: AnxiousInfusion

Re: [Mod] Advanced Trains [WIP]

by AnxiousInfusion » Tue May 24, 2016 03:05

I would be really interested to see how those high-radius turn rails from the Build A World video might be implemented into a mod like yours.
 

User avatar
orwell
Member
 
Posts: 351
Joined: Wed Jun 24, 2015 18:45
Location: Raxacoricofallapatorius
GitHub: orwell96
In-game: orwell

Re: [Mod] Advanced Trains [advtrains] [WIP]

by orwell » Mon May 30, 2016 18:48

Update
1. github
2. models
3. improvements
4. trains travel through unloaded mapchunks

next: better couple logic

EDIT: 5. screenshots
Allergy advice: The above post may contain nuts!
Lua is great!
List of my mods
Read the f***ing manual!
 

User avatar
Nathan.S
Member
 
Posts: 633
Joined: Wed Sep 24, 2014 17:47
Location: WI. USA
GitHub: NathanSalapat
IRC: NathanS21
In-game: NathanS21

Re: [Mod] Advanced Trains [advtrains] [WIP]

by Nathan.S » Mon May 30, 2016 23:25

You sir, are a master. (assuming Orwell is a guy name :S)

Either way, this looks AMAZING.

Let me know if you want any help with train models, I'm kinda okay at Blender.
I record Minetest videos, Mod reviews, Modding tutorials, and Lets plays.
Check out my website.
 

User avatar
orwell
Member
 
Posts: 351
Joined: Wed Jun 24, 2015 18:45
Location: Raxacoricofallapatorius
GitHub: orwell96
In-game: orwell

Re: [Mod] Advanced Trains [advtrains] [WIP]

by orwell » Tue May 31, 2016 06:25

You are always welcome to help. The locomotive is not animated, if you can animate it, that would just be so cool...
George Orwell was a famous author.
Allergy advice: The above post may contain nuts!
Lua is great!
List of my mods
Read the f***ing manual!
 

User avatar
TumeniNodes
Member
 
Posts: 830
Joined: Fri Feb 26, 2016 19:49
Location: USA (United Sates of Annoying People)
GitHub: TumeniNodes

Re: [Mod] Advanced Trains [advtrains] [WIP]

by TumeniNodes » Tue May 31, 2016 11:50

The screenshots look great!
And it is great that you decided to use 45* angles... makes much more sense then 90* turns.
I am still of the opinion though, that rails should be scaled up in size = double the width.
I wish they could be done as this example 2x4 sections of track.

Image

It would add a lot of richness, and better proportion to the feature. As well as the ability to create larger engines and carts, and it may help with the collision space, by acting as a buffer zone, by extending outward x 1 on each side of the tracks?
I don't know if this is something anyone else would like to see, or if you think it is a good idea??
Of course they would actually be scaled down to the default 16x16 blocks, this example uses 64x64


Anyway, time for me to try out your great work : )
Attachments
larger rails.png
(79.43 KiB) Not downloaded yet
What is German Sausage called in Germany? Herr Sausage... o_0 Budum Boom.
 

User avatar
orwell
Member
 
Posts: 351
Joined: Wed Jun 24, 2015 18:45
Location: Raxacoricofallapatorius
GitHub: orwell96
In-game: orwell

Re: [Mod] Advanced Trains [advtrains] [WIP]

by orwell » Tue May 31, 2016 12:18

Since the 45deg rail textures extend over node borders, actually every rail node is a mesh consisting just of a plane that spans 0,5 node lengths over th node border. So it is really easy to extend the rail width a bit.
May I use that rail texture you posted? it looks great...(it has even got a gravel bed...)
Allergy advice: The above post may contain nuts!
Lua is great!
List of my mods
Read the f***ing manual!
 

User avatar
Nathan.S
Member
 
Posts: 633
Joined: Wed Sep 24, 2014 17:47
Location: WI. USA
GitHub: NathanSalapat
IRC: NathanS21
In-game: NathanS21

Re: [Mod] Advanced Trains [advtrains] [WIP]

by Nathan.S » Tue May 31, 2016 13:32

orwell wrote:You are always welcome to help. The locomotive is not animated, if you can animate it, that would just be so cool...


I'm not sure if I can get animation one an object like a train, as I wouldn't know how to make the model use animation, unless it uses something like the mob api where animation is an option. I guess I'll have to look at the code. I might still have an old train model sitting around from the last train mod that somebody started on, but then gave up on, or whatever happened to that mod. I'll try and get a little something together tomorrow. If nothing else, a slightly better texture than what's going on now, where it will actually look like a train engine, or car :D
I record Minetest videos, Mod reviews, Modding tutorials, and Lets plays.
Check out my website.
 

User avatar
TumeniNodes
Member
 
Posts: 830
Joined: Fri Feb 26, 2016 19:49
Location: USA (United Sates of Annoying People)
GitHub: TumeniNodes

Re: [Mod] Advanced Trains [advtrains] [WIP]

by TumeniNodes » Tue May 31, 2016 14:29

orwell wrote:Since the 45deg rail textures extend over node borders, actually every rail node is a mesh consisting just of a plane that spans 0,5 node lengths over th node border. So it is really easy to extend the rail width a bit.
May I use that rail texture you posted? it looks great...(it has even got a gravel bed...)


Absolutely, I'd be honored if you did. Let me know if you want/need other textures, or even if you want me to make any changes to this one. I just threw it together as an example
What is German Sausage called in Germany? Herr Sausage... o_0 Budum Boom.
 

User avatar
orwell
Member
 
Posts: 351
Joined: Wed Jun 24, 2015 18:45
Location: Raxacoricofallapatorius
GitHub: orwell96
In-game: orwell

Re: [Mod] Advanced Trains [advtrains] [WIP]

by orwell » Tue May 31, 2016 15:48

Nathan.S wrote:
orwell wrote:You are always welcome to help. The locomotive is not animated, if you can animate it, that would just be so cool...


I'm not sure if I can get animation one an object like a train, as I wouldn't know how to make the model use animation, unless it uses something like the mob api where animation is an option. I guess I'll have to look at the code. I might still have an old train model sitting around from the last train mod that somebody started on, but then gave up on, or whatever happened to that mod. I'll try and get a little something together tomorrow. If nothing else, a slightly better texture than what's going on now, where it will actually look like a train engine, or car :D

Well, I just need a model file with a well-working animation. I will write the code myself.
Allergy advice: The above post may contain nuts!
Lua is great!
List of my mods
Read the f***ing manual!
 

User avatar
DS-minetest
Member
 
Posts: 588
Joined: Thu Jun 19, 2014 19:49
Location: in front of my pc (which is at home)
GitHub: DS-Minetest
In-game: DS

Re: [Mod] Advanced Trains [advtrains] [WIP]

by DS-minetest » Tue May 31, 2016 16:27

looks very nice
Edit: its extremely buggy and the size of the mod is gigantic, maybe you should not make round meshes, cubic style is better and please scale the textures of train and wagon down
Do not call me -minetest.
Call me DS or DS-minetest.
I am German, so you don't have to pm me English if you are also German.
The background is a lie.
 

User avatar
orwell
Member
 
Posts: 351
Joined: Wed Jun 24, 2015 18:45
Location: Raxacoricofallapatorius
GitHub: orwell96
In-game: orwell

Re: [Mod] Advanced Trains [advtrains] [WIP]

by orwell » Tue May 31, 2016 21:19

of course its buggy, its a WIP mod.

and have you ever seen locomotives with cubic boilers?
the textures may be scaled down.
Notice that the main size of the mod should come from 1. the xcf projects(they are huge) and 2. the .blend files that lie around everywhere...

BTW pushed an update, first part of better couple logic done.
EDIT: now the discouplers are done too, and trains collide again.
Allergy advice: The above post may contain nuts!
Lua is great!
List of my mods
Read the f***ing manual!
 

User avatar
Nathan.S
Member
 
Posts: 633
Joined: Wed Sep 24, 2014 17:47
Location: WI. USA
GitHub: NathanSalapat
IRC: NathanS21
In-game: NathanS21

Re: [Mod] Advanced Trains [advtrains] [WIP]

by Nathan.S » Wed Jun 01, 2016 20:47

So I added a little animation to the engine, the pistons and drive links move together. Everything is controlled by bones, and two empties. To change it up you only need to change the animation of the wheel center empty, everything else is either a child or is being modified by that with constraints.
The forum doesn't allow the .blend format so I've uploaded it to my website instead.
http://www.nathansalapat.com/downloads/ ... tion.blend

I do think you could drastically lower the amount of faces in the model without much of a notice of quality loss. The two pistons that go into the little cylinders and the cylinders themselves have lots of faces, but are small enough, especially the pistons that they could be at like 12 faces without anybody even being able to tell. I'm not going to try and tell you what you should be doing with models though, so I didn't touch anything other than to add the animation.
I record Minetest videos, Mod reviews, Modding tutorials, and Lets plays.
Check out my website.
 

User avatar
TumeniNodes
Member
 
Posts: 830
Joined: Fri Feb 26, 2016 19:49
Location: USA (United Sates of Annoying People)
GitHub: TumeniNodes

Re: [Mod] Advanced Trains [advtrains] [WIP]

by TumeniNodes » Wed Jun 01, 2016 21:29

Nathan.S wrote:The forum doesn't allow the .blend format so I've uploaded it to my website instead.


This is something we may be able to ask to have added to the forums? Especially now since meshes will most likely be utilized more often with recent changes?

Gonna check out your blend, sounds awesome so far
What is German Sausage called in Germany? Herr Sausage... o_0 Budum Boom.
 

User avatar
Nathan.S
Member
 
Posts: 633
Joined: Wed Sep 24, 2014 17:47
Location: WI. USA
GitHub: NathanSalapat
IRC: NathanS21
In-game: NathanS21

Re: [Mod] Advanced Trains [advtrains] [WIP]

by Nathan.S » Wed Jun 01, 2016 21:33

I wouldn't know who to ask, but maybe I'll make a post in the feature request part of the forum.

I only added the animation to the model, it was created by orwell.
I record Minetest videos, Mod reviews, Modding tutorials, and Lets plays.
Check out my website.
 

User avatar
TumeniNodes
Member
 
Posts: 830
Joined: Fri Feb 26, 2016 19:49
Location: USA (United Sates of Annoying People)
GitHub: TumeniNodes

Re: [Mod] Advanced Trains [advtrains] [WIP]

by TumeniNodes » Wed Jun 01, 2016 21:40

celeron55 would prob be the best person to pm regarding it. I think adding .blend and .obj would be very useful and justified (if they are options)

adding animation is no little feat... I'm sure orwell will agree
What is German Sausage called in Germany? Herr Sausage... o_0 Budum Boom.
 

User avatar
DS-minetest
Member
 
Posts: 588
Joined: Thu Jun 19, 2014 19:49
Location: in front of my pc (which is at home)
GitHub: DS-Minetest
In-game: DS

Re: [Mod] Advanced Trains [advtrains] [WIP]

by DS-minetest » Thu Jun 02, 2016 17:29

maybe make mesh for rails, for more information, maybe ask wikipedia (de)
at now the 45° rail is wider than the normal

and i still dont like these cylinders in the trains, minetest is a cubic game
Do not call me -minetest.
Call me DS or DS-minetest.
I am German, so you don't have to pm me English if you are also German.
The background is a lie.
 

Next

Return to Mod Releases

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Majestic-12 [Bot], rubenwardy, Yahoo [Bot] and 4 guests