[Mod] Advanced Trains [advtrains] [2.1.1]

User avatar
techniX
Member
 
Posts: 18
Joined: Sun Dec 08, 2019 20:55
GitHub: technix
In-game: techniX

Re: [Mod] Advanced Trains [advtrains] [2.1.1]

by techniX » Wed Jan 08, 2020 12:21

I have faced the same issue a few times. It looks like advtrains remember position of rails that were above the slope previously - in some cases I can even drive the train on these non-existent-anymore rails, so it hangs in air above the new rails.

The workaround I've found is to build any blocks above the slope(s), then remove them - see screenshot with example. After this 'fix' the slope starts to function properly.
Attachments
screenshot_20191214_161410.png
(468.19 KiB) Not downloaded yet
 

User avatar
Imk
Member
 
Posts: 337
Joined: Mon Nov 05, 2018 19:15
Location: Crimea, Russia
In-game: Imk

Re: [Mod] Advanced Trains [advtrains] [2.1.1]

by Imk » Wed Jan 15, 2020 12:53

installed advtrains-h137-rc1 heads stick out again

mt5-fixes they don't have these haciendas?
 

User avatar
orwell
Member
 
Posts: 811
Joined: Wed Jun 24, 2015 18:45
Location: Raxacoricofallapatorius
GitHub: orwell96
IRC: orwell96_mt
In-game: orwell

Re: [Mod] Advanced Trains [advtrains] [2.1.1]

by orwell » Wed Jan 15, 2020 13:45

The h137 tag is a testing version of a bugfix/code rewrite ywang did. It's not the version you're supposed to install. please install the master branch.

Besides,tagging releases is a thing that I should start to do...
Lua is great!
List of my mods
I like singing. I like dancing. I like ... niyummm...
 

User avatar
rubberduck
Member
 
Posts: 499
Joined: Thu Feb 27, 2014 19:19
Location: error 404 - location not found
IRC: rbduck
In-game: rubberduck

Re: [Mod] Advanced Trains [advtrains] [2.1.1]

by rubberduck » Thu Jan 16, 2020 22:48

I started working on a mod that adds more trains, all consistent in one style too.
Image
Image

The mese wagon was just a test, but it is a cool idea - also textures of the train are not final yet, more a test for now...
Attachments
train_02.png
(279.67 KiB) Not downloaded yet
train_01.png
(484.46 KiB) Not downloaded yet
My game (not minetest): http://forum.freegamedev.net/viewtopic.php?f=22&t=6800

my mods: gold_and_gem, meseconductors

a penguin throws an apple through a window

sometimes i change my "forum location" via user control panel
 

User avatar
rubberduck
Member
 
Posts: 499
Joined: Thu Feb 27, 2014 19:19
Location: error 404 - location not found
IRC: rbduck
In-game: rubberduck

Re: [Mod] Advanced Trains [advtrains] [2.1.1]

by rubberduck » Wed Jan 22, 2020 21:56

i reworked the train again, based on this one found here:
Image
Also: What is the exact licensing of this file? I guess CC-BY
Attachments
steam_train_blend.zip
(401.88 KiB) Downloaded 6 times
steam_train.jpg
(236.86 KiB) Not downloaded yet
My game (not minetest): http://forum.freegamedev.net/viewtopic.php?f=22&t=6800

my mods: gold_and_gem, meseconductors

a penguin throws an apple through a window

sometimes i change my "forum location" via user control panel
 

User avatar
orwell
Member
 
Posts: 811
Joined: Wed Jun 24, 2015 18:45
Location: Raxacoricofallapatorius
GitHub: orwell96
IRC: orwell96_mt
In-game: orwell

Re: [Mod] Advanced Trains [advtrains] [2.1.1]

by orwell » Thu Jan 23, 2020 08:23

CC-BY-SA

Looks really good so far! Keep up the good work!
Lua is great!
List of my mods
I like singing. I like dancing. I like ... niyummm...
 

User avatar
rubberduck
Member
 
Posts: 499
Joined: Thu Feb 27, 2014 19:19
Location: error 404 - location not found
IRC: rbduck
In-game: rubberduck

Re: [Mod] Advanced Trains [advtrains] [2.1.1]

by rubberduck » Thu Jan 23, 2020 21:36

i made a new tender model (i tried the one found here, but modeling from scratch was easier for me).
Image
Attachments
tender_wip.jpg
(64.66 KiB) Not downloaded yet
My game (not minetest): http://forum.freegamedev.net/viewtopic.php?f=22&t=6800

my mods: gold_and_gem, meseconductors

a penguin throws an apple through a window

sometimes i change my "forum location" via user control panel
 

User avatar
mbb
Member
 
Posts: 252
Joined: Sat Jan 17, 2015 17:47
Location: in front of my pc
GitHub: mbblp
IRC: mBb
In-game: MBB

Re: [Mod] Advanced Trains [advtrains] [2.1.1]

by mbb » Sat Jan 25, 2020 13:37

rubberduck wrote:i made a new tender model (i tried the one found here, but modeling from scratch was easier for me).
Image


you are doing great man :D
If you want to contact me please send me a twitter pm https://twitter.com/mbbdev
 

User avatar
rubberduck
Member
 
Posts: 499
Joined: Thu Feb 27, 2014 19:19
Location: error 404 - location not found
IRC: rbduck
In-game: rubberduck

Re: [Mod] Advanced Trains [advtrains] [2.1.1]

by rubberduck » Mon Jan 27, 2020 19:19

i published a first version of my mod / modpack... It is really a modpack with only one mod now... more is coming!!!
https://notabug.org/rbduck/minetest-moretrains

It is also animated now, has steam / smoke vfx and plays the steam sound

Image

I have planned to improve these wagons seen here next, when I have enough time again...
Image

and then a bug spawning these particles, they are just not always there where they should be - depending on their direction
Image
Attachments
particle_bug.jpg
(431.52 KiB) Not downloaded yet
train_with_tender_3.jpg
(416.65 KiB) Not downloaded yet
train_with_tender_2.jpg
(223.44 KiB) Not downloaded yet
My game (not minetest): http://forum.freegamedev.net/viewtopic.php?f=22&t=6800

my mods: gold_and_gem, meseconductors

a penguin throws an apple through a window

sometimes i change my "forum location" via user control panel
 

User avatar
gpcf
Member
 
Posts: 348
Joined: Fri May 27, 2016 10:48
In-game: gabriel

Re: [Mod] Advanced Trains [advtrains] [2.1.1]

by gpcf » Mon Jan 27, 2020 20:09

Looks good! I'm really looking forward to the freight cars!
 

User avatar
Imk
Member
 
Posts: 337
Joined: Mon Nov 05, 2018 19:15
Location: Crimea, Russia
In-game: Imk
 

User avatar
h-v-smacker
Member
 
Posts: 110
Joined: Wed Nov 29, 2017 23:04
GitHub: h-v-smacker
In-game: Smacker

Re: [Mod] Advanced Trains [advtrains] [2.1.1]

by h-v-smacker » Wed Jan 29, 2020 13:18

Imk wrote:https://youtu.be/_h-psUEjntA

steam locomotive jump to another line
if there is a coupling wagon
line remains busy


It's not because of a coupled wagon. It's because it goes through a switch that is not set straight. It's technically possible, but leads to costly switch damage in real life. Advtrains lets the train through, but re-positions the wagons to match the direction they were supposed to come from given the switch's state, since they are not expected to come from any other direction. If you don't want the wagons to jump like that, all switches along the route must be set properly to curve or straight positions.

Это не из-за вагона. Это оттого, что поезд проезжает стрелку, которая не установлена прямо (взрезает стрелку, если по-нашему). В реале поезд, который так проедет стрелку, ребордой колеса отожмёт концевик рельса и погнет штангу, которая приводит в действие этот самый концевик у стрелки, и тогда машинист поезда попадёт очёнь капитально, потому что это выход стрелки из строя. Advtrains же пропускает поезд, но поворачивает вагоны так, чтобы их ориентация совпала с направлением стрелки (т.к. ожидается, что только оттуда они и могут приехать). Чтобы этого не случалось, надо все стрелки ставить как надо (прямо/вбок), и не давать поезду взрезать их.

Image
Attachments
2020-01-29-161327_1155x648_scrot.png
(612.26 KiB) Not downloaded yet
Last edited by h-v-smacker on Thu Jan 30, 2020 14:53, edited 1 time in total.
Linux Forks, the Best Forks: linux-forks.de // Play @ LinuxWorks Next Generation
 

User avatar
Blockhead
Member
 
Posts: 18
Joined: Wed Jul 17, 2019 10:14
Location: Land Down Under
GitHub: Montandalar
In-game: Blockhead

Re: [Mod] Advanced Trains [advtrains] [2.1.1]

by Blockhead » Thu Jan 30, 2020 04:56

Imk wrote:https://youtu.be/_h-psUEjntA

steam locomotive jump to another line
if there is a coupling wagon
line remains busy


Smacker is correct, you must set the track switch straight in the route. Also, make sure have a signal for that move; it look like your trains run on the right hand side but this steam train is coming from the left?

The reason the section remains occupied is another bug, but it should go away when you fix the switch in the route.

The relevant bug report is at http://bugs.linux-forks.de/advtrains/77.html.
 

User avatar
Imk
Member
 
Posts: 337
Joined: Mon Nov 05, 2018 19:15
Location: Crimea, Russia
In-game: Imk

Re: [Mod] Advanced Trains [advtrains] [2.1.1]

by Imk » Thu Jan 30, 2020 07:12

h-v-smacker, получилось спасибо. Ролик переменную другим в науку. Что самое интересное локомотив без вагонов нормально проходил и даже не подумал, что это концевик не загнут.
Сейчас пересмотрел все маршруты учитывая это.

h-v-smacker, thank you so much.
 

User avatar
orwell
Member
 
Posts: 811
Joined: Wed Jun 24, 2015 18:45
Location: Raxacoricofallapatorius
GitHub: orwell96
IRC: orwell96_mt
In-game: orwell

Re: [Mod] Advanced Trains [advtrains] [2.1.1]

by orwell » Thu Jan 30, 2020 13:07

Hi everyone,

I'm thinking about simplifying the format of signal aspect tables, since they are fairly redundant right now. The issue has been brought up here: http://bugs.linux-forks.de/advtrains/132.html.

I have implemented the change at http://git.bananach.space/advtrains.git/log/?h=signal_aspect. Meanwhile, it fixes and improves the signal aspect selection dialog.

Now my question: Is anyone of you using get_aspect() in LuaATC actively, and would changing the table format be a major issue? If you're only using 'aspect.main.free', you just need to replace it by 'aspect.main~=0'
Lua is great!
List of my mods
I like singing. I like dancing. I like ... niyummm...
 

User avatar
rubberduck
Member
 
Posts: 499
Joined: Thu Feb 27, 2014 19:19
Location: error 404 - location not found
IRC: rbduck
In-game: rubberduck

Re: [Mod] Advanced Trains [advtrains] [2.1.1]

by rubberduck » Fri Jan 31, 2020 20:09

new wagons in progress...
Image
Attachments
new_wagons_wip.jpg
(86.81 KiB) Not downloaded yet
My game (not minetest): http://forum.freegamedev.net/viewtopic.php?f=22&t=6800

my mods: gold_and_gem, meseconductors

a penguin throws an apple through a window

sometimes i change my "forum location" via user control panel
 

User avatar
Imk
Member
 
Posts: 337
Joined: Mon Nov 05, 2018 19:15
Location: Crimea, Russia
In-game: Imk

Re: [Mod] Advanced Trains [advtrains] [2.1.1]

by Imk » Sun Feb 02, 2020 12:20

Rotary triangle
Image
Attachments
[minetest 5.2.0] Поворотный треугольник.jpg
(83.8 KiB) Not downloaded yet
Last edited by Imk on Sat Feb 29, 2020 21:53, edited 1 time in total.
 

srinivas
Member
 
Posts: 18
Joined: Sun May 19, 2019 06:16
Location: Hyderabad India

Re: [Mod] Advanced Trains [advtrains] [2.1.1]

by srinivas » Sat Feb 08, 2020 17:23

How do the loading and unloading tracks work? I was unable to understand how to use it.
Thanks in advance
 

yw05
Member
 
Posts: 118
Joined: Tue May 07, 2019 12:59
IRC: yw05
In-game: ywang

Re: [Mod] Advanced Trains [advtrains] [2.1.1]

by yw05 » Tue Feb 11, 2020 17:25

orwell wrote:I'm thinking about simplifying the format of signal aspect tables, since they are fairly redundant right now. The issue has been brought up here: http://bugs.linux-forks.de/advtrains/132.html.

I think I had a fork which simplified the format of signal aspects, but I probably deleted it :(
Also, I apologize for being impolite on the bugtracker.

orwell"I have implemented the change at http://git.bananach.space/advtrains.git/log/?h=signal_aspect. Meanwhile, it fixes and improves the signal aspect selection dialog.[/quote]
I remember my fork had the format <main><HFS><shunt> and dropped out the DST field.

[quote="orwell wrote:
Now my question: Is anyone of you using get_aspect() in LuaATC actively, and would changing the table format be a major issue? If you're only using 'aspect.main.free', you just need to replace it by 'aspect.main~=0'

Write a get_aspect_v2 function that returns the table in the new format and have the get_aspect function point to get_aspect_v1 returning the table in the old format.
Change the get_aspect() function and add an additional argument to check for the format of the table. A number indicating the "version" should be enough.
 

User avatar
rubberduck
Member
 
Posts: 499
Joined: Thu Feb 27, 2014 19:19
Location: error 404 - location not found
IRC: rbduck
In-game: rubberduck

Re: [Mod] Advanced Trains [advtrains] [2.1.1]

by rubberduck » Tue Feb 11, 2020 21:06

I just finished my wood and tank wagons...
Image
My game (not minetest): http://forum.freegamedev.net/viewtopic.php?f=22&t=6800

my mods: gold_and_gem, meseconductors

a penguin throws an apple through a window

sometimes i change my "forum location" via user control panel
 

User avatar
h-v-smacker
Member
 
Posts: 110
Joined: Wed Nov 29, 2017 23:04
GitHub: h-v-smacker
In-game: Smacker

Re: [Mod] Advanced Trains [advtrains] [2.1.1]

by h-v-smacker » Wed Feb 12, 2020 06:35

srinivas wrote:How do the loading and unloading tracks work? I was unable to understand how to use it.
Thanks in advance


You put them above chests. When the train slowly moves by, the contents of its freight cars are moved into chests under unloading tracks, while the stuff in the chests under loading trucks is moved to the train.
Linux Forks, the Best Forks: linux-forks.de // Play @ LinuxWorks Next Generation
 

srinivas
Member
 
Posts: 18
Joined: Sun May 19, 2019 06:16
Location: Hyderabad India
 

User avatar
smartduck
New member
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Feb 29, 2020 23:15
In-game: smartduck

Re: [Mod] Advanced Trains [advtrains] [2.1.1]

by smartduck » Sat Feb 29, 2020 23:25

Thank you orwell for this great mod!
Having hours of fun building my first tracks :)
Don't know if it's all ready planned; would be nice if the train follows the angle of the slope.
 

User avatar
gpcf
Member
 
Posts: 348
Joined: Fri May 27, 2016 10:48
In-game: gabriel

Re: [Mod] Advanced Trains [advtrains] [2.1.1]

by gpcf » Sun Mar 01, 2020 02:38

trains following slopes is available in minetest 5.x
 

User avatar
smartduck
New member
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Feb 29, 2020 23:15
In-game: smartduck

Re: [Mod] Advanced Trains [advtrains] [2.1.1]

by smartduck » Sun Mar 01, 2020 12:18

Thank you gpcf. I'm running antiX 19 based on debian "stable", only 0.4.17 is in the repository. So I have to install 5.1.1 manual and test if it runs without conflicts.
 

PreviousNext

Return to Mod Releases



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: StarNinjas and 9 guests