[Mod] Advanced Trains [advtrains] [2.2.1]

User avatar
Blockhead
Member
Posts: 59
Joined: Wed Jul 17, 2019 10:14
GitHub: Montandalar
In-game: Blockhead
Location: Land Down Under

LOOP

by Blockhead » Post

I have achieved LOOP
Attachments
Trainloop.gif
(526.5 KiB) Not downloaded yet

Maverick2797
Member
Posts: 23
Joined: Sun Aug 05, 2018 12:37
In-game: Maverick2797
Location: File location.geo not found

Re: LOOP

by Maverick2797 » Post

Blockhead wrote:
Sat Nov 28, 2020 10:45
I have achieved LOOP
Ugh nooooo. Trains aren't supposed to do that! Head hurts just watching

User avatar
T6C
Member
Posts: 66
Joined: Thu May 07, 2020 17:11
In-game: T6C

Re: LOOP

by T6C » Post

Blockhead wrote:
Sat Nov 28, 2020 10:45
I have achieved LOOP
LMAO!!! X,D You need to colour that train black, and put a demon in the locomotive, because that would be a trip straight into Dante's Inferno!

User avatar
Blockhead
Member
Posts: 59
Joined: Wed Jul 17, 2019 10:14
GitHub: Montandalar
In-game: Blockhead
Location: Land Down Under

Re: [Mod] Advanced Trains [advtrains] [2.1.4]

by Blockhead » Post

Maverick2797 wrote:
Mon Nov 23, 2020 11:29
Adding here as the bugtracker seems to have ignored my opening the issue:
The 90+60R diamond crossing is not train-traversable in the diagonal direction (cardinal direction ok though). TCB interlocking seems to be able to traverse it ok, as does route setting... Doesn't seem to affect the 90+60L crossing
Well spotted, that one was the odd one out of the bunch with wrong connections.

@gpcf I tried to submit the patch to the mailing list but it doesn't seem to be accepting any of my recent emails (one patch I sent to atm didn't arrive, nor did this one), so here is the patch (email header redacted to not feed spambots):

Code: Select all

---
 advtrains/tracks.lua | 2 +-
 1 file changed, 1 insertion(+), 1 deletion(-)

diff --git a/advtrains/tracks.lua b/advtrains/tracks.lua
index 60969df..7037244 100644
--- a/advtrains/tracks.lua
+++ b/advtrains/tracks.lua
@@ -307,7 +307,7 @@ advtrains.ap.t_90plusx_crossing={
            trackworker = "60r",
        },
        ["60r"]={
-           conns = { {c=0}, {c=8}, {c=7}, {c=15} },
+           conns = { {c=0}, {c=8}, {c=5}, {c=13} },
            desc = "60/90 degree crossing (right)",
            tpdouble = true,
            tpsingle = true,
--
2.29.1.windows.1

hlqkj
Member
Posts: 19
Joined: Wed Dec 11, 2019 20:10
GitHub: hlqkj
IRC: hlqkj
In-game: hlqkj

Re: LOOP

by hlqkj » Post

Blockhead wrote:
Sat Nov 28, 2020 10:45
I have achieved LOOP
Just L-O-L !
Quando omni flunkus, moritati.

User avatar
orwell
Member
Posts: 859
Joined: Wed Jun 24, 2015 18:45
GitHub: orwell96
IRC: orwell96_mt
In-game: orwell
Location: Raxacoricofallapatorius

Re: [Mod] Advanced Trains [advtrains] [2.1.4]

by orwell » Post

Blockhead wrote:
Sun Nov 29, 2020 01:57
@gpcf I tried to submit the patch to the mailing list but it doesn't seem to be accepting any of my recent emails (one patch I sent to atm didn't arrive, nor did this one), so here is the patch (email header redacted to not feed spambots):
Applied.

I raise by LOOP 2.0:
Image
Attachments
screenshot_20201203_085907.png
(743.26 KiB) Not downloaded yet
Lua is great!
List of my mods
I like singing. I like dancing. I like ... niyummm...

W3RQ01
Member
Posts: 13
Joined: Sat Nov 28, 2020 06:33

Re: [Mod] Advanced Trains [advtrains] [2.1.4]

by W3RQ01 » Post

orwell wrote:
Thu Dec 03, 2020 08:02
Blockhead wrote:
Sun Nov 29, 2020 01:57
@gpcf I tried to submit the patch to the mailing list but it doesn't seem to be accepting any of my recent emails (one patch I sent to atm didn't arrive, nor did this one), so here is the patch (email header redacted to not feed spambots):
Applied.

I raise by LOOP 2.0:
Image
you're OP 2.0

W3RQ01
Member
Posts: 13
Joined: Sat Nov 28, 2020 06:33

Re: [Mod] Advanced Trains [advtrains] [2.1.4]

by W3RQ01 » Post

Guys, i watch the init.lua of this mod and i did a change of the maximum speed of trains, now are more realistic.
I never changed a .lua file but it works!

W3RQ01
Member
Posts: 13
Joined: Sat Nov 28, 2020 06:33

Re: [Mod] Advanced Trains [advtrains] [2.1.4]

by W3RQ01 » Post

And maybe we should change the link of the download because it takes to github, not to git.bananach.space

Maverick2797
Member
Posts: 23
Joined: Sun Aug 05, 2018 12:37
In-game: Maverick2797
Location: File location.geo not found

Re: [Mod] Advanced Trains [advtrains] [2.1.4]

by Maverick2797 » Post

W3RQ01 wrote:
Thu Dec 03, 2020 08:32
And maybe we should change the link of the download because it takes to github, not to git.bananach.space
Which link are you refering to? The advtrains download refers to ContentDB and the source git has been moved to bananach.space for a while now.

W3RQ01
Member
Posts: 13
Joined: Sat Nov 28, 2020 06:33

Re: [Mod] Advanced Trains [advtrains] [2.1.4]

by W3RQ01 » Post

Maverick2797 wrote:
Fri Dec 04, 2020 03:54
W3RQ01 wrote:
Thu Dec 03, 2020 08:32
And maybe we should change the link of the download because it takes to github, not to git.bananach.space
Which link are you refering to? The advtrains download refers to ContentDB and the source git has been moved to bananach.space for a while now.
where is write "Download"

Maverick2797
Member
Posts: 23
Joined: Sun Aug 05, 2018 12:37
In-game: Maverick2797
Location: File location.geo not found

Re: [Mod] Advanced Trains [advtrains] [2.1.4]

by Maverick2797 » Post

From the first post:
orwell wrote:
Sun May 22, 2016 20:58
Download / Git
Content Database:
https://content.minetest.net/packages/orwell/advtrains/
Git repository:
http://git.bananach.space/advtrains.git/
Issue tracker:
https://bugs.linux-forks.de/advtrains/
The Content Database is where you should download from if you don't use git. Git allows you to stay on the bleeding edge of the development (including new bugs features.)

Maverick2797
Member
Posts: 23
Joined: Sun Aug 05, 2018 12:37
In-game: Maverick2797
Location: File location.geo not found

Re: [Mod] Advanced Trains [advtrains] [2.1.4]

by Maverick2797 » Post

orwell wrote:
Thu Dec 03, 2020 08:02
Blockhead wrote:
Sun Nov 29, 2020 01:57
@gpcf I tried to submit the patch to the mailing list but it doesn't seem to be accepting any of my recent emails (one patch I sent to atm didn't arrive, nor did this one), so here is the patch (email header redacted to not feed spambots):
Applied.
The patch wasn't applied correctly:

Code: Select all

diff --git a/advtrains/tracks.lua b/advtrains/tracks.lua
index 60969df..13623a5 100644
--- a/advtrains/tracks.lua
+++ b/advtrains/tracks.lua
@@ -307,7 +307,7 @@ advtrains.ap.t_90plusx_crossing={
                        trackworker = "60r",
                },
                ["60r"]={
-                       conns = { {c=0}, {c=8}, {c=7}, {c=15} },
+                       conns = { {c=0}, {c=8}, {c=7}, {c=13} },
                        desc = "60/90 degree crossing (right)",
                        tpdouble = true,
                        tpsingle = true,
{c=7} was {c=5} in the original patch:

Code: Select all

 advtrains/tracks.lua | 2 +-
 1 file changed, 1 insertion(+), 1 deletion(-)

diff --git a/advtrains/tracks.lua b/advtrains/tracks.lua
index 60969df..7037244 100644
--- a/advtrains/tracks.lua
+++ b/advtrains/tracks.lua
@@ -307,7 +307,7 @@ advtrains.ap.t_90plusx_crossing={
            trackworker = "60r",
        },
        ["60r"]={
-           conns = { {c=0}, {c=8}, {c=7}, {c=15} },
+           conns = { {c=0}, {c=8}, {c=5}, {c=13} },
            desc = "60/90 degree crossing (right)",
            tpdouble = true,
            tpsingle = true,

hlqkj
Member
Posts: 19
Joined: Wed Dec 11, 2019 20:10
GitHub: hlqkj
IRC: hlqkj
In-game: hlqkj

Re: [Mod] Advanced Trains [advtrains] [2.1.4]

by hlqkj » Post

Has anyone else had issues with the 'Clear S' button in the env_setup formspec? Seems not working to me.

I had a look here and seems to me that button it is not even handled, but could be it is done somewhere else idk...
Quando omni flunkus, moritati.

User avatar
orwell
Member
Posts: 859
Joined: Wed Jun 24, 2015 18:45
GitHub: orwell96
IRC: orwell96_mt
In-game: orwell
Location: Raxacoricofallapatorius

Re: [Mod] Advanced Trains [advtrains] [2.1.4]

by orwell » Post

hlqkj wrote:
Sun Dec 06, 2020 15:51
Has anyone else had issues with the 'Clear S' button in the env_setup formspec? Seems not working to me.

I had a look here and seems to me that button it is not even handled, but could be it is done somewhere else idk...
No, well spotted. I must have forgotten to implement this :/ Adding to bugtracker.
Lua is great!
List of my mods
I like singing. I like dancing. I like ... niyummm...

doxygen_spammer
Member
Posts: 18
Joined: Wed Dec 16, 2020 16:52

Re: [Mod] Advanced Trains [advtrains] [2.1.4]

by doxygen_spammer » Post

Hi!

Is there a way to make train models look more 3D? Currently, all faces are drawn in the same brightness. Here an image with shaders disabled, but it looks similar when I enable Shaders -> Generate Normal Maps or other settings:

Image

The train model looks uniformly illuminated, while the sand nodes in the background are significantly lighter at the top, and thus look more 3D. I want it like this: (edited with GIMP)

Image

Seriously: doesn’t it look much more friendly?

Minetest is in general able to do this, as can be seen on entities with the "wielditem" visual, instead of "mesh". Unfortunately, simply typing "wielditem" does not work entirely:

Image

At least it doesn’t rotate all the time, like dropped items. :D
Attachments
manual_lightning.png
(401.38 KiB) Not downloaded yet
wielditem.png
(254.14 KiB) Not downloaded yet
shaders_disabled.png
(380.31 KiB) Not downloaded yet

doxygen_spammer
Member
Posts: 18
Joined: Wed Dec 16, 2020 16:52

Re: [Mod] Advanced Trains [advtrains] [2.1.4]

by doxygen_spammer » Post

I tried to get the UV map for the mentioned train model, the “industrial engine.” I opened https://git.bananach.space/advtrains.gi ... _loc.blend with Blender v2.82, and opened the UV Editor. When I select the whole model, I get this:

Image

This is obviously not the correct UV map.

Either, this is an UV map that was stored in the .blend, and there have been changes since the release in which the texture was created. Or, the UV map was created on-the-fly by my Blender.

How do I get the correct UV map?
Attachments
Screenshot_20201228_001109.png
(697.94 KiB) Not downloaded yet

User avatar
orwell
Member
Posts: 859
Joined: Wed Jun 24, 2015 18:45
GitHub: orwell96
IRC: orwell96_mt
In-game: orwell
Location: Raxacoricofallapatorius

Re: [Mod] Advanced Trains [advtrains] [2.1.4]

by orwell » Post

The MT engine does not support shaders on mesh entities yet, sadly. Mainly because since the passing of RealBadAngel there is no graphics guy on the core dev team anymore.

The stuff in "assets" is pretty messy in some places, and I haven't touched these files since 2017. Possibly the model used in the game does not mirror the blend file.
I'm sorry, but it is probably quicker to re-do the UV map.
Or you can try to import the game model back into Blender.
Lua is great!
List of my mods
I like singing. I like dancing. I like ... niyummm...

User avatar
Blockhead
Member
Posts: 59
Joined: Wed Jul 17, 2019 10:14
GitHub: Montandalar
In-game: Blockhead
Location: Land Down Under

Re-export for good results

by Blockhead » Post

doxygen_spammer wrote:
Sun Dec 27, 2020 23:17
How do I get the correct UV map?
You're right, the UV map has changed since the file assets/blender/industrial/industry_loc.blend was last changed. Thankfully, blender 2.8+ has the ability to import b3d files directly. By importing advtrains_train_industrial/models/advtrains_engine_industrial.b3d, I was able to get the right UV map and even better, re-exporting again back to b3d gave much sharper edges, visible when shaders are enabled:

Image

If you want to further work on the model and/or texture please do so and overwrite the .blend file we currently have in assets and submit that, art contributions to minetest mods are very welcome. BTW I used the same approach of re-importing a B3D when reworking the linetrack boat model. This re-export is a bit roguh mind, you will probably want to shade some edges smooth though like the top of the cab roof.
orwell wrote:
Mon Dec 28, 2020 09:50
The MT engine does not support shaders on mesh entities yet, sadly
This is wrong, since 5.2.0 if you have shaders ticked enabled on the main menu, you do get shading. The difference on the subway wagon is night and day! Take a look at the two screenshots on this page on the LinuxForks Server wiki.
Attachments
advtrains_engine_industrial_reexport.jpeg
(914.82 KiB) Not downloaded yet

doxygen_spammer
Member
Posts: 18
Joined: Wed Dec 16, 2020 16:52

Re: [Mod] Advanced Trains [advtrains] [2.1.4]

by doxygen_spammer » Post

Very interesting...

I have 5.3.0 (from snap) and 5.4.0-dev (from git master) here. When I enable shading in 5.3.0, nothing happens, no matter which of the 3 or 4 shading checkboxes. When I enable shading in 5.4.0, I get vertex shading, like in the linux-forks screenshot you mentioned.

Meanwhile, I have simplified the mesh in the .blend, so I could export a new UV map. Now I am drawing some new textures on the new map. I gave it a door and some vents so far... ...but currently I am spending my time on another project.

I also exported a map with baked ambient occlusion. This map could be used as alternative to in-game shaders.

But if I figure out how to check the correct checkbox, that would also be a step forward. :)

Do you know whether your re-imported mesh is “exploded”, with cut edges? Then, vertex shading should work like face shading.

User avatar
orwell
Member
Posts: 859
Joined: Wed Jun 24, 2015 18:45
GitHub: orwell96
IRC: orwell96_mt
In-game: orwell
Location: Raxacoricofallapatorius

Re: [Mod] Advanced Trains [advtrains] [2.1.4]

by orwell » Post

doxygen_spammer wrote:
Sun Jan 03, 2021 19:24
Very interesting...
Good to hear that the entity shading has been improved in the engine. I wasn't aware of this.
I appreciate any contribution to advtrains, especially as I'm not really into arts. I hope one day we can reach the graphics level of Minecra* train mods. Thank you!
Lua is great!
List of my mods
I like singing. I like dancing. I like ... niyummm...

doxygen_spammer
Member
Posts: 18
Joined: Wed Dec 16, 2020 16:52

Re: [Mod] Advanced Trains [advtrains] [2.1.4]

by doxygen_spammer » Post

I continued with the industrial engine textures, and here is what I have now:

Image
Image
Image

And yes, shaders work now. I ticked the “Shaders” checkbox, and unticked all the subcheckboxes. With the old model, shaders didn’t work. I assume, the old .b3d didn’t have correct normals; probably the .b3d export script has improved. And it seems it can also import now. :)

I opened the .blend file from the repository, and simplified the mesh using automatic geometry decimation and some manual work. Before I could export a working .b3d, I had to triangulate the mesh. I placed some seams (in addition to the existing seams), and “unwrap”-ed the mesh, which gave me this UV map:

Image

The screenshot shows baked ambient occlusion, which I generated with the Cycles renderer. I placed three obstacles for the floor and adjacent wagons, to get some shadow. After I learned that shading works fine with the new mesh, I made these obstacles smaller, to leave face shading up to the engine, and highlight only geometric details.

To start painting textures, I assigned some materials to the mesh, and baked diffuse, with both direct and indirect options disabled, so I got a plain material map.

The textures were done in GIMP, and I used different layers for details like vents and lamps, ambient occlusion, and dirt.

Where/how should I submit a patch? Basically, I have only some binary data: .blend, .b3d, .xcf, .png; but I also adjusted some attach offsets in the init.lua.
Attachments
Screenshot_20210105_152116.png
(165.68 KiB) Not downloaded yet

User avatar
orwell
Member
Posts: 859
Joined: Wed Jun 24, 2015 18:45
GitHub: orwell96
IRC: orwell96_mt
In-game: orwell
Location: Raxacoricofallapatorius

Re: [Mod] Advanced Trains [advtrains] [2.1.4]

by orwell » Post

doxygen_spammer wrote:
Tue Jan 05, 2021 14:33
Where/how should I submit a patch? Basically, I have only some binary data: .blend, .b3d, .xcf, .png; but I also adjusted some attach offsets in the init.lua.
The simplest would be to send them to my e-mail (orwell at bleipb.de). Please include how I should credit you. I'll try to export model and textures and commit it then.
Lua is great!
List of my mods
I like singing. I like dancing. I like ... niyummm...

hlqkj
Member
Posts: 19
Joined: Wed Dec 11, 2019 20:10
GitHub: hlqkj
IRC: hlqkj
In-game: hlqkj

Re: [Mod] Advanced Trains [advtrains] [2.1.4]

by hlqkj » Post

I can't seem to post something to the advtrains issue tracker: not getting the confirmation e-mail as usual. Is everything up and running, or am I doing something wrong?

Anyways... :)

I just wanted to suggest you to add some styling to the OOP/LUA track/env_setup formspec so that the source editor textarea uses a monospace font, seems it is finally available in the API: https://github.com/minetest/minetest/bl ... .txt#L2882!
Quando omni flunkus, moritati.

User avatar
Blockhead
Member
Posts: 59
Joined: Wed Jul 17, 2019 10:14
GitHub: Montandalar
In-game: Blockhead
Location: Land Down Under

Re: [Mod] Advanced Trains [advtrains] [2.1.4]

by Blockhead » Post

Sorry but the issue tracker has had ongoing issues related to server reliability especially under load and the possibility of spambots send mail to it, it's kinda suckful (gpcf runs that server as well as LinuxForks server and as an active contributor to advtrains code). I'm also fairly sure it doesn't accept mail from outlook/hotmail as they have a terrible spam policy.

As far as I know re-imported meshes are not exploded, anyway this can be easily checked by removing duplicate vertices in edit mode.

gpcf prefers patches to be send by git-format-patch and git send-email the sourcehut mailing list. Hopefully the files aren't too big to send by mail.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 4 guests