[Mod] Advanced Trains [advtrains] [1.8.3]

User avatar
Andrey01
Member
 
Posts: 1495
Joined: Wed Oct 19, 2016 15:18
Location: Russia, Moscow
GitHub: Andrey2470T
In-game: Andrey01

Re: [Mod] Advanced Trains [advtrains] [1.3.0]

by Andrey01 » Sat Dec 10, 2016 15:10

orwell wrote:No, not in inventory, it appears between the two wagons you want to couple. If it's not there, try to move the engine around (a bit forward and then backward until it stops itself because of collision). This may not work with the industrial engine, but however you can couple the japanese engine to it.
Also keep in mind that ATM you can't couple any steam-related wagons/engines to electric or subway trains and the other way round, and subways do not couple to electric trains. I will remove this limitation in a future version, now it is needed for the maximum speed a train can drive.
train types:
steam: steam engine, box wagon, passenger wagon (max 10m/s)
subway: subway (max 15 m/s)
electric: japanese and industrial wagons/engines. (max 20 m/s)
No wagon couples when placed, it may look like this but is not. Better place wagons with >2 nodes space between them and then use an engine to connect them all. It's not that difficult.

Thanks, i will try so to do
I like and i am learning to build nice and great houses, palaces, infrastructures and etc... in Minetest!
My Mods:
Unfinished:Medicine,Cube Nodes.

Old:Sweet Machine,Drink Machine
 

celeron55
Administrator
 
Posts: 436
Joined: Tue Apr 19, 2011 10:10

Re: [Mod] Advanced Trains [advtrains] [1.3.0]

by celeron55 » Sat Dec 10, 2016 21:44

Here's a rather silly video I happened to make about this: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yFn6VX_8VCM

It's basically a timelapse of me trying to use this mod, including all mishaps and entanglements.

Keep up the good work; I can't even imagine how painful it has been to make something even this functional with the current modding API.
 

User avatar
Andrey01
Member
 
Posts: 1495
Joined: Wed Oct 19, 2016 15:18
Location: Russia, Moscow
GitHub: Andrey2470T
In-game: Andrey01

Re: [Mod] Advanced Trains [advtrains] [1.3.0]

by Andrey01 » Sun Dec 11, 2016 15:11

celeron55 wrote:Here's a rather silly video I happened to make about this: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yFn6VX_8VCM

It's basically a timelapse of me trying to use this mod, including all mishaps and entanglements.

Keep up the good work; I can't even imagine how painful it has been to make something even this functional with the current modding API.

Nice video!Now i`ve understood as i must connect all wagons,I will try so to do
I like and i am learning to build nice and great houses, palaces, infrastructures and etc... in Minetest!
My Mods:
Unfinished:Medicine,Cube Nodes.

Old:Sweet Machine,Drink Machine
 

User avatar
orwell
Member
 
Posts: 532
Joined: Wed Jun 24, 2015 18:45
Location: Raxacoricofallapatorius
GitHub: orwell96
In-game: orwell

Re: [Mod] Advanced Trains [advtrains] [1.3.0]

by orwell » Sun Dec 11, 2016 16:06

Comments on the video:
- Thanks for making a video, that's cool.
- The switch did not work because it was adjusted at 'straight' but you came from the side. The train couldn't pass the switch. Right-click on the switch (without holding any tool) to change the switch direction.

Ah the collision detection. It's really hard to write something that detects collisions and that works...
Lua is great!
List of my mods
I like singing. I like dancing. I like ... niyummm...
 

User avatar
krokoschlange
Member
 
Posts: 54
Joined: Sat Jul 02, 2016 08:33
Location: get_author_pos() ~= get_viewer_pos()
GitHub: krokoschlange
In-game: krokoschlange
 

User avatar
DS-minetest
Member
 
Posts: 905
Joined: Thu Jun 19, 2014 19:49
Location: in front of my pc (which is at home)
GitHub: DS-Minetest
In-game: DS

Re: [Mod] Advanced Trains [advtrains] [1.3.0]

by DS-minetest » Sun Dec 11, 2016 18:19

wow, c55s pc is good and what honor, that he replied here and spent so much time playing with the mod
krokoschlange wrote:and btw 7777 views

minetest also had 777 issues today hm
Do not call me -minetest.
Call me DS or DS-minetest.
I am German, so you don't have to pm me English if you are also German.
The background is a lie.
Server owners: Have you tried this yet?
 

User avatar
orwell
Member
 
Posts: 532
Joined: Wed Jun 24, 2015 18:45
Location: Raxacoricofallapatorius
GitHub: orwell96
In-game: orwell

Re: [Mod] Advanced Trains [advtrains] [1.3.1]

by orwell » Tue Dec 13, 2016 18:34

Update
Introduced intelligent slope placing just by using the "Track slope" item this way:
_ = ground level; # = 1 level higher. 2D from above:
_ _ _ #
^ right click with slope here
_ _ #
^ or here
_ _ #
_ _ _
_ _ _
^ or here to place diagonal slope
when facing in the wanted direction.
Lua is great!
List of my mods
I like singing. I like dancing. I like ... niyummm...
 

gpcf
Member
 
Posts: 109
Joined: Fri May 27, 2016 10:48
In-game: gabriel

Re: [Mod] Advanced Trains [advtrains] [1.3.1]

by gpcf » Wed Dec 14, 2016 06:56

Sounds great! I'll have a look at it when I have time. If it doesn't have any major bugs, I'll roll out the new version at my server.
Play on Linuxworks server. We have got lots of trains.
 

User avatar
DS-minetest
Member
 
Posts: 905
Joined: Thu Jun 19, 2014 19:49
Location: in front of my pc (which is at home)
GitHub: DS-Minetest
In-game: DS

Re: [Mod] Advanced Trains [advtrains] [1.3.1]

by DS-minetest » Wed Dec 14, 2016 15:10

nice update
Do not call me -minetest.
Call me DS or DS-minetest.
I am German, so you don't have to pm me English if you are also German.
The background is a lie.
Server owners: Have you tried this yet?
 

User avatar
Andrey01
Member
 
Posts: 1495
Joined: Wed Oct 19, 2016 15:18
Location: Russia, Moscow
GitHub: Andrey2470T
In-game: Andrey01

Re: [Mod] Advanced Trains [advtrains] [1.3.1]

by Andrey01 » Wed Dec 14, 2016 17:33

1.Will come new update with trains?
2.I can`t connect wagons themselves, when i move by Japanese Locomotive it goes between other next wagon and that`s why wagons don`t connect.Maybe is that unfinished yet with trains?
I like and i am learning to build nice and great houses, palaces, infrastructures and etc... in Minetest!
My Mods:
Unfinished:Medicine,Cube Nodes.

Old:Sweet Machine,Drink Machine
 

User avatar
orwell
Member
 
Posts: 532
Joined: Wed Jun 24, 2015 18:45
Location: Raxacoricofallapatorius
GitHub: orwell96
In-game: orwell

Re: [Mod] Advanced Trains [advtrains] [1.3.1]

by orwell » Wed Dec 14, 2016 22:59

It's a bit buggy.
New trains probably after new year
Lua is great!
List of my mods
I like singing. I like dancing. I like ... niyummm...
 

User avatar
Andrey01
Member
 
Posts: 1495
Joined: Wed Oct 19, 2016 15:18
Location: Russia, Moscow
GitHub: Andrey2470T
In-game: Andrey01

Re: [Mod] Advanced Trains [advtrains] [1.3.1]

by Andrey01 » Thu Dec 15, 2016 16:32

How to understand with that error?
I like and i am learning to build nice and great houses, palaces, infrastructures and etc... in Minetest!
My Mods:
Unfinished:Medicine,Cube Nodes.

Old:Sweet Machine,Drink Machine
 

843jdc
Member
 
Posts: 308
Joined: Tue Jan 19, 2016 16:46
Location: USA
GitHub: jdc843
IRC: jdc843
In-game: 843jdc

Advtrains is installed on Cash's World

by 843jdc » Thu Dec 15, 2016 22:02

I've been watching this mod's forum for a while now. I reached a point where I decided to install this mod on my server. My server seems to attract a lot of young kids and I knew that this mod would be an instant hit with them.

I built a switch yard with 5 tracks and 5 trains that serve a simple loop around a city center. When I announced that I had installed this mod and that there were trains waiting for engineers to drive them, I had a 'traffic jam' of trains within an hour. I fully expected that :)

General Observations:
  • Placing track can be tricky at first. Switches are the worst. These tasks get easier with experience. I've had to redo my track layout a few times for the switch yard. That was expected also. IMHO the tracks need more angles. It has 30, 45, and 60 degree turns. That gives 15 degree difference between 30 and 45, and 45 and 60. With a large 30 degree difference between 0 and 30, and 60 and 90. That makes the tracks look odd.
  • I was driving a train and a player 'clicked' me out of the driver's seat and took control of my train! Maybe I should make a gallows to hang train thiefs >:)
  • The view around the area can be obstructed by the train. I use F7 often to solve this.
  • More than one rider per car would be nice.
  • Trains kill players that get hit by a train. Hmm. I don't know about changing this behavior. Leave as is with no bones generated but inventory items dropped. See next list item.
  • Trains come to an instant stop if they hit something. This hasn't been extensively examined. If a train hits a 'brick wall' in real life, yes it's going to stop. Eventually. But running over a player's bones? Nope. The train should keep right on rolling along. Hmm. Can we have a mangled player bones node added? haha.
  • Controls - Not sure how to do this. Kinda good as is. Maybe add a small button to show help text for controls?
  • Train vanishes if track is dug near the train. I need to look it this more closely to find out exactly what is happening.
  • Can't see the train from very far. This may be caused by something outside of this mod
  • Signs - Oh yes we need signs! xD
  • Should engines have "keys to the cab"? IOW, engine is only usable by the player that placed it and by admins. Make this an option.
  • I've jumped off a moving train and died. I also sometimes didn't take any damage. Jumping off a moving train should cause automatic damage based on train speed. hmm. Same if fly is enabled?
  • Head light for engines

A few comments from the viewpoint of trying to make this mod 'kid-friendly':
  • Trains need whistles! I'm an adult and I want to blow the whistle also xD
  • For various reasons, players often abandon their trains while they are moving. If trains can pass through one another, this won't be too much of a problem. But if not, then having the ability for trains to 'auto-drive' to a certain point or type of block would be very desirable to prevent train-jams.

Steam puffs from the steam engine is a nice effect. Love it.
I am installing mesecons mod soon. I hope to get some automatic switching happening.
This mod is *lots* of fun! Over time it will only get better.
 

User avatar
TumeniNodes
Member
 
Posts: 2023
Joined: Fri Feb 26, 2016 19:49
Location: in the dark recesses of the mind
GitHub: TumeniNodes
IRC: tumeninodes

Re: [Mod] Advanced Trains [advtrains] [1.3.1]

by TumeniNodes » Sat Dec 17, 2016 21:39

This is really coming along nicely.... great work!
"You can't petition the Lord..., with prayer!"

Toshiba Satellite C55 / Linux Mint 18.1 Cinnamon 3.2.7 64-bit / Kernel 4.4.0-53-generic
AMD A8-6410 APU with AMD Radeon R5 Graphics x 4 / 4 GB ram / Minetest 0.4.16 (stable)
 

hajo
Member
 
Posts: 314
Joined: Thu Oct 13, 2016 10:45
Location: DE

Re: Advtrains is installed on Cash's World

by hajo » Sun Dec 18, 2016 10:41

843jdc wrote:[*]Placing track can be tricky at first. Switches are the worst.

Maybe include some schematics for some common rail-constructs ?
(To be used with handle_schematics / worldedit)

[*]players often abandon their trains while they are moving. ..
having the ability for trains to 'auto-drive' to a certain point or type of block

Stop-signals at every station ?
Every 30s a check to see if a driver is onboard, otherwise emergency-brake ?
Some of 'my' wiki-pages: Build-a-home - basic-robot - basic-machines - digtron - xdecor
 

User avatar
DS-minetest
Member
 
Posts: 905
Joined: Thu Jun 19, 2014 19:49
Location: in front of my pc (which is at home)
GitHub: DS-Minetest
In-game: DS

Re: Advtrains is installed on Cash's World

by DS-minetest » Sun Dec 18, 2016 11:25

hajo wrote:Every 30s a check to see if a driver is onboard, otherwise emergency-brake ?

let the driver press a button like in real life...
emergency brakes would be needed some time
Do not call me -minetest.
Call me DS or DS-minetest.
I am German, so you don't have to pm me English if you are also German.
The background is a lie.
Server owners: Have you tried this yet?
 

hajo
Member
 
Posts: 314
Joined: Thu Oct 13, 2016 10:45
Location: DE

Re: Advtrains is installed on Cash's World

by hajo » Sun Dec 18, 2016 13:02

DS-minetest wrote:
hajo wrote:Every 30s a check to see if a driver is onboard, otherwise emergency-brake ?

let the driver press a button like in real life...

That would be too distracting for a game (as opposed to a sim).
Some of 'my' wiki-pages: Build-a-home - basic-robot - basic-machines - digtron - xdecor
 

ShadMOrdre
Member
 
Posts: 60
Joined: Mon Dec 29, 2014 08:07
Location: USA
In-game: shadmordre

Re: [Mod] Advanced Trains [advtrains] [1.3.1]

by ShadMOrdre » Mon Dec 19, 2016 22:03

orwell,

I wouldn't call myself a 3D or graphics specialist, but I might be able to make some additional models and textures, if you are interested.

How difficult would it be to add additional engines and wagons into the code? Could I just copy paste the relevant sections that register the nodes and crafts, and give them different names/models/textures? My thinking here, is that I could add the tanker and lumber car models to the steam engine type trains, using the code for the brown box car. Also, the opposite could occur, where the box car could be added to the diesel engine type trains, using the code for the tanker car. This would add so much flexibility, while, IMHO, requiring little mod of the actual code.

Additional engines/locomotives could be added using the same models, with different textures, of which, I will certainly assist.

I'm certainly willing to help where possible, as this mod is ADDICTING!!! Oh, yeah, and my 5 year old likes it too.

Shad MOrdre
My other virtual world is an Opensimulator.
 

User avatar
orwell
Member
 
Posts: 532
Joined: Wed Jun 24, 2015 18:45
Location: Raxacoricofallapatorius
GitHub: orwell96
In-game: orwell

Re: [Mod] Advanced Trains [advtrains] [1.3.1]

by orwell » Tue Dec 20, 2016 11:15

Yes, it's that simple. I need to document the api.
"Every time a mod api is left undocumented a koala dies."
How many koalas have died becahse of me yet???
Lua is great!
List of my mods
I like singing. I like dancing. I like ... niyummm...
 

ShadMOrdre
Member
 
Posts: 60
Joined: Mon Dec 29, 2014 08:07
Location: USA
In-game: shadmordre

Re: [Mod] Advanced Trains [advtrains] [1.3.1]

by ShadMOrdre » Fri Dec 23, 2016 07:37

orwell,

As promised, here is a zip file that includes a steam engine model, a tender model, and a couple of simple color 64x64 textures. Not sure if the models will actually look correct or measure correct for MT, but this is a first, and a learning experience. All help, pointers, constructive advise, ..... is welcome. Also, I will gladly make any corrections to dimensions and such.

All are my own creations, and are hereby licensed as Public Domain herein forthright and forever, or WTF, whichever is the most FREE.

The models were created in the Opensimulator software, exported to DAE, imported to/exported from Blender as an .obj, changing all the geometries from objects to groups. Material files are included for the models, using the 64x64 textures. Textures were created using The GIMP.

My limited knowledge of Blender stops me here. Can someone convert these into the .b3d format and generate a UV texture map?

Shad MOrdre
Attachments
TRAIN_MODELS.zip
Zip file includes Steam_Engine.obj/.mtl Steam_Tender.obj/.mtl and Black, LtBlue, Green, LtGrey, Grey, DkGrey .png 64x64 textures.
(95 KiB) Downloaded 10 times
My other virtual world is an Opensimulator.
 

User avatar
orwell
Member
 
Posts: 532
Joined: Wed Jun 24, 2015 18:45
Location: Raxacoricofallapatorius
GitHub: orwell96
In-game: orwell

Re: [Mod] Advanced Trains [advtrains] [1.3.1]

by orwell » Fri Dec 23, 2016 20:44

OK, thank you ShadMOrdre and merry christmas all of you.
I will probably have not much time for this over christmas. In the new year I will push a couple of changes, mostly mod-internal, but with some new stuff (and a proper api documentation :) ). Then I will have time to integrate all your contributions.
Lua is great!
List of my mods
I like singing. I like dancing. I like ... niyummm...
 

User avatar
MinisterFarrigut
Member
 
Posts: 75
Joined: Fri Oct 14, 2016 14:59
Location: The ruins of my basement
In-game: singleplayer

Re: [Mod] Advanced Trains [advtrains] [1.3.1]

by MinisterFarrigut » Fri Dec 23, 2016 23:15

Hellooo...I have downloaded your trains mod multiple times. The only thing that comes up is the minecart mod...no actual trains....could I have some help?
I build buildings. I don't usually make mods...I use them.
 

ShadMOrdre
Member
 
Posts: 60
Joined: Mon Dec 29, 2014 08:07
Location: USA
In-game: shadmordre

Re: [Mod] Advanced Trains [advtrains] [1.3.1]

by ShadMOrdre » Sat Dec 24, 2016 00:35

Minister,

What version of Minetest are you using, and on what platform? As long as the mod is enabled for the world, it should just work.

Shad
My other virtual world is an Opensimulator.
 

User avatar
DS-minetest
Member
 
Posts: 905
Joined: Thu Jun 19, 2014 19:49
Location: in front of my pc (which is at home)
GitHub: DS-Minetest
In-game: DS

Re: [Mod] Advanced Trains [advtrains] [1.3.1]

by DS-minetest » Sat Dec 24, 2016 11:33

MinisterFarrigut wrote:Hellooo...I have downloaded your trains mod multiple times. The only thing that comes up is the minecart mod...no actual trains....could I have some help?

did you put the mod into the mods folder?
and did you configure the world and enable the mod?
and did it say anything in chat?
Do not call me -minetest.
Call me DS or DS-minetest.
I am German, so you don't have to pm me English if you are also German.
The background is a lie.
Server owners: Have you tried this yet?
 

User avatar
orwell
Member
 
Posts: 532
Joined: Wed Jun 24, 2015 18:45
Location: Raxacoricofallapatorius
GitHub: orwell96
In-game: orwell

Re: [Mod] Advanced Trains [advtrains] [1.3.1]

by orwell » Sun Dec 25, 2016 09:39

Does your "mods" folder contain these files:
init.lua, couple.lua, wagons.lua...
Then you haven't installed it properly.
Create a directory "advtrains" inside "mods".
Extract the ZIP into the "advtrains" directory.
Start minetest, select world, configure, activate "advtrains".
Try creative mode and look if you see stuff.
Lua is great!
List of my mods
I like singing. I like dancing. I like ... niyummm...
 

PreviousNext

Return to Mod Releases



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 8 guests