[Mod] Advanced Trains [advtrains] [2.1.1]

User avatar
orwell
Member
Posts: 834
Joined: Wed Jun 24, 2015 18:45
GitHub: orwell96
IRC: orwell96_mt
In-game: orwell
Location: Raxacoricofallapatorius

Re: [Mod] Advanced Trains [advtrains] [WIP]

by orwell » Post

Image
Attachments
screenshot_20160822_230236.png
screenshot!
(620.31 KiB) Not downloaded yet
Lua is great!
List of my mods
I like singing. I like dancing. I like ... niyummm...

User avatar
ExeterDad
Member
Posts: 1717
Joined: Sun Jun 01, 2014 20:00
In-game: ExeterDad
Location: New Hampshire U.S.A

Re: [Mod] Advanced Trains [advtrains] [WIP]

by ExeterDad » Post

That looks so nice! Great work guys :)

User avatar
azekill_DIABLO
Member
Posts: 7497
Joined: Wed Oct 29, 2014 20:05
GitHub: azekillDIABLO
In-game: azekill_DIABLO
Location: OMICRON
Contact:

Re: [Mod] Advanced Trains [advtrains] [WIP]

by azekill_DIABLO » Post

orwell wrote:Image
exept the shading it's awesome!

User avatar
orwell
Member
Posts: 834
Joined: Wed Jun 24, 2015 18:45
GitHub: orwell96
IRC: orwell96_mt
In-game: orwell
Location: Raxacoricofallapatorius

Re: [Mod] Advanced Trains [advtrains] [WIP]

by orwell » Post

Yeah, there are shadow bugs. seems like scaling objects with -1 to mirror them is the wrong way in Blender.
I need to fix that
Lua is great!
List of my mods
I like singing. I like dancing. I like ... niyummm...

User avatar
DS-minetest
Member
Posts: 1139
Joined: Thu Jun 19, 2014 19:49
GitHub: Desour
IRC: DS-minetest
In-game: DS
Location: I'm scared that if this is too exact, I will be unable to use my keyboard.

Re: [Mod] Advanced Trains [advtrains] [WIP]

by DS-minetest » Post

nice!
orwell wrote: Note: slopes get converted, the old verts are not in anymore, as do the switches, because they have a new naming scheme. I am using an abm for this, and I know this is wrong. When this mod leaves WIP stage, this replacement will be removed.
why not use lbm?
Note that I've recently renamed myself on github and co. to "Desour". (I'm bad at naming things.)
Feel free to call me DS.

User avatar
Nathan.S
Member
Posts: 1025
Joined: Wed Sep 24, 2014 17:47
GitHub: NathanSalapat
IRC: NathanS21
In-game: NathanS21
Location: Bigsby Texas
Contact:

Re: [Mod] Advanced Trains [advtrains] [WIP]

by Nathan.S » Post

orwell wrote:Yeah, there are shadow bugs. seems like scaling objects with -1 to mirror them is the wrong way in Blender.
I need to fix that
Doing this flips the normals to all point inward. You can easily fix that by flipping normals, or while in edit mode there is an option you can use to mirror the mesh which will do the same as scaling at -1.
I record Minetest videos, Mod reviews, Modding tutorials, and Lets plays.
Check out my website, and brand new Minetest Modding Course

User avatar
orwell
Member
Posts: 834
Joined: Wed Jun 24, 2015 18:45
GitHub: orwell96
IRC: orwell96_mt
In-game: orwell
Location: Raxacoricofallapatorius

Re: [Mod] Advanced Trains [advtrains] [WIP]

by orwell » Post

DS-minetest wrote:nice!
orwell wrote: Note: slopes get converted, the old verts are not in anymore, as do the switches, because they have a new naming scheme. I am using an abm for this, and I know this is wrong. When this mod leaves WIP stage, this replacement will be removed.
why not use lbm?
I don't know how to use it and am too lazy to learn.
Nathan.S wrote:
orwell wrote:Yeah, there are shadow bugs. seems like scaling objects with -1 to mirror them is the wrong way in Blender.
I need to fix that
Doing this flips the normals to all point inward. You can easily fix that by flipping normals, or while in edit mode there is an option you can use to mirror the mesh which will do the same as scaling at -1.
thanks, fixed.
Lua is great!
List of my mods
I like singing. I like dancing. I like ... niyummm...

Byakuren
Member
Posts: 816
Joined: Tue Apr 14, 2015 01:59
GitHub: raymoo
IRC: Hijiri
In-game: Raymoo + Clownpiece

Re: [Mod] Advanced Trains [advtrains] [WIP]

by Byakuren » Post

You can use lbm as a drop-in replacement of abm in this case, there is not much extra to learn. It just runs once instead of every whatever seconds.

Is multi-track drifting possible?
Every time a mod API is left undocumented, a koala dies.

User avatar
orwell
Member
Posts: 834
Joined: Wed Jun 24, 2015 18:45
GitHub: orwell96
IRC: orwell96_mt
In-game: orwell
Location: Raxacoricofallapatorius

Re: [Mod] Advanced Trains [advtrains] [WIP]

by orwell » Post

Byakuren wrote: Is multi-track drifting possible?
No, it's not. A 'train' orients along a single track. It should be possible (by hacking) to make a train jump from one track to another, but only at a single place.
Lua is great!
List of my mods
I like singing. I like dancing. I like ... niyummm...

User avatar
TheReaperKing
Member
Posts: 531
Joined: Sun Nov 22, 2015 21:36
Contact:

Re: [Mod] Advanced Trains [advtrains] [WIP]

by TheReaperKing » Post

I saw in your screenshot you have it going up slopes but when I tried it myself, with both the new rail and the original I couldn't get it to go up a slope. Are you using a particular mod? I'm using "my_slopes" by Don. I did not see the slopes you used in your mod included in your mod. My students are having a blast with the trains so thank you so much for making them!
Become A Real Life Superhero - http://SuperheroHill.com
Project Lead of the Doom 3 Mod Last Man Standing - http://Doom3Coop.com
Project Lead of Platinum Arts Sandbox Free 3D Game Maker - http://SandboxGameMaker.com
Youtube Channel - https://www.youtube.com/user/PlatinumArtsKids

User avatar
orwell
Member
Posts: 834
Joined: Wed Jun 24, 2015 18:45
GitHub: orwell96
IRC: orwell96_mt
In-game: orwell
Location: Raxacoricofallapatorius

Re: [Mod] Advanced Trains [advtrains] [WIP]

by orwell » Post

No, these are no regular slopes found in any other mod.
There are two nodes with inventory item symbol V/1 and V/2. Place them and you will understand. Rotate using trackworker.
Edit: Could you get your students to model and texture me more wagons in blender? :)
Lua is great!
List of my mods
I like singing. I like dancing. I like ... niyummm...

User avatar
TheReaperKing
Member
Posts: 531
Joined: Sun Nov 22, 2015 21:36
Contact:

Re: [Mod] Advanced Trains [advtrains] [WIP]

by TheReaperKing » Post

They are middle schoolers and just learning minetest so we aren't ready for Blender yet but we will definitely be attempting it in the future! Also thank you for the info!! I'm sure they'd love to do textures/skins but I'd have to get permission for it since it is a school system and they are underage and all that jazz.
Become A Real Life Superhero - http://SuperheroHill.com
Project Lead of the Doom 3 Mod Last Man Standing - http://Doom3Coop.com
Project Lead of Platinum Arts Sandbox Free 3D Game Maker - http://SandboxGameMaker.com
Youtube Channel - https://www.youtube.com/user/PlatinumArtsKids

User avatar
orwell
Member
Posts: 834
Joined: Wed Jun 24, 2015 18:45
GitHub: orwell96
IRC: orwell96_mt
In-game: orwell
Location: Raxacoricofallapatorius

Re: [Mod] Advanced Trains [advtrains] [WIP]

by orwell » Post

TheReaperKing wrote:They are middle schoolers and just learning minetest so we aren't ready for Blender yet but we will definitely be attempting it in the future! Also thank you for the info!! I'm sure they'd love to do textures/skins but I'd have to get permission for it since it is a school system and they are underage and all that jazz.
That was actually a joke.
Lua is great!
List of my mods
I like singing. I like dancing. I like ... niyummm...

User avatar
azekill_DIABLO
Member
Posts: 7497
Joined: Wed Oct 29, 2014 20:05
GitHub: azekillDIABLO
In-game: azekill_DIABLO
Location: OMICRON
Contact:

Re: [Mod] Advanced Trains [advtrains] [WIP]

by azekill_DIABLO » Post

Jokes are sometimes the greatest ideas that the man can have.

User avatar
TheReaperKing
Member
Posts: 531
Joined: Sun Nov 22, 2015 21:36
Contact:

Re: [Mod] Advanced Trains [advtrains] [WIP]

by TheReaperKing » Post

They are already creating skins and will be making models so I'd actually want them to help you out :)
Become A Real Life Superhero - http://SuperheroHill.com
Project Lead of the Doom 3 Mod Last Man Standing - http://Doom3Coop.com
Project Lead of Platinum Arts Sandbox Free 3D Game Maker - http://SandboxGameMaker.com
Youtube Channel - https://www.youtube.com/user/PlatinumArtsKids

User avatar
orwell
Member
Posts: 834
Joined: Wed Jun 24, 2015 18:45
GitHub: orwell96
IRC: orwell96_mt
In-game: orwell
Location: Raxacoricofallapatorius

Re: [Mod] Advanced Trains [advtrains] [WIP]

by orwell » Post

I finally made the switches.
There are some new screenshots...
Re-download again if you want switches in the new angles!
Lua is great!
List of my mods
I like singing. I like dancing. I like ... niyummm...

User avatar
mbb
Member
Posts: 252
Joined: Sat Jan 17, 2015 17:47
GitHub: mbblp
IRC: mBb
In-game: MBB
Location: in front of my pc
Contact:

Re: [Mod] Advanced Trains [advtrains] [WIP]

by mbb » Post

how can i get the V1 / V2 tool?

im german too
can you send me a pm? (in german)
If you want to contact me please send me a twitter pm https://twitter.com/mbbdev

User avatar
orwell
Member
Posts: 834
Joined: Wed Jun 24, 2015 18:45
GitHub: orwell96
IRC: orwell96_mt
In-game: orwell
Location: Raxacoricofallapatorius

Re: [Mod] Advanced Trains [advtrains] [WIP]

by orwell » Post

I fixed the inventory stuff
Lua is great!
List of my mods
I like singing. I like dancing. I like ... niyummm...

User avatar
orwell
Member
Posts: 834
Joined: Wed Jun 24, 2015 18:45
GitHub: orwell96
IRC: orwell96_mt
In-game: orwell
Location: Raxacoricofallapatorius

Re: [Mod] Advanced Trains [advtrains] [WIP]

by orwell » Post

There's a subway train now!
Lua is great!
List of my mods
I like singing. I like dancing. I like ... niyummm...

User avatar
mbb
Member
Posts: 252
Joined: Sat Jan 17, 2015 17:47
GitHub: mbblp
IRC: mBb
In-game: MBB
Location: in front of my pc
Contact:

Re: [Mod] Advanced Trains [advtrains] [1.0]

by mbb » Post

imade a power line(sorry for my englisch) in blender:
test.png
(141.54 KiB) Not downloaded yet
If you want to contact me please send me a twitter pm https://twitter.com/mbbdev

User avatar
azekill_DIABLO
Member
Posts: 7497
Joined: Wed Oct 29, 2014 20:05
GitHub: azekillDIABLO
In-game: azekill_DIABLO
Location: OMICRON
Contact:

Re: [Mod] Advanced Trains [advtrains] [1.0]

by azekill_DIABLO » Post

mbb wrote:imade a power line(sorry for my englisch) in blender:
test.png
nice mbb

User avatar
mbb
Member
Posts: 252
Joined: Sat Jan 17, 2015 17:47
GitHub: mbblp
IRC: mBb
In-game: MBB
Location: in front of my pc
Contact:

Re: [Mod] Advanced Trains [advtrains] [1.0]

by mbb » Post

i made a steam locomotive in blender:Image

there is an bug with the rendering (the actuator stem isnt right on the picture)
Attachments
screenshoot..png
(65.73 KiB) Not downloaded yet
If you want to contact me please send me a twitter pm https://twitter.com/mbbdev

User avatar
mbb
Member
Posts: 252
Joined: Sat Jan 17, 2015 17:47
GitHub: mbblp
IRC: mBb
In-game: MBB
Location: in front of my pc
Contact:

Re: [Mod] Advanced Trains [advtrains] [1.0]

by mbb » Post

UPDATE:
+ Spoiler
Attachments
screenshoot_tender.png
(70.82 KiB) Not downloaded yet
Last edited by mbb on Sun Sep 04, 2016 10:29, edited 1 time in total.
If you want to contact me please send me a twitter pm https://twitter.com/mbbdev

User avatar
mbb
Member
Posts: 252
Joined: Sat Jan 17, 2015 17:47
GitHub: mbblp
IRC: mBb
In-game: MBB
Location: in front of my pc
Contact:

Re: [Mod] Advanced Trains [advtrains] [1.0]

by mbb » Post

UPDATE:
+ Spoiler
Attachments
screenshoot_wagong.png
(64.98 KiB) Not downloaded yet
Last edited by mbb on Sun Sep 04, 2016 10:30, edited 1 time in total.
If you want to contact me please send me a twitter pm https://twitter.com/mbbdev

User avatar
DS-minetest
Member
Posts: 1139
Joined: Thu Jun 19, 2014 19:49
GitHub: Desour
IRC: DS-minetest
In-game: DS
Location: I'm scared that if this is too exact, I will be unable to use my keyboard.

Re: [Mod] Advanced Trains [advtrains] [1.0]

by DS-minetest » Post

@ mbb:
  • super! can you make a download? and is it animated?
  • do this else your post takes too much space:

    Code: Select all

    [spoiler]<old post>[/spoiler]
  • make a screenshot of the scene if you got such a bug (at the top: Window/Save Screenshot)
@orwell: why did you scale down the rails? the with was exactly 1435mm like in real life
Note that I've recently renamed myself on github and co. to "Desour". (I'm bad at naming things.)
Feel free to call me DS.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 8 guests