[Mod] Node Texture Modifier [node_texture_modifier]

User avatar
cx384
Member
Posts: 504
Joined: Wed Apr 23, 2014 09:38
GitHub: cx384
IRC: cx384

[Mod] Node Texture Modifier [node_texture_modifier]

by cx384 » Post

This mod adds a machine which allows you to convert nodes.

It also adds old nodes and nodes for ever texture pack you have in your texture pack folder.
You have to add the ntm_texture_packs mod to the secure.trusted_mods setting if you want to use it.

License: WTFPL for everything what is not taken from anywhere (look in each file for more information)
Dependencies: default dye wool bucket (moreblocks? moreores? darkage? mining_plus? itemframes? xdecor? technic?)
Download: zip, tar.gz
Github: node_texture_modifier
+ Spoiler
+ Spoiler
To Do:
- Add more supported mods

Bugs:
- If you dig an opened trapdoor from the ntm_texture_packs mod it drops an unknown item
Attachments
screenshot_20170402_155654.png
(284.19 KiB) Not downloaded yet
screenshot_20160918_183244.png
(490.75 KiB) Downloaded 1 time
screenshot_20160918_183300.png
(57.78 KiB) Not downloaded yet
Last edited by cx384 on Wed Jan 17, 2018 16:26, edited 9 times in total.
Can your read this?

User avatar
qwertymine3
Member
Posts: 202
Joined: Wed Jun 03, 2015 14:33
GitHub: Qwertymine
In-game: qwertymine3

Re: [Mod] Node Texture Modifier [node_texture_modifier]

by qwertymine3 » Post

Nice mod, could do with a more catchy name though ;)

It would be nice to have listring support, but having done something similar, it can be a pain to work around some of the ways inventory listring movements trigger callbacks.

I got an unknown node shown when using with default:stone, which was default:stone_block.

Also which bits are taken from default? Without knowing none of this mod can be safely re-used without using the LGLP license.
Avatar by :devnko-ennekappao:

User avatar
cx384
Member
Posts: 504
Joined: Wed Apr 23, 2014 09:38
GitHub: cx384
IRC: cx384

Re: [Mod] Node Texture Modifier [node_texture_modifier]

by cx384 » Post

qwertymine3 wrote:Nice mod, could do with a more catchy name though ;)
Thank you, :D
but I'm really uncreative in such things. D:
qwertymine3 wrote:I got an unknown node shown when using with default:stone, which was default:stone_block
I think this is no problem with the new minetest version.
https://github.com/minetest/minetest_ga ... s.lua#L215
qwertymine3 wrote: It would be nice to have listring support, but having done something similar, it can be a pain to work around some of the ways inventory listring movements trigger callbacks.
OK maybe I would add this but you can send me a pull request on github.
Can your read this?

User avatar
azekill_DIABLO
Member
Posts: 7497
Joined: Wed Oct 29, 2014 20:05
GitHub: azekillDIABLO
In-game: azekill_DIABLO
Location: OMICRON
Contact:

Re: [Mod] Node Texture Modifier [node_texture_modifier]

by azekill_DIABLO » Post

This is a nice mod! say hello to the return of ugly minetest

User avatar
cx384
Member
Posts: 504
Joined: Wed Apr 23, 2014 09:38
GitHub: cx384
IRC: cx384

Re: [Mod] Node Texture Modifier [node_texture_modifier]

by cx384 » Post

azekill_DIABLO wrote:say hello to the return of ugly minetest
If you want, you can disable the old nodes in the settings.
Can your read this?

User avatar
azekill_DIABLO
Member
Posts: 7497
Joined: Wed Oct 29, 2014 20:05
GitHub: azekillDIABLO
In-game: azekill_DIABLO
Location: OMICRON
Contact:

Re: [Mod] Node Texture Modifier [node_texture_modifier]

by azekill_DIABLO » Post

oh i just wanted to do a joke :D

User avatar
cx384
Member
Posts: 504
Joined: Wed Apr 23, 2014 09:38
GitHub: cx384
IRC: cx384

Re: [Mod] Node Texture Modifier [node_texture_modifier]

by cx384 » Post

Big update:
1. You can color wool with the modifier.
2. It is a modpack now.
3. Add a few new nodes for example the old bone.

Image
Attachments
screenshot_20170102_162843.png
(95.49 KiB) Not downloaded yet
Can your read this?

User avatar
Diamond knight
Member
Posts: 475
Joined: Sun Apr 19, 2015 19:50
GitHub: Diamondknight
In-game: Ferrumprinceps
Location: Chilling in Constantinople
Contact:

Re: [Mod] Node Texture Modifier [node_texture_modifier]

by Diamond knight » Post

you should add every old minetest_game block and some old select modded blocks

User avatar
cx384
Member
Posts: 504
Joined: Wed Apr 23, 2014 09:38
GitHub: cx384
IRC: cx384

Re: [Mod] Node Texture Modifier [node_texture_modifier]

by cx384 » Post

Diamond knight wrote:you should add every old minetest_game block and some old select modded blocks
I think a l already got every old minetest_game block.
Please tell me some old select modded blocks.
Can your read this?

User avatar
Diamond knight
Member
Posts: 475
Joined: Sun Apr 19, 2015 19:50
GitHub: Diamondknight
In-game: Ferrumprinceps
Location: Chilling in Constantinople
Contact:

Re: [Mod] Node Texture Modifier [node_texture_modifier]

by Diamond knight » Post

you should check to be sure, i noticed snow was missing, and i think the blocks should have the same properties as they had in their era (old gravel having old sounds for example), the select mods i am referring to are the famous mods like moreores, mesecons, etc.

i also think there should be old items too and them being craft-able with their old materials (or dug from), also a "time machine" with ujeduin's multidimentions mod supported would be cool (a dimension for each "era") (maybe even some replica mobs from the era too (there were mobs in the old "old_dirt1" days) (check the noglastia subgame))

User avatar
cx384
Member
Posts: 504
Joined: Wed Apr 23, 2014 09:38
GitHub: cx384
IRC: cx384

Re: [Mod] Node Texture Modifier [node_texture_modifier]

by cx384 » Post

Diamond knight wrote:you should check to be sure, i noticed snow was missing, and i think the blocks should have the same properties as they had in their era (old gravel having old sounds for example), the select mods i am referring to are the famous mods like moreores, mesecons, etc.
The mod should only add nodes which are like the normal nodes with an old texture and not exactly old nodes because you convert normal nodes into old nodes. Moreover this nodes are only decoration and some nodes are missing but if you want you can send me a PR on github to make the ntm_old_nodes mod even better.
Diamond knight wrote: i also think there should be old items too and them being craft-able with their old materials (or dug from), also a "time machine" with ujeduin's multidimentions mod supported would be cool (a dimension for each "era") (maybe even some replica mobs from the era too (there were mobs in the old "old_dirt1" days) (check the noglastia subgame))
The old nodes are a small part of my mod so I don't want to add a special mechanism to get the nodes but I've already been thinking about a time machine which needs mese to run.
I cant find the noglastia subgame.
Can your read this?

User avatar
ManElevation
Member
Posts: 896
Joined: Tue Aug 02, 2016 22:04
GitHub: ManElevation
IRC: ManElevation
In-game: ManElevation
Location: Madrid,Spain

Re: [Mod] Node Texture Modifier [node_texture_modifier]

by ManElevation » Post

interesting mod. +1!
My Public Mods! Discord: Rottweiler Games#3368

User avatar
cx384
Member
Posts: 504
Joined: Wed Apr 23, 2014 09:38
GitHub: cx384
IRC: cx384

Re: [Mod] Node Texture Modifier [node_texture_modifier]

by cx384 » Post

Update:
Added ntm_texture_packs, moreores support and new configurations.

Image
Can your read this?

User avatar
azekill_DIABLO
Member
Posts: 7497
Joined: Wed Oct 29, 2014 20:05
GitHub: azekillDIABLO
In-game: azekill_DIABLO
Location: OMICRON
Contact:

Re: [Mod] Node Texture Modifier [node_texture_modifier]

by azekill_DIABLO » Post


User avatar
cx384
Member
Posts: 504
Joined: Wed Apr 23, 2014 09:38
GitHub: cx384
IRC: cx384

Re: [Mod] Node Texture Modifier [node_texture_modifier]

by cx384 » Post

azekill_DIABLO wrote:
cx384 wrote: I cant find the noglastia subgame.
http://krock-works.16mb.com/MTstuff/mod ... =nostalgia It's nostalgia!
Yeah, but he wrote
Diamond knight wrote:check the noglastia subgame
.
Can your read this?

User avatar
cx384
Member
Posts: 504
Joined: Wed Apr 23, 2014 09:38
GitHub: cx384
IRC: cx384

Re: [Mod] Node Texture Modifier [node_texture_modifier]

by cx384 » Post

Update:
You can now use chisel and brush to convert nodes by leftclicking .
Can your read this?

User avatar
the_raven_262
Member
Posts: 315
Joined: Mon Sep 22, 2014 09:30
GitHub: theraven262
IRC: the_raven_262 Raven262 Corvus262 corvus
In-game: the_raven_262 Raven262 Nevermore

Re: [Mod] Node Texture Modifier [node_texture_modifier]

by the_raven_262 » Post

I would never think of this, nice work, awesome for creative servers :)
I know its a bit offtopic, but which texture pack is the one on the far left in the image?
(Yes, every sentence has to start with an "I")
[amber] [conjuration] [warzone] | Why is #minetest-mod-dev so empty?

User avatar
cx384
Member
Posts: 504
Joined: Wed Apr 23, 2014 09:38
GitHub: cx384
IRC: cx384

Re: [Mod] Node Texture Modifier [node_texture_modifier]

by cx384 » Post

the_raven_262 wrote:I know its a bit offtopic, but which texture pack is the one on the far left in the image?
It is called "dogview", but I cant find it anymore maybe someone removed the topic.
viewtopic.php?f=4&t=15182
the_raven_262 wrote:awesome for creative servers
Yes it is, but you can get every node in survival.
Can your read this?

User avatar
the_raven_262
Member
Posts: 315
Joined: Mon Sep 22, 2014 09:30
GitHub: theraven262
IRC: the_raven_262 Raven262 Corvus262 corvus
In-game: the_raven_262 Raven262 Nevermore

Re: [Mod] Node Texture Modifier [node_texture_modifier]

by the_raven_262 » Post

It says i'm not authorized to view the link you posted :/
As for the nodes, i meant that the use for multiple texture versions has more use in creative, and it is nice that mod can also be used in survival :)
[amber] [conjuration] [warzone] | Why is #minetest-mod-dev so empty?

User avatar
cx384
Member
Posts: 504
Joined: Wed Apr 23, 2014 09:38
GitHub: cx384
IRC: cx384

Re: [Mod] Node Texture Modifier [node_texture_modifier]

by cx384 » Post

I found this link by searching with google.
Can your read this?

User avatar
the_raven_262
Member
Posts: 315
Joined: Mon Sep 22, 2014 09:30
GitHub: theraven262
IRC: the_raven_262 Raven262 Corvus262 corvus
In-game: the_raven_262 Raven262 Nevermore

Re: [Mod] Node Texture Modifier [node_texture_modifier]

by the_raven_262 » Post

I found it, but i still can't open the link. Nevermind then :)
[amber] [conjuration] [warzone] | Why is #minetest-mod-dev so empty?

User avatar
cx384
Member
Posts: 504
Joined: Wed Apr 23, 2014 09:38
GitHub: cx384
IRC: cx384

Re: [Mod] Node Texture Modifier [node_texture_modifier]

by cx384 » Post

Update: technic support
Can your read this?

User avatar
RSLRedstonier
Member
Posts: 451
Joined: Wed May 10, 2017 21:00
GitHub: RSL-Redstonier
In-game: RSLRedstonier
Location: some were in middle earth

Re: [Mod] Node Texture Modifier [node_texture_modifier]

by RSLRedstonier » Post

amazing
how hard is it to add new nodes?
"A programmer is just a tool which converts caffeine into code"

try out my skytest mod always being updated!
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=17568

User avatar
RSLRedstonier
Member
Posts: 451
Joined: Wed May 10, 2017 21:00
GitHub: RSL-Redstonier
In-game: RSLRedstonier
Location: some were in middle earth

Re: [Mod] Node Texture Modifier [node_texture_modifier]

by RSLRedstonier » Post

sooo if I download a texture pack but don't use it this mod will automatically register new nodes for each texture pack and give me more building options?
"A programmer is just a tool which converts caffeine into code"

try out my skytest mod always being updated!
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=17568

User avatar
cx384
Member
Posts: 504
Joined: Wed Apr 23, 2014 09:38
GitHub: cx384
IRC: cx384

Re: [Mod] Node Texture Modifier [node_texture_modifier]

by cx384 » Post

RSLRedstonier wrote:amazing
how hard is it to add new nodes?
It is very easy. You can do this:

Code: Select all

node_texture_modifier.add_node_too_type("mymod:another_cobble", "cobble")
or this

Code: Select all

node_texture_modifier.add_node_too_type("mymod:mynode1", "mynodes")
node_texture_modifier.add_node_too_type("mymod:mynode2", "mynodes")
RSLRedstonier wrote:sooo if I download a texture pack but don't use it this mod will automatically register new nodes for each texture pack and give me more building options?
Yes, but you have to add the ntm_texture_packs mod to the secure.trusted_mods setting and you can change the activated texture pack in your settings.
Can your read this?

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests