Page 1 of 1

[Mod] Aviator - craft node and fly [1.3][aviator]

PostPosted: Tue Feb 14, 2017 09:05
by Gundul
--- Aviator 1.3 ---

Image

default recipe:
Image

recipe when technic and moreores are present
Image

Modname: aviator
Dependencies: none (technic and moreores use other recipe if present)
License:
    License for the code: LGPL
    License for all the models, textures and sound: CC BY-SA 4.0
Textures: contributed by "tm3" https://forum.minetest.net/memberlist.php?mode=viewprofile&u=20289
Issues: none I know of. please report if you find any
Description:

This Mod adds a craftable node to the game. After placing the node it
will mark the center of a sphere with 20 nodes radius. As long as you
move in this sphere you will be granted fly priv. A hud message keeps
you up to date of remaining time and distance to center. After 30minutes
the fly priv will be revoked.
The node can be dug and the remaining time will be saved in metadata.
If you exceed radius more than 10 nodes, leave the game or server shuts down
the node will be automatically dug and added to your inventory if you have a
free slot.
It is not possible to place more than one node at a time.
There is the chatcommand "/7" to call back your aviator to inventory. Like this
you can use it for climbing/descending or other purposes.

The duration and the radius can be configured in the init.lua by changing the
value of "flength" and "maxdistance"
maxdistance <= 20 works on every server, for maxdistance >20 please read
the readme.md

Changelog:

V1.3 : supports basic_machines, only use forceload_block if really needed
V1.2 : radius >20 nodes available at the cost of more cpu usage
V1.1 : added chatcommend "/7" to call back aviator to inventory
V1.0 : initial release

The downloads:

Github
Zipfile: https://github.com/berengma/aviator/archive/master.zip
Source: https://github.com/berengma/aviator

Re: [Mod] Aviator - craft node and fly [1.0][aviator]

PostPosted: Tue Feb 14, 2017 10:12
by texmex
Good thinking. It's a viable alternative to granting "global" fly privilege.

Re: [Mod] Aviator - craft node and fly [1.0][aviator]

PostPosted: Tue Feb 14, 2017 10:59
by azekill_DIABLO
it's like an antigravity field no? clever!

Re: [Mod] Aviator - craft node and fly [1.0][aviator]

PostPosted: Tue Feb 14, 2017 11:26
by Gundul
Thanks Texmex and azekill_DIABLO.

Yes antigravity field would explain it too.
You can try it. If you leave the radius fly is taken and
you fall down, then the field catches you again and you fly.
This effects works best when you leave at top of the sphere.

Re: [Mod] Aviator - craft node and fly [1.0][aviator]

PostPosted: Tue Feb 14, 2017 14:56
by texmex
I would change the recipe to containing mese. Diamond properties are known to science already, while the mysterious powers of mese is rarely known…

Re: [Mod] Aviator - craft node and fly [1.0][aviator]

PostPosted: Tue Feb 14, 2017 15:29
by Gundul
Yes I like that idea of using mese. I was only afraid it would make the
device too cheap.

But it is pretty easy to change recipe in the init.lua file to whatever one likes :)

Re: [Mod] Aviator - craft node and fly [1.0][aviator]

PostPosted: Tue Feb 14, 2017 16:30
by azekill_DIABLO
i think it's great for a 10 meters radius! (round or cube then?)

Re: [Mod] Aviator - craft node and fly [1.0][aviator]

PostPosted: Wed Feb 15, 2017 04:45
by Gundul
azekill_DIABLO wrote:i think it's great for a 10 meters radius! (round or cube then?)


It is always round (sphere). Distance is calculated by vectors.
To change radius open init.lua and replace

maxdistance = 20

with maxdistance = 10

Re: [Mod] Aviator - craft node and fly [1.0][aviator]

PostPosted: Wed Feb 15, 2017 10:08
by azekill_DIABLO
thank you! how if two players place this node? which one is destroyed? is it bugging?

Re: [Mod] Aviator - craft node and fly [1.0][aviator]

PostPosted: Wed Feb 15, 2017 13:50
by Gundul
azekill_DIABLO wrote:thank you! how if two players place this node? which one is destroyed? is it bugging?
Hi, my username is azekill_DIABLO and i'm an exelent bug-maker(yeah...i know...i have a bad reputation)

Lol, looks you are the bug hunter here :D Try yourself and tell me, no bugs I know of so far.

Or try this:
https://forum.minetest.net/viewtopic.php?f=10&t=13125

I'll give you some to try.

Re: [Mod] Aviator - craft node and fly [1.0][aviator]

PostPosted: Wed Feb 15, 2017 13:59
by Gundul
Naj wrote:It could be a technic machine, like force field.

It would allow to make some "flying arenas" or so



I was thinking of that too, But I decided not to. technic always
means you are bound to cables and Energy production. And
long cables is lag generator number one on the server. At least
what I experienced so far. Nevertheless you still need technic
to produce the uranium ingot to craft the node. :)
(if technic mod is installed)

Re: [Mod] Aviator - craft node and fly [1.0][aviator]

PostPosted: Thu Feb 16, 2017 16:14
by azekill_DIABLO
The mod could be modifed to add others privileges, like interact no? no need to have shields blocks, just need 1 interact block.

Re: [Mod] Aviator - craft node and fly [1.0][aviator]

PostPosted: Fri Feb 17, 2017 13:13
by Gundul
azekill_DIABLO wrote:The mod could be modifed to add others privileges, like interact no? no need to have shields blocks, just need 1 interact block.


Yes you can use it with any priv you want. But I think using minetest api for protection and
protection violation is much faster than my on step function.

There used to be a mod which gives privileges by area. I forgot who made it. Ruben Wardy maybe ?

Re: [Mod] Aviator - craft node and fly [1.0][aviator]

PostPosted: Fri Feb 17, 2017 16:17
by azekill_DIABLO
i will see later! but i don't think the on step is so laggy... if it is maybe fing a way to improve performance by checking with more intervals or disable with distance...

Re: [Mod] Aviator - craft node and fly [1.1][aviator]

PostPosted: Fri May 05, 2017 07:22
by Gundul
V 1.1


Added chatcommand "/7" to call back aviator to inventory. More convenient
use of it. Like this can be used for climbing/descending and easier building.

[Mod] Aviator - craft node and fly [1.2][aviator]

PostPosted: Wed May 10, 2017 11:43
by Gundul
--- Update to V1.2 ---


New version allows larger radius than 20 nodes.
But if you like to use this you have to change the
setting in your minetest.conf:

max_forceloaded_blocks = 1000

(for example. The mod will tell you if it can not allocate an other
forceloaded block)



See also readme.md in the aviator folder.

Re: [Mod] Aviator - craft node and fly [1.2][aviator]

PostPosted: Wed May 10, 2017 12:42
by azekill_DIABLO
*clap clap clap*

Re: [Mod] Aviator - craft node and fly [1.2][aviator]

PostPosted: Thu May 11, 2017 13:13
by Gundul
azekill_DIABLO wrote:*clap clap clap*



applause ?

Thank you :)

Re: [Mod] Aviator - craft node and fly [1.2][aviator]

PostPosted: Thu May 11, 2017 16:54
by azekill_DIABLO
from nothing, it's a great mod.

Re: [Mod] Aviator - craft node and fly [1.3][aviator]

PostPosted: Sun Nov 11, 2018 15:17
by Gundul
Update to 1.3.

Now only uses forceload_blocks if it is really necessary.
added support of rnd's basic_machines and adds a recipe to it's contructor

Re: [Mod] Aviator - craft node and fly [1.3][aviator]

PostPosted: Mon Mar 11, 2019 16:21
by Gundul
Little bugfix:

the aviator is blast resistant now.
Cheating with tnt to gain free aviators will not work anymore.