Page 1 of 3

[Mod] Hyperloop [hyperloop]

PostPosted: Sun Jul 02, 2017 20:40
by joe7575
A new evolution in the voxel word:
Minetest goes Hyperloop!

Hyperloop is passenger transportation system for travelling through evacuated tubes my means of passenger pods.
The tubes system with all stations and pods have to be build by the players.

Image
Image
Image
Image

  • Hyperloop allows travelling from point point in seconds (900 km/h) :-)
  • Hyperloop tubes can be build in teamwork together with other players
  • It can be used even on small servers (Raspberry PI) without lagging
  • No configuration or programming of the tube network is necessary (only the station names have to be entered)

The mod includes many different kind of blocks:
  • Hyperloop Stations Block to automatically build the pod/car
  • Hyperloop Booking Machine for the station to select the destination
  • Hyperloop Tube to connect two stations
  • Hyperloop Junction Block to connect up to 6 tubes for complex network structures
  • Hyperloop Stations Sign
  • Hyperloop Promo Poster for station advertisement
  • Hyperloop Elevator to reach other levels
  • Hyperloop Elevator Shaft to connect two elevator cars
  • Hyperloop Station Book with all available stations (for builders/engineers)
  • Hyperloop Tube Crowbar to crack tube lines
  • Hyperloop WiFi Tubes for very large distances (optional)
..and more.

The tube route is automatically protected. You can dig only the ends of a tube line (head blocks). The junction block / station has to be protected manually.
The Crowbar can be used by players with 'hyperloop' privs to crack tube lines.

Junction and Station Blocks can connect up to 6 tube lines. That means you can build complex networks of tube lines. Each junction/station can be reaches from each point with one trip.


The code is on GitHub.

Dependencies
default
intllib
tubelib2

License
Copyright (C) 2017-2018 Joachim Stolberg
Code: Licensed under the GNU LGPL version 2.1 or later. See LICENSE.txt and http://www.gnu.org/licenses/lgpl-2.1.txt
Textures: CC0
Display: Derived from the work of kaeza, sofar and others (digilines) LGPLv2.1+.

Edit
2017-07-16: Pictures updated, construction manual added, ToDo added.
2017-07-24: Updated for v0.06
2018-12-21: Updated for v2.00

Minecraft?

PostPosted: Sun Jul 02, 2017 20:43
by Wuzzy
Minecraft goes Hyperloop!


What is this strange “Minecraft” thing you keep talking about? ;-)

Re: Minecraft?

PostPosted: Sun Jul 02, 2017 21:09
by joe7575
Wuzzy wrote:
Minecraft goes Hyperloop!


What is this strange “Minecraft” thing you keep talking about? ;-)


Ooops, sorry :)
Changed!

Re: [Mod] Hyperloop [hyperloop]

PostPosted: Mon Jul 03, 2017 02:28
by ErrorNull
elon musk would be proud. nice mod!

Re: [Mod] Hyperloop [hyperloop]

PostPosted: Mon Jul 03, 2017 09:24
by Modern Hippie
Sounds great! Will test it as soon as it's released ^^

Re: [Mod] Hyperloop [hyperloop]

PostPosted: Mon Jul 03, 2017 16:24
by DS-minetest
This is interesting!
It's a non instant, distance dependent teleporter mod, nice!
Edit:
Cool, sounds are always good.
Suggestion: Add a (blue?,) glowing particle ring, that flies along the rail with 900km/h. At corners delete the particles and add new ones. The time when the particles shall be removed can easily be calculated.

Re: [Mod] Hyperloop [hyperloop]

PostPosted: Mon Jul 03, 2017 16:32
by paramat
Nice, does the destination have to be connected to by tubes to allow travel to it?

Re: [Mod] Hyperloop [hyperloop]

PostPosted: Mon Jul 03, 2017 16:48
by xBarkPuppy1
i dont see the download link

Re: [Mod] Hyperloop [hyperloop]

PostPosted: Mon Jul 03, 2017 17:03
by Andrey01
xBarkPuppy1 wrote:i dont see the download link

Really. Why does a link not have for download?

Re: [Mod] Hyperloop [hyperloop]

PostPosted: Mon Jul 03, 2017 17:10
by azekill_DIABLO
wow that seems epic! a new realistic travelnet! does it works with slow mapgen and unloaded chunks?

Re: [Mod] Hyperloop [hyperloop]

PostPosted: Mon Jul 03, 2017 17:59
by joe7575
Suggestion: Add a (blue?,) glowing particle ring, that flies along the rail with 900km/h. At corners delete the particles and add new ones. The time when the particles shall be removed can easily be calculated.


Great idea. I will put it on my feature list.

Nice, does the destination have to be connected to by tubes to allow travel to it?

Yes, you have to build the tube lines and connect them with junction blocks, which serve optionally as stations.
But lazy players could also use the WIFI blocks, if enabled. :)

i dont see the download link

I am still struggling with server crashes when doing unforeseen actions while building. It will be on GitHub when the time comes.

does it works with slow mapgen and unloaded chunks?

Travelling YES. You can test in on my (very slow) server (details in the first post).
Building not so far. Especially the WiFi block pairing is a challenge, which I have to solve...

Re: [Mod] Hyperloop [hyperloop]

PostPosted: Mon Jul 03, 2017 19:55
by Byakuren
DS-minetest wrote:This is interesting!
It's a non instant, distance dependent teleporter mod, nice!
Edit:
Cool, sounds are always good.
Suggestion: Add a (blue?,) glowing particle ring, that flies along the rail with 900km/h. At corners delete the particles and add new ones. The time when the particles shall be removed can easily be calculated.

There's nothing in the API to delete particles, only particle spawners.

EDIT: Though you could set the particle's expiration time to match the length of track. The trouble with this though is that you need to keep track of how long the track is somehow.

Re: [Mod] Hyperloop [hyperloop]

PostPosted: Thu Jul 06, 2017 06:46
by zm78
[BUG] if going to a non existing station that was dug/grieved game crashes once door shuts on hyperloop.

Notice: this was found while playing on "joes miniwelt" server and was getting transported to "old spawn" station.
Also when you get back in it crashes again.

Re: [Mod] Hyperloop [hyperloop]

PostPosted: Thu Jul 06, 2017 10:31
by joe7575
zm78 wrote:[BUG] if going to a non existing station that was dug/grieved game crashes once door shuts on hyperloop.

Thanks for the hint.
I can't even teleport to this area. It seams that the map is corrupted. This has nothing to do with the mod, I guess. But currently I have no access to the server. I will check that tonight.

Edit: My son re-powered the server. Now it works as expected. No idea what happend. The map and also the station are ok.

Re: [Mod] Hyperloop [hyperloop]

PostPosted: Thu Jul 06, 2017 19:22
by joe7575
The code is on GitHub now, including a construction manual.
Still missing are:
- recipes
- configuration settings
- performance improvements

But the Mod runs stable and can be tested now. Have fun!
Your feedback is welcome.

Re: [Mod] Hyperloop [hyperloop]

PostPosted: Fri Jul 07, 2017 07:26
by zm78
Error with hooking the stations up: The stations will not hook up if connected on the left side, But anywhere else is fine.


Recipes:
Junction Block: T = tube, M = mese crystal and _ = nothing
Code: Select all
_T_
TMT
_T_


Tube Block: S = steel ingot and M = mese crystal
Code: Select all
SSS
MMM
SSS


Wifi Tube Block: S = steel ingot, O = obsidian shard and M = mese crystal
Code: Select all
SOS
OMO
SOS


Hyperloop Chair: W = blue wool, S = steel ingot and _ = nothing
Code: Select all
__W
WWW
WSS


Hyperloop LCD: G = glass, D = black dye, M = mese crystal fragment and _ = nothing
Code: Select all
MG_
DG_
MG_


Hyperloop Shell Block: S = steel ingot and D = blue dye
Code: Select all
SSS
SDS
SSS


Ticket Machine Block: P = paper and S = steel ingot
Code: Select all
SSS
PSP
SSS


Hyperloop Station Book: P = paper, _ = nothing and D = red dye
Code: Select all
PP_
PD_
PP_



cool mod +100

Re: [Mod] Hyperloop [hyperloop]

PostPosted: Fri Jul 07, 2017 10:30
by joe7575
@zm78: Thanks for your feedback.

zm78 wrote:Error with hooking the stations up: The stations will not hook up if connected on the left side, But anywhere else is fine.


Unclear for me. Can you explain what you mean with "The stations will not hook up..."
The Booking Machine has an ABM with 10 sec cycle time. Could it be that you were to fast for checking the results?

Thank you for your recipes, I will use them, perhaps with some variation.
E g. my idea was to invent the Hypersteel Ingot based on Tin Ingot, Steel Ingot, and Cyan dye.
Other recipes should be based on that.

With that I am pretty sure that I don't get conflicts with other Mod recipes.

What do you think about that?

Re: [Mod] Hyperloop [hyperloop]

PostPosted: Fri Jul 07, 2017 20:46
by joe7575
Recipes added.

Ready for use. Have fun...

Re: [Mod] Hyperloop [hyperloop]

PostPosted: Fri Jul 07, 2017 22:15
by zm78
joe7575 wrote:@zm78: Thanks for your feedback.

zm78 wrote:Error with hooking the stations up: The stations will not hook up if connected on the left side, But anywhere else is fine.


Unclear for me. Can you explain what you mean with "The stations will not hook up..."
The Booking Machine has an ABM with 10 sec cycle time. Could it be that you were to fast for checking the results?

Thank you for your recipes, I will use them, perhaps with some variation.
E g. my idea was to invent the Hypersteel Ingot based on Tin Ingot, Steel Ingot, and Cyan dye.
Other recipes should be based on that.

With that I am pretty sure that I don't get conflicts with other Mod recipes.

What do you think about that?


With the stations i mean that the junction block ignores the pipe if placed on the left side of it but works if the pipe is placed on the right, front or/and back.

The Hypersteel Ingot sounds nice like high strength to keep from being damaged by pressure or a crash.

Re: [Mod] Hyperloop [hyperloop]

PostPosted: Fri Jul 07, 2017 22:44
by joe7575
You mean you see the black "hole" in the tube?
That's only a beauty mistake. The tube should be functional, though.
But I will fix that...

Re: [Mod] Hyperloop [hyperloop]

PostPosted: Fri Jul 07, 2017 23:56
by zm78
i mean the left tube is not functional and the ticket machine ignores connections with the left side of the tube(the one that goes under the floor at the door) e.g
Code: Select all
      ^
 x L< J >
      v


x = not functional tube, <>^v = tubes, L = lcd display and J = junction.
So the tube that goes under the lcd is not functional in any orientation.

also oriented e.g
Code: Select all
      x
      L
      ^
    < J >
      v

thats the error.

Re: [Mod] Hyperloop [hyperloop]

PostPosted: Sat Jul 08, 2017 10:40
by joe7575
OK, thanks again. Now I got it.
But it should be no issue any more. I fixed some bugs since v0.01.

Re: [Mod] Hyperloop [hyperloop]

PostPosted: Sat Jul 08, 2017 21:55
by zm78
little typing error: when you try to get in while somebody is already in there it posts a message that is "the station is still blocked please try again in a veiw seconds" and it should be "the station is still blocked please try again in a few seconds"

Re: [Mod] Hyperloop [hyperloop]

PostPosted: Sun Jul 09, 2017 18:12
by joe7575
Thanks, I fixed it.

Re: [Mod] Hyperloop [hyperloop]

PostPosted: Wed Jul 12, 2017 07:41
by joe7575
My new approach for Hyperloop:
Building of a Hyperloop network should only be able on one level. That means all stations have to be on the same height (Y-position). This seems to be more realistic. Otherwise the pods can’t reach their high speed. :-)
To reach the station level I will add an elevator option, based on the same manner as the Hyperloop network with elevator shafts and cabins.
To reach other locations on different levels you have to use the more “classic” transportation mods like rails and so on.
This would lead to a more diversified approach in the Minetest world with different transportation system and not the “one fits all” approach from now.

Any thoughts on that?