[Mod] Bridges [bridger]

User avatar
v-rob
Developer
Posts: 778
Joined: Thu Mar 24, 2016 03:19
GitHub: v-rob
IRC: v-rob
Location: Right behind you.

[Mod] Bridges [bridger]

by v-rob » Post

Image

Overview

This mod adds a variety of trusses, girders, and other things for building modern bridges.

Complete list:
  1. Steel blocks that come in five different colors
    1. White
    2. Red
    3. Grey
    4. Yellow
    5. Pale green
  2. Truss components
  3. Wooden trestle components
  4. Girders
  5. Multiple types of decks
  6. Scaffolding
  7. Corrugated Steel
  8. Supports
  9. Concrete Foundation
  10. Small wooden beam bridges
    1. Straight
    2. Curved
    3. 3-way
    4. 4-way
    5. Long
    6. Fancy
    7. Stairs
    8. Drawbridge
    9. Swivel bridge
Drawbridges/swivel bridges can be opened and shut with mesecons. The off state is shut, and the on state is open.

Trestles, wooden bridges, and trusses all can be disabled in advanced settings.

Screenshots

+ Spoiler

Download

Zip: https://github.com/v-rob/bridger/archive/master.zip
Source: https://github.com/v-rob/bridger

Licence

Source code: MIT
Textures: CC BY-SA

Dependencies

Default, stairs

Happy building!
Last edited by v-rob on Sat Nov 17, 2018 19:18, edited 8 times in total.
GUI Core Developer | My Best Mods: Bridger - Slats - Stained Glass

User avatar
cx384
Member
Posts: 501
Joined: Wed Apr 23, 2014 09:38
GitHub: cx384
IRC: cx384

Re: [Mod] Bridges [bridges] [3.0]

by cx384 » Post

The bridges look nice. 1+
Can your read this?

User avatar
Stix
Member
Posts: 1385
Joined: Fri Aug 04, 2017 14:19
IRC: nil
In-game: Stix [+alts]
Location: USA

Re: [Mod] Bridges [bridges] [3.0]

by Stix » Post

+1 great mod, as always
Hey, what can i say? I'm the bad guy.

Chibi ghost
Member
Posts: 845
Joined: Fri Jan 08, 2016 21:17
In-game: Ghost

Re: [Mod] Bridges [bridges] [3.0]

by Chibi ghost » Post

whoa I can see a certain modder who really likes trains using this mod

User avatar
Stix
Member
Posts: 1385
Joined: Fri Aug 04, 2017 14:19
IRC: nil
In-game: Stix [+alts]
Location: USA

Re: [Mod] Bridges [bridges] [3.0]

by Stix » Post

you mean orwell ;)?
Hey, what can i say? I'm the bad guy.

User avatar
yzelast
Member
Posts: 54
Joined: Sun Oct 02, 2016 01:18
GitHub: yzelast
In-game: yzelast
Location: Far Far Away

Re: [Mod] Bridges [bridges] [3.0]

by yzelast » Post

Cool, especially the textures, no complex meshes or ultra high resolutions, the mod fits greatly with the minetest_game.
G84mU6AQ9dKaNhxn6dq8P5C0y5r8NssE

User avatar
Napiophelios
Member
Posts: 1018
Joined: Mon Jul 07, 2014 01:14
GitHub: Napiophelios
IRC: Nappi
In-game: Nappi

Re: [Mod] Bridges [bridges] [3.0]

by Napiophelios » Post

wow that's some extreme nodebox abuse!!
I love it...I Just dont understand why you flaked out with the scaffolding.
JK
Image
screenshot_20170806_010928.png
(144.95 KiB) Not downloaded yet

User avatar
v-rob
Developer
Posts: 778
Joined: Thu Mar 24, 2016 03:19
GitHub: v-rob
IRC: v-rob
Location: Right behind you.

Re: [Mod] Bridges [bridges] [3.0]

by v-rob » Post

Napiophelios wrote:wow that's some extreme nodebox abuse!!
I love it...I Just dont understand why you flaked out with the scaffolding.
JK
Image
screenshot_20170806_010928.png
I like the look of the connected stuff better. Plus it came from the crappy 1.0 (The only good thing I made in that one), so it was just copy and paste.

If anyone has suggestions for other things, then please tell me. I'm making another part to this mod, so I want everything possible done so I can move it to releases.

I forgot to say... the Nodebox Editor by Rubenwardy was invaluable. I never would have conceived of this mod without it.
GUI Core Developer | My Best Mods: Bridger - Slats - Stained Glass

User avatar
TumeniNodes
Member
Posts: 2861
Joined: Fri Feb 26, 2016 19:49
GitHub: TumeniNodes
IRC: tumeninodes
In-game: TumeniNodes
Location: in the dark recesses of the mind
Contact:

Re: [Mod] Bridges [bridges] [3.0]

by TumeniNodes » Post

It's a good thing I am adding some of your work to my github repo, don't want any of these beauties disappearing over time . This is good, I have yet to try it out yet though.
Ich mag keine grünen Eier und Schinken, ich mag sie nicht Sam I Am

User avatar
azekill_DIABLO
Member
Posts: 7497
Joined: Wed Oct 29, 2014 20:05
GitHub: azekillDIABLO
In-game: azekill_DIABLO
Location: OMICRON
Contact:

Re: [Mod] Bridges [bridges] [3.0]

by azekill_DIABLO » Post

what an amazing bridge mod! the textures are also really nice!

John_Constructor
Member
Posts: 76
Joined: Thu Jun 01, 2017 20:06
GitHub: John-Constructor
In-game: Nooberton
Location: On Minetest 24/7

Re: [Mod] Bridges [bridges] [3.0]

by John_Constructor » Post

Ten of Ten! Works perfectly!
Constructing mechs and wingless aircraft since 2016.

User avatar
BirgitLachner
Member
Posts: 383
Joined: Thu May 05, 2016 10:18
In-game: Bibs

Re: [Mod] Bridges [bridges] [3.0]

by BirgitLachner » Post

Nice mod for modern worlds with streets mod and advanced trains.

User avatar
Andrey01
Member
Posts: 2415
Joined: Wed Oct 19, 2016 15:18
GitHub: Andrey2470T
In-game: Andrey01
Location: Russia, Moscow

Re: [Mod] Bridges [bridges] [3.0]

by Andrey01 » Post

Nice!

User avatar
v-rob
Developer
Posts: 778
Joined: Thu Mar 24, 2016 03:19
GitHub: v-rob
IRC: v-rob
Location: Right behind you.

Re: [Mod] Bridges [bridger]

by v-rob » Post

I've updated this mod and made quite a few changes.
  1. Renamed this mod to bridger. The name bridges was already taken. This means that the older version is now totally outdated and old worlds won't work anymore.
  2. Made all nodes and textures adhere to the proper naming conventions
  3. Placed this mod on GitHub
  4. Added multiple new truss nodes
  5. Added trestles
  6. Added small beam bridges including drawbridges and swivel bridges
  7. Made colored corrugated steel
  8. Made yellow bridge nodes
  9. Made white bridge textures more steel-like
  10. Made supports thicker
  11. Made concrete foundations
GUI Core Developer | My Best Mods: Bridger - Slats - Stained Glass

User avatar
TumeniNodes
Member
Posts: 2861
Joined: Fri Feb 26, 2016 19:49
GitHub: TumeniNodes
IRC: tumeninodes
In-game: TumeniNodes
Location: in the dark recesses of the mind
Contact:

Re: [Mod] Bridges [bridger]

by TumeniNodes » Post

Might want to work in some aliases (as much as I detest them) for users who may have used this mode to build very large or numerous bridges on severs or even in private worlds.
I wouldn't want to see you get stoned to death... ; )
Ich mag keine grünen Eier und Schinken, ich mag sie nicht Sam I Am

User avatar
v-rob
Developer
Posts: 778
Joined: Thu Mar 24, 2016 03:19
GitHub: v-rob
IRC: v-rob
Location: Right behind you.

Re: [Mod] Bridges [bridger]

by v-rob » Post

TumeniNodes wrote:Might want to work in some aliases (as much as I detest them) for users who may have used this mode to build very large or numerous bridges on severs or even in private worlds.
I wouldn't want to see you get stoned to death... ; )
I would have to register an alias for every single node, so I'm not going to register the aliases for all of them until someone asks me to do so. Then I'll do it.
GUI Core Developer | My Best Mods: Bridger - Slats - Stained Glass

Cage
Member
Posts: 72
Joined: Mon Oct 24, 2016 21:07

Re: [Mod] Bridges [bridger]

by Cage » Post

v-rob seams that there is a conflict with home decor mod. Might be some of the nodes have the same names.

User avatar
v-rob
Developer
Posts: 778
Joined: Thu Mar 24, 2016 03:19
GitHub: v-rob
IRC: v-rob
Location: Right behind you.

Re: [Mod] Bridges [bridger]

by v-rob » Post

Cage wrote:v-rob seams that there is a conflict with home decor mod. Might be some of the nodes have the same names.
What kind of conflict? Does it give an error message? I loaded them in the same world, and it seems fine to me.
GUI Core Developer | My Best Mods: Bridger - Slats - Stained Glass

includedcamping
New member
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Mar 17, 2018 17:53
GitHub: includedcamping
IRC: none
In-game: includedcamping

Re: [Mod] Bridges [bridger]

by includedcamping » Post

This bridge is awesome. It is simple. How much time do you need to do it?
best air hockey table guideblog written by air hockey expert

User avatar
v-rob
Developer
Posts: 778
Joined: Thu Mar 24, 2016 03:19
GitHub: v-rob
IRC: v-rob
Location: Right behind you.

Re: [Mod] Bridges [bridger]

by v-rob » Post

includedcamping wrote:This bridge is awesome. It is simple. How much time do you need to do it?
It depends on the bridge. Some of them, like the red and yellow trusses, take five to ten minutes. Others, like the green bridge and the arch take a little more planning and can take a bit more time. The suspension bridge took a long time to build just because of it's sheer size. I made mistakes on it many times, so that made it take even more time. But a simple bridge won't consume too much time.
GUI Core Developer | My Best Mods: Bridger - Slats - Stained Glass

User avatar
Jat
Member
Posts: 229
Joined: Fri Nov 11, 2011 16:15

Re: [Mod] Bridges [bridger]

by Jat » Post

Hi, i created one PR for add compatibility with Moreblocks, and aliases for old version "Bridges".

https://github.com/v-rob/bridger/pull/1

Cage
Member
Posts: 72
Joined: Mon Oct 24, 2016 21:07

Re: [Mod] Bridges [bridger]

by Cage » Post

v-rob wrote:
Cage wrote:v-rob seams that there is a conflict with home decor mod. Might be some of the nodes have the same names.
What kind of conflict? Does it give an error message? I loaded them in the same world, and it seems fine to me.
Yes it says that home decor is trying to load more then the max allowed node. If I disable 18n in home decor the mode works great. Not sure if the version I have is the latest version or not and might be the problem.

User avatar
v-rob
Developer
Posts: 778
Joined: Thu Mar 24, 2016 03:19
GitHub: v-rob
IRC: v-rob
Location: Right behind you.

Re: [Mod] Bridges [bridger]

by v-rob » Post

Cage wrote:
v-rob wrote:
Cage wrote:v-rob seams that there is a conflict with home decor mod. Might be some of the nodes have the same names.
What kind of conflict? Does it give an error message? I loaded them in the same world, and it seems fine to me.
Yes it says that home decor is trying to load more then the max allowed node. If I disable 18n in home decor the mode works great. Not sure if the version I have is the latest version or not and might be the problem.
Hmm. I've never heard or seen that error message before. But I'm guessing that there's a maximum allowed number of nodes in Minetest, and adding bridger made the nodes exceed the limit. What mods do you have enabled?
Jat wrote:Hi, i created one PR for add compatibility with Moreblocks, and aliases for old version "Bridges".

https://github.com/v-rob/bridger/pull/1
Merged. I also removed the step node when moreblocks is enabled because it isn't necessary either.
GUI Core Developer | My Best Mods: Bridger - Slats - Stained Glass

Cage
Member
Posts: 72
Joined: Mon Oct 24, 2016 21:07

Re: [Mod] Bridges [bridger]

by Cage » Post

No it isn't the max number of nodes in the game but rather the max allow nodes for a mod which is just over 32k nodes. I have down loaded Home Decor again and will see if this version cures the problem. It could be a version problem but not sure. I do know by disabling the home decor 18n mod bridger works fine.

User avatar
Jat
Member
Posts: 229
Joined: Fri Nov 11, 2011 16:15

Re: [Mod] Bridges [bridger]

by Jat » Post


Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 8 guests