Page 2 of 2

Re: [Mod] Schematic Editor [1.0.0] [schemedit]

Posted: Fri May 18, 2018 00:24
by Lone_Wolf
Wuzzy wrote:Note that anything outside the world directory is taboo, this is a restriction dictated by Minetest's mod security system.
And I don't plan to violate that, I don't want my mod to be able to write on any directory.

The only leeway I might have is changing the directory inside the world directory, but this doesn't seem too helpful.

Maybe this should first be discussed with Minetest developers, the mod security system only allows us to write into a very few specific locations.

Please tell me your specific use case for this feature, and how you would use it. Maybe I'll understand your motivation then.
I'm using this mod to create schematics for a mod that adds items which you can use to instantly build saved structures (Right-click the ground with the item and it spawns the building). Right now I have to save the schematic, pause Minetest, and drag the schematic file into my mod.
It won't make a very large difference if you did allow me to just set the file destination to my mod. But it would be useful. My current method works

Re: [Mod] Schematic Editor [1.0.0] [schemedit]

Posted: Fri May 18, 2018 01:40
by Wuzzy
Yeah, this is writing into a foreign mod directory. Sorry, this is a no-go area.

Re: [Mod] Schematic Editor [1.0.0] [schemedit]

Posted: Fri May 18, 2018 02:33
by zing269
Could both mods share a directory in the world directory?

Re: [Mod] Schematic Editor [1.0.0] [schemedit]

Posted: Fri May 18, 2018 02:53
by Wuzzy
Yes, but only if they are in the same world.

Re: [Mod] Schematic Editor [1.0.0] [schemedit]

Posted: Tue Jul 17, 2018 10:44
by texmex
Would you consider supporting the Minecraft .schematic file format? It's already supported in this mod, here, so perhaps it's not that hard?

Re: [Mod] Schematic Editor [1.0.0] [schemedit]

Posted: Fri Jul 20, 2018 10:13
by Wuzzy
No.

First of all, this mod only seems to analyze .schematic files and return them as Lua table. That's not enough, I would also need a converter which converts from .schematic to .mts.

Ideally, there would be a separate program that converts .schematic files to MTS. Then you can make those files work for all mods.

Therefore, I think such a conversion is out of scope for schemedit.

Re: [Mod] Schematic Editor [1.0.0] [schemedit]

Posted: Fri Jul 20, 2018 13:46
by texmex
Okay, thanks for your answer.

Re: [Mod] Schematic Editor [1.0.0] [schemedit]

Posted: Fri Dec 28, 2018 01:57
by BrunoMine
This mod saved me a lot of time. Thanks for the simplicity and the good work. I use several of your mods, you're an excellent developer in minetest. thank you.

Re: [Mod] Schematic Editor [1.0.0] [schemedit]

Posted: Sun Feb 10, 2019 01:11
by runs
How to convert to lua instead of mts?

Re: [Mod] Schematic Editor [1.1.0] [schemedit]

Posted: Thu Jul 04, 2019 23:25
by CalebJ
This will save me hours of work. Thanks!

Version 1.2.0 released!

Posted: Fri May 15, 2020 00:01
by Wuzzy
Version 1.2.0 has been released!

Changelog:
  • Fix placeschem command only placing the first instance of the schematic file that Minetest loaded for the first time and ignoring subsequent changes in the same session. This made it impossible to edit a schematic if you overwrote the file multiple times in the same session (requires Minetest 5.1.0 or later)
  • Add support for importing a schematic, this restores all probability and force placement data of a schematic file (requires Minetest 5.1.0 or later)
  • Minor HUD tweaks
  • Add top and bottom faces to the preview box
  • Disallow rotation with screwdriver from Minetest Game
  • Node Probability Tool: No longer display distance (will work in upcoming Minetest 5.3.0)
How to convert to lua instead of mts?
Not possible yet, sorry.

Version 1.3.0 released!

Posted: Fri May 15, 2020 01:34
by Wuzzy
Version 1.3.0 has been released!
Changelog:
  • New server command: mts2lua: Convert .mts to .lua file (schematic in Lua code form)
  • New setting: schemedit_export_lua: If enabled, exporting a schematic to .mts will also automatically create a .lua file as well (default: disabled)
  • Much stricter privilege requirement: You now need the “server” privilege to do pretty much anything (for security reasons, because this mod messes with files on the server)
  • Fix crash when rightclicking new schematic creator (was introduced in 1.2.0)

Re: [Mod] Schematic Editor [1.3.0] [schemedit]

Posted: Mon May 18, 2020 08:18
by texmex
Nice updates, Wuzzy. Come to think of it, I've needed a way to mass export schematics. Any ideas? Maybe an "Export schematics from all loaded schematic blocks" function?

Re: [Mod] Schematic Editor [1.3.0] [schemedit]

Posted: Wed May 27, 2020 00:22
by runs
v5.3-dev

- Error in line 706, prob not being a string.

Re: [Mod] Schematic Editor [1.3.0] [schemedit]

Posted: Wed May 27, 2020 17:21
by Wuzzy
Can't reproduce. This might be a regression in Minetest. In the documentation it never says the item can't be a non-string.

Care to report a bug in Minetest?

Version 1.4.0 released!

Posted: Wed Jun 03, 2020 14:36
by Wuzzy
Changes in version 1.4.0:
  • Fix incorrect importing of schematic size (sometimes)
  • Add buttons to convert air to schematic void (and vice-versa)
  • Fix text area size being too large
  • Fix some deprecated code