[Mod] Map Tools [maptools]

User avatar
Nightfighter
Member
Posts: 39
Joined: Sat Oct 06, 2012 11:01
Location: in a alien world

by Nightfighter » Post

Awesome things
my mods: Concrete Invisiblocks
more coming out soon
mods are cool!!

User avatar
qwrwed
Member
Posts: 325
Joined: Sun Jul 22, 2012 20:56
In-game: qwrwed or Nitro

by qwrwed » Post

Temperest:
Calinou wrote:If anyone can help fix this issue, please do. :P
Temporary workaround: use the WorldEdit mod to add and remove these nodes safely.
Although i did suggest using code from it to make it easier and quicker.

User avatar
VanessaE
Moderator
Posts: 4541
Joined: Sun Apr 01, 2012 12:38
GitHub: VanessaE
IRC: VanessaE
In-game: VanessaE
Location: Western NC
Contact:

by VanessaE » Post

Calinou: Please copy and rename the fire mod's basic flame textures and use those copies in maptools instead. Otherwise, you get unknown/dummy textures if you don't have the fire mod installed.

(The rename was recommended in #minetest so that your copies don't override the ones in the fire mod).

Also, now the admin pick doesn't give back what it digs at all in some cases. It should behave like it used to say a week or so ago, where it just dug instantly, but otherwise acted like any other pick - don't try to give back the precise item that was dug, just give whatever the item's drop is, or the item itself if there isn't one.
You might like some of my stuff: Plantlife ~ More Trees ~ Home Decor ~ Pipeworks ~ HDX Textures (64-512px)

User avatar
GillianB
New member
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat May 11, 2013 14:54

by GillianB » Post

For the benefit of other neophytes like me...assuming you have the module properly installed

/giveme maptools:pick_admin gets you started nicely ;-)

If you get an error saying "cannot give empty item" you probably made the same mistake as me and placed the mod in the ever so tempting [minetest root]/mods directory, when, in fact, it needs to be in the

[minetest root]/mods/minetest one, or in a

[minetest root]/worlds/EACHWORLDNAME/worldmods/ one where EACHWORLDNAME is the name of a given world where you want world specific mods.

Ref: Installing Mods in this wiki at http://wiki.minetest.com/wiki/Installing_mods
Last edited by GillianB on Sat May 11, 2013 17:00, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
12Me21
Member
Posts: 873
Joined: Tue Mar 05, 2013 00:36
GitHub: 12Me21
Location: (Ignore all of my posts before 2018)

by 12Me21 » Post

you should make the admin pick just replace the node it hits with air, so it can still work in protected areas
Shoutouts to Simpleflips

User avatar
ak399g
Member
Posts: 160
Joined: Tue Jul 30, 2013 02:36
In-game: SAFR
Contact:

by ak399g » Post

Is it possible to give the pushers a texture?
aka SAFR

PenguinDad
Member
Posts: 122
Joined: Wed Apr 10, 2013 16:46

by PenguinDad » Post

ak399g wrote:Is it possible to give the pushers a texture?
Only change the part for the pushers in init.lua.

Ender_Foo
Member
Posts: 18
Joined: Sat Oct 26, 2013 17:06
In-game: Ender_Foo
Location: Australia

by Ender_Foo » Post

Anyone know the itemstrings?
I'm back, but wont be online as much. My username is back to "Ender_Foo"

User avatar
PilzAdam
Member
Posts: 4026
Joined: Fri Jul 20, 2012 16:19
GitHub: PilzAdam
IRC: PilzAdam
Location: Germany

by PilzAdam » Post

Ender_Foo wrote:Anyone know the itemstrings?
I guess this could help: https://github.com/Calinou/maptools/blo ... liases.lua

User avatar
addi
Member
Posts: 665
Joined: Thu Sep 20, 2012 03:16
GitHub: adrido
Location: Black-Forest, Germany

by addi » Post

i have 2 suggestions of things missing in this mod

add a soil wich never gets dry (maybe undiggable)
a endless usable screwdriver wich dose work even more longer

it would be great if you can add this

User avatar
crazyginger72
Member
Posts: 69
Joined: Wed Jan 01, 2014 07:57
GitHub: crazyginger72
IRC: cg72
In-game: crazyginger72
Location: gone to lunch

Re: [Mod] Map Tools [maptools]

by crazyginger72 » Post

ok i love the mod but have a major issue with one thing!!! ( 2 really 2nd being you dont have a normal github lol XD )
my issue is that the tools dont log digs like other tools and WHEN some non-admin on my server gets one i cand track it!

I added a few lines to the on_punchnode i think will be very usefull to all server owners :)

Code: Select all

minetest.register_on_punchnode(function(pos, node, puncher)
	if puncher:get_wielded_item():get_name() == "default:pick_admin" or puncher:get_wielded_item():get_name() == "default:pick_admin_with_drops"
	and minetest.env: get_node(pos).name ~= "air" then
		if puncher:get_wielded_item():get_name() == "default:pick_admin" then
			minetest.env:remove_node(pos)
			minetest.log("action", puncher:get_player_name().." used admin-pick to dig block @"..minetest.pos_to_string(pos))
		else
		minetest.log("action", puncher:get_player_name().." used admin-pick to dig block @"..minetest.pos_to_string(pos))
		end
	end
end)

User avatar
Calinou
Moderator
Posts: 3164
Joined: Mon Aug 01, 2011 14:26
GitHub: Calinou
IRC: Calinou
In-game: Calinou
Location: Troyes, France
Contact:

Re: [Mod] Map Tools [maptools]

by Calinou » Post

Done, looks like this in the console:

Code: Select all

19:16:38: ACTION[ServerThread]: singleplayer digs default:dirt at (814,19,-20) using an Admin Pickaxe.
19:16:38: ACTION[ServerThread]: singleplayer digs default:cobble at (815,19,-20) using an Admin Pickaxe.
19:16:39: ACTION[ServerThread]: singleplayer digs default:cobble at (816,19,-20) using an Admin Pickaxe.
Also, I do have a Gitorious page, with merge requests and an issue tracker. The Admin Pickaxe with Drops is already logged, since it works like a normal tool.

User avatar
crazyginger72
Member
Posts: 69
Joined: Wed Jan 01, 2014 07:57
GitHub: crazyginger72
IRC: cg72
In-game: crazyginger72
Location: gone to lunch

Re: [Mod] Map Tools [maptools]

by crazyginger72 » Post

Thank you :)

i never use the with_drops so i didnt know but i do perfer for my use it to be logged as "admin" for issues with lost picks and 'rouge admin' ( yes we had one) grieffing lol!

gitorious im not fimilar with as i use git hub sorry.

User avatar
Calinou
Moderator
Posts: 3164
Joined: Mon Aug 01, 2011 14:26
GitHub: Calinou
IRC: Calinou
In-game: Calinou
Location: Troyes, France
Contact:

Re: [Mod] Map Tools [maptools]

by Calinou » Post

crazyginger72 wrote:Thank you :)

i never use the with_drops so i didnt know but i do perfer for my use it to be logged as "admin" for issues with lost picks and 'rouge admin' ( yes we had one) grieffing lol!

gitorious im not fimilar with as i use git hub sorry.
Admin Pickaxe has a new texture now, Admin Pickaxe with Drops has a slightly different texture too.

User avatar
addi
Member
Posts: 665
Joined: Thu Sep 20, 2012 03:16
GitHub: adrido
Location: Black-Forest, Germany

Re:

by addi » Post

addi wrote:i have 2 suggestions of things missing in this mod

add a soil wich never gets dry (maybe undiggable)
a endless usable screwdriver wich dose work even more longer

it would be great if you can add this

User avatar
Calinou
Moderator
Posts: 3164
Joined: Mon Aug 01, 2011 14:26
GitHub: Calinou
IRC: Calinou
In-game: Calinou
Location: Troyes, France
Contact:

Re: Re:

by Calinou » Post

addi wrote:
addi wrote:i have 2 suggestions of things missing in this mod

add a soil wich never gets dry (maybe undiggable)
a endless usable screwdriver wich dose work even more longer

it would be great if you can add this
In order to add this, I either need to modify the farming and screwdriver mods, or to duplicate tons of code…

User avatar
addi
Member
Posts: 665
Joined: Thu Sep 20, 2012 03:16
GitHub: adrido
Location: Black-Forest, Germany

Re: Re:

by addi » Post

ok for screwdriver but what about wet soil?

User avatar
Calinou
Moderator
Posts: 3164
Joined: Mon Aug 01, 2011 14:26
GitHub: Calinou
IRC: Calinou
In-game: Calinou
Location: Troyes, France
Contact:

Re: [Mod] Map Tools [maptools]

by Calinou » Post

Added, thanks.

SuperCode
Member
Posts: 10
Joined: Sat Jul 19, 2014 16:51

Re: [Mod] Map Tools [maptools]

by SuperCode » Post

Looks great, guess I will have to give it a try.

User avatar
Napiophelios
Member
Posts: 1019
Joined: Mon Jul 07, 2014 01:14
GitHub: Napiophelios
IRC: Nappi
In-game: Nappi

Re: [Mod] Map Tools [maptools]

by Napiophelios » Post

I am trying to add a less powerful version of the lightbulb to my copy of maptools;

Code: Select all

minetest.register_node("maptools:tunnel_light", {
	description = "Temporary Tunnel Lights",
	range = 12,
	stack_max = 1000,
	inventory_image = inventory_image = "maptools_tunnel_light.png",
	drawtype = "airlike",
	buildable_to = true,
	walkable = false,
	pointable = false,
	light_source = 14,
	paramtype = "light",
	sunlight_propagates = true,
	drop = "",
	groups = {not_in_creative_inventory = MAPTOOLS_CREATIVE},
})
As it is with the above edited code, the lights can be extinguished by building on top of them but,
I want the lights to only be temporary,either
after a certain amount of time they just die,
or when player gets a certain distance away from the lights.

But I dont know how to implement either.
Does the leafdecay in groups apply to any node or just leaves?

Is this something you could implement into maptools?


edit:I found this but I gotta study it to see if it even applies;
I am so confused by this stuff

Code: Select all

minetest.get_node_timer(pos)
on_timer = function(pos, elapsed)
start= (timeout)
set= (timeout, elapsed)
is_started= true

User avatar
Calinou
Moderator
Posts: 3164
Joined: Mon Aug 01, 2011 14:26
GitHub: Calinou
IRC: Calinou
In-game: Calinou
Location: Troyes, France
Contact:

Re: [Mod] Map Tools [maptools]

by Calinou » Post

Napiophelios wrote:Does the leafdecay in groups apply to any node or just leaves?
You can use it on any node, even stone or obsidian if you wanted. The “leafdecay” nodes will not decay when they are near nodes of a “tree” group.
Napiophelios wrote:Is this something you could implement into maptools?
Probably not, I try to implement the stuff that will be the most useful to people first.

User avatar
Calinou
Moderator
Posts: 3164
Joined: Mon Aug 01, 2011 14:26
GitHub: Calinou
IRC: Calinou
In-game: Calinou
Location: Troyes, France
Contact:

Re: [Mod] Map Tools [maptools]

by Calinou » Post

I made a Debian/Ubuntu/Mint package, please test: https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/823 ... ptools.deb

This will work only when a packaged Minetest is installed (from a PPA or official repositories).

User avatar
Danfun64
Member
Posts: 29
Joined: Wed Jun 05, 2013 01:22

Re: [Mod] Map Tools [maptools]

by Danfun64 » Post

gitorious is dead. You need to update the github repo.

User avatar
Calinou
Moderator
Posts: 3164
Joined: Mon Aug 01, 2011 14:26
GitHub: Calinou
IRC: Calinou
In-game: Calinou
Location: Troyes, France
Contact:

Re: [Mod] Map Tools [maptools]

by Calinou » Post

Danfun64 wrote:gitorious is dead. You need to update the github repo.
The link in the topic is up-to-date.

Minetest Sam
Member
Posts: 98
Joined: Sat Nov 14, 2015 09:26

Re: [Mod] Map Tools [maptools]

by Minetest Sam » Post

Calinou, when I try to use the command /give no_interact it doesn't work.It says name and itemstring required

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: daret and 10 guests