[Modpack] TechPack [techpack]

Terumoc
Member
 
Posts: 53
Joined: Thu Dec 28, 2017 20:00
GitHub: Terumoc
In-game: Terumoc

Re: [Modpack] TechPack [techpack]

by Terumoc » Sun Aug 05, 2018 20:48

I just wanted to say I found it surprisingly easy to integrate support for tubelib in my own mod, thanks for both the useful mod and also for making the API simple and clear!
Maker of Terumetal and Teruview mods at https://github.com/Terumoc
 

User avatar
joe7575
Member
 
Posts: 242
Joined: Mon Apr 24, 2017 20:38
Location: Germany, in the deep south
GitHub: joe7575
In-game: JoSto

Re: [Modpack] TechPack [techpack]

by joe7575 » Mon Aug 06, 2018 10:38

Thanks Fixer and Terumoc.
Nice to hear that.
It hopefully will become more known and used, especially by other interesting mods with tubelib support.
Sent from my Commodore 64. My Mods: TechPack, Hyperloop, Tower Crane, Lumberjack, Iron Age, Entrance.
 

User avatar
joe7575
Member
 
Posts: 242
Joined: Mon Apr 24, 2017 20:38
Location: Germany, in the deep south
GitHub: joe7575
In-game: JoSto

Re: [Modpack] TechPack [techpack]

by joe7575 » Wed Aug 08, 2018 10:40

A new extension [tubelib_addons3] with high performance nodes is available

These nodes are able to pull/push ItemStacks instead of single items.

Image

  • HighPerf Chest, a large chest with more capacity
  • HighPerf Pusher
  • HighPerf Distributor
  • HighPerf Pushing Chest, a combination of a sorting and pushing node with inventory to build sorting warehouses
v1.10 is on GitHub
Attachments
addons3.png
(436.75 KiB) Not downloaded yet
Sent from my Commodore 64. My Mods: TechPack, Hyperloop, Tower Crane, Lumberjack, Iron Age, Entrance.
 

User avatar
texmex
Member
 
Posts: 1009
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2016 21:08
GitHub: tacotexmex
In-game: texmex

Re: [Modpack] TechPack [techpack]

by texmex » Thu Aug 09, 2018 07:41

Nice additions joe!

I was wondering if you could offer the individual mods of the modpack as git repos (again)? This way games that depends on the library itself but not the nodes can rely on that repo alone. (like in my case :))
 

User avatar
joe7575
Member
 
Posts: 242
Joined: Mon Apr 24, 2017 20:38
Location: Germany, in the deep south
GitHub: joe7575
In-game: JoSto

Re: [Modpack] TechPack [techpack]

by joe7575 » Thu Aug 09, 2018 13:07

texmex wrote:I was wondering if you could offer the individual mods of the modpack as git repos (again)? This way games that depends on the library itself but not the nodes can rely on that repo alone. (like in my case :))


The repo Tubelib is reopened. See https://github.com/joe7575/Minetest-Tubelib
But it is part of TechPack, too.
Sent from my Commodore 64. My Mods: TechPack, Hyperloop, Tower Crane, Lumberjack, Iron Age, Entrance.
 

User avatar
texmex
Member
 
Posts: 1009
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2016 21:08
GitHub: tacotexmex
In-game: texmex

Re: [Modpack] TechPack [techpack]

by texmex » Thu Aug 09, 2018 14:13

Thank you joe! You know, you could also split all mods into individual repos and then make the modpack consist of git submodules… :)
 

User avatar
joe7575
Member
 
Posts: 242
Joined: Mon Apr 24, 2017 20:38
Location: Germany, in the deep south
GitHub: joe7575
In-game: JoSto

Re: [Modpack] TechPack [techpack]

by joe7575 » Thu Aug 09, 2018 16:01

texmex wrote:Thank you joe! You know, you could also split all mods into individual repos and then make the modpack consist of git submodules… :)

Theoretically yes, practically No xD
I will try to make at least tubelib as external repo.

BTW: There was a bug in the tubing code, I just fixed. So you should update again (if you already did)
Sent from my Commodore 64. My Mods: TechPack, Hyperloop, Tower Crane, Lumberjack, Iron Age, Entrance.
 

User avatar
joe7575
Member
 
Posts: 242
Joined: Mon Apr 24, 2017 20:38
Location: Germany, in the deep south
GitHub: joe7575
In-game: JoSto

Re: [Modpack] TechPack [techpack]

by joe7575 » Wed Aug 15, 2018 18:34

TechPack has now its Detector and Teleporter nodes.
Documentation for all nodes is available as Wiki

+ image
Attachments
detector_teleporter.png
(283.66 KiB) Not downloaded yet
Sent from my Commodore 64. My Mods: TechPack, Hyperloop, Tower Crane, Lumberjack, Iron Age, Entrance.
 

lilo
Member
 
Posts: 31
Joined: Sat May 27, 2017 14:45

Re: [Modpack] TechPack [techpack]

by lilo » Fri Aug 17, 2018 15:03

Hi,

can someone explain how this "HighPerf Pushing Chest" works?
I thought first, the top bar would be a kind of filter, which indicates what the pusher from the bottom of the box should take. However, this is not so, the pusher pushes the blocks that are stored there just continue but I have no way to fill this bar again. Except the box is so full that the blocks are also stored in the top bar.

How does the distributor decide which output gets something if several outputs are to get the same block?

Does the distance, which is overcome with the pipes, affect the transfer time?

What would the optimal arrangement look like on a field for a harvester, if there are trees to be mined for the production of leaves?
I'm currently trying on a 21 x 21 field with aspen whose stems are always 4 fields apart so that the leaf crown is optimally formed but the harvester does not harvest continuously, but does so quite irregularly.
I'm currently trying on a 21 x 21 field with aspen whose stems are always 4 fields apart so that the leaf crown is optimally formed but the harvester does not harvest continuously, but does so quite irregularly.

Greets
 

User avatar
joe7575
Member
 
Posts: 242
Joined: Mon Apr 24, 2017 20:38
Location: Germany, in the deep south
GitHub: joe7575
In-game: JoSto

Re: [Modpack] TechPack [techpack]

by joe7575 » Fri Aug 17, 2018 18:48

can someone explain how this "HighPerf Pushing Chest" works?

Did you check the Wiki Page (https://github.com/joe7575/techpack/wiki/addons3)

How does the distributor decide which output gets something if several outputs are to get the same block?

It will push it to all outputs with some random order.

Does the distance, which is overcome with the pipes, affect the transfer time?

No, all items are delivered immediately.

What would the optimal arrangement look like on a field for a harvester, if there are trees to be mined for the production of leaves?

3 or 4 seams to be a good value.
Sent from my Commodore 64. My Mods: TechPack, Hyperloop, Tower Crane, Lumberjack, Iron Age, Entrance.
 

lilo
Member
 
Posts: 31
Joined: Sat May 27, 2017 14:45

Re: [Modpack] TechPack [techpack]

by lilo » Fri Aug 17, 2018 19:57

Hi,

yes i looked in your wiki but for me it is not clear how can i automate fill the pusher line in this box. When i push block with other pusher in this box it will be only fill main space.

Greets
 

User avatar
joe7575
Member
 
Posts: 242
Joined: Mon Apr 24, 2017 20:38
Location: Germany, in the deep south
GitHub: joe7575
In-game: JoSto

Re: [Modpack] TechPack [techpack]

by joe7575 » Sat Aug 18, 2018 15:48

lilo wrote:Hi,

yes i looked in your wiki but for me it is not clear how can i automate fill the pusher line in this box. When i push block with other pusher in this box it will be only fill main space.

Greets


I have tried to improve the description in the Wiki.
Sent from my Commodore 64. My Mods: TechPack, Hyperloop, Tower Crane, Lumberjack, Iron Age, Entrance.
 

User avatar
joe7575
Member
 
Posts: 242
Joined: Mon Apr 24, 2017 20:38
Location: Germany, in the deep south
GitHub: joe7575
In-game: JoSto

Re: [Modpack] TechPack [techpack]

by joe7575 » Sat Sep 08, 2018 16:05

The SmartLine controller has got on update to simplify the use.
The main changes:
- only one condition and one action per rule
- all rules are executed cyclically based on a configured cycle time
- actions can now be executed delayed (no timers anymore)
- further condition/actions like the "balancer" to load the Autocrafter with a configured item ratio

- Wiki Page to the SmartLine-Controller
- Examples to the SmartLine-Controller

+ Spoiler


This Controller allows to control the item flow and helps to keep huge machines running without the need of programming skills. For bigger challenges the SaferLua Controller can be used...
Attachments
slc_ex1_form.png
(8 KiB) Not downloaded yet
slc_ex1_animation.gif
(298.5 KiB) Not downloaded yet
Sent from my Commodore 64. My Mods: TechPack, Hyperloop, Tower Crane, Lumberjack, Iron Age, Entrance.
 

User avatar
joe7575
Member
 
Posts: 242
Joined: Mon Apr 24, 2017 20:38
Location: Germany, in the deep south
GitHub: joe7575
In-game: JoSto

Re: [Modpack] TechPack [techpack]

by joe7575 » Mon Sep 10, 2018 20:41

Update: v1.14 is on GitHub

Additions
- The Tubelib chests now provide the states ("empty"/"loaded").
- The SmartLine Controller got the command "chest state request" for Tubelib chests.
- Minetest fuel recipe for Bio Fuel added.

Changes
- The Distributor is now able to push up to 20 items per slot and phase (instead of 6).
- The Distributor now uses an unconfigured port for blocked/rejected items.
- The Tubelib Protected Chest got a new texture.
- The Harvester is now HighPerf Pusher compatible.
Sent from my Commodore 64. My Mods: TechPack, Hyperloop, Tower Crane, Lumberjack, Iron Age, Entrance.
 

User avatar
joe7575
Member
 
Posts: 242
Joined: Mon Apr 24, 2017 20:38
Location: Germany, in the deep south
GitHub: joe7575
In-game: JoSto

Re: [Modpack] TechPack [techpack]

by joe7575 » Tue Sep 18, 2018 21:13

There are two cool videos showing the features and possibilities of TechPack:

* from Nathan Salapat

* from Richard Jeffries

Thanks to Nathan and Richard

Edit: Both did not notice that the Display depends on display_lib & font_lib from the Display mod pack
Sent from my Commodore 64. My Mods: TechPack, Hyperloop, Tower Crane, Lumberjack, Iron Age, Entrance.
 

User avatar
joe7575
Member
 
Posts: 242
Joined: Mon Apr 24, 2017 20:38
Location: Germany, in the deep south
GitHub: joe7575
In-game: JoSto

Re: [Modpack] TechPack [techpack]

by joe7575 » Thu Sep 20, 2018 20:37

V1.16 is available.

I switched from "Display mod pack" to an internal lcdlib, based on a former version of the Display mod pack. This was necessary due to extensive and probably ongoing changes on the Display mod pack API.
Sent from my Commodore 64. My Mods: TechPack, Hyperloop, Tower Crane, Lumberjack, Iron Age, Entrance.
 

rgspro
Member
 
Posts: 72
Joined: Fri Jan 27, 2017 07:13

Re: [Modpack] TechPack [techpack]

by rgspro » Thu Sep 20, 2018 23:52

Image

screenshot_20180920_184706.png
(163.89 KiB) Not downloaded yet


Updated and everything works! Great Mod!
 

User avatar
joe7575
Member
 
Posts: 242
Joined: Mon Apr 24, 2017 20:38
Location: Germany, in the deep south
GitHub: joe7575
In-game: JoSto

Re: [Modpack] TechPack [techpack]

by joe7575 » Fri Sep 21, 2018 20:21

Small but important improvement:
"Straight ahead tubes" can now be placed with the help of the "sneak" button.
But also precise connections to chests and so on are possible with help of the "sneak" button.

Image
Attachments
name.gif
(432.61 KiB) Not downloaded yet
Sent from my Commodore 64. My Mods: TechPack, Hyperloop, Tower Crane, Lumberjack, Iron Age, Entrance.
 

dan75
New member
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Oct 05, 2018 19:20

Re: [Modpack] TechPack [techpack]

by dan75 » Fri Oct 05, 2018 19:46

Hello Minetestians,
I'm still new to Minetest but already addicted :)

But I have a problem with the TechPack machines. It seems they are only running when I'm near to them.
I have built up a machine to harvest trees to create bio fuel, and it works as expected when I'm near to it (can't say the exact distance in nodes).
And I have also built a quarry which is ~650 nodes deep. It's connected to a Transporter to get the mined nodes to the surface. It also works, when I'm near to it.
But when I'm near to my quarry machine, the bio fuel machine is paused, and vice versa.

How can I get it working, when I'm not nearby?

I set up a minetest server 0.4.17.1 which is only used by me. I use the TechPack V1.16 which I cloned from the git repo.

I don't know where the problem is. If it's a general minetest problem or if it's a problem with TechPack, or if I'm simply too stupid to set everything up. Please be a little patient with me.

Best whishes,
dan
 

User avatar
joe7575
Member
 
Posts: 242
Joined: Mon Apr 24, 2017 20:38
Location: Germany, in the deep south
GitHub: joe7575
In-game: JoSto

Re: [Modpack] TechPack [techpack]

by joe7575 » Fri Oct 05, 2018 20:28

Hi dan75,

Welcome to Minetest!

What you figured out is no problem of TechPack, it is a principle of Minetest.
Minetest only loads blocks (16x16x16 nodes) from your world into the PC memory when a player is around.
The world would be too huge to kept them in RAM.
But the number of loaded blocks around the player is configurable in 'minetest.conf':
active_block_range (default: 2)

You can increase the value but not that much.

But there are mod around which enable "force-loading blocks"

/Joe
Sent from my Commodore 64. My Mods: TechPack, Hyperloop, Tower Crane, Lumberjack, Iron Age, Entrance.
 

dan75
New member
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Oct 05, 2018 19:20

Re: [Modpack] TechPack [techpack]

by dan75 » Fri Oct 05, 2018 21:03

Hello joe7575,
thanks for your quick answer.

TechPack is a cool mod anyway.

Best whishes,
dan
 

User avatar
texmex
Member
 
Posts: 1009
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2016 21:08
GitHub: tacotexmex
In-game: texmex
 

dan75
New member
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Oct 05, 2018 19:20

Re: [Modpack] TechPack [techpack]

by dan75 » Sat Oct 06, 2018 21:43

@texmex Thanks for the advice. I use the world anchor from the technic mod, which provides the same functionality as I found out today. As far as I can see it works great with the TechPack mod.

Best whishes,
dan
 

micu
New member
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Oct 19, 2018 07:50
GitHub: realmicu

Re: [Modpack] TechPack [techpack]

by micu » Fri Oct 19, 2018 08:32

Hello joe7575,

Thanks for the mod, it is my number 1 (or even 0 ;-)). Really good work! Gold (or rather Mese) Rush in Minetest is now a reality.
I've added a few lines of code to SaferLua Controller to report it state correctly. I wasn't able to read get_status() properly of one such device on another one before then. How can I send this patch ? Patch text attachments are forbidden here apparently.

Best regards
micu
 

User avatar
joe7575
Member
 
Posts: 242
Joined: Mon Apr 24, 2017 20:38
Location: Germany, in the deep south
GitHub: joe7575
In-game: JoSto

Re: [Modpack] TechPack [techpack]

by joe7575 » Fri Oct 19, 2018 17:40

Hi Micu, thanks for your response.
You can send me a PM (the button on the left) or open a pull request on GitHub.
Sent from my Commodore 64. My Mods: TechPack, Hyperloop, Tower Crane, Lumberjack, Iron Age, Entrance.
 

Previous

Return to Mod Releases



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 11 guests