Page 2 of 2

Re: [Mod] Tunnelmaker [tunnelmaker]

PostPosted: Wed Feb 06, 2019 23:42
by kestral
With the imminent release of Minetest 5.0, Tunnelmaker 2.0 will only be supporting 5.0. The old version of tunnelmaker will remain available for those who can't or choose not to upgrade.

Information on trying the 2.0 beta can be found on page 1 of this thread, two posts back.

I have taken another of Mikola's good ideas and added the new client-side translations feature of MT5.0 to tunnelmaker. It is très cool to see one client displaying an English menu, while at the same time a second client is displaying French.

However, if anyone reading this post has good knowledge of French, I would appreciate if they could critique my French translation file and provide corrections. I fear my level of French will never get past the read-only stage. The file, tunnelmaker.fr.tr, can be found in:

https://github.com/kestral246/tunnelmaker/tree/beta/locale

In addition, if anyone else would like the new tunnelmaker menu system to show up in their own language, I will accept other translation files. There is a template file, tunnelmaker.template, in the same above directory, which can be used as a reference to create them.

Here's what the new Tunnelmaker User Options menu looks like:

Image

And here is a forum post that discusses how to do client-side translations:

https://forum.minetest.net/viewtopic.php?f=18&t=18349

Finally, I added better support for Android. It turns out that the Android version doesn't accept shift-left-click, so it was impossible to bring up the new menu. To fix this I added a second menu command, aux-right-click, which works on Android 5.0, since it now has an AUX button on the screen.

As of version 2.0-beta-15 (2019-03-02) the controls were changed. The original beta announcement post has been updated with the latest control description.

Re: [Mod] Tunnelmaker [2.0] [tunnelmaker]

PostPosted: Fri Mar 08, 2019 03:07
by kestral
Tunnelmaker 2.0 has been released, with many new and improved features. Note however that this is a Minetest 5.0 release only. The old version remains available as a legacy release. See first post for details.

Re: [Mod] Tunnelmaker [2.0] [tunnelmaker]

PostPosted: Fri Mar 08, 2019 19:21
by Cage
kestral the new controls are in conflict with Digall. Digall uses the Shift-Left-Click for digging.

Re: [Mod] Tunnelmaker [2.0] [tunnelmaker]

PostPosted: Fri Mar 08, 2019 21:28
by kestral
Tunneling with shift-left-click will override digall and still dig a tunnel, even though digall is activated and quickmode is enabled. In this case, if you want the digall effect, you'll have to use another digging tool.

Unless there's a more serious conflict between these mods, I don't plan on changing it.

Re: [Mod] Tunnelmaker [2.0] [tunnelmaker]

PostPosted: Sat Mar 09, 2019 04:22
by argyle
I found a crash while running with github master, commit cb4a4bf:

Code: Select all
2019-03-08 23:10:49: ERROR[Main]: ServerError: AsyncErr: ServerThread::run Lua: Runtime error from mod '' in callback item_OnUse(): Invalid position (expected table got nil).
2019-03-08 23:10:49: ERROR[Main]: stack traceback:
2019-03-08 23:10:49: ERROR[Main]:    [C]: in function 'get_node'
2019-03-08 23:10:49: ERROR[Main]:    /home/argyle/minetest/bin/../mods/tunnelmaker/init.lua:954: in function </home/argyle/minetest/bin/../mods/tunnelmaker/init.lua:947>
2019-03-08 23:10:49: ERROR[Main]: stack traceback:
2019-03-08 23:10:49: ERROR[Main]:    [C]: in function 'get_node'
2019-03-08 23:10:49: ERROR[Main]:    /home/argyle/minetest/bin/../mods/tunnelmaker/init.lua:954: in function </home/argyle/minetest/bin/../mods/tunnelmaker/init.lua:947>


It happens when trying to use the tool when its not pointing at a node.

Also, I'm not so sure how I feel about the new controls. I'd rather right-click for tool-use (building), and then maybe the shift - clicks for settings.

Re: [Mod] Tunnelmaker [2.0] [tunnelmaker]

PostPosted: Sat Mar 09, 2019 16:30
by kestral
I fixed the crash and have reverted back to classic controls, along with updating the documentation.

If I decide to change the controls at a future point, I will make it an option only.