[mod] 62 underground biomes! [1.1.2] [underch]

User avatar
Hume2
Member
 
Posts: 482
Joined: Tue Jun 19, 2018 08:24
Location: Czech Republic
GitHub: Hume2
In-game: Hume2

Re: [mod] 62 underground biomes! [1.1.2] [underch]

by Hume2 » Sun Dec 22, 2019 13:27

Wuzzy wrote:This could be the start of a whole new game.

Indeed, I was planning to do so but I dropped that idea due to lack of motivation. Currently, it is an essential mod of Tunneler's Abyss. I haven't seen any other server using this mod so far. I would be glad if anyone wanted to make a game based on this mod.
If you lack the reality, go on a trip or find a job.
 

User avatar
Nathan.S
Member
 
Posts: 973
Joined: Wed Sep 24, 2014 17:47
Location: Bigsby Texas
GitHub: NathanSalapat
IRC: NathanS21
In-game: NathanS21

Re: [mod] 62 underground biomes! [1.1.2] [underch]

by Nathan.S » Sun Dec 22, 2019 19:39

Is there an easy way to make the biomes start to appear further down? I want to add this to an existing world, but would like to keep the biomes strictly underground so as to not have any goofy edges visible above ground.
I record Minetest videos, Mod reviews, Modding tutorials, and Lets plays.
Check out my website, and brand new Minetest Modding Course
 

User avatar
Hume2
Member
 
Posts: 482
Joined: Tue Jun 19, 2018 08:24
Location: Czech Republic
GitHub: Hume2
In-game: Hume2

Re: [mod] 62 underground biomes! [1.1.2] [underch]

by Hume2 » Mon Dec 23, 2019 06:54

Nathan.S wrote:Is there an easy way to make the biomes start to appear further down? I want to add this to an existing world, but would like to keep the biomes strictly underground so as to not have any goofy edges visible above ground.

You can tweak these magic numbers: https://gitlab.com/h2mm/underch/blob/ma ... ns.lua#L17
If you want to move the biomes downwards, decrease the pressure.
If you lack the reality, go on a trip or find a job.
 

User avatar
Nathan.S
Member
 
Posts: 973
Joined: Wed Sep 24, 2014 17:47
Location: Bigsby Texas
GitHub: NathanSalapat
IRC: NathanS21
In-game: NathanS21

Re: [mod] 62 underground biomes! [1.1.2] [underch]

by Nathan.S » Mon Dec 23, 2019 13:09

Thank you so very much.
I record Minetest videos, Mod reviews, Modding tutorials, and Lets plays.
Check out my website, and brand new Minetest Modding Course
 

ThorfinnS
Member
 
Posts: 221
Joined: Mon Feb 25, 2019 22:05
GitHub: ThorfinnS

Re: [mod] 62 underground biomes! [1.1.2] [underch]

by ThorfinnS » Mon Dec 23, 2019 17:36

Let me know what you come up with. I like the alternate rocks on the surface here and there, but I'd prefer to have generic stone for most such outcrops.
 

User avatar
Hume2
Member
 
Posts: 482
Joined: Tue Jun 19, 2018 08:24
Location: Czech Republic
GitHub: Hume2
In-game: Hume2

Re: [mod] 62 underground biomes! [1.1.2] [underch]

by Hume2 » Tue Dec 24, 2019 19:16

ThorfinnS wrote:Let me know what you come up with. I like the alternate rocks on the surface here and there, but I'd prefer to have generic stone for most such outcrops.

Do you know, what is strange? In Minetest game, you have desert stone, sandstone, silver sandstone ... whatever-stone and just stone. It looks weird for me. That's my philosophical opinion. If you want a simple tweak, you can look at
https://gitlab.com/h2mm/underch/blob/master/worldgen.lua#L140 and redefine some of the biomes so they would keep the stone type as default.
If you lack the reality, go on a trip or find a job.
 

ThorfinnS
Member
 
Posts: 221
Joined: Mon Feb 25, 2019 22:05
GitHub: ThorfinnS

Re: [mod] 62 underground biomes! [1.1.2] [underch]

by ThorfinnS » Mon Dec 30, 2019 17:40

I had thought the basic stone and cobble and such would be missed. Not so much. The unanimous decision was this is the new base "game" for all their play and coding.

To be fair, many of the issues we had seen earlier were because some other mods used default:stone and default:cobble in recipes rather than group:stone. But those were quick and easy to tweak with a find in files.

Couple things caught my attention. Tin is now in default, so you can get rid of that moreores conditional. And while it's not going to come up in our games, replacing default:stick with group:stick in your recipes (torchberry, for instance) would avoid similar issues with other mods which create their own stick-like objects.

Great mod!
 

User avatar
Hume2
Member
 
Posts: 482
Joined: Tue Jun 19, 2018 08:24
Location: Czech Republic
GitHub: Hume2
In-game: Hume2

Re: [mod] 62 underground biomes! [1.1.2] [underch]

by Hume2 » Mon Dec 30, 2019 19:29

ThorfinnS wrote:I had thought the basic stone and cobble and such would be missed. Not so much. The unanimous decision was this is the new base "game" for all their play and coding.

To be fair, many of the issues we had seen earlier were because some other mods used default:stone and default:cobble in recipes rather than group:stone. But those were quick and easy to tweak with a find in files.

Couple things caught my attention. Tin is now in default, so you can get rid of that moreores conditional. And while it's not going to come up in our games, replacing default:stick with group:stick in your recipes (torchberry, for instance) would avoid similar issues with other mods which create their own stick-like objects.

Great mod!

Thanks! In uchu, I tried to override a few recipes in some mods. When a recipe requires default:cobble or default:stone, you can change it to group:cobble or group:smoothstone respectively. (There are also group:stonebrick, group:stoneblock, group:mossycobble) It's a shame that such groups aren't present in minetest_game, since it contains stone and desert stone.
If you lack the reality, go on a trip or find a job.
 

Winter94
Member
 
Posts: 43
Joined: Sat Jan 11, 2020 17:15
In-game: Azrael Winter WintersKnight

Re: [mod] 62 underground biomes! [1.1.2] [underch]

by Winter94 » Fri Feb 07, 2020 16:05

I AM making a game based on this mod, though I constantly have an error where minetest cannot grab the chunk it just generated, and it leaves holes in the world and sometimes causes crashes. It would be cool to get your help with this, Hume2
 

User avatar
Hume2
Member
 
Posts: 482
Joined: Tue Jun 19, 2018 08:24
Location: Czech Republic
GitHub: Hume2
In-game: Hume2

Re: [mod] 62 underground biomes! [1.1.2] [underch]

by Hume2 » Sat Feb 08, 2020 11:33

Winter94 wrote:I AM making a game based on this mod,
Thanks!
Winter94 wrote: though I constantly have an error where minetest cannot grab the chunk it just generated,
I don't see them much and I don't know what they mean. It must be a bug in Minetest.
Winter94 wrote: and it leaves holes in the world
I never experienced this, not even on our server.
Winter94 wrote: and sometimes causes crashes.
It doesn't crash for me. Please, send me an error log, that will help much.
Winter94 wrote: It would be cool to get your help with this, Hume2
What Minetest version are you using? It works fine in 5.0-dev, 5.0.1, 5.1.0 and 5.2.0-dev. And what other mods are you using at the same time?
If you lack the reality, go on a trip or find a job.
 

Winter94
Member
 
Posts: 43
Joined: Sat Jan 11, 2020 17:15
In-game: Azrael Winter WintersKnight

Re: [mod] 62 underground biomes! [1.1.2] [underch]

by Winter94 » Sat Feb 08, 2020 16:41

I have been using 5.1.0, and it occurs even when I load underch by itself. Although, since you asked, I've been trying to combine several mods, including underch and real minerals, into a more realistic survival-crafting game that can teach about geology, metallurgy, botany, and basic survival techniques. (There is, however, going to be a "Fantasy Mode" that would add fantastical creatures, plants, and metals not found in real life{eg., adamantine, mithral, goblins} )
You've said in the past that you wished someone would make a game using UnderChallenge, and I'm doing so. If you would like to be more a part of my project, it would be an honor to work with you.
But back to the bug, it states in the error log that it's caused by undeclared global variables "dir" and "dir-c"
 

User avatar
LMD
Member
 
Posts: 812
Joined: Sat Apr 08, 2017 08:16
Location: Germany
GitHub: appgurueu
IRC: appguru[eu]
In-game: LMD

Re: [mod] 62 underground biomes! [1.1.2] [underch]

by LMD » Sun Feb 09, 2020 10:24

I would recommend upgrading to 5.1.1, a bugfix release. Probably it fixes your issues as well?
My stuff: Projects - Mods - Website
 

User avatar
Hume2
Member
 
Posts: 482
Joined: Tue Jun 19, 2018 08:24
Location: Czech Republic
GitHub: Hume2
In-game: Hume2

Re: [mod] 62 underground biomes! [1.1.2] [underch]

by Hume2 » Sun Feb 09, 2020 11:17

Winter94 wrote:But back to the bug, it states in the error log that it's caused by undeclared global variables "dir" and "dir-c"

Can you please paste here whole the error log?
If you lack the reality, go on a trip or find a job.
 

Previous

Return to Mod Releases



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: runs, ulla and 25 guests