Page 9 of 39

PostPosted: Tue Jun 25, 2013 02:33
by VanessaE
Now that's a good idea, if it can be implemented in a CPU-friendly-but-functional fashion.

PostPosted: Tue Jun 25, 2013 03:05
by Inocudom
VanessaE wrote:Now that's a good idea, if it can be implemented in a CPU-friendly-but-functional fashion.


This could also be done with the devices of pipeworks as well. In the end, such things can give the generators and battery boxes of technic more uses. Concerning mesecons, anything that sends a signal could require electricity from technic.

PostPosted: Tue Jun 25, 2013 06:35
by Dan Duncombe
I think that Mesecons is more electrical signalling, whereas Technic is electrical power. Other wise it would be stupid if you could just put a lever on a furnace and turn it on for infinite power.

PostPosted: Tue Jun 25, 2013 06:57
by Jordach
Both forget that Mesecons are digital logic.

Technic would be an easy way of doing this. Add a wire to the back. Done.

PostPosted: Sat Jul 13, 2013 11:10
by fairiestoy
Hey,
first of all, great mod. It adds way more possibilities to the game. But there is something i would like to suggest. Since there are beds and chairs, but no way to interact with them: Is it possible to implement it? I was looking at the default character mesh and found a Sit animation. But i never noticed a way it is used in the game. I came across this post:
http://forum.minetest.net/viewtopic.php?id=3977
Would it be possible to integrate this in a way with chairs/beds for example by right-clicking them that the character gets attached to the pointed furniture with the fitting animation? Also it would be neat if you recover health when the characters 'uses' the bed.
Even if its not possible, great work.

Greetings

PostPosted: Sat Jul 13, 2013 16:54
by VanessaE
If someone wants to code that and issue a pull request, I'll gladly merge it, as I know exactly zero about the player model's animations/modes.

PostPosted: Sat Jul 13, 2013 19:21
by fairiestoy
Hmm i think its only possible, if you are able of override the already registered function that is responsible for redrawing the mesh. If not, one has to replace the default stuff. And thats quite not usable since if more mods try it, the whole thing is going to break. As i dont know much about the API, is there a possibility to override the given function pointer? I didnt found something in the API that fits it. Or does the server executes registered functions in the order they are registered? In this case one has just to write some few changes to the original player.lua with some additions for the homedecor mod (meant the right-click interaction).

PostPosted: Mon Jul 15, 2013 11:40
by deivan
Homedecor have some problem now:
ERROR[main]: ../mods/homedecor/init.lua:
ERROR[main]: ../mods/homedecor/locked.lua:53: bad argument #1 to 'format' (string expected, got nil)

PostPosted: Mon Jul 15, 2013 22:28
by VanessaE
I just pushed a change to homedecor git that should fix this. Please let me know if it helps, since I don't use intllib myself. :-)

PostPosted: Tue Jul 16, 2013 01:28
by deivan
Thanks. Is working now. :)

PostPosted: Tue Jul 16, 2013 01:29
by VanessaE
Excellent :-)

PostPosted: Thu Aug 08, 2013 02:24
by TheGenral123
It will not on my PC can ou tell me how to fix it?

PostPosted: Thu Aug 08, 2013 03:59
by Inocudom
TheGenral123 wrote:It will not on my PC can ou tell me how to fix it?


Read the very first post where information concerning this mod is given. There, it will tell you to rename this mod's folder to homedecor after you extract it from its .zip file.

PostPosted: Tue Aug 13, 2013 07:26
by Rhys
I saw that homedecor changes the signs aswell. Is there a way to seperate the homedecor mod and the sign thing?

PostPosted: Tue Aug 13, 2013 07:46
by VanessaE
I've never tried, but if you just load signs_lib.lua into a text editor, delete its contents, and re-save, it should work.

PostPosted: Tue Aug 13, 2013 07:48
by kaeza
Rhys wrote:I saw that homedecor changes the signs aswell. Is there a way to seperate the homedecor mod and the sign thing?

Done: https://github.com/VanessaE/homedecor/commit/b0cbea42e0ad16a4c1e0c06135bbf806bda32676


Re-download the mod (see first post), and add the following line to your `minetest.conf':
Code: Select all
homedecor.disable_signs = true

PostPosted: Fri Aug 16, 2013 13:40
by Rhys
kaeza wrote:
Rhys wrote:I saw that homedecor changes the signs aswell. Is there a way to seperate the homedecor mod and the sign thing?

Done: https://github.com/VanessaE/homedecor/commit/b0cbea42e0ad16a4c1e0c06135bbf806bda32676


Re-download the mod (see first post), and add the following line to your `minetest.conf':
Code: Select all
homedecor.disable_signs = true


Thanks, kaeza, I appreciate it. ;).

- Rhys

+1 To the mod.

PostPosted: Fri Aug 16, 2013 15:29
by VanessaE
Good thing kaeza added that. As Deepgaze discovered, my idea of just clearing out the contents of signs_lib.lua was....wrong :-)

PostPosted: Fri Aug 16, 2013 19:30
by kaeza
Fixed an ugly bug in the previous addition of optional signs: Now if you disable it, all "special" signs (yard signs and signs "attached" to fences) already placed in a world will not turn into unknown blocks, but wall and newly-placed signs act as the default ones (the mod does not override them anymore).

Thanks to DeepGaze for reporting this bug, and to him and PenguinDad for helping with testing.

Please download the mod (yet again) from the first post.

PostPosted: Thu Sep 05, 2013 17:04
by Misty
I want to tell you how much I like the Home Decor mod, and that I consider it essential for any minetest game. I think I downloaded Minetest and installed it for the first time around the end of june, and you cant imagine the frustration I went through before I found and installed this mod. IF blocks came in a wider variety of sizes ( Ie one half size, one quarter size, and possibly one half block high and wide, but two blocks long) and joined with all other blocks properly, without things floating or refusing to join, some of the items provided by mods like this wouldnt be absolutely needed, but they dont. Home decor is essential for completing and furnishing any building.

I enjoy using it, thank you for making it, and making it available to all of us.

PostPosted: Thu Sep 05, 2013 20:53
by thefamilygrog66
Misty wrote:IF blocks came in a wider variety of sizes ( Ie one half size, one quarter size, and possibly one half block high and wide, but two blocks long) and joined with all other blocks properly, without things floating or refusing to join, some of the items provided by mods like this wouldnt be absolutely needed, but they dont.


You might want to check out the moreblocks mod as well, for what you're describing.

PostPosted: Thu Sep 05, 2013 23:58
by Misty
Hi TheFamilygrog66,

I installed the moreblocks and moreores mods to, as soon as I could locate them.
( they are listed as recommended for home decor) I cant honestly say I know for certain everything they added
to the game because I added several mods at the same time, but they are certainly worth having. Some Other mods I really enjoy are Rubenwardy's food mods, plantlife,farming plus, mobf, a beds mod by blockmen, and a paintings mod.

PostPosted: Tue Sep 10, 2013 19:02
by Johnyknowhow
This makes me think about the villagers in MC, they use pressure plates for table tops.

PostPosted: Wed Oct 09, 2013 16:50
by VanessaE
Minor update: Just some background stuff inside the mod. Initialization is slightly faster. Pretty much all function calls and variable names that started with "homedecor_" now start with "homedecor." instead (that is, they are now table entries rather than a discrete variable), so if anyone's calling/using these from some other mod, please update your code accordingly.

PostPosted: Sat Oct 12, 2013 20:58
by Azuna
My doors wont open D: