[Mod] Random Block Gen [random_block_gen]

slemon
Member
 
Posts: 100
Joined: Sun Apr 27, 2014 03:56

[Mod] Random Block Gen [random_block_gen]

by slemon » Thu Aug 16, 2018 08:08

Generates world by randomly placing blocks and items inside blocks

Usage: start game, teleport to height of 20000, or build a ladder to height of 10000. Enjoy!

Features: ignores tnt and igniter groups to avoid lags
Configuration options (at the top of the init.lua file):

* MIN (default: 10000) -- minimum height after which to generate
* MAX (default: 20000) -- maximum height before which to generate
* DEBUG (default: false) -- enable debug messages
* groups_ignore -- groups to ignore, (by default used to avoid lag with fire and tnt)

License: WTFPL
Mod dependencies: none
GitHub: https://github.com/slemonide/random_block_gen
Download: https://github.com/slemonide/random_block_gen/archive/master.zip
Video: https://youtu.be/vN47PfVWJxo
Screenshots (old):

Image
Image
Last edited by slemon on Tue Aug 28, 2018 08:29, edited 2 times in total.
 

User avatar
Lord_Vlad
Member
 
Posts: 85
Joined: Thu Jul 20, 2017 07:58
 

User avatar
acidzebra
Member
 
Posts: 34
Joined: Sun Sep 10, 2017 09:11

Re: [Mod] Random Block Gen [random_block_gen]

by acidzebra » Tue Aug 21, 2018 07:37

looks super fun, like a junkyard heaven or junk dimension.

"everything is here, you just gotta find it"
 

User avatar
Fixer
Member
 
Posts: 866
Joined: Sun Jul 31, 2011 11:23
Location: Ukraine
IRC: Fixer
In-game: Fixer
 

User avatar
SteveDaSteve
Member
 
Posts: 70
Joined: Fri Jun 22, 2018 19:06
GitHub: SteveDaSteve

Re: [Mod] Random Block Gen [random_block_gen]

by SteveDaSteve » Sat Aug 25, 2018 19:22

Wow, that looks chaotically fun! Do the chests contain stuff on gen.?
 

User avatar
SteveDaSteve
Member
 
Posts: 70
Joined: Fri Jun 22, 2018 19:06
GitHub: SteveDaSteve
 

slemon
Member
 
Posts: 100
Joined: Sun Apr 27, 2014 03:56

Re: [Mod] Random Block Gen [random_block_gen]

by slemon » Sun Aug 26, 2018 01:49

Thanks!

Chests do not contain anything. In fact they, and any other inventory type block is not functional unless you pick it up and place it back. On the other hand, blocks from all enabled mods are mixed in unless they have restricted groups ("tnt" and "igniter").

Also, there is some weird physics involving doors and beds since they are two-nodes structures, but this mod can place each node separately. Probably that isn't a bug.
 

User avatar
SteveDaSteve
Member
 
Posts: 70
Joined: Fri Jun 22, 2018 19:06
GitHub: SteveDaSteve

Re: [Mod] Random Block Gen [random_block_gen]

by SteveDaSteve » Sun Aug 26, 2018 21:06

The game keeps crashing once I teleport up to 20000 y and the game lags a lot. Are there too many animated blocks?
 

slemon
Member
 
Posts: 100
Joined: Sun Apr 27, 2014 03:56

Re: [Mod] Random Block Gen [random_block_gen]

by slemon » Mon Aug 27, 2018 05:26

What mods are you using with this mod? Just default game?
 

User avatar
SteveDaSteve
Member
 
Posts: 70
Joined: Fri Jun 22, 2018 19:06
GitHub: SteveDaSteve

Re: [Mod] Random Block Gen [random_block_gen]

by SteveDaSteve » Mon Aug 27, 2018 23:00

slemon wrote:What mods are you using with this mod? Just default game?

I have the mods bundled with the game, along with:
3d_armor
bamboo_forest
bridgesx
home_blocks (my mod, has many animated blocks)
random_block_gen (Of course!)
snowdrift (I suspect this causes the lag)
--Considering Removing--
superswords
WorldEdit
 

User avatar
ChimneySwift
Member
 
Posts: 319
Joined: Fri Sep 22, 2017 06:46
Location: 127.0.0.1
GitHub: ChimneySwift
IRC: ChimneySwift
In-game: ChimneySwift

Re: [Mod] Random Block Gen [random_block_gen]

by ChimneySwift » Tue Aug 28, 2018 04:12

haha, this is cool. Do the chests generate with random items in them too?
A spoon is basically a tiny bowl with a stick on it
 

slemon
Member
 
Posts: 100
Joined: Sun Apr 27, 2014 03:56

Re: [Mod] Random Block Gen [random_block_gen]

by slemon » Tue Aug 28, 2018 06:46

SteveDaSteve wrote:
slemon wrote:What mods are you using with this mod? Just default game?

I have the mods bundled with the game, along with:
3d_armor
bamboo_forest
bridgesx
home_blocks (my mod, has many animated blocks)
random_block_gen (Of course!)
snowdrift (I suspect this causes the lag)
--Considering Removing--
superswords
WorldEdit


Can you upload an archive of your mod folder somewhere? (google drive?) I'll see if I can get rid of the lag.
 

slemon
Member
 
Posts: 100
Joined: Sun Apr 27, 2014 03:56

Re: [Mod] Random Block Gen [random_block_gen]

by slemon » Tue Aug 28, 2018 06:46

ChimneySwift wrote:haha, this is cool. Do the chests generate with random items in them too?


You know, that's a great idea.
 

slemon
Member
 
Posts: 100
Joined: Sun Apr 27, 2014 03:56

Re: [Mod] Random Block Gen [random_block_gen]

by slemon » Tue Aug 28, 2018 08:25

Update!

1. If player dies in the Random Block Gen region (from 10000 to 20000 on y axis), then it will respawn there as well
2. Now there is spacing between nodes (like https://www.planetminecraft.com/project%20...%20vival-map/). This seems to reduce the lag and so I enabled previously disabled groups of blocks
3. Now any block can be a chest with probability 10%. Such block will contain random items from installed mods.

Also, video: https://youtu.be/vN47PfVWJxo
 

User avatar
SteveDaSteve
Member
 
Posts: 70
Joined: Fri Jun 22, 2018 19:06
GitHub: SteveDaSteve

Re: [Mod] Random Block Gen [random_block_gen]

by SteveDaSteve » Tue Aug 28, 2018 20:40

slemon wrote:Update!

1. If player dies in the Random Block Gen region (from 10000 to 20000 on y axis), then it will respawn there as well
2. Now there is spacing between nodes (like https://www.planetminecraft.com/project%20...%20vival-map/). This seems to reduce the lag and so I enabled previously disabled groups of blocks
3. Now any block can be a chest with probability 10%. Such block will contain random items from installed mods.

Also, video: https://youtu.be/vN47PfVWJxo


The new spacing is a start... Are the blocks generated on the worlds generation or when you get near 10000 nodes?

I'd upload the mod folder directly to this message but it won't let me. Would a screenshot of the folder's contents suffice?
 


Return to Mod Releases



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Piezo_ and 8 guests