Page 2 of 2

Re: [Mod] Temperature Survive 2 [tempsurvive]

PostPosted: Wed Nov 06, 2019 04:33
by Grubler
Would it be possible to make it so that when it gets cold, or something, it may give a notification like, "It's cold!", or, "I'm cold!", or something like that on screen so it may be harder to not notice you are freezing before you start to get hurt and you might know why you are getting hurt? Like maybe text that has the same color as the bar color. Like progressively maybe, like "I'm freezing!", or something. "I'm burning up!" I don't know anything about modding at this time, so I don't know if it would be possible. Thank you.

Re: [Mod] Temperature Survive 2 [tempsurvive]

PostPosted: Fri Nov 08, 2019 00:50
by Grubler
I don't know much about modding and don't know if this would be hard to do but I may have some thoughts from trying to play with this mod. The first thing is it seems to be hard. If furnaces took longer to cook things then maybe they would stay on longer and might help out more. I was thinking if there could be something like insulated boots that I could make that would help me not get as cold if I were standing on something like ice or snow then that may make it easier to survive. I am still trying stuff out. Thank you for your time.

Also, if when I am getting really cold, instead or maybe in addition to the screen getting foggy, it may add some snowflake images on there then that may be interesting. Just an idea.

Re: [Mod] Temperature Survive 2 [tempsurvive]

PostPosted: Sat Nov 09, 2019 18:30
by Grubler
Though, that being said, I may not know what the mod was exactly intended for, so yeah. Alrighty then.

Re: [Mod] Temperature Survive 2 [tempsurvive]

PostPosted: Sun Feb 02, 2020 18:05
by Inky_Bendy
I have a problem: I just turned this mod on on my survival world, but my temperature keeps going up... and up... and I'm not even in a hot biome. It's a pain getting it down, as it takes like 3 times longer to get the bar to go down 1, than it takes for it to go up 1. Any thing I should know on how to cool down fast?
;

Re: [Mod] Temperature Survive 2 [tempsurvive]

PostPosted: Mon Feb 03, 2020 12:23
by Winter94
I'm having a similiar issue as Inky.

Re: [Mod] Temperature Survive 2 [tempsurvive]

PostPosted: Mon Feb 03, 2020 20:18
by Inky_Bendy
Winter94 wrote:I'm having a similiar issue as Inky.

Makes me feel better.
I've also tried going into the code to change the time it takes for the bar to change, but that isn't really a solution as while it does slow down how fast my temperature rises, it also slows down how fast my temperature goes down too.

Re: [Mod] Temperature Survive 2 [tempsurvive]

PostPosted: Thu Feb 06, 2020 18:31
by Winter94
I think the main issue is that mammals maintain homeostasis, that is to say, our internal temperatures are always trying to level back out to normal, and the code doesnt do that. you get hot, you stay hot until you are around something that cools you off.
There needs to be a cap to how much the environment can raise or lower your temperature, and there needs to be some code added to make you return to normal faster/more realistically.
I'd do it myself, but I'm very new to lua, and my coding skills are self-taught, so pretty much anything that I can do, anyone who has actually gone to school for programming can do 1000% better.

Re: [Mod] Temperature Survive 2 [tempsurvive]

PostPosted: Thu Feb 13, 2020 10:05
by Adnunano
Inky_Bendy wrote:I have a problem: I just turned this mod on on my survival world, but my temperature keeps going up... and up... and I'm not even in a hot biome. It's a pain getting it down, as it takes like 3 times longer to get the bar to go down 1, than it takes for it to go up 1. Any thing I should know on how to cool down fast?
;

Yes,i am having the same issue too(minetest5.1.0).it really annoys me when this happens.

Re: [Mod] Temperature Survive 2 [tempsurvive]

PostPosted: Thu Feb 13, 2020 15:51
by SFENCE
File https://github.com/AiTechEye/tempsurvive/blob/master/functions.lua

Function tempsurvive.get_bio_temperature, line 114.

Code: Select all
return temp,temp+(l*0.1)


Is this good? Or it should be
Code: Select all
return temp+(l*0.1)

?

From other code it looks like only one return value is expected from this function.