Page 2 of 2

Re: [Mod] Digiterms [digiterms]

PostPosted: Tue Dec 11, 2018 19:31
by Pyrollo
This is due to an old version of font_api. Can you update display modpack ?

(the LCD screen on your screenshot is the one from digilines)

Re: [Mod] Digiterms [digiterms]

PostPosted: Thu Dec 13, 2018 12:55
by Christian_Soldier
Can you maybe try to have a floating sphere monitor that shows the words floating inside?
(I know how to make it a sphere, btw)

Re: [Mod] Digiterms [digiterms]

PostPosted: Thu Dec 13, 2018 13:05
by Pyrollo
Christian_Soldier wrote:Can you maybe try to have a floating sphere monitor that shows the words floating inside?
(I know how to make it a sphere, btw)


Do you mean a sphere with words going around it inside or a sphere with just floating flat words ?

Having letters on a non plane entity is a great idea. But once again, have to think about how make display_api manage it (maybe that should be managed some other way). It would be some work.

To have a sphere node with a spheric text Inside we need:
- A sphere model for the node
- A sphere model (smaller) for the entity that will display text

The entity model should be mapped in a convenient way to put text on it. Can you provide a sphere model with texture maped around the equator (like earth maps) ? Another cylindric model would be cool also for other effects.

Re: [Mod] Digiterms [digiterms]

PostPosted: Thu Dec 13, 2018 15:29
by Christian_Soldier
Pyrollo wrote:
Christian_Soldier wrote:Can you maybe try to have a floating sphere monitor that shows the words floating inside?
(I know how to make it a sphere, btw)


Do you mean a sphere with words going around it inside or a sphere with just floating flat words ?

Here is a picture of what I mean:

Side view:
Image

Front view:
Image

+ Notes


Pyrollo wrote:...Can you provide a sphere model with texture maped around the equator (like Earth maps)?

I will in a little while.

Re: [Mod] Digiterms [digiterms]

PostPosted: Thu Dec 13, 2018 15:32
by Pyrollo
IDK why, I cant see the pics.

Can you post them as forum attachement please ?

Re: [Mod] Digiterms [digiterms]

PostPosted: Thu Dec 13, 2018 16:35
by DS-minetest
The wrong links were used for the pictures. Here's what you want to see:
+ Those images are large…

Re: [Mod] Digiterms [digiterms]

PostPosted: Thu Dec 13, 2018 18:41
by Christian_Soldier
DS-minetest wrote:The wrong links were used for the pictures. Here's what you want to see:
+ Those images are large…

Thx for that. :)
I wasn't able to see them either but I thought that was just a problem with my phone.

Re: [Mod] Digiterms [digiterms]

PostPosted: Thu Dec 13, 2018 21:00
by Pyrollo
Added three kinds of keyboards and one more cathodic monitor.

Enjoy playing with the keyboards :)

Re: [Mod] Digiterms [digiterms]

PostPosted: Fri Feb 01, 2019 03:30
by v-rob
I was experimenting with this mod and I found a problem: You can't seem to send strings with a length of 1. Only 2 or larger seems to work. Also, is there a way to add newlines like with "\n" and to clear the screen without sending spaces multiple times?

Anyway, I was experimenting a bit with the size and shape of the text, and I found that font_api/display_api are almost perfect for something I'm working on. It's too bad that entities disappear if you don't look directly at them, or if they're larger than one unit.

Lastly, as a test, I changed the texture for 0 to a solid color and the rows and columns to 16 and made this:

Image
Just the first 16x16 image that came to mind.

Edit: BTW, the label for the channel in the keyboard should be "channel", not "chanel"

Re: [Mod] Digiterms [digiterms]

PostPosted: Fri Feb 01, 2019 09:41
by Pyrollo
Hi v-rob, Thanks for your feedbacks !

v-rob wrote:I was experimenting with this mod and I found a problem: You can't seem to send strings with a length of 1. Only 2 or larger seems to work.

This was a silly mistake now fixed ;)

v-rob wrote:Also, is there a way to add newlines like with "\n" and to clear the screen without sending spaces multiple times?

The simplest way for clearing the screen now is sending six new lines chars from a LUA controler.
Code: Select all
digiline_send("mon", string.format("\n\n\n\n\n\n"))

You can even fill the whole screen at once with the text you want :
Code: Select all
digiline_send("mon", [[
   M I N E T E S T
   ===============

hello, I am the
minetest computer
]])

I could implement all console control chars and then a simple FF (Control-L) would clear the screen. But I'll have to add something on the keyboard in order to be able to send those chars.

v-rob wrote:Anyway, I was experimenting a bit with the size and shape of the text, and I found that font_api/display_api are almost perfect for something I'm working on. It's too bad that entities disappear if you don't look directly at them, or if they're larger than one unit.

Nice to see that these APIs can be of any help. I don't quite understand what do you mean about disappearing entities. Do you have some sort of screenshots ?

v-rob wrote:Lastly, as a test, I changed the texture for 0 to a solid color and the rows and columns to 16 and made this:

Image
Just the first 16x16 image that came to mind.

Nice !
That looks like old "text" graphics on Commodore 64 :)
There are some graphical chars in Unicode but once again, it will not be easy to type them in formspecs.
v-rob wrote:Edit: BTW, the label for the channel in the keyboard should be "channel", not "chanel"

Another silly mistake fixed !

Re: [Mod] Digiterms [digiterms]

PostPosted: Fri Feb 01, 2019 19:42
by v-rob
Cool to see the bugs fixed. By entities disappearing, I mean the thing where you look at any entity so that you can only see the entity in the very top portion of the screen, and sometimes it will disappear, probably because the engine thinks you can't still see it when you can. It's easier to see this if the entities are larger than one node. It's not a problem with your mod at all; I was just mentioning it.

Re: [Mod] Digiterms [digiterms]

PostPosted: Sat Jun 08, 2019 09:05
by thomasthespacefox
really cool mod. digilines really needs more things like this. :) controlling things like ilights from a terminal is quite fun. :D if only there was a mod that added a digilines mesecons switch that toggled based on string messages. that be perfect for this mod!

Re: [Mod] Digiterms [digiterms]

PostPosted: Sun Sep 08, 2019 23:57
by Stix
I found a bug, everytime i print data to a digiterm with a keyboard, it prints the text twice!
EDIT: another issue, using digiline_send() to send a variable with a string stored inside it (such as event.msg) does not work with digiterms, while it does work with the default digiline LCD displays

Re: [Mod] Digiterms [digiterms]

PostPosted: Mon Sep 09, 2019 07:18
by Pyrollo
Hi Stix,
I could not reproduce your issues. Can you send a screen shot of your design and your Lua code ?

Here is what I tested :
Image
On left side, the Lua controler sending text to the monitor.
On right side, a keyboard connected to the monitor.
Monitors and keyboard are all set to "test" channel.

Here is the code in the Lua controller:
Image