Page 1 of 2

[Mod] Digiterms [digiterms]

PostPosted: Sun Dec 02, 2018 20:00
by Pyrollo
Digiterms
Digilines monitors and keyboard mod for Minetest using Display API / Font API (from Display Modpack).

Monitors display text received on their digiline channel and works like digilines lcd monitor. Craft recipes depend on installed mods, please refer to craft guide in game.

Keyboards send text ofer their digiline channel. In protected areas, keyboard can be set to "Public" to be usable by anybody. Else, only players granted rights on the area can use the keyboard.

Craft recipes depend on installed mods, please refer to craft guide in game.

If scifi_nodes mod is enabled, scifi monitors can be turned into digiterms by crafting scifi monitor with a digiline.

Image

License: LGPLv3 for the code, CC-BY-SA for the textures

Mod dependencies: display_api, font_api, digilines, dye, default

Mod optional dependancies: xpane, scifi_nodes, basic_materials, homedecor, mesecons_microcontroller, mesecons_luacontroller, mesecons_materials

Download or browse code

Re: [Mod] Digimons[digimons]

PostPosted: Mon Dec 03, 2018 19:29
by DS-minetest
It looks good in the screenshot.
However the name is a little bit irritating.

Re: [Mod] Digimons[digimons]

PostPosted: Mon Dec 03, 2018 20:30
by davidthecreator
DS-minetest wrote:It looks good in the screenshot.
However the name is a little bit irritating.


LOL, did you too expect something a bit different after seeing the name for the first time? XD

Re: [Mod] Digimons[digimons]

PostPosted: Mon Dec 03, 2018 21:01
by Pyrollo
Ahah actually that was totally unconscious, I did not know about Digimon, I found that the name sounded good for digilines monitors :)

I'm totally open to any other name ;)

Re: [Mod] Digimons[digimons]

PostPosted: Tue Dec 04, 2018 06:30
by spixi
What about “digiscreens”?

Re: [Mod] Digimons[digimons]

PostPosted: Tue Dec 04, 2018 08:01
by Pyrollo
Yes !

Actually, I'm thinking of something wider. I have to check if it could be possible, but it would be interresting to have some input devices also, like keyboards.

Re: [Mod] Digimons[digimons]

PostPosted: Tue Dec 04, 2018 11:20
by Christian_Soldier
Pyrollo wrote:Ahah actually that was totally unconscious, I did not know about Digimon, I found that the name sounded good for digilines monitors :)

I'm totally open to any other name ;)

How about "Digimonitors"? (Yeah, I know it's basically the same.)

Re: [Mod] Digimons[digimons]

PostPosted: Thu Dec 06, 2018 17:39
by spixi
Nice, but how to use that? It seems to require the lua controller, which is part of the mesecons package, but I don't get it working.

screenshot_20181206_184514.png
(840.63 KiB) Not downloaded yet

screenshot_20181206_184925.png
(455.46 KiB) Not downloaded yet

Re: [Mod] Digimons[digimons]

PostPosted: Thu Dec 06, 2018 17:51
by Naj
Have you set up the digiline channel on the monitor ?
Should be the same as arg #1

Re: [Mod] Digimons[digimons]

PostPosted: Thu Dec 06, 2018 17:53
by spixi
Naj wrote:Have you set up the digiline channel on the monitor ?
Should be the same as arg #1

I set it to 1 and the code is

Code: Select all
port.a = true;
digiline_send(1, "Hallo World!");


I hope, that is correct ...

Edit
I got it, I forgot the quotes around the first argument

Code: Select all
port.a = true;
digiline_send("1", "Hallo World!");


works well

Re: [Mod] Digimons[digimons]

PostPosted: Thu Dec 06, 2018 19:17
by texmex
That old monitor looks gorgeous.

Re: [Mod] Digimons[digimons]

PostPosted: Thu Dec 06, 2018 19:38
by spixi
@Pyrollo

I found a bug in your font_api plugin, which caused crashes on some strings. You can find the fix here:

https://github.com/pyrollo/font_api/pull/1

Re: [Mod] Digimons[digimons]

PostPosted: Fri Dec 07, 2018 15:00
by Pyrollo
Hi Spixi,

Thanks for the finding, actually the error was in Digimons mod. Problem due to line splitting not taking care of UTF8 long chars.
Just pushed a fixed version on github.

Re: [Mod] Digiterms [digiterms]

PostPosted: Sat Dec 08, 2018 16:01
by Pyrollo
Changed mod's name :)

- New green monitor (exactly the same as amber except the color).
- Monitors can be switched on/off
- Fixed rotation on place

Re: [Mod] Digiterms [digiterms]

PostPosted: Sun Dec 09, 2018 18:19
by Pyrollo
Digiterms + SciFi Nodes =
Image

Re: [Mod] Digiterms [digiterms]

PostPosted: Sun Dec 09, 2018 18:43
by texmex
That looks amazing! :D

Re: [Mod] Digiterms [digiterms]

PostPosted: Sun Dec 09, 2018 18:51
by DS-minetest
This looks really cool.
Are there prism formed monitor with 3 screens?

Re: [Mod] Digiterms [digiterms]

PostPosted: Sun Dec 09, 2018 18:55
by Pyrollo
DS-minetest wrote:This looks really cool.
Are there prism formed monitor with 3 screens?


There are none... if i understand correctly. Do you have any illustration? (always looking for ideas :) )

Re: [Mod] Digiterms [digiterms]

PostPosted: Mon Dec 10, 2018 18:01
by DS-minetest
Pyrollo wrote:
DS-minetest wrote:This looks really cool.
Are there prism formed monitor with 3 screens?


There are none... if i understand correctly. Do you have any illustration? (always looking for ideas :) )

Yes, I've found one. Those prisms from Enterprise are very futuristic, unlike mobile phones they were not yet built in real life.
Image
http://de.memory-alpha.wikia.com/wiki/Datei:Constitution_Konferenzraum.jpg (CC-BY-NC 4.0) by Paramount Pictures or CBS Television Studios

Re: [Mod] Digiterms [digiterms]

PostPosted: Mon Dec 10, 2018 18:14
by Pyrollo
Good :)

It would be possible to add some... after a small evolution in Display_API.

My main concern is that prism is not very cube-ish :)

Re: [Mod] Digiterms [digiterms]

PostPosted: Mon Dec 10, 2018 20:33
by Isja Krass
Hello,
Your mod is great i like it so mutch.

But I have a problem: If I connect the screen with a digiline and a digiboard, and insert a text I see nothing. (see picture)
I instaled all the mods that this mod needs to work.

Image

What can i do?

Re: [Mod] Digiterms [digiterms]

PostPosted: Tue Dec 11, 2018 08:19
by Pyrollo
Hello,

Wich mod is the digiboard from ? I have no idea how it works.

(I plan to add some keyboards also anyway :) )

I guess this is a matter of setting the right digiline channel on both monitor and keyboard.

Re: [Mod] Digiterms [digiterms]

PostPosted: Tue Dec 11, 2018 10:00
by Pyrollo
Ok, I found it.

Tested :
- Placed a digiboard, a monitor and a digiline connecting both
- right clicked on monitor and put "mon" as channel
- right clicked on digiboard and put "mon" as channel also
- right clicked on digiboard again and typed some text
The text displays as expected on monitor

I'm using mintest 0.4.17.1 + last versions of digilines / digiboards / digiterms

Re: [Mod] Digiterms [digiterms]

PostPosted: Tue Dec 11, 2018 13:24
by Isja Krass
Than you for your support.
I finaly found the problem: the mod where are the digiboard come from can not interact with
your mod.

Re: [Mod] Digiterms [digiterms]

PostPosted: Tue Dec 11, 2018 18:16
by BuckarooBanzay
Your monitors look awesome, sadly they don't display the text properly:

screenshot_20181211_191350.png
(185.56 KiB) Not downloaded yet


I suspect a font-issue but haven't looked at it closer, any ideas?