[Mod] Pipeworks [git] [pipeworks]

User avatar
acidzebra
Member
Posts: 75
Joined: Sun Sep 10, 2017 09:11

Re: [Mod] Pipeworks [git] [pipeworks]

by acidzebra » Post

auouymous wrote:
Sun May 10, 2020 12:58
Click the green checkbox (you want it to be red) on the white side to prevent items from exiting the sorter via white.
the point is, it's not intended expected behavior. It should not bounce given the rules that are configured.
Last edited by acidzebra on Sun May 10, 2020 16:31, edited 1 time in total.

neoh4x0r
Member
Posts: 82
Joined: Wed Aug 29, 2018 20:16
GitHub: neoh4x0r

Re: [Mod] Pipeworks [git] [pipeworks]

by neoh4x0r » Post

Linuxdirk wrote:
Sun May 10, 2020 12:38
What is the issue behind items bouncing off filter segments the first time but passing through the second time if only one of the exits is configured? And is there a way to fix it? (I know I can work around this by placing one-way tubes right before the filters, but that can’t be the solution, right?)

Image

Video link: https://imgur.com/tRYvADJ

Imagine dozens of more filters after the first filter. The items will bounce back to the one-way tube intersection on every filter when they’re supposed to go to the last filter.
You should turn off any sorting exits that are you not using.
In your case, the only things that should be active are blue (exit to chest) and black (continue to next).

This is just the way it works....

Code: Select all

The reason that sand bounces is because sand is not explicitly set on the black-side.

I believe the way that pipeworks does sorting is the calculation (to decide which exit to take) only occurs
once each time an item enters the sorter.

The first time it goes back out the white-side since it already knew about that (and it updated for the next pass).
The second time it goes out the black-side, since it entered the white-side twice.

In other words, the path-finding logic only updates on each iteration using information previous learned (sort of like machine learning).

User avatar
Linuxdirk
Member
Posts: 2673
Joined: Wed Sep 17, 2014 11:21
In-game: Linuxdirk
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: [Mod] Pipeworks [git] [pipeworks]

by Linuxdirk » Post

acidzebra wrote:
Sun May 10, 2020 13:25
the point is, it's not intended behavior. It should not bounce given the rules that are configured.
Yeah, that’s why I’m confused. It just is just not intuitive. It seems like the items randomly check another direction to go to even if there are no other pipes connected and go back when there is none.
neoh4x0r wrote:
Sun May 10, 2020 15:55
You should turn off any sorting exits that are you not using.
In your case, the only things that should be active are blue (exit to chest) and black (continue to next).
Tested and confirmed. I can work with this even if it feels weird to configure not connected exits. Thanks for the hint.

User avatar
Walker
Member
Posts: 1146
Joined: Tue Oct 03, 2017 09:22
In-game: Walker

Re: [Mod] Pipeworks [git] [pipeworks]

by Walker » Post

server crash ( my German-Creative-server )

Code: Select all

2020-07-25 22:17:18: ERROR[Main]: ServerError: AsyncErr: environment_Step: Runtime error from mod 'pipeworks' in callback environment_Step(): /media/sda3/Minetest/server3/.minetest/mods/drops/init.lua:96: attempt to index local 'dropper' (a nil value)
2020-07-25 22:17:18: ERROR[Main]: stack traceback:
2020-07-25 22:17:18: ERROR[Main]: 	/media/sda3/Minetest/server3/.minetest/mods/drops/init.lua:96: in function 'item_drop'
2020-07-25 22:17:18: ERROR[Main]: 	...st/worlds/Creative/worldmods/pipeworks/routing_tubes.lua:26: in function 'insert_object'
2020-07-25 22:17:18: ERROR[Main]: 	...t/worlds/Creative/worldmods/pipeworks/item_transport.lua:328: in function 'on_step'
2020-07-25 22:17:18: ERROR[Main]: 	...netest/worlds/Creative/worldmods/pipeworks/luaentity.lua:364: in function 'move_entities_globalstep_part2'
2020-07-25 22:17:18: ERROR[Main]: 	...netest/worlds/Creative/worldmods/pipeworks/luaentity.lua:377: in function <...netest/worlds/Creative/worldmods/pipeworks/luaentity.lua:372>
2020-07-25 22:17:18: ERROR[Main]: 	...etest530/bin/../share/minetest/builtin/game/register.lua:429: in function <...etest530/bin/../share/minetest/builtin/game/register.lua:413>
2020-07-25 22:17:18: ERROR[Main]: stack traceback:
my server crashes by every try to start

more infos:
pipeworks version: git
minetest version: 5.3.0

wanderer
New member
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Aug 27, 2020 17:37

Re: [Mod] Pipeworks [git] [pipeworks]

by wanderer » Post

I am getting the following error when using pipeworks in Hades Revisited 0.4.6 game. The game crashes within a second of using it with the following error:
AsyncErr: ServerThread::run Lua: Runtime error from mod 'pipeworks' in callback luaentity_Activate(): Invalid position (expected table got nil).
stack traceback:
[C]: in function 'set_velocity'
.../games/hades_revisited/mods/pipeworks/item_transport.lua:376: in function <.../games/hades_revisited/mods/pipeworks/item_transport.lua:364>
Now my game is unplayable :(
Is there any way to rectify or circumvent the error? I tried clearing all the pipeworks related blocks (by repeatedly using the 1 second window before crash), but the game still crashes with the error.
Also, I tried to come into the game as a new player, but the moment I approached the site, it crashed again.

User avatar
VanessaE
Moderator
Posts: 4556
Joined: Sun Apr 01, 2012 12:38
GitHub: VanessaE
IRC: VanessaE
In-game: VanessaE
Location: Western NC
Contact:

Re: [Mod] Pipeworks [git] [pipeworks]

by VanessaE » Post

I wouldn't know what the issue actually is as I have no idea what "Hades" is. My mods are meant for use under Minetest engine 5.2.0 or thereabouts, or newer, with minetest_game from a comparable point in time.
You might like some of my stuff: Plantlife ~ More Trees ~ Home Decor ~ Pipeworks ~ HDX Textures (64-512px)

User avatar
Linuxdirk
Member
Posts: 2673
Joined: Wed Sep 17, 2014 11:21
In-game: Linuxdirk
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: [Mod] Pipeworks [git] [pipeworks]

by Linuxdirk » Post

wanderer wrote:
Fri Sep 11, 2020 21:56
I am getting the following error when using pipeworks in Hades Revisited 0.4.6 game.
This mod only works properly with Minetest Game.

neoh4x0r
Member
Posts: 82
Joined: Wed Aug 29, 2018 20:16
GitHub: neoh4x0r

Re: [Mod] Pipeworks [git] [pipeworks]

by neoh4x0r » Post

wanderer wrote:
Fri Sep 11, 2020 21:56
I am getting the following error when using pipeworks in Hades Revisited 0.4.6 game. The game crashes within a second of using it with the following error:
AsyncErr: ServerThread::run Lua: Runtime error from mod 'pipeworks' in callback luaentity_Activate(): Invalid position (expected table got nil).
stack traceback:
[C]: in function 'set_velocity'
.../games/hades_revisited/mods/pipeworks/item_transport.lua:376: in function <.../games/hades_revisited/mods/pipeworks/item_transport.lua:364>
Now my game is unplayable :(
Is there any way to rectify or circumvent the error? I tried clearing all the pipeworks related blocks (by repeatedly using the 1 second window before crash), but the game still crashes with the error.
Also, I tried to come into the game as a new player, but the moment I approached the site, it crashed again.
VanessaE wrote:
Fri Sep 11, 2020 22:02
I wouldn't know what the issue actually is as I have no idea what "Hades" is.
Perhaps it is this game Hades Revisited [0.4.6] (for Minetest 5.3.0), made by Wuzzy: viewtopic.php?t=19121

and maybe this post provides an explanation for that, viewtopic.php?p=377263#p377263
Wuzzy wrote: Version 0.4.6 released!

This version fixes crashes when you drop items.

Background: Hades Revisited used custom item entities(dropped items) that include special feature such as “magnetic items” but the code for it was antiquated and buggy. The solution was to delete it all and just revert (mostly) to the default Minetest behavior (punch item to get it).
The way how items behave is not an important aspect anyway, so this is not a big loss.
Another problem was with the trashcan which aggressively tried to overwrite behavior of dropped items. This is also gone now.

Thanks, Emerald, for letting me know!
@wanderer are you using v0.4.6 (of Hades Revisted).
You might want to ask Wuzzy about it as they seem to have heavily modified the code, code which pipeworks expects to 'not be modified'.

Also, it's not clear what version of pipework is included in Hades Revisited, nor if it has been 'modified'.

PS: According to the contentdb: https://content.minetest.net/packages/W ... revisited/
Hades Revisited is an early test version (and subject to drastic changes).
Also, it is under the 'Work in Progress' mods category.


You may just want to use minetest_game, as it is pretty stable (not a test version or subject to drastic changes).
And pipeworks was built around it.

HighPopes
Member
Posts: 30
Joined: Tue Sep 22, 2020 01:38
GitHub: HighPopes

Re: [Mod] Pipeworks [git] [pipeworks]

by HighPopes » Post

Any chance of a drop item pipe? Just drops the item on the ground or shoots it. It'd be useful for builtin and factory mod.

User avatar
VanessaE
Moderator
Posts: 4556
Joined: Sun Apr 01, 2012 12:38
GitHub: VanessaE
IRC: VanessaE
In-game: VanessaE
Location: Western NC
Contact:

Re: [Mod] Pipeworks [git] [pipeworks]

by VanessaE » Post

I believe there's already a node for that.
You might like some of my stuff: Plantlife ~ More Trees ~ Home Decor ~ Pipeworks ~ HDX Textures (64-512px)

HighPopes
Member
Posts: 30
Joined: Tue Sep 22, 2020 01:38
GitHub: HighPopes

Re: [Mod] Pipeworks [git] [pipeworks]

by HighPopes » Post

I found it. The one way tube shoots items out. Sorry.

User avatar
PiJeyEe
New member
Posts: 8
Joined: Wed Nov 04, 2020 03:58
GitHub: PiJeyEe
IRC: PiJeyEe
In-game: Pathreen

Re: [Mod] Pipeworks [git] [pipeworks]

by PiJeyEe » Post

Hi Im sorry, im new and still noob at this coding and trying to learn. I am having an error in field get_translator, I dont get whats the problem. My version was 0.4.17

User avatar
BuckarooBanzay
Member
Posts: 397
Joined: Tue Apr 24, 2018 05:58
GitHub: BuckarooBanzay
IRC: BuckarooBanzai
In-game: BuckarooBanzai

Re: [Mod] Pipeworks [git] [pipeworks]

by BuckarooBanzay » Post

PiJeyEe wrote:
Sun Nov 22, 2020 05:48
Hi Im sorry, im new and still noob at this coding and trying to learn. I am having an error in field get_translator, I dont get whats the problem. My version was 0.4.17
pipeworks only supports minetest 5.2+
See: https://gitlab.com/VanessaE/pipeworks/- ... od.conf#L5

User avatar
PiJeyEe
New member
Posts: 8
Joined: Wed Nov 04, 2020 03:58
GitHub: PiJeyEe
IRC: PiJeyEe
In-game: Pathreen

Re: [Mod] Pipeworks [git] [pipeworks]

by PiJeyEe » Post

BuckarooBanzay wrote:
Sun Nov 22, 2020 10:05
PiJeyEe wrote:
Sun Nov 22, 2020 05:48
Hi Im sorry, im new and still noob at this coding and trying to learn. I am having an error in field get_translator, I dont get whats the problem. My version was 0.4.17
pipeworks only supports minetest 5.2+
See: https://gitlab.com/VanessaE/pipeworks/- ... od.conf#L5
Thank you, I found a way already and it works.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests