[Mod] Pipeworks [git] [pipeworks]

sofar
Developer
 
Posts: 1702
Joined: Fri Jan 16, 2015 07:31
GitHub: sofar
IRC: sofar
In-game: sofar

Re: [Mod] Pipeworks [20131128] [pipeworks]

by sofar » Wed May 04, 2016 21:56

Marshall_maz wrote:Don't know if this was asked before , but can't the sorting tubes default state be changed to all colors "off" instead of "on" after placing it. It rarely happens that one uses all channels and always have to switch off all the unused ones. Would be easier if all is off by default and just toggle the ones in use on.


I'll merge a patch for this. Care to give it a try?
 

User avatar
Lejo
Member
 
Posts: 432
Joined: Mon Oct 19, 2015 16:32
GitHub: Lejo1
In-game: Lejo

Re: [Mod] Pipeworks [20131128] [pipeworks]

by Lejo » Tue May 24, 2016 09:11

I had an Problem with pipeworks in the new version 0.4.14.
I just build that:
Old Picture
If I punch the filter the Server shutdown.
Here the Error:
Code: Select all
2016-05-24 10:54:12: ERROR[Main]: ServerError: Lua: Runtime error from mod 'pipeworks' in callback node_on_punch(): /home/kinder/minetest/bin/../mods/denaid/init.lua:1330: attempt to call method 'is_player' (a nil value)
2016-05-24 10:54:12: ERROR[Main]: stack traceback:
2016-05-24 10:54:12: ERROR[Main]:    /home/kinder/minetest/bin/../mods/denaid/init.lua:1330: in function 'allow_metadata_inventory_take'
2016-05-24 10:54:12: ERROR[Main]:    ...inder/minetest/bin/../mods/pipeworks/filter-injector.lua:90: in function 'grabAndFire'
2016-05-24 10:54:12: ERROR[Main]:    ...inder/minetest/bin/../mods/pipeworks/filter-injector.lua:254: in function 'punch_filter'
2016-05-24 10:54:12: ERROR[Main]:    ...inder/minetest/bin/../mods/pipeworks/filter-injector.lua:375: in function <...inder/minetest/bin/../mods/pipeworks/filter-injector.lua:374>
2016-05-24 10:54:12: ACTION[Server]: [mana] Wrote mana data into /home/kinder/minetest/bin/../worlds/jzuij/mana.mt.
2016-05-24 10:54:12: [Server]: [Chatplus] Saving data
2016-05-24 10:54:12: ACTION[Server]: singleplayer leaves game. List of players:
2016-05-24 10:54:13: ERROR[MeshUpdate]: Waiting for texture pipeworks_filter_side.png^[applyfiltersformesh^[crack:1:0^[applyfiltersformesh timed out.
2016-05-24 10:54:14: ERROR[MeshUpdate]: Waiting for texture pipeworks_filter_output.png^[applyfiltersformesh^[crack:1:0^[applyfiltersformesh timed out.
2016-05-24 10:54:14: WARNING[Main]: [xban] Unable to save database: Write failed
2016-05-24 10:54:14: ACTION[Main]: [playereffects] Server shuts down. Rescuing data into playereffects.mt
2016-05-24 10:54:14: ACTION[Main]: [playereffects] Wrote playereffects data into /home/kinder/minetest/bin/../worlds/jzuij/playereffects.mt.
2016-05-24 10:54:14: ACTION[Main]: [mana] Server shuts down. Rescuing data into mana.mt
2016-05-24 10:54:14: ACTION[Main]: [mana] Wrote mana data into /home/kinder/minetest/bin/../worlds/jzuij/mana.mt.


I hope it is possible to fix this Problem.
Last edited by Lejo on Tue May 24, 2016 17:23, edited 1 time in total.
 

sofar
Developer
 
Posts: 1702
Joined: Fri Jan 16, 2015 07:31
GitHub: sofar
IRC: sofar
In-game: sofar

Re: [Mod] Pipeworks [20131128] [pipeworks]

by sofar » Tue May 24, 2016 16:45

Lejo wrote:I had an Problem with pipeworks in the new version 0.4.14.

If I punch the filter the Server shutdown.
Here the Error:
Code: Select all
2016-05-24 10:54:12: ERROR[Main]: ServerError: Lua: Runtime error from mod 'pipeworks' in callback node_on_punch(): /home/kinder/minetest/bin/../mods/denaid/init.lua:1330: attempt to call method 'is_player' (a nil value)


the crash happens in the
Code: Select all
denaid
mod, not in pipeworks.
 

User avatar
Lejo
Member
 
Posts: 432
Joined: Mon Oct 19, 2015 16:32
GitHub: Lejo1
In-game: Lejo
 

User avatar
orwell
Member
 
Posts: 694
Joined: Wed Jun 24, 2015 18:45
Location: Raxacoricofallapatorius
In-game: orwell

Re: [Mod] Pipeworks [20131128] [pipeworks]

by orwell » Wed May 25, 2016 10:09

This was due to my hacky way to enforce rightclick and inventory protection, inventory protection couldn't handle player to be nil at this time. I fixed it in the latest version since I had the same problem.
Sorry that v. 1.2 contained tons of bugs...
EDIT: no, it wasn't that player was nil, pipeworks passed a dummy player(a table) with only the method get_player_name(), not is_player().
Lua is great!
List of my mods
I like singing. I like dancing. I like ... niyummm...
 

Jesseman1
Member
 
Posts: 49
Joined: Fri Dec 12, 2014 21:32
Location: My huge fortress or power plant.
In-game: Jesseman1 or Plant_Operator

Re: [Mod] Pipeworks [20131128] [pipeworks]

by Jesseman1 » Sun Sep 11, 2016 22:15

Quick question: I'm not sure if the current version of Pipeworks I have is up-to-date, but if I build any sort of system with the water pipes, they stop registering a lack of water: the pipes will fill with water, indicated by the small window turning blue, and faucets/fountain heads will produce water, but will not register any change if I turn the pump off or even destroy it. Has this error been patched?

*EDIT* Also, it will cause the game to randomly crash, but only while the water pipes or related pieces are placed.
 

User avatar
SegFault22
Member
 
Posts: 870
Joined: Mon May 21, 2012 03:17
Location: NaN

Re: [Mod] Pipeworks [20131128] [pipeworks]

by SegFault22 » Thu Sep 29, 2016 12:49

It wouldn't make much sense to transport liquid tungsten through the regular pipes, as they should melt from the heat. So, is it possible to use functionality of this mod to add more types of pipes, designed to handle high heat or high pressure - and, if it is possible to do that, how difficult would it be to cause the regular pipes to melt/explode if high temperature or high pressure is applied to them (difficult, as in, requiring a small modification [less], or overhauling significant portions of the system [more])?

There is much potential for the functionality of this mod to work with other mods and create more immersion-factor - for example, a multiblock smelter that produces liquid metal, could output said liquid metal which would then be guided to flow to a "caster", where some amount of liquid metal is poured into a form to make a part (tool head/handle, nails, rebar, saw blade disc, pipe, slugs, I-beam...); or, a multiblock coal coke oven producing a small amount of creosote oil as a byproduct, which could then be piped out and either put into a machine for soaking track ties or put into a liquid-fueled power generator
 

manawy
Member
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Sat May 28, 2016 20:14

Re: [Mod] Pipeworks [20131128] [pipeworks]

by manawy » Sun Oct 23, 2016 14:19

In my survival world, I have a machine called "the bonemeal generator" (see picture). Using the ethereal mod, this machine places and digs dirt blocks to generate bones, that will be turned into bonemeal to fuel my other automatic farms. I currently have 8 node breakers that fire every 2 ticks.

The way I understand the node breaker is that it impersonates the player to dig blocks. This is a problem when hunger mods are activated too. Mod hunger doesn't update the hunger properly (viewtopic.php?f=11&t=6342&start=250), hbhunger (viewtopic.php?f=11&t=11336) is more reliable in these conditions but the hunger is dropping way too fast.

I would expect that these machines do not impact my hunger. I guess the machines have to impersonate the player so protection mods can be used in multiplayer server. But is there a method to distinguish the machine from the player ?

For example, hbhungers change the hunger using a callback registered by "minetest.register_on_dig_node". (see the end of (http://repo.or.cz/minetest_hbhunger.git ... hunger.lua) (http://dev.minetest.net/minetest.register_on_placenode). How can I distinguish the player and the wielder node in such a function ? (I was thinking using the position but it seems to be a bit buggy).


edit: grammar
Attachments
bonemeal_generator.jpeg
(194.28 KiB) Not downloaded yet
 

Nore
Developer
 
Posts: 492
Joined: Wed Nov 28, 2012 11:35
GitHub: Ekdohibs

Re: [Mod] Pipeworks [20131128] [pipeworks]

by Nore » Sun Oct 23, 2016 15:22

There is a field called is_fake_player for this purpose: https://github.com/minetest-mods/pipeworks/blob/master/wielder.lua#L85. The mod then just can check that if this field is true, then the player is one created by pipeworks.
 

manawy
Member
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Sat May 28, 2016 20:14

Re: [Mod] Pipeworks [20131128] [pipeworks]

by manawy » Sun Oct 23, 2016 15:45

Indeed, modifying the function to check this field works ! Thanks
 

User avatar
Wuzzy
Member
 
Posts: 3207
Joined: Mon Sep 24, 2012 15:01
GitHub: Wuzzy2
IRC: Wuzzy
In-game: Wuzzy

Re: [Mod] Pipeworks [20131128] [pipeworks]

by Wuzzy » Sat Oct 29, 2016 18:45

Can you please edit the wiki page accordingly?
http://dev.minetest.net/Mod_interoperability

Most modders won't be aware of the “fake player”. Besides, do you really have to create fake players? Isn't there a better solution? It seems awfully hackish and destroys many assumptions modders can make about players. :-(
The problem with your approach is, that it makes is_player() completely mostly meaningless. :-(
My creations. I gladly take any bitcoins you have lying around: 17fsUywHxeMHKG41UFfu34F1rAxZcrVoqH
 

Nore
Developer
 
Posts: 492
Joined: Wed Nov 28, 2012 11:35
GitHub: Ekdohibs

Re: [Mod] Pipeworks [20131128] [pipeworks]

by Nore » Sun Oct 30, 2016 08:11

Besides, do you really have to create fake players? Isn't there a better solution? It seems awfully hackish and destroys many assumptions modders can make about players. :-(
The problem with your approach is, that it makes is_player() completely mostly meaningless. :-(

The point of is_player is to make the difference between player entities and other entities. In our use case, deployers/etc should be assimilated to player entities - unless the mod specifically chooses not to do so.
 

User avatar
cHyper
Member
 
Posts: 753
Joined: Fri May 06, 2011 08:49
Location: Austria
GitHub: cHyper-0815OL
IRC: cHyper
In-game: cHyper

Re: [Mod] Pipeworks [20131128] [pipeworks]

by cHyper » Fri Nov 04, 2016 13:26

which mods do i need to run the technic mod? mesecons or something else?
do i need the pipeworks to tun the technic mod? do i need the latest version?
do i need moreores or moreblocks to run this technic mod?

thanks for your answers!!!
 

Hobb3s
New member
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Nov 03, 2014 01:43

Re: [Mod] Pipeworks [20131128] [pipeworks]

by Hobb3s » Fri Dec 02, 2016 02:11

I've just upgraded to the latest minetest 0.4.14 and the latest mods for pipeworks, mese, etc. All seems good after a few days of tweaking, just looking at the deployer and I can place it, works as it's supposed to. I just can't remove it, once it's placed it can't be destroyed. Any ideas?
 

User avatar
Nathan.S
Member
 
Posts: 803
Joined: Wed Sep 24, 2014 17:47
Location: Bigsby Texas
GitHub: NathanSalapat
IRC: NathanS21
In-game: NathanS21

Re: [Mod] Pipeworks [20131128] [pipeworks]

by Nathan.S » Fri Dec 02, 2016 02:12

Make sure there is nothing in the inventory of the deployer, only thing I can think of.
I record Minetest videos, Mod reviews, Modding tutorials, and Lets plays.
Check out my website, and brand new Minetest Modding Course
 

EdShouldBeInBed
Member
 
Posts: 47
Joined: Sun Feb 22, 2015 16:03
In-game: EdShdBInBed

Re: [Mod] Pipeworks [20131128] [pipeworks]

by EdShouldBeInBed » Wed Jan 25, 2017 07:26

Gang, I seem to be able to get every Technic device to output to tubes save the MV Furnace. All machines in the chain are upgraded with the Control Logic Unit... and the furnace just feeds what it smelts back into its own input... Latest minetest/ mods. Thoughts?
I'm a writer who tinkers with code on occasion. I play minetest when insomnia makes the writing hard.
 

Nore
Developer
 
Posts: 492
Joined: Wed Nov 28, 2012 11:35
GitHub: Ekdohibs

Re: [Mod] Pipeworks [20131128] [pipeworks]

by Nore » Wed Jan 25, 2017 08:41

EdShouldBeInBed wrote:Gang, I seem to be able to get every Technic device to output to tubes save the MV Furnace. All machines in the chain are upgraded with the Control Logic Unit... and the furnace just feeds what it smelts back into its own input... Latest minetest/ mods. Thoughts?


This means your furnace is facing the wrong way; try facing it in the other direction? (it is unfortunately a long-standing bug that machines output direction is not consistent, and it can't easily be fixed without breaking a lot of existing setups).
 

Modern Hippie
Member
 
Posts: 115
Joined: Wed Oct 29, 2014 04:35

Re: [Mod] Pipeworks [20131128] [pipeworks]

by Modern Hippie » Thu Mar 30, 2017 08:51

Heyhoo!

Can someone explain, what these warnings are meaning and how to fix it?

Code: Select all
2017-03-30 01:06:24: WARNING[Server]: nodeupdate: deprecated, please use
core.check_for_falling instead
2017-03-30 01:06:24: ACTION[Server]: Player digs default:stone at
(-370,-1,-250)
2017-03-30 01:06:24: WARNING[Server]: nodeupdate: deprecated, please use
core.check_for_falling instead
2017-03-30 01:06:24: ACTION[Server]: Player digs default:stone at
(-369,-1,-242)
2017-03-30 01:06:24: WARNING[Server]: nodeupdate: deprecated, please use
core.check_for_falling instead
2017-03-30 01:06:24: ACTION[Server]: Player digs default:stone at
(-369,-1,-250)


I think it has to do with the Node Breaker, cause on this position are some of them digging stone from a cobble generator.

Thanks for your answers!

Greetings, minehippie
No longer active with this account! Please PM me on my new account "Wolfshippie"!
 

User avatar
Nathan.S
Member
 
Posts: 803
Joined: Wed Sep 24, 2014 17:47
Location: Bigsby Texas
GitHub: NathanSalapat
IRC: NathanS21
In-game: NathanS21

Re: [Mod] Pipeworks [20131128] [pipeworks]

by Nathan.S » Thu Mar 30, 2017 13:23

It looks like the nodebreaker code uses a depreciated call on nodeupdate, which should be replaced with core.check_for_falling. To fix it you'd need to look at the pipeworks code and find the section that deals with the node breaker and make the changes.
I record Minetest videos, Mod reviews, Modding tutorials, and Lets plays.
Check out my website, and brand new Minetest Modding Course
 

User avatar
joe7575
Member
 
Posts: 231
Joined: Mon Apr 24, 2017 20:38
Location: Germany, in the deep south
GitHub: joe7575
In-game: JoSto

Re: [Mod] Pipeworks [20131128] [pipeworks]

by joe7575 » Mon Apr 24, 2017 20:44

I can't find any info how the Digiline Filter-Injector should be used. Are there any help somewhere?

Thanks in advance.
Joe
Sent from my Commodore 64. My Mods: TechPack, Hyperloop, Tower Crane, Lumberjack, Iron Age, Entrance.
 

Rate85
New member
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Mar 22, 2016 19:31
In-game: Rate85

Re: [Mod] Pipeworks [20131128] [pipeworks]

by Rate85 » Mon Apr 24, 2017 23:32

The Wiki Is Outdated, It Does Not Have All The Crafting Recipes, And It Has Some Names That Seam To Have been Changed, For Example, The Vacuuming Pneumatic Tube Segment Is Called A Sand Vacuum Tube.
 

User avatar
joe7575
Member
 
Posts: 231
Joined: Mon Apr 24, 2017 20:38
Location: Germany, in the deep south
GitHub: joe7575
In-game: JoSto

Re: [Mod] Pipeworks [20131128] [pipeworks]

by joe7575 » Tue Apr 25, 2017 17:28

After some try, I got it:

The following line:
Code: Select all
digiline_send("filter3", "default:dirt 2")

forces the Injector-Filter to emit 2 Dirt Nodes. "filter3" is the channel name of the Injector-Filter.

Helpful was playing around with the Digiline Detecting Pneumatic Tube:

The following code:
Code: Select all
if event.channel == "tube2" then
  print(event.msg)
end

outputs "default:dirt 3", or "default:cobble" to the console. "tube2" is the channel name of the Digiline Detecting Pneumatic Tube.
Sent from my Commodore 64. My Mods: TechPack, Hyperloop, Tower Crane, Lumberjack, Iron Age, Entrance.
 

depassages
New member
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue Mar 03, 2015 07:50

Re: [Mod] Pipeworks [20131128] [pipeworks]

by depassages » Fri May 05, 2017 12:32

I'm on linux mint and running minetest daily build and when I updated both the pipeworks git version and the ppa (~4 days ago) the default chest texture was missing. It's ok with the technic chests or when pipeworks isn't activated.

Code: Select all
2017-05-05 14:17:54: ERROR[Main]: generateImage(): Could not load image "default_chest_lock.png" while building texture
2017-05-05 14:17:54: ERROR[Main]: generateImage(): Creating a dummy image for "default_chest_lock.png"
 

User avatar
DS-minetest
Member
 
Posts: 1001
Joined: Thu Jun 19, 2014 19:49
Location: in front of my pc (which is at home)
GitHub: DS-Minetest
In-game: DS

Re: [Mod] Pipeworks [20131128] [pipeworks]

by DS-minetest » Fri May 05, 2017 12:40

Do not call me -minetest.
Call me DS or DS-minetest.
I am German, so you don't have to pm me English if you are also German.
The background is a lie.
 

depassages
New member
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue Mar 03, 2015 07:50
 

PreviousNext

Return to Mod Releases



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 11 guests