[Mod] Snow Biomes [4.0] [snow]

User avatar
Splizard
Member
Posts: 224
Joined: Wed Jan 25, 2012 07:20
GitHub: Splizard
IRC: Splizard
In-game: Splizard
Location: New Zealand
Contact:

Re: [Mod] Snow Biomes [2.0] [snow]

by Splizard » Post

Kanabris wrote:Personal'm having trouble with this mod does not activate an error thus the "init.lua error" and "Check fowriteupr details debug.txt" I wonder what's going on?? Can you help me with this mod?
version 2.0 of snow is not compatible with the current minetest, you need to use the latest dev link of snow mod.
Games: The Hungry Games Mods: Lifters (Simple Lifts), Snow Biomes and Gates. Also checkout my texture pack Gridtoon!

User avatar
VanessaE
Moderator
Posts: 4513
Joined: Sun Apr 01, 2012 12:38
GitHub: VanessaE
IRC: VanessaE
In-game: VanessaE
Location: Western NC
Contact:

Re: [Mod] Snow Biomes [2.0] [snow]

by VanessaE » Post

LazyJ wrote:Encouraged by this new development, I did some digging through MoreTree's code. I found that MoreTree's "biome_defs.lua" file was using "snow:snow" and "snow:dirt_with_snow" instead of the default versions.
*cowers slightly and hides*

Sorry about that, I never got around to adapting the mod to use the default node names :-)
MoreTrees still wouldn't generate in snow biomes but at least now the placed tree saplings would grow (even palm trees). "Placed" saplings - just to renenforce that it was saplings I planted myself.
Palm trees being able to grow there is actually a bug in Moretrees or plants_lib, I'm not sure which (and I'm too lazy to look into it now ;-) ). Probably the latter - it's supposed to check the node under the grow target to make sure it's a suitable surface, in addition to checking the general biome conditions around it.
MoreTrees still didn't generate any of its trees in the snow biomes but another clue to this puzzle was revealed - MoreTrees trees that spawned along the edges of snow biomes were sheared-off on their sides by the snow biome.
Ouch. Well, now we know of an automated topiary mod! :-D
Conclusion
Splizard has made a flurry of improvements in recent days and the Snow mod has been greatly improved. There are still some things to work out. The biggest among them, the conflict between the three Minetest standards, PlantLife, MoreTrees, and Snow has finally come to a workable resolution. At least now PlantLife and MoreTrees are able to produce when the Snow mod is installed and players can enjoy the benefits of all three together.
I'm glad this is working better. Thanks for all the hard work, both of you!

User avatar
Splizard
Member
Posts: 224
Joined: Wed Jan 25, 2012 07:20
GitHub: Splizard
IRC: Splizard
In-game: Splizard
Location: New Zealand
Contact:

Version 3.0

by Splizard » Post

Well I went ahead and released 3.0, I hope all goes well.
Most of these changes have made it into the new version, plus other changes. try it out!
Games: The Hungry Games Mods: Lifters (Simple Lifts), Snow Biomes and Gates. Also checkout my texture pack Gridtoon!

User avatar
heavy gale
Member
Posts: 17
Joined: Fri Mar 14, 2014 18:37
GitHub: heavygale
IRC: heavygale
In-game: Max or heavygale
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: [Mod] Snow Biomes [3.0] [snow]

by heavy gale » Post

I just got the following error:
13:29:04: ERROR[main]: ERROR: An unhandled exception occurred: /home/minetest/bin/../mods/snow/init.lua:91: attempt to index local 'node' (a nil value)
13:29:04: ERROR[main]: stack traceback:
13:29:04: ERROR[main]: /home/minetest/bin/../mods/snow/init.lua:91: in function 'place'
13:29:04: ERROR[main]: /home/minetest/bin/../mods/landrush/snow.lua:20: in function </home/minetest/bin/../mods/landrush/snow.lua:12>
This may be a bug in landrush, but the snow mod shouldn't cause a nil pointer exception which shuts down the server either. (Maybe just leave the function when minetest.get_node_or_nil(pos) returns nil.)

EDIT: I added this as an issue on github but i can't delete this forum entry.

User avatar
paramat
Developer
Posts: 3626
Joined: Sun Oct 28, 2012 00:05
GitHub: paramat
IRC: paramat
Location: UK

Re: [Mod] Snow Biomes [3.0] [snow]

by paramat » Post

Okay testing snow alongside plantlife modpack i get the same problem everyone else does, i tried cleaning up splizard's code and deleting the unnecessary 'update_map()' but with no success. Also tried adding snow as a dependancy to all plantlife mods with no success.
Here's the weird thing, reedmace in water (an entity i believe) does actually appear but with no reedmace nodes in the air above it, perhaps this may be a clue to the problem.
I tried all sorts of other stuff to make this work with no success.

User avatar
jp
Member
Posts: 788
Joined: Wed Dec 18, 2013 09:03
GitHub: kilbith
Location: France

Re: [Mod] Snow Biomes [3.0] [snow]

by jp » Post

To optimize the association Snow-Plantlife, I think that when 'Snow' mod is activated, 'Plantlife' outght set some "snow-ized" leaves/plants, all in texture-side by a replacement, near or onto a frozen area - instead that 'Snow Biomes' generate some snow's nodes above the trees.

Same way that the 'nature_classic' (blossoming on leaves) in Plantlife.

User avatar
VanessaE
Moderator
Posts: 4513
Joined: Sun Apr 01, 2012 12:38
GitHub: VanessaE
IRC: VanessaE
In-game: VanessaE
Location: Western NC
Contact:

Re: [Mod] Snow Biomes [3.0] [snow]

by VanessaE » Post

That is easily done, but until the bug in the engine is fixed that prevents snow and plants_lib from working together properly inside a snowy area, it'll have to wait - at least as far as mapgen-based plants are concerned. Adding "snow" to a plant via an ABM is doable now, though.

User avatar
Sokomine
Member
Posts: 4017
Joined: Sun Sep 09, 2012 17:31
GitHub: Sokomine

Re: [Mod] Snow Biomes [3.0] [snow]

by Sokomine » Post

My moresnow mod allows plants and snow to visually share the same block. It does not add snow on its own. It'd be great if the engine could handle multiple mods which change the map better.
A list of my mods can be found here.

User avatar
paramat
Developer
Posts: 3626
Joined: Sun Oct 28, 2012 00:05
GitHub: paramat
IRC: paramat
Location: UK

Re: [Mod] Snow Biomes [3.0] [snow]

by paramat » Post

The incompatibility between snow and plantlife/moretrees is fixed thanks to hmmm's commit https://github.com/minetest/minetest/co ... 436b9cbba3 it works even without setting dependancies, however mapgen will run much faster if snow mod is chosen to run first.

We had misunderstood the mapgen object voxelmanip, it had been erasing changes made by other mods use of 'add node'.
On-generated functions are run in the order they were registered, which is the order mods are loaded, this order is controlled by dependancies, or if no dependancies are set some currently unknown order.
The mapgen object voxelmanip is so fast because it is just an extension of the core mapgen voxelmanip, so it always reads the map as it was immediately after core mapgen. When it writes back to the map it could erase any changes made by earlier-run on-generated functions.

Hmmm's recent solution is for 'add node' to update the mapgen object voxelmanip.
Last edited by paramat on Sun Nov 09, 2014 09:21, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
paramat
Developer
Posts: 3626
Joined: Sun Oct 28, 2012 00:05
GitHub: paramat
IRC: paramat
Location: UK

Re: [Mod] Snow Biomes [3.0] [snow]

by paramat » Post

Splizard, i found a bug at line 252:

Code: Select all

for i=ground_y, ground_y-4, -1 do
should be

Code: Select all

for y=ground_y, ground_y-4, -1 do
I think the debugging function definition is best moved outside the on-generated function, otherwise you're redefining it every chunk. However the 'minetest.get_content_id()' lines are apparently best moved inside the on-generated function, on advice from hmmmm.

Line 195:

Code: Select all

local belownode = a:index(x, ground_y+2, z)
should perhaps be

Code: Select all

local belownode = a:index(x, ground_y-1, z)
Line 227:

Code: Select all

elseif ground_y and data[belownode] == c_sand then
if not icy then
data[node] = c_snow
else
data[belownode] = c_ice
end
should perhaps be

Code: Select all

elseif ground_y and data[node] == c_sand then
if not icy then
data[abovenode] = c_snow
else
data[node] = c_ice
end
Line 316:

Code: Select all

vm:update_map()
Should be deleted, that's only used by the non-mapgen object voxelmanip.


However i have recently rewritten this lua file to use perlinmaps, much faster mapgen, the code is here (license WTFPL) https://github.com/paramat/wieldhandsam ... gen_v6.lua
Download the repo and it's in there with some other various stuff https://github.com/paramat/wieldhandsam ... 06245e.zip
I left out the 'biome to string' function.

User avatar
Splizard
Member
Posts: 224
Joined: Wed Jan 25, 2012 07:20
GitHub: Splizard
IRC: Splizard
In-game: Splizard
Location: New Zealand
Contact:

Re: [Mod] Snow Biomes [3.0] [snow]

by Splizard » Post

@Paramat
Great to hear that bug has been fixed, I have given you access to the snow mod github repo,
you can push those changes if you like :-)
Games: The Hungry Games Mods: Lifters (Simple Lifts), Snow Biomes and Gates. Also checkout my texture pack Gridtoon!

User avatar
paramat
Developer
Posts: 3626
Joined: Sun Oct 28, 2012 00:05
GitHub: paramat
IRC: paramat
Location: UK

Re: [Mod] Snow Biomes [3.0] [snow]

by paramat » Post

Okay i will once i learn how to, i guess 'git clone' your repo then push ...

User avatar
Splizard
Member
Posts: 224
Joined: Wed Jan 25, 2012 07:20
GitHub: Splizard
IRC: Splizard
In-game: Splizard
Location: New Zealand
Contact:

Re: [Mod] Snow Biomes [3.0] [snow]

by Splizard » Post

yup :)
Games: The Hungry Games Mods: Lifters (Simple Lifts), Snow Biomes and Gates. Also checkout my texture pack Gridtoon!

User avatar
paramat
Developer
Posts: 3626
Joined: Sun Oct 28, 2012 00:05
GitHub: paramat
IRC: paramat
Location: UK

Re: [Mod] Snow Biomes [3.0] [snow]

by paramat » Post

Latest commit is my edit of 'mapgen_v6.lua':
Use of noise maps makes this much faster, < 300ms per chunk on a mid power PC.
Ice spawns in sand instead of under sand.
Bugfixes.

User avatar
paramat
Developer
Posts: 3626
Joined: Sun Oct 28, 2012 00:05
GitHub: paramat
IRC: paramat
Location: UK

Re: [Mod] Snow Biomes [3.0] [snow]

by paramat » Post

Another commit: called this version 3.1 (or 0.3.1)

Splizard, i would like to make a pull request for more snow biome nodes to be added to default:
needles, pine sapling (your textures)
pine tree trunk, pine wood (from watershed/riverdev)
(plus all the crafting, stairs, slabs, fuel)

What do you think? is it ok to include your textures in this pull?
We need default pine trees for the snow biomes in mapgen v7.

User avatar
jp
Member
Posts: 788
Joined: Wed Dec 18, 2013 09:03
GitHub: kilbith
Location: France

Re: [Mod] Snow Biomes [3.0] [snow]

by jp » Post

Paramat / Splizard : instead of generate a thin layer of snow on top of the leaves, could you replace them by some snow-texturized leaves, please ?

Also, seeing these layers of snow on the sand is odd...

Addenda: bug spotted.

User avatar
paramat
Developer
Posts: 3626
Joined: Sun Oct 28, 2012 00:05
GitHub: paramat
IRC: paramat
Location: UK

Re: [Mod] Snow Biomes [3.0] [snow]

by paramat » Post

That lighting bug is probably due to the use of translucent ice, translucency is inherently buggy in Minetest, previous versions of snow mod had a normal opaque texture.

EDIT
On that subject, does anyone have a better or edited ice texture that doesn't have a gridlike appearence that i could add to this pull?

User avatar
Sokomine
Member
Posts: 4017
Joined: Sun Sep 09, 2012 17:31
GitHub: Sokomine

Re: [Mod] Snow Biomes [3.0] [snow]

by Sokomine » Post

jp wrote: Paramat / Splizard : instead of generate a thin layer of snow on top of the leaves, could you replace them by some snow-texturized leaves, please ?
*complain* That will make life more difficult for snow and moresnow! More cases to be handled.
A list of my mods can be found here.

User avatar
paramat
Developer
Posts: 3626
Joined: Sun Oct 28, 2012 00:05
GitHub: paramat
IRC: paramat
Location: UK

Re: [Mod] Snow Biomes [3.0] [snow]

by paramat » Post

jp, Sokomine, i'll leave that to Splizard to decide, but such changes are probably unlikely as that would break people's maps. I'm not interested in changing snow mod itself because i would change so much it would make more sense to start a new snow mod (no plans for that either).

User avatar
Splizard
Member
Posts: 224
Joined: Wed Jan 25, 2012 07:20
GitHub: Splizard
IRC: Splizard
In-game: Splizard
Location: New Zealand
Contact:

Re: [Mod] Snow Biomes [3.0] [snow]

by Splizard » Post

@Paramat, yes it would be fine to create that pull request.
I would prefer to keep snow above the leaves. As paramat said, it would be best if someone made a different mod.
Games: The Hungry Games Mods: Lifters (Simple Lifts), Snow Biomes and Gates. Also checkout my texture pack Gridtoon!

User avatar
Minetestforfun
Member
Posts: 936
Joined: Tue Aug 05, 2014 14:09
GitHub: Darcidride
IRC: Darcidride + MinetestForFun
In-game: Darcidride + MinetestForFun
Location: On earth
Contact:

Re: [Mod] Snow Biomes [3.0] [snow]

by Minetestforfun » Post

Hi, i found a bug :

http://pastebin.ubuntu.com/8690791/

Please, can you help me ? i don't know were is the problem :/

User avatar
Splizard
Member
Posts: 224
Joined: Wed Jan 25, 2012 07:20
GitHub: Splizard
IRC: Splizard
In-game: Splizard
Location: New Zealand
Contact:

Re: [Mod] Snow Biomes [3.1] [snow]

by Splizard » Post

Games: The Hungry Games Mods: Lifters (Simple Lifts), Snow Biomes and Gates. Also checkout my texture pack Gridtoon!

User avatar
Minetestforfun
Member
Posts: 936
Joined: Tue Aug 05, 2014 14:09
GitHub: Darcidride
IRC: Darcidride + MinetestForFun
In-game: Darcidride + MinetestForFun
Location: On earth
Contact:

Re: [Mod] Snow Biomes [3.1] [snow]

by Minetestforfun » Post

Thank you very much :)

User avatar
Splizard
Member
Posts: 224
Joined: Wed Jan 25, 2012 07:20
GitHub: Splizard
IRC: Splizard
In-game: Splizard
Location: New Zealand
Contact:

Version 3.2

by Splizard » Post

New version to make compatible with latest minetest.
http://splizard.com/minetest/mods/snow- ... ow-3.2.zip
Games: The Hungry Games Mods: Lifters (Simple Lifts), Snow Biomes and Gates. Also checkout my texture pack Gridtoon!

User avatar
Sokomine
Member
Posts: 4017
Joined: Sun Sep 09, 2012 17:31
GitHub: Sokomine

Re: [Mod] Snow Biomes [3.2] [snow]

by Sokomine » Post

Thanks! The snow mod is a very nice mod to have.
A list of my mods can be found here.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot], Google [Bot] and 9 guests