[Mod] Snow Biomes [4.0] [snow]

User avatar
Hybrid Dog
Member
Posts: 2774
Joined: Thu Nov 01, 2012 12:46
GitHub: HybridDog

Re: [Mod] Snow Biomes [3.2] [snow]

by Hybrid Dog » Post

automatic snowball throwing:
Image
Attachments
screenshot_20150604_141551.png
(417.26 KiB) Not downloaded yet

‮‪‮
‮‪‮
‮‪‮
‮‪‮
‮‪‮
‮‪‮
‮‪‮
‮‪‮
‮‪

User avatar
DS-minetest
Member
Posts: 1147
Joined: Thu Jun 19, 2014 19:49
GitHub: Desour
IRC: DS-minetest
In-game: DS
Location: I'm scared that if this is too exact, I will be unable to use my keyboard.

Re: [Mod] Snow Biomes [3.2] [snow]

by DS-minetest » Post

Hybrid Dog wrote:automatic snowball throwing:
Image
you need a snowball cannon
Note that I've recently renamed myself on github and co. to "Desour". (I'm bad at naming things.)
Feel free to call me DS.

User avatar
Hybrid Dog
Member
Posts: 2774
Joined: Thu Nov 01, 2012 12:46
GitHub: HybridDog

Re: [Mod] Snow Biomes [3.2] [snow]

by Hybrid Dog » Post

DS-minetest wrote:you need a snowball cannon
yes, and l need textures, sounds and a nodebox or mesh for it…




the generated snow does not have the same height everywhere but these heights:
Image
+ Spoiler
Attachments
snh2.png
(730.14 KiB) Not downloaded yet
snh1.png
(851.52 KiB) Not downloaded yet

‮‪‮
‮‪‮
‮‪‮
‮‪‮
‮‪‮
‮‪‮
‮‪‮
‮‪‮
‮‪

User avatar
DS-minetest
Member
Posts: 1147
Joined: Thu Jun 19, 2014 19:49
GitHub: Desour
IRC: DS-minetest
In-game: DS
Location: I'm scared that if this is too exact, I will be unable to use my keyboard.

Re: [Mod] Snow Biomes [3.2] [snow]

by DS-minetest » Post

Hybrid Dog wrote:
DS-minetest wrote:you need a snowball cannon
yes, and l need textures, sounds and a nodebox or mesh for it…
pls do not use mesh, if it is not needed, nodebox is cooler
Note that I've recently renamed myself on github and co. to "Desour". (I'm bad at naming things.)
Feel free to call me DS.

User avatar
Hybrid Dog
Member
Posts: 2774
Joined: Thu Nov 01, 2012 12:46
GitHub: HybridDog

Re: [Mod] Snow Biomes [3.2] [snow]

by Hybrid Dog » Post

DS-minetest wrote:
Hybrid Dog wrote:
DS-minetest wrote:you need a snowball cannon
yes, and l need textures, sounds and a nodebox or mesh for it…
pls do not use mesh, if it is not needed, nodebox is cooler
ok

‮‪‮
‮‪‮
‮‪‮
‮‪‮
‮‪‮
‮‪‮
‮‪‮
‮‪‮
‮‪

User avatar
Diamond knight
Member
Posts: 475
Joined: Sun Apr 19, 2015 19:50
GitHub: Diamondknight
In-game: Ferrumprinceps
Location: Chilling in Constantinople
Contact:

Re: [Mod] Snow Biomes [3.2] [snow]

by Diamond knight » Post

moresnow has a snowball cannon already coded if you want to download the mod

User avatar
Hybrid Dog
Member
Posts: 2774
Joined: Thu Nov 01, 2012 12:46
GitHub: HybridDog

Re: [Mod] Snow Biomes [3.2] [snow]

by Hybrid Dog » Post

Diamond knight wrote:moresnow has a snowball cannon already coded if you want to download the mod
l first need to test it, thanks for informing me

‮‪‮
‮‪‮
‮‪‮
‮‪‮
‮‪‮
‮‪‮
‮‪‮
‮‪‮
‮‪

User avatar
Hybrid Dog
Member
Posts: 2774
Joined: Thu Nov 01, 2012 12:46
GitHub: HybridDog

Re: [Mod] Snow Biomes [3.2] [snow]

by Hybrid Dog » Post

Image
l added a few normalmap textures
Attachments
screenshot_20151121_223026.png
(435.64 KiB) Not downloaded yet

‮‪‮
‮‪‮
‮‪‮
‮‪‮
‮‪‮
‮‪‮
‮‪‮
‮‪‮
‮‪

User avatar
SaKeL
Member
Posts: 653
Joined: Tue Apr 14, 2015 18:39
GitHub: JurajVajda
IRC: SaKeL
In-game: SaKeL

Re: [Mod] Snow Biomes [3.2] [snow]

by SaKeL » Post

im getting this error, is it something what you are aware of ?

Code: Select all

2016-02-12 23:28:37: ERROR[main]: UNRECOVERABLE error occurred. Stopping server. Please fix the following error:
2016-02-12 23:28:37: ERROR[main]: Lua: OOM error from mod 'snow' in callback environment_OnGenerated(): not enough memory
2016-02-12 23:28:37: ERROR[main]: Current Lua memory usage: 867 MB

In thread 7f94719a67c0:
/build/minetest-5EsLJt/minetest-0.4.13/src/server.cpp:511: void Server::step(float): A fatal error occurred: Lua: OOM error from mod 'snow' in callback environment_OnGenerated(): not enough memory
Current Lua memory usage: 867 MB
Debug stacks:
DEBUG STACK FOR THREAD 7f94575fe700:
#0  virtual void* EmergeThread::Thread()
(Leftover data: #1  virtual MapBlock* ServerMap::emergeBlock(v3s16, bool): p=(13,433,8), create_blank=0)
(Leftover data: #2  ServerMapSector* ServerMap::createSector(v2s16): p2d=(13,8))
(Leftover data: #3  void ItemStack::deSerialize(std::istream&, IItemDefManager*))
DEBUG STACK FOR THREAD 7f9457fff700:
#0  virtual void* CurlFetchThread::Thread()
DEBUG STACK FOR THREAD 7f946657d700:
#0  virtual void* ServerThread::Thread()
#1  void Server::Receive()
(Leftover data: #2  void Server::SendBlocks(float))
(Leftover data: #3  void Server::SendBlockNoLock(irr::u16, MapBlock*, irr::u8, irr::u16))
(Leftover data: #4  void ItemStack::serialize(std::ostream&) const)
(Leftover data: #5  bool getCraftingResult(Inventory*, ItemStack&, std::vector<ItemStack>&, bool, IGameDef*))
(Leftover data: #6  void ItemStack::deSerialize(std::istream&, IItemDefManager*))
(Leftover data: #7  void ItemStack::deSerialize(std::istream&, IItemDefManager*))
DEBUG STACK FOR THREAD 7f94719a67c0:
#0  int main(int, char**)
#1  Dedicated server branch
#2  void dedicated_server_loop(Server&, bool&)
#3  void Server::step(float)
(Leftover data: #4  void Server::SendAccessDenied_Legacy(irr::u16, const wstring&))

maybe something related to this ?

User avatar
Hybrid Dog
Member
Posts: 2774
Joined: Thu Nov 01, 2012 12:46
GitHub: HybridDog

Re: [Mod] Snow Biomes [3.2] [snow]

by Hybrid Dog » Post

It looks like snow takes too much memory when generating.
When exactly did you get this error and which mapgen version were you using?

‮‪‮
‮‪‮
‮‪‮
‮‪‮
‮‪‮
‮‪‮
‮‪‮
‮‪‮
‮‪

User avatar
SaKeL
Member
Posts: 653
Joined: Tue Apr 14, 2015 18:39
GitHub: JurajVajda
IRC: SaKeL
In-game: SaKeL

Re: [Mod] Snow Biomes [3.2] [snow]

by SaKeL » Post

mapgen v6
it happens randomly i.e. when flying around but it also happened when the player walked trough the snow biomes/forest

User avatar
Hybrid Dog
Member
Posts: 2774
Joined: Thu Nov 01, 2012 12:46
GitHub: HybridDog

Re: [Mod] Snow Biomes [3.2] [snow]

by Hybrid Dog » Post

l made it execute the collectgarbage function, does if fix the crashes?

‮‪‮
‮‪‮
‮‪‮
‮‪‮
‮‪‮
‮‪‮
‮‪‮
‮‪‮
‮‪

User avatar
SaKeL
Member
Posts: 653
Joined: Tue Apr 14, 2015 18:39
GitHub: JurajVajda
IRC: SaKeL
In-game: SaKeL

Re: [Mod] Snow Biomes [3.2] [snow]

by SaKeL » Post

i will pull the changes and give it a test.... will let you know

User avatar
SaKeL
Member
Posts: 653
Joined: Tue Apr 14, 2015 18:39
GitHub: JurajVajda
IRC: SaKeL
In-game: SaKeL

Re: [Mod] Snow Biomes [3.2] [snow]

by SaKeL » Post

it's working for now...no crashes ...if it appears again i will let you know ;) thanks

PureTryOut
Member
Posts: 12
Joined: Fri Oct 16, 2015 10:17
GitHub: PureTryOut
IRC: PureTryOut
In-game: PureTryOut

Re: [Mod] Snow Biomes [3.2] [snow]

by PureTryOut » Post

Just a note, the images on the frontpage are down. Please use an image host like Imgur, or some other reliable host.

User avatar
Andrey01
Member
Posts: 2459
Joined: Wed Oct 19, 2016 15:18
GitHub: Andrey2470T
In-game: Andrey01
Location: Russia, Moscow

Re: [Mod] Snow Biomes [3.2] [snow]

by Andrey01 » Post

The mod don`t work, i was getting error when installed game:
"Failed to load and run script from /home/administrator/.minetest/mods/snow/init.lua:
/home/administrator/.minetest/mods/snow/src/mapgen.lua:61: attempt to call field 'get_mapgen_setting' (a nil value) stack traceback:
/home/administrator/.minetest/mods/snow/src/mapgen.lua:61: in main chunk [C]: in function 'dofile'
/home/administrator/.minetest/mods/snow/init.lua:69: in main chunk"
Maybe did i rename the mod incorrect?

User avatar
Hybrid Dog
Member
Posts: 2774
Joined: Thu Nov 01, 2012 12:46
GitHub: HybridDog

by Hybrid Dog » Post

l guess you need a new version of minetest.
https://github.com/Splizard/minetest-mo ... 318aaf08ff

‮‪‮
‮‪‮
‮‪‮
‮‪‮
‮‪‮
‮‪‮
‮‪‮
‮‪‮
‮‪

User avatar
Andrey01
Member
Posts: 2459
Joined: Wed Oct 19, 2016 15:18
GitHub: Andrey2470T
In-game: Andrey01
Location: Russia, Moscow

Re: [Mod] Snow Biomes [3.2] [snow]

by Andrey01 » Post

Hybrid Dog wrote:l guess you need a new version of minetest.
https://github.com/Splizard/minetest-mo ... 318aaf08ff
A new version?New version of minetest hasn`t come yet, last version was 0.4.14

User avatar
Krock
Developer
Posts: 4577
Joined: Thu Oct 03, 2013 07:48
GitHub: SmallJoker
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

Re: [Mod] Snow Biomes [3.2] [snow]

by Krock » Post

Andrey01 wrote:A new version?New version of minetest hasn`t come yet, last version was 0.4.14
Versions between each release are so-called in-development versions and contain newer features, bugfixes but also new bugs.
There are precompiled (PPA) versions for Ubuntu/Mint and Arch Linux here. For a different distribution, you will need to compile it on your machine.
Look, I programmed a bug for you. >> Mod Search Engine << - Mods by Krock - DuckDuckGo mod search bang: !mtmod <keyword here>

User avatar
Andrey01
Member
Posts: 2459
Joined: Wed Oct 19, 2016 15:18
GitHub: Andrey2470T
In-game: Andrey01
Location: Russia, Moscow

Re: [Mod] Snow Biomes [3.2] [snow]

by Andrey01 » Post

Krock wrote:
Andrey01 wrote:A new version?New version of minetest hasn`t come yet, last version was 0.4.14
Versions between each release are so-called in-development versions and contain newer features, bugfixes but also new bugs.
There are precompiled (PPA) versions for Ubuntu/Mint and Arch Linux here. For a different distribution, you will need to compile it on your machine.
I have deleted line:61 in the mapgen.lua and it is worked, finally

User avatar
paramat
Developer
Posts: 3699
Joined: Sun Oct 28, 2012 00:05
GitHub: paramat
IRC: paramat
Location: UK

Re: [Mod] Snow Biomes [3.2] [snow]

by paramat » Post

The mapgen part of this mod isn't much needed anymore, as all mapgens now have snow biomes as default.
This mod distributes snow biomes in a way inconsistent with core biomes.

User avatar
Hybrid Dog
Member
Posts: 2774
Joined: Thu Nov 01, 2012 12:46
GitHub: HybridDog

by Hybrid Dog » Post

paramat, the snow biomes of this mod look different, e.g. there are snowdrifts
Image

Unfortunately the big pine trees of default aren't generated by this mod.
Attachments
screenshot_20161206_104941.jpg
(271.92 KiB) Not downloaded yet

‮‪‮
‮‪‮
‮‪‮
‮‪‮
‮‪‮
‮‪‮
‮‪‮
‮‪‮
‮‪

User avatar
paramat
Developer
Posts: 3699
Joined: Sun Oct 28, 2012 00:05
GitHub: paramat
IRC: paramat
Location: UK

Re: [Mod] Snow Biomes [3.2] [snow]

by paramat » Post

Sorry, i didn't realise it has been developed so much.

User avatar
Scarecrowman
Member
Posts: 40
Joined: Sun Nov 19, 2017 14:48
In-game: Scarecrowman
Location: The Ranch, S4, on a secure government computer...

Re: [Mod] Snow Biomes [3.2] [snow]

by Scarecrowman » Post

Hey I really wanted to try this mod, but for some reason an error keeps telling me:
"Failed to enable mod "minetest-mod-snow-master" as it contains disallowed characters.
Only characters [a-z0-9_] are allowed."
Anybody got any ideas on why it isn't working? FYI my Minetest is the latest build. (That's a 32bit)
"Those who dream by day are cognizant of many things that escape those who only dream at night..."
-EDGAR ALLAN POE

dawgdoc
Member
Posts: 254
Joined: Mon Feb 27, 2017 01:10
GitHub: dawgdoc

Re: [Mod] Snow Biomes [3.2] [snow]

by dawgdoc » Post

Scarecrowman wrote:Hey I really wanted to try this mod, but for some reason an error keeps telling me:
"Failed to enable mod "minetest-mod-snow-master" as it contains disallowed characters.
Only characters [a-z0-9_] are allowed."
Anybody got any ideas on why it isn't working? FYI my Minetest is the latest build. (That's a 32bit)
I think you need to change the name of the mod's directory / folder to minetest-mod-snow. In other words drop the -master.
Give a man a fish, feed him for a day. Give a kid a fish, it's going to die.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 7 guests