[Mod] Technic [0.4.16-dev] [technic]

jakab
Member
 
Posts: 63
Joined: Mon Aug 15, 2016 17:19
In-game: jakab

Re: [Mod] Technic [0.4.11] [technic]

by jakab » Tue Jan 31, 2017 13:03

i like this mod mutch :) i have edited it a bit, but i cant make it work with pipeworks. i mean it sould work like the furnace, chest, etc... bringing stuff to the machines.
 

User avatar
DS-minetest
Member
 
Posts: 968
Joined: Thu Jun 19, 2014 19:49
Location: in front of my pc (which is at home)
GitHub: DS-Minetest
In-game: DS

Re: [Mod] Technic [0.4.11] [technic]

by DS-minetest » Tue Jan 31, 2017 13:35

jakab wrote:i like this mod mutch :) i have edited it a bit, but i cant make it work with pipeworks. i mean it sould work like the furnace, chest, etc... bringing stuff to the machines.

Technic machines work with pipeworks. Only the LV ones don't.
Do not call me -minetest.
Call me DS or DS-minetest.
I am German, so you don't have to pm me English if you are also German.
The background is a lie.
 

Cage
Member
 
Posts: 32
Joined: Mon Oct 24, 2016 21:07

Re: [Mod] Technic [0.4.11] [technic]

by Cage » Tue Jan 31, 2017 18:37

Quick Question. How can you rotated movestones? I have found a really good use for them but need to be able to rotate the movestone.
 

User avatar
GreenDimond
Member
 
Posts: 956
Joined: Wed Oct 28, 2015 01:26
Location: Just outside of existence.
GitHub: GreenXenith
IRC: GreenDimond
In-game: GreenDimond
 

Cage
Member
 
Posts: 32
Joined: Mon Oct 24, 2016 21:07

Re: [Mod] Technic [0.4.11] [technic]

by Cage » Wed Feb 01, 2017 02:44

Oops brain fart LOL. Thanks for letting me know.
 

User avatar
VanessaE
Moderator
 
Posts: 4076
Joined: Sun Apr 01, 2012 12:38
Location: Waynesville, NC
GitHub: VanessaE
IRC: VanessaE
In-game: VanessaE

Re: [Mod] Technic [0.4.11] [technic]

by VanessaE » Tue Mar 07, 2017 18:10

After some recent commits to Technic to improve things, if you get crashes when moving stuff in chests, please update your copy of minetest_game to commit 37dd9107 or later, and your copy of Minetest engine to a suitable build also.
You might like some of my stuff: Plantlife ~ More Trees ~ Home Decor ~ Pipeworks ~ HDX Textures (16-512px)
 

User avatar
Linuxdirk
Member
 
Posts: 1029
Joined: Wed Sep 17, 2014 11:21
Location: Germany
GitHub: 4w
In-game: Linuxdirk

Re: [Mod] Technic [0.4.11] [technic]

by Linuxdirk » Tue Mar 07, 2017 22:20

The release version should totally be compatible with current MT release. For dev stuff there should be a dev branch.
 

User avatar
VanessaE
Moderator
 
Posts: 4076
Joined: Sun Apr 01, 2012 12:38
Location: Waynesville, NC
GitHub: VanessaE
IRC: VanessaE
In-game: VanessaE

Re: [Mod] Technic [0.4.11] [technic]

by VanessaE » Tue Mar 07, 2017 22:40

This mod doesn't target stable Minetest releases, and really never has. However, if you need something that works on 0.4.15, I'd guess just clone the Technic repository and roll back to commit d3f40e0f or perhaps a little earlier. If you can't use git, then this ZIP (which points to that commit) might do the trick, though I can't guarantee it.
You might like some of my stuff: Plantlife ~ More Trees ~ Home Decor ~ Pipeworks ~ HDX Textures (16-512px)
 

Jesseman1
Member
 
Posts: 49
Joined: Fri Dec 12, 2014 21:32
Location: My huge fortress or power plant.
In-game: Jesseman1 or Plant_Operator

Re: [Mod] Technic [0.4.11] [technic]

by Jesseman1 » Sat Mar 25, 2017 18:53

I updated Technic, then I updated Minetest, but the power cables still appear as solid blocks, are they supposed to look like that?
 

User avatar
VanessaE
Moderator
 
Posts: 4076
Joined: Sun Apr 01, 2012 12:38
Location: Waynesville, NC
GitHub: VanessaE
IRC: VanessaE
In-game: VanessaE

Re: [Mod] Technic [0.4.16-dev] [technic]

by VanessaE » Sat Mar 25, 2017 20:10

Your minetest is still out of date - you need a development build.
You might like some of my stuff: Plantlife ~ More Trees ~ Home Decor ~ Pipeworks ~ HDX Textures (16-512px)
 

Jesseman1
Member
 
Posts: 49
Joined: Fri Dec 12, 2014 21:32
Location: My huge fortress or power plant.
In-game: Jesseman1 or Plant_Operator

Re: [Mod] Technic [0.4.16-dev] [technic]

by Jesseman1 » Sun Mar 26, 2017 00:07

how do I get a development build?

PS. Where can I find an up-to-date recipe list?
 

User avatar
VanessaE
Moderator
 
Posts: 4076
Joined: Sun Apr 01, 2012 12:38
Location: Waynesville, NC
GitHub: VanessaE
IRC: VanessaE
In-game: VanessaE

Re: [Mod] Technic [0.4.16-dev] [technic]

by VanessaE » Sun Mar 26, 2017 00:33

get one of sfan5's builds, https://minetest.kitsunemimi.pw/builds/

As for an up-to-date recipe list, I can only suggest you use a craft guide like that included in Unified Inventory.
You might like some of my stuff: Plantlife ~ More Trees ~ Home Decor ~ Pipeworks ~ HDX Textures (16-512px)
 

Jesseman1
Member
 
Posts: 49
Joined: Fri Dec 12, 2014 21:32
Location: My huge fortress or power plant.
In-game: Jesseman1 or Plant_Operator
 

Jesseman1
Member
 
Posts: 49
Joined: Fri Dec 12, 2014 21:32
Location: My huge fortress or power plant.
In-game: Jesseman1 or Plant_Operator

Re: [Mod] Technic [0.4.16-dev] [technic]

by Jesseman1 » Sun Mar 26, 2017 00:58

It doesn't seem to be working; I replaced all the old files with the new ones, but when I boot up the game, it says it's still version 0.4.13

EDIT: Did I put the file in the wrong place? Where exactly am I supposed to extract the files, and do I need to delete any old ones?
 

User avatar
VanessaE
Moderator
 
Posts: 4076
Joined: Sun Apr 01, 2012 12:38
Location: Waynesville, NC
GitHub: VanessaE
IRC: VanessaE
In-game: VanessaE

Re: [Mod] Technic [0.4.16-dev] [technic]

by VanessaE » Sun Mar 26, 2017 03:17

It's impossible for me to know what you did wrong, but you just extract the archive wherever you want, and make a point of going there to run the game.

You don't have to delete old versions, as long as you are 100% sure that you won't mix them up (that includes mixing up portable builds with a system-installed build, as can happen on Linux).
You might like some of my stuff: Plantlife ~ More Trees ~ Home Decor ~ Pipeworks ~ HDX Textures (16-512px)
 

Jesseman1
Member
 
Posts: 49
Joined: Fri Dec 12, 2014 21:32
Location: My huge fortress or power plant.
In-game: Jesseman1 or Plant_Operator

Re: [Mod] Technic [0.4.16-dev] [technic]

by Jesseman1 » Sun Mar 26, 2017 05:56

Ok, the Minetest that I play was downloaded from the Ubuntu Software Center and has an autorun icon, but only goes up to 0.4.13. The current version from sfan5's builds does not have an autorun icon, so I don't know how to play it... Help please?

EDIT: Nevermind, I found the executable file.
 

dawgdoc
Member
 
Posts: 134
Joined: Mon Feb 27, 2017 01:10
GitHub: dawgdoc

Re: [Mod] Technic [0.4.16-dev] [technic]

by dawgdoc » Sun Mar 26, 2017 06:30

Jesseman1 wrote:Ok, the Minetest that I play was downloaded from the Ubuntu Software Center and has an autorun icon, but only goes up to 0.4.13. The current version from sfan5's builds does not have an autorun icon, so I don't know how to play it... Help please?

EDIT: Nevermind, I found the executable file.

I believe I saw you post that you are running Ubuntu, but I don't recall if you are using Xenial or Zesty.
Ahh, it must be Xenial if the software center has MT 0.4.13. You can get 0.4.15 stable by installing from the PPA I saw linked in another thread. Instructions for installing can be found on that page.

If, as Vanessa mentioned, you want to run a dev version on Ubuntu you have a choice. You either compile it yourself. Instructions are in the Ubuntu forum. OR, you could run the sfan5 within Wine/PlayOnLinux.

BTW, I am using MT 0.4.15 from that PPA I linked above on LinuxMint 18.1, which is based on Ubuntu Xenial.
 

dawgdoc
Member
 
Posts: 134
Joined: Mon Feb 27, 2017 01:10
GitHub: dawgdoc

Re: [Mod] Technic [0.4.16-dev] [technic]

by dawgdoc » Sun Mar 26, 2017 06:37

VanessaE wrote:Sfan5's builds are for Windows.

For Ubuntu, use the daily builds PPA instead: https://launchpad.net/~minetestdevs/+ar ... ily-builds


Thanks, for adding about the daily builds. I do recall seeing that link posted on another thread (you also ?). That should be easier for Jesseman1 than compiling from source. And probably much better than running a Windows version under Wine.
 

ABJ
Member
 
Posts: 3015
Joined: Sun Jan 18, 2015 13:02
Location: In Earth orbit, with a perigee of 1048 km and an apogee of 1337 km and an inclination of 69 degrees.
GitHub: ABJ-MV
In-game: ABJ
 

User avatar
DS-minetest
Member
 
Posts: 968
Joined: Thu Jun 19, 2014 19:49
Location: in front of my pc (which is at home)
GitHub: DS-Minetest
In-game: DS

Re: [Mod] Technic [0.4.16-dev] [technic]

by DS-minetest » Sun Mar 26, 2017 11:27

ABJ wrote:Wait, how were you able to change the thread title?

Last edited by VanessaE/VanessaE on Sat, 25.03.2017 22:10, edited 10 times in total.
Reason: Update version.

With the color you can see, that VanessaE is a global moderator.
Do not call me -minetest.
Call me DS or DS-minetest.
I am German, so you don't have to pm me English if you are also German.
The background is a lie.
 

MihalyK
New member
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Sep 21, 2014 23:38
IRC: Voronwe

Re: [Mod] Technic [0.4.16-dev] [technic]

by MihalyK » Tue Apr 04, 2017 22:12

Not sure wherethe correct place to pos this is, please excuse me if I have the wrong forum...

I am using the latest minetest 0.4.15, with the following mods:
Pipeworks, Technic, Mesecons MoreMesecons, and mobs - i tried mobs redo but no mobs appear and that is a different problem. I use compassgps, and was also trying out the new AImobs, but that doesn't work so I switched it off, and run a v6 world with JUST Technic, (and of course the required pipeworks, mesecons, moreores. Something else as well?

Anyway, I was constantly frustrated by the fact that several of the recipes appeared not to work until I worked out the difference between what I was trying and what the recipe actually /said/.

Fine, but I have come across a couple that are not-quite game-stopping:

In my setup, at least, there is no such thing as an LV Furnace - it can't be made for love nor money. there is no recipe shown, although the item itself does appear in the recipe for an MV Furnace (note, the LV Alloy Furnace is craftable, but the recipe that appears in the web page for technic doesn't result in an LV Furnace in my particular world, and the recipe isn't shown in the crafting guide) - in the end I just used creative mode to grab some LV furnaces and could craft MV furnaces from then on, but I'm sure that this shouldn't be neccesary.

Sand can only be compressed to sandstone, the 4-block recipe won't craft sandstone (either plain or desert)

There are a couple of other issues, but maybe this isn't the forum for that...

If I am missing something obvious, I'd appreciate the help, and if I have been of help to others still I thank those who put the effort in to make these great mods.

Oh yeah I can't seem to get Technic (The GAME) to run, it complains during the startup - if I can I'll post the error message up here, but am just curious about this first..

regards,
Mihaly
 

ABJ
Member
 
Posts: 3015
Joined: Sun Jan 18, 2015 13:02
Location: In Earth orbit, with a perigee of 1048 km and an apogee of 1337 km and an inclination of 69 degrees.
GitHub: ABJ-MV
In-game: ABJ

Re: [Mod] Technic [0.4.16-dev] [technic]

by ABJ » Wed Apr 05, 2017 15:29

This is the correct forum for all technic issues. In fact, this is the topic.
 

User avatar
VanessaE
Moderator
 
Posts: 4076
Joined: Sun Apr 01, 2012 12:38
Location: Waynesville, NC
GitHub: VanessaE
IRC: VanessaE
In-game: VanessaE

Re: [Mod] Technic [0.4.16-dev] [technic]

by VanessaE » Wed Apr 05, 2017 16:21

I don't know what the cause is of your problem for sure, but technic doesn't run on Minetest 0.4.15, and technic_game is long since abandoned - just don't use it.

Get a development build of Minetest newer than perhaps 1 month (or build it from sources), and build up a new game/world/etc using the regular Technic mod(pack) repository.

Also, LV furnaces can be made, but it takes several steps:

  • Start by getting some cobble, clay, iron, copper, zinc, and papyrus, plus coal or another fuel.
  • Make paper from the papyrus.
  • Use some of that cobble to make a regular, ordinary furnace.
  • Use that furnace to cook the clay into bricks, and make brick blocks from those.
  • Use that furnace to cook your iron, copper, and zinc into ingots. Note that Technic renames the steel ingots to "wrought iron ingot", but they are still the same thing.
  • Use that furnace again to turn some of the steel/wrought iron ingots into cast iron ingots.
  • Use 8 brick blocks to make a fuel-fired alloy furnace.
  • Use the alloy furnace to make brass from copper and zinc ingots.
  • Use eight cast iron ingots and one brass ingot (in the center) to make a machine casing.
  • Use copper ingots (three across the middle row) and paper (three across each of the top and bottom rows) to make LV cabling.
  • Finally, use 7 cobble, one LV cable (bottom middle), and one machine casing (center) to make a LV furnace.
You might like some of my stuff: Plantlife ~ More Trees ~ Home Decor ~ Pipeworks ~ HDX Textures (16-512px)
 

CarBarr
New member
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Apr 13, 2017 22:56

Re: [Mod] Technic [0.4.16-dev] [technic]

by CarBarr » Thu Apr 13, 2017 23:11

Hello, download the latest version of this mod (commit fc2f6d8) but it gives me error after a ~7 seconds of running the game
It only happens when trying to play with a world that had the previous version.
Minetest in commit 6f641df
And minetest_game in commit 9821681

Code: Select all
2017-04-13 16:59:22: ERROR[Main]: ServerError: AsyncErr: ServerThread::run Lua: Runtime error from mod 'technic' in callback LuaABM::trigger(): ...ds/technic/technic/machines/register/battery_box.lua:78: attempt to index upvalue 'fs_helpers' (a nil value)
2017-04-13 16:59:22: ERROR[Main]: stack traceback:
2017-04-13 16:59:22: ERROR[Main]:    ...ds/technic/technic/machines/register/battery_box.lua:78: in function 'add_on_off_buttons'
2017-04-13 16:59:22: ERROR[Main]:    ...ds/technic/technic/machines/register/battery_box.lua:198: in function 'technic_run'
2017-04-13 16:59:22: ERROR[Main]:    .../mods/technic/technic/machines/switching_station.lua:279: in function 'run_nodes'
2017-04-13 16:59:22: ERROR[Main]:    .../mods/technic/technic/machines/switching_station.lua:286: in function <.../mods/technic/technic/machines/switching_station.lua:228>


I am compiling minetest with cmake . -DRUN_IN_PLACE=TRUE -DENABLE_LEVELDB=1 && make -j 4
what am I doing wrong?
 

User avatar
VanessaE
Moderator
 
Posts: 4076
Joined: Sun Apr 01, 2012 12:38
Location: Waynesville, NC
GitHub: VanessaE
IRC: VanessaE
In-game: VanessaE

Re: [Mod] Technic [0.4.16-dev] [technic]

by VanessaE » Fri Apr 14, 2017 00:00

That "upvalue" is provided by Pipeworks - are you sure your copy of that is up-to-date?
You might like some of my stuff: Plantlife ~ More Trees ~ Home Decor ~ Pipeworks ~ HDX Textures (16-512px)
 

PreviousNext

Return to Mod Releases



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google Feedfetcher and 6 guests