[Mod] Technic [0.4.16-dev] [technic]

Byakuren
Member
 
Posts: 653
Joined: Tue Apr 14, 2015 01:59
GitHub: raymoo
IRC: Hijiri
In-game: Raymoo

Re: [Mod] Technic [0.4.11] [technic]

by Byakuren » Mon Oct 31, 2016 09:09

So it would be best to concatenate minetest.get_current_modname() as the prefix to all of the ids in all of the registry function calls.

This is what I meant to suggest, sorry for being vague.
Every time a mod API is left undocumented, a koala dies.
 

User avatar
Wuzzy
Member
 
Posts: 2704
Joined: Mon Sep 24, 2012 15:01
GitHub: Wuzzy2
IRC: Wuzzy
In-game: Wuzzy

Maybe a critical error?

by Wuzzy » Wed Nov 09, 2016 02:26

technic/technic/machines/MV/lighting.lua has outdated intllib boilerplate code, which has a dofile to a directory outside this mod. This is a violation of mod security, which means your mod might break when both intllib and mod security are enabled at the same time.

I have not experienced a direct failure because of this, but please update the boilerplate code anyway. It might be a hidden bug.

See here for the new boilerplate code:
https://github.com/minetest-mods/intllib
I'm creating MineClone 2, a Minecraft clone for Minetest. I made the Help modpack, adding in-game help to Minetest.
 

User avatar
cHyper
Member
 
Posts: 625
Joined: Fri May 06, 2011 08:49
Location: Austria
IRC: cHyper
In-game: cHyper

Re: [Mod] Technic [0.4.11] [technic]

by cHyper » Wed Nov 09, 2016 17:36

is this modpack up to date? are there any issues?

thanks for your help!
 

ABJ
Member
 
Posts: 3015
Joined: Sun Jan 18, 2015 13:02
Location: In Earth orbit, with a perigee of 1048 km and an apogee of 1337 km and an inclination of 69 degrees.
GitHub: ABJ-MV
In-game: ABJ

Re: [Mod] Technic [0.4.11] [technic]

by ABJ » Wed Nov 09, 2016 18:41

Well, the original developer is no longer alive, so the thread can't be updated, but it's open source, so yeah.
 

User avatar
cHyper
Member
 
Posts: 625
Joined: Fri May 06, 2011 08:49
Location: Austria
IRC: cHyper
In-game: cHyper

Re: [Mod] Technic [0.4.11] [technic]

by cHyper » Wed Nov 09, 2016 18:47

ABJ wrote:Well, the original developer is no longer alive, so the thread can't be updated, but it's open source, so yeah.


I know.
maybe somebody could continue this project.
 

ABJ
Member
 
Posts: 3015
Joined: Sun Jan 18, 2015 13:02
Location: In Earth orbit, with a perigee of 1048 km and an apogee of 1337 km and an inclination of 69 degrees.
GitHub: ABJ-MV
In-game: ABJ
 

User avatar
kaeza
Moderator
 
Posts: 2156
Joined: Thu Oct 18, 2012 05:00
Location: Montevideo, Uruguay
GitHub: kaeza
IRC: kaeza diemartin blaaaaargh
In-game: kaeza

Re: [Mod] Technic [0.4.11] [technic]

by kaeza » Thu Nov 10, 2016 01:28

The commit log is a better place to see if the mod is active.

Moderators can edit the first post if there's any issue.
Your signature is not the place for a blog post. Please keep it as concise as possible. Thank you!

Check out my stuff! | Donations greatly appreciated! PayPal | BTC: 1DFZAa5VtNG7Levux4oP6BuUzr1e83pJK2
 

ABJ
Member
 
Posts: 3015
Joined: Sun Jan 18, 2015 13:02
Location: In Earth orbit, with a perigee of 1048 km and an apogee of 1337 km and an inclination of 69 degrees.
GitHub: ABJ-MV
In-game: ABJ
 

User avatar
Inocudom
Member
 
Posts: 2920
Joined: Sat Sep 29, 2012 01:14
IRC: Inocudom
In-game: Inocudom

Re: [Mod] Technic [0.4.11] [technic]

by Inocudom » Sat Nov 19, 2016 02:40

Inocudom wrote:This strange error came up:
2016-11-08 00:07:08: ERROR[Main]: ModError: Failed to load and run script from /home/derek/.minetest/mods/scifi_nodes/init.lua:
2016-11-08 00:07:08: ERROR[Main]: /usr/local/share/minetest/builtin/game/register.lua:130: attempt to compare number with string
2016-11-08 00:07:08: ERROR[Main]: stack traceback:
2016-11-08 00:07:08: ERROR[Main]: /usr/local/share/minetest/builtin/game/register.lua:130: in function 'register_item'
2016-11-08 00:07:08: ERROR[Main]: /usr/local/share/minetest/builtin/game/register.lua:206: in function 'really_register_node'
2016-11-08 00:07:08: ERROR[Main]: .../derek/.minetest/mods/technic/technic_worldgen/nodes.lua:159: in function 'really_register_node'
2016-11-08 00:07:08: ERROR[Main]: ...derek/.minetest/mods/technic/technic_worldgen/crafts.lua:167: in function 'register_node'
2016-11-08 00:07:08: ERROR[Main]: /home/derek/.minetest/mods/scifi_nodes/init.lua:336: in main chunk
2016-11-08 00:07:08: ERROR[Main]: Check debug.txt for details.
When technic is disabled:
2016-11-08 00:35:44: ERROR[Main]: ModError: Failed to load and run script from /home/derek/.minetest/mods/scifi_nodes/init.lua:
2016-11-08 00:35:44: ERROR[Main]: /usr/local/share/minetest/builtin/game/register.lua:130: attempt to compare number with string
2016-11-08 00:35:44: ERROR[Main]: stack traceback:
2016-11-08 00:35:44: ERROR[Main]: /usr/local/share/minetest/builtin/game/register.lua:130: in function 'register_item'
2016-11-08 00:35:44: ERROR[Main]: /usr/local/share/minetest/builtin/game/register.lua:206: in function 'register_node'
2016-11-08 00:35:44: ERROR[Main]: /home/derek/.minetest/mods/scifi_nodes/init.lua:336: in main chunk
2016-11-08 00:35:44: ERROR[Main]: Check debug.txt for details.

Techic does not get along with scifi_nodes too well.
 

User avatar
Hybrid Dog
Member
 
Posts: 2512
Joined: Thu Nov 01, 2012 12:46

by Hybrid Dog » Sun Nov 20, 2016 11:02

l experienced such errors after the light_source value tests were added, maybe light_source is set to a string at some node definition in the scifi mod.
 

Byakuren
Member
 
Posts: 653
Joined: Tue Apr 14, 2015 01:59
GitHub: raymoo
IRC: Hijiri
In-game: Raymoo

Re: [Mod] Technic [0.4.11] [technic]

by Byakuren » Sun Nov 20, 2016 21:20

It's been fixed already, light_source was set as a string for some nodes.
Every time a mod API is left undocumented, a koala dies.
 

Jesseman1
Member
 
Posts: 49
Joined: Fri Dec 12, 2014 21:32
Location: My huge fortress or power plant.
In-game: Jesseman1 or Plant_Operator

Re: [Mod] Technic [0.4.11] [technic]

by Jesseman1 » Mon Dec 26, 2016 00:24

Nore wrote:If you're using Ubuntu or one of its derivatives, you might have a not-so-recent version: could you paste your version number here?


I apologize for such a long wait before responding; are you asking for my current OS version number, or the version number of Minetest I'm currently running?
 

User avatar
Hybrid Dog
Member
 
Posts: 2512
Joined: Thu Nov 01, 2012 12:46

by Hybrid Dog » Tue Dec 27, 2016 16:39

l assume they asks for your minetest version number.
 

User avatar
DS-minetest
Member
 
Posts: 958
Joined: Thu Jun 19, 2014 19:49
Location: in front of my pc (which is at home)
GitHub: DS-Minetest
In-game: DS

Re: [Mod] Technic [0.4.11] [technic]

by DS-minetest » Wed Dec 28, 2016 11:44

you could tell both, OS and Minetest version number
Do not call me -minetest.
Call me DS or DS-minetest.
I am German, so you don't have to pm me English if you are also German.
The background is a lie.
 

Fixerol
Member
 
Posts: 736
Joined: Sun Jul 31, 2011 11:23
Location: Ukraine
IRC: Fixer
In-game: Fixer

Re: [Mod] Technic [0.4.11] [technic]

by Fixerol » Fri Dec 30, 2016 19:27

Important info:

Technic-worldgen is known to cause lua "Out Of Memory" (OOM) errors in default minetest builds. If you experience such problems, you can use unofficial minetest 0.4.15 stable build made by sfan5 that has simple lua, that provides much more memory, but is somewhat slower: https://kitsunemimi.pw/tmp/minetest-0.4 ... t-win64.7z You can also compile it yourself.

This build can also be used with other memory consuming mods, including worldedit for large scale work.
 

User avatar
GreenDimond
Member
 
Posts: 947
Joined: Wed Oct 28, 2015 01:26
Location: Just outside of existence.
GitHub: GreenXenith
IRC: GreenDimond
In-game: GreenDimond

Re: [Mod] Technic [0.4.11] [technic]

by GreenDimond » Thu Jan 05, 2017 15:59

Ok, so I have a recipe question. Normally if I wanted to remove a recipe using a mod, I would re-register it and give it an output of 0. Unfortunately, I tried this with a technic compressor recipe and it didn't work. How do I remove the [Desert Sand] --> [Desert Stone] Technic compressor recipe? (from a different mod of course).
My YouTube channel. I moderate the HOMETOWN Server. My Mods: Tac Nayn - Sandplus - Waffles - Pumpkin Spice ✂️- - - - - -
 

User avatar
Hybrid Dog
Member
 
Posts: 2512
Joined: Thu Nov 01, 2012 12:46

by Hybrid Dog » Thu Jan 05, 2017 16:57

Fixerol, if l remember correctly, l fixed the OOM crashes in my fork.

GreenDiamond, https://github.com/minetest-technic/tec ... es.lua#L53
after the unwanted recipe is added by technic, execute following:
print(dump(technic.recipes))
then search for your unwanted recipe in the shown table, after that write code which takes it from that table
the removal code may look similar to this:
technic.recipes["compres"].recipes["mod:sand"] = nil
 

User avatar
GreenDimond
Member
 
Posts: 947
Joined: Wed Oct 28, 2015 01:26
Location: Just outside of existence.
GitHub: GreenXenith
IRC: GreenDimond
In-game: GreenDimond

Re:

by GreenDimond » Fri Jan 06, 2017 00:20

Hybrid Dog wrote:Fixerol, if l remember correctly, l fixed the OOM crashes in my fork.

GreenDiamond, https://github.com/minetest-technic/tec ... es.lua#L53
after the unwanted recipe is added by technic, execute following:
print(dump(technic.recipes))
then search for your unwanted recipe in the shown table, after that write code which takes it from that table
the removal code may look similar to this:
technic.recipes["compres"].recipes["mod:sand"] = nil

So, putting technic.recipes['compressing'].recipes['default:sand 2'] = nil doesnt work... what do I write to take it out of the table?
My YouTube channel. I moderate the HOMETOWN Server. My Mods: Tac Nayn - Sandplus - Waffles - Pumpkin Spice ✂️- - - - - -
 

User avatar
Hybrid Dog
Member
 
Posts: 2512
Joined: Thu Nov 01, 2012 12:46

by Hybrid Dog » Fri Jan 06, 2017 12:58

The index is "default:desert_sand", not "default:sand 2".
technic.recipes.compressing.recipes["default:desert_sand"] = nil
Don't trust the craft guide, it's not up to date after removing the recipe.
 

User avatar
GreenDimond
Member
 
Posts: 947
Joined: Wed Oct 28, 2015 01:26
Location: Just outside of existence.
GitHub: GreenXenith
IRC: GreenDimond
In-game: GreenDimond

Re:

by GreenDimond » Fri Jan 06, 2017 17:03

Hybrid Dog wrote:The index is "default:desert_sand", not "default:sand 2".
technic.recipes.compressing.recipes["default:desert_sand"] = nil
Don't trust the craft guide, it's not up to date after removing the recipe.

ah, thankyou, but that still does not work D:
My YouTube channel. I moderate the HOMETOWN Server. My Mods: Tac Nayn - Sandplus - Waffles - Pumpkin Spice ✂️- - - - - -
 

User avatar
Hybrid Dog
Member
 
Posts: 2512
Joined: Thu Nov 01, 2012 12:46

by Hybrid Dog » Fri Jan 06, 2017 19:28

How about this:
Code: Select all
minetest.after(2, function()
technic.recipes.compressing.recipes["default:desert_sand"] = nil
end)
 

User avatar
GreenDimond
Member
 
Posts: 947
Joined: Wed Oct 28, 2015 01:26
Location: Just outside of existence.
GitHub: GreenXenith
IRC: GreenDimond
In-game: GreenDimond

Re:

by GreenDimond » Fri Jan 06, 2017 23:34

Hybrid Dog wrote:How about this:
Code: Select all
minetest.after(2, function()
technic.recipes.compressing.recipes["default:desert_sand"] = nil
end)

N̶o̶p̶e̶ ̶:̶(̶
So, that works on its own in a separate mod without my mod. What I want to do is get rid of that recipe and replace it with a different recipe ([Desert Sand 2] --> [Other Node]). How do I do this?
Last edited by GreenDimond on Sat Jan 07, 2017 18:16, edited 1 time in total.
My YouTube channel. I moderate the HOMETOWN Server. My Mods: Tac Nayn - Sandplus - Waffles - Pumpkin Spice ✂️- - - - - -
 

Fixerol
Member
 
Posts: 736
Joined: Sun Jul 31, 2011 11:23
Location: Ukraine
IRC: Fixer
In-game: Fixer

Re:

by Fixerol » Sat Jan 07, 2017 00:37

Hybrid Dog wrote:Fixerol, if l remember correctly, l fixed the OOM crashes in my fork.


Can you post it in PR section of original technic repo? Maybe it will be merged.
 

User avatar
Andrey01
Member
 
Posts: 1654
Joined: Wed Oct 19, 2016 15:18
Location: Russia, Moscow
GitHub: Andrey2470T
In-game: Andrey01

Re: [Mod] Technic [0.4.11] [technic]

by Andrey01 » Sat Jan 07, 2017 17:37

When i installed version 0.4.15 i was getting error:
"Failed to load and run script from /home/administrator/.minetest/mods/scifi_nodes/init.lua:
/usr/share/minetest/builtin/game/register.lua:130: attempt to compare number with string stack traceback:
/usr/share/minetest/builtin/game/register.lua:130: in function 'register_item'
/usr/share/minetest/builtin/game/register.lua:206: in function 'really_register_node'
...trator/.minetest/mods/technic/technic_worldgen/nodes.lua:159: in function 'really_register_node'
...rator/.minetest/mods/technic/technic_worldgen/crafts.lua:167: in function 'register_node'

Does anybody know what is it?
I like and i am learning to build nice and great houses, palaces, infrastructures and etc... in Minetest!
My Mods:
Unfinished:Medicine,Cube Nodes.

Old:Sweet Machine,Drink Machine

My Favourite Servers:
just test, Switchboard PvP made by yngwie123, VanessaE`s creative-building server, Parkour Owned by LoweGaming, Fractal Island and some other servers!
 

User avatar
Hybrid Dog
Member
 
Posts: 2512
Joined: Thu Nov 01, 2012 12:46

by Hybrid Dog » Sun Jan 08, 2017 10:37

Andrey01, that was a bug in the scifi_nodes mod.
Fixerol, sorry, l didn't remember correctly. Once l fixed an on_generated, maybe in the snow mod, which did not use the vmanip mapgen object but made its own one instead; it caused odd mapgen artifacts l think. https://github.com/HybridDog/technic/co ... 27e497?w=1
Anyway, OOM crashes often blame the wrong mods l think.
 

PreviousNext

Return to Mod Releases



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests