Page 4 of 6

Posted: Wed Aug 14, 2013 04:10
by Shire
For some strange reason, the marble tile texture isn't showing up. Instead, I get a randomly coloured block.

Posted: Wed Aug 14, 2013 05:35
by Mossmanikin
Shire wrote:For some strange reason, the marble tile texture isn't showing up. Instead, I get a randomly coloured block.
You can copy darkage_marble_tile.png from the textures32 folder and add it to the textures folder.

Posted: Tue Aug 20, 2013 00:06
by Inocudom
Any new developments concerning this mod?

Posted: Thu Aug 22, 2013 04:21
by addi
i have some ideas that may be added. ;-)

next week i have holiday. maybe than i find a bit time to add something.

Posted: Tue Sep 10, 2013 17:50
by Inocudom
addi wrote:i have some ideas that may be added. ;-)

next week i have holiday. maybe than i find a bit time to add something.
Do you know about the mod linked to below?
viewtopic.php?id=7159
It and darkage go well together.

Posted: Wed Sep 11, 2013 04:41
by philipbenr
:) [flattered] thanks! [/flattered]

I intend to add some of this mod and cottages onto the castle+ mod with me and Dan Duncombe.

Posted: Wed Sep 11, 2013 13:05
by addi
philipbenr wrote::) [flattered] thanks! [/flattered]

I intend to add some of this mod and cottages onto the castle+ mod with me and Dan Duncombe.
please dont mix up the code!

i dont like it if some mods have the same texture and function but diffrent names.
it might confuse the user.

its alredy discussed here: viewtopic.php?id=7163

maybe you can do somethings like this:

Code: Select all

if minetest.get_modpath('darkage') then
minetest.register_alias(castle:strawbale,darkage:strawbale)
//register some alias and use this to avoid unknown blocks
else
minetest.register_node(castle:strawbale,...)...
//register the node itself
end
so you have an optional dependencie that registers aliases if darkage installed and it registeres iit nodes itself, if its not installed.

or may we could make a (eg. medieval_basic) mod wich contains some basic nodes wich all other mods (castles, cottages and darkage) depends on them.

Posted: Wed Sep 11, 2013 23:30
by philipbenr
I did read that, and I intend to register aliases.

Posted: Wed Nov 13, 2013 06:04
by Inocudom
Is there anything going on with this mod? Not many posts lately.

Posted: Thu Nov 14, 2013 18:53
by Sokomine
It's still a great mod for building. Wish it would be on more servers. The King Arthur's Land server makes extensive use of the mod and is always woth a visit for all those who like good buildings.

Posted: Thu Nov 14, 2013 18:58
by Inocudom
The Minerealms server uses this mod too.

Posted: Mon Jan 06, 2014 09:14
by MasterGollum
I have been away for a lot of time because OpenGL stopped to work in my computer, a few days ago I solved it (yeah, I took me forever :P) So I opened my old Minetest and updated to the latest version discovering tons of new changes and features in the game. I will review Dark Age to fit better the new situation of the game.

Posted: Mon Jan 06, 2014 09:18
by MasterGollum
MasterGollum wrote:I have been away for a lot of time because OpenGL stopped to work in my computer, a few days ago I solved it (yeah, I took me forever :P) So I opened my old Minetest and updated to the latest version discovering tons of new changes and features in the game. I will review Dark Age to fit better the new situation of the game.
I see addi already did that :P well I will take a look to his work before start to do anything new =D

Posted: Mon Jan 06, 2014 14:53
by Inocudom
Welcome back, MasterGollum. I saw Cornernote in the forums recently as well. Now, if only redcrab came back...

Posted: Mon Jan 06, 2014 15:20
by addi
hey! nice to see you back :)
as far i know i have not changed much things,because i had not much time in the last year.

but the
desert_stone_cobble and
sandstone cobble is now in default game.
also i changed 1 or 2 craft rezieps, because they confliced with other mods

also there is now a "LuaVoxelManipulator" in the engine wich may generates a bit faster than your way.
also there is a function minetest.register_ore() that can be used to generate the iron ore in the desert.

Posted: Mon Jan 06, 2014 15:38
by Sokomine
Good to see you back, MasterGollum!
addi wrote: also there is a function minetest.register_ore() that can be used to generate the iron ore in the desert
That function might lead to a significant speedup regarding ore generation. Not only for the iron ore but also for the non-ores (stratus, claylike). To my knowledge, the function offers parameters that might cover those situations. Please explore that :-) LuaVoxelManipulator is also great but may not be necessary here. The new ore generation routines ought to be good enough.

Posted: Mon Jan 06, 2014 19:50
by MasterGollum
Thank you for the tips and the welcome, I will look at that. I have been playing a little with nodeboxes, so maybe I will include some new nodes for middle age themed furniture.

Posted: Mon Jan 06, 2014 22:16
by Sokomine
MasterGollum wrote: maybe I will include some new nodes for middle age themed furniture.
New furniture is always good to have :-) Take a look at my cottages mod. It already comes with some furniture, but there's certainly room for more :-) The anvil from realtest might look fine in a medieval environment as well.

Posted: Mon Jan 06, 2014 23:58
by MasterGollum
Sokomine wrote: New furniture is always good to have :-) Take a look at my cottages mod. It already comes with some furniture, but there's certainly room for more :-) The anvil from realtest might look fine in a medieval environment as well.
wow that's very nice what you did there. You read my mind and implemented it before I even thought about that lol. As Inocudom pointed we have the straw bale duplicated, I like the suggestion of merge them. Maybe as an extension of Dark Age with some textures more "medieval" (for example the bed), that can be turned off easily so people can choose if to use cottage mod as you designed it (with or without Dark Age) or the medieval version of cottage just inside the Dark Age mod itself. What do you think?

Posted: Tue Jan 07, 2014 02:37
by Sokomine
Hmpf. Typed a long message, included some links, and accidently clicked on a link.

The straw (and the straw bale) is indeed a copy of your darkage mod. I sent you a mail back then and asked you for permission :-) You just got to *have* a straw bale in a Minetest world - else it would be incomplete :-)

I didn't eliminiate/alias the straw nodes before (even though it was requested by some server owners) because that would at that time have interfered with my random_buildings and later my villages mod - those spawn houses that use nodes from cottages, and if the nodes are just aliasses to another mod, that gets more complicated.

If you have any better textures for the nodes or can create them or even add more furniture please do so! We can certainly have more than one bed. And the King Arthurs Land server will certainly enjoy more medieval nodes. I'm very bad at creating textures and have to rely on other people creating them for me. I'm curious as to how your nodes will look like :-)

Posted: Tue Jan 07, 2014 06:17
by MasterGollum
Indeed I don't have any problem that you used the texture I created or you decided to supply new node versions for the straw bales, I like a lot what you did. I understand that Dark Age is a "huge" mod that supplies several nodes and functionalities that many people don't want. cottages is consistent as it is, it supplies all the nodes it needs without add dependences to other mods. Can they be used together as they are now? Yes, of course. Should be used together? not so sure, they will create duplicate nodes with craft recipes not consistent between them, for example the way you decided to craft the stairs. I absolutly will use your mod in my server, but I will do some changes to fit my personal tastes. I can share that version with the community or keep it private if you dislike the idea of see your nodes shared in a new different version. I absolutly don't intent to take ownership of your work, just to add them slightly modified and explain what I did and from where that nodes come from.

Posted: Wed Jan 08, 2014 03:01
by Sokomine
Craft receipes only exist so that the nodes can actually be crafted. Cottages was created in order to have nodes for building small, medieval/simple structured houses for the lumberjacks and village inhabitants (once they show up..). If you have better ideas for crafting receipes, that ought to be no problem. I'd love to let "inhabitants" "sell"/trade the furniture nodes to players anyway :-)

Please do what you have in mind and then let's see how to best combine or otherwise handle it.

Posted: Fri Jan 10, 2014 20:49
by ShadowNinja
Rather than having people modify the code, you should add minetest.conf settings.
For example:

Code: Select all

if minetest.setting_getbool("darkage.enable_mapgen") then
    dofile(modpath.."/mapgen.lua")
end
And then you can just set darkage.enable_mapgen in minetest.conf.
You should also cache the modpath, just call minetest.get_modpath("darkage") once and store it in a local variable named modpath.

Also: I beleive that you are required to have a link to the actual GitHub page, not just to the archive if you use GitHub. And if not I would appreciate if you added one. :-)

Aditionally you use legacy generation methods that are very slow. You should use minetest.register_ore and the LuaVoxelManip if there are any ore types that it doesn't provide.

Posted: Sun Jan 12, 2014 23:59
by MasterGollum
ShadowNinja wrote:Aditionally you use legacy generation methods that are very slow. You should use minetest.register_ore and the LuaVoxelManip if there are any ore types that it doesn't provide.
Thank you for the tips, btw what is the LuaVoxelManip!? :P Because the documentation I found it's let's say scarce http://koti.kapsi.fi/~nawulf/code/minetest/2013-09-12_doxygen/classLuaVoxelManip.html

Posted: Mon Jan 13, 2014 02:30
by hoodedice
MasterGollum wrote:
ShadowNinja wrote:Aditionally you use legacy generation methods that are very slow. You should use minetest.register_ore and the LuaVoxelManip if there are any ore types that it doesn't provide.
Thank you for the tips, btw what is the LuaVoxelManip!? :P Because the documentation I found it's let's say scarce http://koti.kapsi.fi/~nawulf/code/minetest/2013-09-12_doxygen/classLuaVoxelManip.html
New method for manipulating nodes, introduced by hmmmm(mmmm?) in 0.4.7. Reduces node manip and loading time from 20+ seconds to 1-5 seconds. Also, makes calling nodes easier.