[Mod] Towntest [towntest] - Grow a town in minetest.

User avatar
cornernote
Member
Posts: 844
Joined: Wed Jul 11, 2012 15:02

by cornernote » Post

Looks like you have an old version. Delete this folder:
C:\Users\Mary\Documents\minetest-0.4.3-win32\minetest-0.4.3-win32\bin\..\games\dwarves\mods\cornernote-minetest-towntest-db4a1be\

Then download the latest zipball from here:
https://github.com/cornernote/minetest- ... all/master

Then unzip it into your mods folder. Let me know how you go.

User avatar
Gage
Member
Posts: 45
Joined: Mon Sep 10, 2012 10:17

by Gage » Post

Server: Failed to load and run C:\Users\Mary\Documents\minetest-0.4.3-win32\minetest-0.4.3-win32\bin\..\games\dwarves\mods\cornernote-minetest-towntest-7d37654\towntest\init.lua

User avatar
Gage
Member
Posts: 45
Joined: Mon Sep 10, 2012 10:17

by Gage » Post

it seems that it just wont work UGHHH i think ill just give up ):
Last edited by Gage on Thu Oct 04, 2012 11:24, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
tkerwel
Member
Posts: 213
Joined: Fri Jan 13, 2012 07:35

by tkerwel » Post

i am not sure but looks for me a bit confused where you put the mods...

it should be in the folder......... \games\minetest_game\mods

in this folder you put all the mods you want to add to minetest....

so i dont understand why there is \games\dwarves\mods...

you sure you put this i the right way ?
++++ Kung walang tiyaga, walang nilaga. ++++

User avatar
Gage
Member
Posts: 45
Joined: Mon Sep 10, 2012 10:17

by Gage » Post

i have it in swarves becouse i acsidently deleted mintest game so i have minimal and dwarves can i still put it in the regular mod folder

User avatar
cornernote
Member
Posts: 844
Joined: Wed Jul 11, 2012 15:02

by cornernote » Post

Try redownload minetest_game

Nat Faulk

by Nat Faulk » Post

Awesome Mod!!

downloaded it yesterday, but it took ages to get it to work having the same error as others are reporting.

finally found that by changing the 100000000000 to a lower value in towntest\init.lua below solved the problem for me

Code: Select all

-- unique game id, needed to cleanup npcs
towntest.game_id = math.random(100000000000)

mauvebic
Member
Posts: 1550
Joined: Fri Jan 27, 2012 11:32

by mauvebic » Post

A few minor tweaks you could get your NPC to survey, map and repair buildings :-)

User avatar
cornernote
Member
Posts: 844
Joined: Wed Jul 11, 2012 15:02

by cornernote » Post

mauvebic wrote:A few minor tweaks you could get your NPC to survey, map and repair buildings :-)
PilzAdam suggested that he dig the nodes before placing them, and then return what he digs to the chest.

This would achieve the same as a repair. I'll put it in next time i'm tinkering in this mod.

User avatar
RockerGirl4Eva
Member
Posts: 30
Joined: Tue Oct 09, 2012 21:13

by RockerGirl4Eva » Post

Is there a certain name I need to name this folder for it to work? I've tried renaming it 'towntest' and 'Towntest' but nothing is working, cause once i download the mod and put it in the correct folder the game wont load....so somthing is not right

User avatar
cornernote
Member
Posts: 844
Joined: Wed Jul 11, 2012 15:02

by cornernote » Post

some bugs from IRC:

<RealBadAngel_> worker stops sometimes
<RealBadAngel_> or goes straight in one direction
<RealBadAngel_> far from construction site
<RealBadAngel_> ah, and he sometimes disappears
<RealBadAngel_> ive found the temporary solution
<RealBadAngel_> go away, force server to unload area
<RealBadAngel_> and come back

<RealBadAngel_> maybe you should call build() on_step instead of an abm

<RealBadAngel_> ah, one more thing
<RealBadAngel_> not only fences cannot be built
<RealBadAngel_> stairs, slabs too
<RealBadAngel_> thx to stairs plus
<RealBadAngel_> i think i know the solution
<RealBadAngel_> you could make just aliases for those mods

User avatar
PilzAdam
Member
Posts: 4026
Joined: Fri Jul 20, 2012 16:19
GitHub: PilzAdam
IRC: PilzAdam
Location: Germany

by PilzAdam » Post

cornernote wrote:<RealBadAngel_> or goes straight in one direction
<RealBadAngel_> far from construction site
This is a bug in the engine, I think. Entities sometimes duplicate or arent updated so they keep their velocity and dont react on player punching/rightclicking them.

User avatar
Gage
Member
Posts: 45
Joined: Mon Sep 10, 2012 10:17

by Gage » Post

Nat Faulk wrote:Awesome Mod!!

downloaded it yesterday, but it took ages to get it to work having the same error as others are reporting.

finally found that by changing the 100000000000 to a lower value in towntest\init.lua below solved the problem for me

Code: Select all

-- unique game id, needed to cleanup npcs
towntest.game_id = math.random(100000000000)
what number did u change it to like 500 or somthing please tell me!!

User avatar
cornernote
Member
Posts: 844
Joined: Wed Jul 11, 2012 15:02

by cornernote » Post

The number is gone now. Get the latest version and it should be right

User avatar
Gage
Member
Posts: 45
Joined: Mon Sep 10, 2012 10:17

by Gage » Post

thanks cornernote (: ill try it again now :P

User avatar
Gage
Member
Posts: 45
Joined: Mon Sep 10, 2012 10:17

by Gage » Post

all i had to do was take out the 3 town test folders and walla it works omg im stupid(: i had a blond moment there lol

User avatar
pandaro
Member
Posts: 322
Joined: Sun Jan 08, 2012 21:34
GitHub: pandaro
Location: behind

by pandaro » Post

Fantastic!
I expect this mod ... and the concept is potentially greater than minecraft villagger! If I can help in any way the development of this mod, please contact me.
sorry for bad english
Linux debian 7 wheezy 64
kde

User avatar
PilzAdam
Member
Posts: 4026
Joined: Fri Jul 20, 2012 16:19
GitHub: PilzAdam
IRC: PilzAdam
Location: Germany

by PilzAdam » Post

pandaro wrote:Fantastic!
I expect this mod ... and the concept is potentially greater than minecraft villagger! If I can help in any way the development of this mod, please contact me.
Have you ideas how to create villages with the current API in mapgen?
Last edited by PilzAdam on Sun Oct 28, 2012 10:27, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
pandaro
Member
Posts: 322
Joined: Sun Jan 08, 2012 21:34
GitHub: pandaro
Location: behind

by pandaro » Post

PilzAdam wrote:
Have you ideas how to create villages with the current API in mapgen?
No! I'm not a Codere. I know little python for personal use.
Mapgen do not know, but I might take a look.
Anyway, I thought we could do it in another way:
If there is an NPC who knows how to create a village, just place it in the appropriate place and with the right resources, he will build the village.
This is not what you intended to do with this mod?
sorry for bad english
Linux debian 7 wheezy 64
kde

User avatar
cornernote
Member
Posts: 844
Joined: Wed Jul 11, 2012 15:02

by cornernote » Post

Pandaro, TownTest is at the moment more of a proof-of-concept that I can make an NPC do something like build a building. It just happens to be really fun so I released it as a mod. The inspiration was minecraft's millenaire.

I intend the NPCs will spawn on their own and you cannot move the chests. You will give them resources and they will build a village. They will also find their own resources and create their own materials.

I don't want every village to look the same, it should be somewhat random. All the buildings need to be close enough that it can be considered a "village", but they need to not overlap.

Once buildings are in place, NPCs should focus on roads and other infrastructure.

In addition to this, you will be able to ally with a village to gain rewards. Perhaps even lead a raid on neighboring villages. Could make a fun multi-player addon if each village is like a clan.

User avatar
MarkTraceur
Member
Posts: 103
Joined: Sat Dec 03, 2011 05:41
Location: San Francisco, CA
Contact:

by MarkTraceur » Post

cornernote, is there any plan for making more NPCs, or should I dive in? It looks like there's some work on lumberjacks, but it's not clear whether it works. Ping me on IRC (I'm marktraceur), and I may be able to help.
Mods: https://gitorious.org/marktraceur-minetest-mods
IRC: marktraceur on freenode

User avatar
cornernote
Member
Posts: 844
Joined: Wed Jul 11, 2012 15:02

by cornernote » Post

Hey MarkTraceur,

There is an intent, but don't have time to make it happen at the moment. Lumberjack is not done at all. I just put the name in there to remind myself that's the next NPC I wanted to make.

User avatar
MarkTraceur
Member
Posts: 103
Joined: Sat Dec 03, 2011 05:41
Location: San Francisco, CA
Contact:

by MarkTraceur » Post

All right, next time I have some spare time (also seems like it may be a while), I'll whip something up :)

In the meantime, anyone else should feel free to hop in, I have no real plans for this now.
Mods: https://gitorious.org/marktraceur-minetest-mods
IRC: marktraceur on freenode

User avatar
kaeza
Moderator
Posts: 2162
Joined: Thu Oct 18, 2012 05:00
GitHub: kaeza
IRC: kaeza diemartin blaaaaargh
In-game: kaeza
Location: Montevideo, Uruguay
Contact:

by kaeza » Post

The building A.I. could be optimized, by finding the nearest blocks that the builder has, and that needs to be put. That way I think you can eliminate most of those "walks" the NPC does from side to side on some large buildings.

I'm proposing something like this (in pseudo lua code):

for each material MAT in npc_inventory do
pos = find_nearest_node_in_building(MAT);
while (pos and npc_has_material(MAT)) do
walk_to_pos(pos);
put_node(pos, MAT);
pos = (search_adjacent_nodes(MAT) or find_nearest_node_in_building(MAT));
end
end

Hope you understand the concept.
Sokomime wrote: It might be a good idea to optimize the Worldedit imports first. Right now large buildings take a considerable amount of time to build because the worker runs to and fro between walls on opposite sides. That does not matter with small decorative buildings. Large buildings take extremly long.
Some user reported this before, but no one replied him at least on this thread.
Your signature is not the place for a blog post. Please keep it as concise as possible. Thank you!

Check out my stuff! | Donations greatly appreciated! PayPal

User avatar
BenAmaranth
Member
Posts: 60
Joined: Thu Oct 04, 2012 15:14

by BenAmaranth » Post

Sooo noob question...

How do I add my own buildings? Or is it complicated?
Air (you hacker you!)

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot], Majestic-12 [Bot] and 10 guests